Team-BHP > Motorbikes > Superbikes & Imports

Old 25th October 2012, 23:04   #1

Honda CBR500R - First Pics Leaked. EDIT - Six New Models Confirmed for 2013.

This is gotta be interesting, after all the rumors, the CBR500R has finally surfaced.

Specs sound promising,
  • 470cc liquid-cooled, parallel-twin
  • Six-speed manual
  • 46.9bhp
  • 30lb/ft of torque
  • 401lbs (dry)/430lbs (wet)
  • 105mph top speed
  • 31-inch seat height
  • 120/70-17 (front)/160-60-17 (rear)
To be officially revealed mid-November.
Honda CBR500R - First Pics Leaked. EDIT - Six New Models Confirmed for 2013.-522899_516146441747177_570708762_n.jpg  

Honda CBR500R - First Pics Leaked. EDIT - Six New Models Confirmed for 2013.-hondacbr500rspecificationsandlaunchdetails.jpg  

Scorcher is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 25th October 2012, 23:58   #2

Re: Honda CBR500R - First Pics Leaked!

Looks promising. A pure racing road bike. Any idea on the pricing.

I am now contemplating whether to go for this or a HD. Both belong to a different league, however this should be more fun to drive for short runs.
Old 26th October 2012, 00:18   #3
PPS

Note from Mod : Your pictures have been uploaded to the Team-BHP server. Please note that it is MANDATORY to upload pictures only via the Team-BHP Attachment System. To know how to, click here.

What happened to the 400? There was a thread for that - http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/superb...r-rumours.html

Bikes are slated for next year if you go by this report - http://www.motorbeam.com/bikes/honda...cb500-in-2013/

Last edited by GTO : 26th October 2012 at 16:33. Reason: See Note in Post
Old 26th October 2012, 11:00   #4

Infractions: 0/1 (9)

Seems disappointingly detuned.

Any idea why with twice the capacity (500 vs 250 cc) and 40+ % more power (47 vs 33 bhp), and the same number of cylinders and engine configuration (parallel twin) as well as gears (6 sp), compared to the smaller Ninja 250, this bike does around the same top end (100-105 mph)?
Old 26th October 2012, 13:29   #5

Some more pics from my end. Somehow the bike doesn't look beefy enough for an SBK. Guess we'll have to wait more pics.
Honda CBR500R - First Pics Leaked. EDIT - Six New Models Confirmed for 2013.-cbr500.jpg  

Honda CBR500R - First Pics Leaked. EDIT - Six New Models Confirmed for 2013.-hondacbr5005.jpg  

Honda CBR500R - First Pics Leaked. EDIT - Six New Models Confirmed for 2013.-hondacbr500clearimages.jpg  

Honda CBR500R - First Pics Leaked. EDIT - Six New Models Confirmed for 2013.-hondacbr500pictures.jpg  

Honda CBR500R - First Pics Leaked. EDIT - Six New Models Confirmed for 2013.-cbr500bike.jpg  

Last edited by neerajpv87 : 26th October 2012 at 13:31.
neerajpv87 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 26th October 2012, 13:44   #6

It looks similar to the 250 dimensionally... platform sharing??

Originally Posted by ebonho View Post
Seems disappointingly detuned.

Any idea why with twice the capacity (500 vs 250 cc) and 40+ % more power (47 vs 33 bhp), and the same number of cylinders and engine configuration (parallel twin) as well as gears (6 sp), compared to the smaller Ninja 250, this bike does around the same top end (100-105 mph)?
May be its tuned more for low-end grunt, which is where the ninja suffers.
Old 26th October 2012, 13:48   #7

Originally Posted by nitro.1000bhp View Post
May be its tuned more for low-end grunt, which is where the ninja suffers.
Could be. But the smaller single CBR250 does about 90-94 mph with 26 odd bhp.

Surely twice those cubes, with an extra cylinder, and 20 horses extra, should be able to do better than just 10 mph more, regardless of the sweet spot of the tune?
Old 26th October 2012, 14:02   #8

Surely twice those cubes, with an extra cylinder, and 20 horses extra, should be able to do better than just 10 mph more, regardless of the sweet spot of the tune?
Hmmm...you are right, may be these figures are'nt official.
Old 26th October 2012, 19:11   #9

I agree. And if the N250 matches it on top end then the N300 will outpace it atleast based on declared specs.
Personally I was a little disappointed when I saw the pics. It looks more like CBR250 2.0 than a half-litre twin.
Oh and rumoured price is supposed to be 4 lakhs plus (assuming CKDs coming from the Thai plant). Now think about the Duke 390 with 40+ bhp (rumoured) at about 2.5-2.8 lakhs.
narula123 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 26th October 2012, 20:16   #10

One more pic from iamabiker.com.
Honda CBR500R - First Pics Leaked. EDIT - Six New Models Confirmed for 2013.-183811_516357035059451_461335387_n.jpg  

Old 26th October 2012, 21:19   #11

Originally Posted by narula123 View Post
I agree. And if the N250 matches it on top end then the N300 will outpace it atleast based on declared specs.
Personally I was a little disappointed when I saw the pics. It looks more like CBR250 2.0 than a half-litre twin.
Oh and rumoured price is supposed to be 4 lakhs plus (assuming CKDs coming from the Thai plant). Now think about the Duke 390 with 40+ bhp (rumoured) at about 2.5-2.8 lakhs.
Well history repeating itself- Duke 200CC/25 BHP @ 1.4 lacs, Ninja 250R/32 BHP @ 3.2 lacs. Don't you think CBR 500R looks a better proposition than this in comparison to DUKE 390 .Anyways even CBR 150R/R15 at 17 HP are not competing against Pulsar 200NS with a price differential of 30K. I believe Indian market (unknowlingly) perceive higher value in faring as we value chrome in premium segment cars.

IMHO its a Stone against Brick startegy from Honda- Kawasaki came up with Ninja 300 to cater CBR 250R at the entry point to justify cost differential. Honda giving back with CBR 500R. Ninja 300 is expected at 3.5 lacs so a 500R at anything below 4.5 lacs seems interesting.

Anyways- lets watch the show- Motorcycle market was never so hot and it surely vrooming towards a rampage.

Maddy
Old 26th October 2012, 21:37   #12

I think they all look the same 150, 250 and now 500, why can't they bring a simple straight forward design like the RD 350 is what I fail to understand, not everyone likes a sporting stance and a lean forward position, and I don’t understand why all bikes now days have this riding position.
Old 27th October 2012, 00:08   #13

Originally Posted by musicmanaman View Post
I think they all look the same 150, 250 and now 500, why can't they bring a simple straight forward design like the RD 350 is what I fail to understand, not everyone likes a sporting stance and a lean forward position, and I don’t understand why all bikes now days have this riding position.
You're comparing bikes of different classes/categories there.
These bikes(The Ninja's, CBR's etc) are Super/Sports bikes, they're meant to be ridden with such an aggressive posture because it aids the aerodynamic build of the bike and helps achieve much better speeds.

The RD350 belongs to an entirely different class, a tourer I believe.
Touring bikes offer a much more passive and comfortable riding posture because they are meant to be ridden long distances, and the bikes design isn't centered on speed/acceleration therefore not requiring fancy fairings and aerodynamic designs.

If these bikes don't appeal to you, there are always the RE's and HD's which are more similar to the RD in design and still offer considerable power.

Different people, different tastes..
sarsh11 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 27th October 2012, 08:06   #14

Originally Posted by musicmanaman View Post
If these babies don't fire your engines then you should check out the Triumph Bonneville, its sure to get your RD wet dreams back. By next year you should also be able to get your hands on it (provided they stick to plan) for approx 5 lakhs.

Oh and the CBR500 also has two siblings getting launched with it, the CB is the naked street version while the CBX is the tourer. Incase they launch all three here (which I doubt) it should give everyone a Honda 500 they like.

At the end of the day, companies sell what majority demand. The latest trend is affordable , powerful, pseudo-sportsbikes. Purists like yourself dont have much option currently beyond the REs and the HDs.
Old 27th October 2012, 11:08   #15

I never got the death by plastic trip of these faired bikes.

Never had one, will probably never own one.

The simplistic raw nature of a naked appeals to me. Two wheels and an engine. And the wind in your face.

If I wanted protection from the wind at speed, I'd drive a car.

There will always be a market for naked / standard / street fighter / super motard type of bikes.

Last edited by ebonho : 27th October 2012 at 11:15.
ebonho is offline   (1) Thanks