Old 13th September 2020, 10:08   #31

Re: Used pre-owned SUV or MPV with 3 seat rows

Why not a spacious sedan that covers all the points regarding comfort and space? When it comes to reasonable driving distance, a sedan works just fine. For the longer ones, you can explore rental and self drive options.

Options are more, refinement is more and there is a big pool of such used vehicles to choose from.
Old 13th September 2020, 10:58   #32

Considering your requirements, HEXA would suit you the best.

It is such a beautiful car and and automatic will be an icing on cake. As per your post I guess you have some HEXAs available nearby you. Have a look at those and check the car with your family. Manual HEXA isn't that bad either, but still try for an XTA. And HEXA is a fairly reliable car , it feels rock solid everywhere. Can't comment on XUV500 as I don't have first hand experience with it.

If you could stretch a bit and go for a new one, Marazzo would be my pick since you have ruled out the Ertiga, which is a good decision.

Last edited by kamilharis : 13th September 2020 at 11:02.
kamilharis is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 13th September 2020, 18:42   #33

Would strongly suggest a Hexa XTA as it suits your requirement to the T (seating, lumbar support, great tourer on highways)

- Brilliant and fun engine and auto gear box combo
- Brilliant ride and comfortable in all seats
- Very usable last row of seats (even I have sat and I am above 6 foot) while still having some boot space
- Brilliant speaker system
- Rock solid built and good service center experience
- Classic looks

I am a proud owner since 3 years and since you are willing to wait..choose this when a good option comes along.

Last edited by wordsworth : 13th September 2020 at 18:42. Reason: Edit
wordsworth is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 13th September 2020, 19:18   #34

We own both XUV 500 W11(O) and Hexa XT in the family. Contrary to what many people may say, we personally feel that these are the two best 7 seaters available for large family usage at their price points. Both are mile munchers and extremely rugged and reliable.

Hexa has better build, ride comfort, space, seating comfort, fuel economy, music system, boot space etc. XUV 500 has better engine refinement, ergonomics, features, torque spread etc..

Service costs of both are pretty decent, much much lower than Hyundai, Honda etc. Service quality is by no means any inferior (our experience).

I have seen multiple XUV's, Safari's, Sumo's, Xylo's, Scorpio's cross 2 lac kms quite comfortably. Vehicles from both these brands are rugged, safe, heavy duty, reliable, no nonsense vehicles. Only thing that they lack is a foreign brand name for which we Indians are known to have a special weakness.

As far as rattles are concerned, yes you will get few rattles in XUV 500 but that does not mean it is brittle by any means. I have faced rattles in a new crysta as well, maruti cars anyways are full of rattles.

You will not go wrong with either of these.
SaurabhB is offline   (7) Thanks
Old 13th September 2020, 19:37   #35

I have owned a XUV 500 for five years and have changed to a XUV 300 for the last one year+.

In my opinion, the XUV 500 is the best choice. It is ultra reliable and offers highest value for money. A lady driving the 500 is easy - one useful advice for ladies is to keep the right foot clear of the accelerator when moving from a stop. The engine will never stall and clutch wear is minimal and no co-ordination is required between releasing the clutch with the accelerator. Once the car is moving, its all the same for smaller or larger car.

A lot depends on the first owner if you are going for a pre-owned car, the service history is a good parallel check along with the physical visual check. To identify accident damage where repairs have been done, a gizmo to check paint thickness is a good idea.

Good luck with your car purchase.
neerajsharma48 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 13th September 2020, 20:37   #36

I will suggest go for Ertiga or XL6. It's a wonderful car and you will get brand new car so peace of mind for 5 years is assured. Its major advantage is it feels very much car like to drive and your wife can also drive it. Believe me, new Ertiga is a best value for money car in Indian market right now. Its petrol engine is very good, reliable and silent. It has sufficient power for family purpose.

Lastly, you will enjoy new very much car which you won't get in used car. Feel is totally unmatched.
aniketi is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 13th September 2020, 22:40   #37

Not on your list and it's a petrol, but have you considered Honda BR-V?
pradeepkc is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 14th September 2020, 10:17   #38

Originally Posted by malgudi View Post
How about looking for a Santa Fe.
I did consider this and started scouting for options but good examples are next to none and even the not so good one have exorbitant price tags. Adding to it, having owned a hyundai in the past, the maintenance for the Santa Fe wouldn't be cheap is my guess

Originally Posted by Cessna182 View Post
Not sure if you have checked this site already, but there are a few Hexa models within 14 L. https://droom.in/product/tata-hexa-x...6e4b22068b459d
Absolutely. Almost visiting all sites daily. However, Hexa AT with the second row captain seats are very rare to come by. The bench seats in the hexa are no where close to an XUV or the Innova and hence the hesitation opting for one

Originally Posted by CEF_Beasts View Post
the car is in Mumbai if that’s fine with you.
Going to Mumbai to check and car is the problem. Adding to it, I might not have much time to get it evaluated from a mechanic especially for flood damages which is a very common problem with cars in Mumbai. If was based out of Mumbai things would have surely been different but I am still keeping this option open and if in due course I do not find a decent option in Pune, might look at Mumbai

Originally Posted by mmxylorider View Post
Why not a spacious sedan that covers all the points regarding comfort and space?
My in cabin space/seating requirements would not be met by a sedan or a 5 seater CSUV

Originally Posted by SaurabhB View Post
We own both XUV 500 W11(O) and Hexa XT in the family.

Service costs of both are pretty decent, much much lower than Hyundai, Honda etc. Service quality is by no means any inferior (our experience).

Only thing that they lack is a foreign brand name for which we Indians are known to have a special weakness.

As far as rattles are concerned, yes you will get few rattles in XUV 500
Thanks for sharing. I am not at all brand conscious for now. Just need a reliable and durable vehicle which would not let me down during trips or give me frequent headaches. As for the service, I probably might opt for an FNG. How are the ergonomics of the Hexa Manual? I have not yet got a chance to drive one but from the official review, it wasn't so promising as the AT. Also since you own both, can you suggest as to which one you would prefer if it would be the only vehicle in the house and might occasionally be driven by the lady as well?

Originally Posted by aniketi View Post
I will suggest go for Ertiga or XL6.
Lastly, you will enjoy new very much car which you won't get in used car. Feel is totally unmatched.
Not so keen on a Maruti now sir. If I have to buy a new one, will still look away from a Maruti. No offence to current owners but I just cannot see myself getting a Maruti ever again.

Originally Posted by pradeepkc View Post
Not on your list and it's a petrol, but have you considered Honda BR-V?
I did consider but very few examples available. Also since I am anyway going the preowned route, thought of going for a proper BOF one like Hexa/Innova with an exception in the XUV
centaur is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 14th September 2020, 14:22   #39

Recently (until 1 week back), I was in the same predicament.
Was looking for a HEXA XTA / XUV500 W10 AT in the same price bracket as you are looking for.

I had an additional constraint - Cars manufactured and purchased post 2017.

My observations in the online (TBHP classifieds, OLX, Cars24 and the likes) used car market in Pune and Mumbai:
1. HEXA XTA in itself is difficult to come by. 6 seater is all the more rare.
In case, you do come by a listing, the cars are priced above 13L.
2. XUV500 W10 AT has relatively better availability
3. For all online listings, most of the times, sellers list the cars with a margin for negotiation of 1L or at times greater.
4. You may come across sellers from Mumbai who are willing to travel to Pune for you to have a look at the car.

Do PM me in case you need any help on this.

Btw, I was able to finalize a deal on a 6 seater HEXA XTA and expect to get the vehicle by the month end.
MS_Auto is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 14th September 2020, 14:32   #40

Originally Posted by MS_Auto View Post
Recently (until 1 week back), I was in the same predicament.
Was looking for a HEXA XTA / XUV500 W10 AT in the same price bracket as you are looking for.

I had an additional constraint - Cars manufactured and purchased post 2017.
I am looking for post 2016 though all Hexas available are anyway 2017 and later. SO that is making it a worthwhile buy

My observations in the online (TBHP classifieds, OLX, Cars24 and the likes) used car market in Pune and Mumbai:
1. HEXA XTA in itself is difficult to come by. 6 seater is all the more rare.
In case, you do come by a listing, the cars are priced above 13L.
2. XUV500 W10 AT has relatively better availability
3. For all online listings, most of the times, sellers list the cars with a margin for negotiation of 1L or at times greater.
4. You may come across sellers from Mumbai who are willing to travel to Pune for you to have a look at the car.
Very valid points, something I totally resonate with

Btw, I was able to finalize a deal on a 6 seater HEXA XTA and expect to get the vehicle by the month end.
Congratulations on your buy. If you dont mind sharing, was this from Pune or Mumbai and what is the deal you got? Which year is the Hexa and how many Kilometers on the odo?
centaur is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 14th September 2020, 15:20   #41

Car was from Mumbai and the dealer was kind enough to arrange for a test drive at my place in Pune.

Have sent the rest of the information via PM.
MS_Auto is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 15th September 2020, 18:31   #42

My preference list will be:

1. Innova 2.5 (Fits you budget well, drives like a car)
2. Crysta 2.4 (if budget permits)
3. Pajero (If you can source spares easily)
4. Hexa/Xuv500 (forget if this is your primary car)

Reasons:
1. Toyota: Ignore the odometer reading; If maintained well they out live their owners. Since this going to be your primary car, buy something reliable. They drive like typical sedans. My wifey was never comfortable driving the Aria but felt at home with the Crysta. They may be expensive to purchase but the ownership experience is hassle free and fetch a good resale value. The total cost of ownership is much cheaper than any of the Tatas' and Mahindras'. Also have the most usable third row seats. Remember kids grow really fast.

2. Pajero Sports: Well built and reliable but sourcing the parts can be a problem. Ride quality is a little bumpy.

3. Tata/ Mahindra: Both Hexa and XUV500 are excellent machines from the respective manufacturers BUT only when compared to their own products. They are no match to the Japanese. Beyond 5 years and 1 lac kms the reliability is always an issue. The niggling issue keep cropping and it kills the ownership experience. In my nine years with the Aria the car visited the workshop at an average of 10 visits a year

4. A ten year old Hexa/SUV500 (check Aria price on olx) will hardly fetch you 3-4 lacs, but the same Toyota will get you atleast 6-8 lacs. One can easily sell a Toyota even after 15 years but not a Tata/ Mahindra. The total cost of ownership (Initial cost minus resale value) works much in favor of Toyota.

regards
Bravo

Last edited by bravo82in : 15th September 2020 at 18:34. Reason: Typo
bravo82in is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 15th September 2020, 21:11   #43

Originally Posted by centaur View Post
How are the ergonomics of the Hexa Manual? I have not yet got a chance to drive one but from the official review, it wasn't so promising as the AT. Also since you own both, can you suggest as to which one you would prefer if it would be the only vehicle in the house and might occasionally be driven by the lady as well
Both our vehicles Hexa as well as XUV are MT.

XUV is easier to drive, more car like, with an extremely refined diesel heart and well mated to the transmission delivering torque from very low in the power band. Hexa is not far behind but only issue is its heavier steering which will suit you but may not suit the lady of the house.

XUV is also more SUV'ish looks wise whereas Hexa is more MPV'ish although with actual SUV underpinnings such as a proper BoF chassis.

In terms of ride quality, Hexa is way way superior. You simply glide on the road whatever be its condition without needing to slow down. Ride quality of XUV is choppy and crashes on potholes. You can feel the road underneath in the XUV. Hexa actually makes you comfortable with its ride quality.

Further in Hexa you get better space, better quality of materials, usable 3rd row, usable boot, better music system, better mileage etc.

However XUV gives more features such as push button start, sun roof, tpms, electric seat height adjustment etc.

Overall I will choose Hexa over the XUV. Go for Hexa XTA and both you and your spouse will enjoy driving and riding it along with your family members.
SaurabhB is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 16th September 2020, 01:39   #44

Absolutely. We have a 2.5 in the family and there is no doubt about it but I am looking at the V or Z variants and those options are very less. Am open to stretching my budget slightly if its a sensibly priced crysta

Will check on those Scorpios as well but I doubt any post 2015 ones had this option.

The reason to leave out Maruti is because we have had a 1st gen swift and currently have a dzire. Unfortunately they are not holding together well. The dzire engine (MJD) still feels as good as new at 2.5 lakh kms but the body is just falling apart. So decided to stay clear of MS this time around.

This has been on my mind for a while and so I actually mentioned that it would be the only car. My BIL owns a creta and we have tried it. Unfortunately it does not meet the space requirements for the second row. Rest it feels apt. I feel, if I dont get a worthy option in the 6/7 seater segment, I might have to look at this segment as well

Thank you for sharing this. Will surely visit M&M one of the weekends and check it out but is the XUV worth considering apart from the 7 seats it offers? I have heard of it developing rattles and squeaks down the line.

Thanks for sharing your views on Maruti, never knew such instances can even occur
Do you happen to know of companies whose exteriors don't crumble over time?
Old 16th September 2020, 09:34   #45

Hellp BHPians,

Could have considered a preowned Superb/Jetta but the high center tunnel is a deal breaker and then there are not many options around.
I wonder why Superb/Jetta are shortlisted when you are looking for 3 seat rows!
Also why not consider Morazzo, XL6.

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com