Team-BHP > Super-Cars & Imports in India

Old 23rd March 2007, 21:25   #46

Gosh Treetribe..It seems that you know so much about cars..Great dude.
Old 23rd March 2007, 22:11   #47

Hey,

the pic of the turbo i spotted more than a month back.

Klaus17

Last edited by Klaus17 : 23rd March 2007 at 22:13.
Old 23rd March 2007, 22:16   #48

Klaus this the same one which in the first post. Seen quite often around town.

The two turbos treetribe mentions are hardly a hop and a skip from each other.
Old 23rd March 2007, 23:22   #49

Originally Posted by treetribe View Post
nitroxx,

I guess it's to each his own, but Boxster's are generally considered the poor man's Porsche! I mean, if you really are a "car guy" get something thats actually fun to drive, like a BMW M3 or a Z4 or a Nissan 350Z... They're all alot more of "drivers cars" than the Boxster and around the same price range.. However, if you just want to be able to say that you have a Porsche.... then you have your answer.
POOR MAN's Porsche.. Well I think in India 52 lacs is big amount of money... Maybe a small amount for u my friend.. Try to be in someone else's shoes whose hard earned money can get him only so much.. A Alto can be someone's Mercedes or for that matter a MAYBACH for him.... Dont use terms used in the international market coz abroad u can buy one at 25 lakhs.. At that price u get only a CAMRY here...
Cheerssss
Old 24th March 2007, 00:41   #50

Evo6, point taken... But couldn't you import say an M3 which in the US lists at about $50 grand (+/- $5000 depending on options) and pay the duty and still have the car here for about the same price???

Dippy, I can gladly show you both the cars if you have the time this weekend... They are literally across the road from each other... Here's pics of the grey one..

Old 24th March 2007, 04:01   #51

Nice pics treetribe!

Theres actually a suprisingly high number of porsches in bombay... really suprising!
One saturday night (and this was 2-3 years ago) i saw 3 different porsches within 1km of each other...none of which were boxsters btw (also saw a testarossa that night!)

I say this cause it's the only black Porsche I've seen in Mumbai (besides shady Boxsters).
Here are the 2 best black ones in Bombay -
993 Turbo thats black.
996 Carrera with a GT wing (looks really nice... cant find the thread with the pics...help anyone?)

(ofcourse we arent counting the Black cayenne Turbo(s)...)

cya
R
Old 24th March 2007, 04:39   #52

There was/is a Testarossa in Bombay?! Also, there's a 993 Turbo in black?? Wow.
Old 24th March 2007, 11:19   #53

Dippy, I can gladly show you both the cars if you have the time this weekend... They are literally across the road from each other... Here's pics of the grey one..
Dayyum, the grey with dark wheels looks HOT! Is the pic taken at four seasons?

Thanks for sharing.

The black one that people claim to have seen is I think the black Cayman S. I say this cause it's the only black Porsche I've seen in Mumbai (besides shady Boxsters).
The Black Cayman belongs to a member. Pics are here.

I guess it's to each his own, but Boxster's are generally considered the poor man's Porsche! I mean, if you really are a "car guy" get something thats actually fun to drive, like a BMW M3 or a Z4 or a Nissan 350Z... They're all alot more of "drivers cars" than the Boxster and around the same price range.. However, if you just want to be able to say that you have a Porsche.... then you have your answer.
Interesting discussion on the Porsche Boxster exists here.

Last edited by GTO : 24th March 2007 at 11:35.
Old 24th March 2007, 11:28   #54

What an awesome car.. Its a complete DROOL.. Cant imagine the surge and the adrenaline rush the owner must be getting when the turbo kicks in!!
Old 24th March 2007, 11:33   #55

ouch a bit sensitive. act global baby.
Old 24th March 2007, 11:49   #56

The grey one looks the best IMO..

Oh yea, saw a red Ferrari 355 last night on Marine Drive!
Old 24th March 2007, 11:58   #57

Hey treetribe, thank you for the pics, can you tell me where in south mumbai are they parked , i can come whenever you want during weekends... and see them in person and admire the beauty....

GTO: does the black Cayman Belongs to porscherer (i think this is his ID not sure)
I remember asking him about the Event which Porsche had at Amby valley...
Great car and Pics tooo...
Old 24th March 2007, 12:10   #58
Awaiting Email Confirmation

thAT grey one is incredible.Oh treetribe on the M3, way too expensive here, 350Z-great car to drive but once you've gone through jeremy clarksons review you'd think otherwise plus the interiors do seem a lil tacky. the Z4?,man thats not a drivers car,trust me..driven 2.Just another 2 door bmw and a lotta wind in your hair. Yes,well all in all if I can I'll try affording an M3 someday coz obviously thats the only real drivers car in your list n i would love doin standstills to 60 in 4.8 secs.so till then umm.porsche it is.
Old 24th March 2007, 12:55   #59

Sorry, I don't think the owners would appreciate me posting their addresses...

Nitroxx, i'm sure there are plenty of other cars you could get here for about 50 lakhs... However, since you seem to be sold on the Boxster, I'm sure you'll enjoy it!
Old 25th March 2007, 12:24   #60

Oh yea, saw a red Ferrari 355 last night on Marine Drive!
Check these threads out -

cya
R

ps - Also, fyi, TBHP policy is to not disclose the specific location of the car/bike on the public forum, without permission.

Last edited by Rehaan : 25th March 2007 at 12:25.