Renault Kiger 4 1.45%
Mahindra Bolero Neo 4 1.45%
Other (please specify in your post) 5 1.81%
Voters: 276. You may not vote on this poll

Old 12th October 2023, 06:41   #1

Tata Nexon facelift vs Kia Sonet vs Hyundai Venue vs Maruti Brezza vs others

Tata Nexon facelift vs Kia Sonet vs Hyundai Venue vs Maruti Brezza vs others-screenshot-20231011-165029.png

Tata Nexon facelift vs Kia Sonet vs Hyundai Venue vs Maruti Brezza vs others-screenshot-20231011-165816.png

Tata Nexon facelift vs Kia Sonet vs Hyundai Venue vs Maruti Brezza vs others-screenshot-20231011-165842.png

Tata Nexon Facelift

Tata Nexon facelift vs Kia Sonet vs Hyundai Venue vs Maruti Brezza vs others-nexonfacelift.jpg

Review link

Kia Sonet

Tata Nexon facelift vs Kia Sonet vs Hyundai Venue vs Maruti Brezza vs others-sonet.jpg

What you'll like:

• A mini-Seltos in almost every way! Same formula, in a smaller package
• Sharp & handsome styling. In our opinion, this is the best-looking Compact SUV
• Excellent spread of powertrains including a fast & enjoyable turbo-petrol
• Diesel AT is fantastic; the only smooth torque-converter gearbox in a sea of AMTs
• Well-tuned suspension offers a good balance between ride & handling. 205 mm GC too
• Top safety package includes 6 airbags, ESP, HSA, TPMS etc.
• Very enjoyable 7-speaker Bose sound system
• Impressive kit (ventilated seats, sunroof, auto LED headlamps, cruise control, wireless charger)

What you won't:

• Rear seat legroom is just adequate, while its limited width makes the Sonet a 4-seater
• Top variants are pricey! More expensive than its sibling, the Hyundai Venue too
• Some misses ( 60:40 rear seat split, auto wipers, steering reach adjustment, illuminated window buttons, full-size spare tyre on top trims…)
• Dual-clutch ATs (like the Petrol DCT) have a history of poor reliability in India
• As always with Kia, the variant spread is tough to figure out. Good luck finding your perfect Sonet!

Review Link

2022 Hyundai Venue

Tata Nexon facelift vs Kia Sonet vs Hyundai Venue vs Maruti Brezza vs others-venue.jpg

What you'll like:

• A mini-Creta in almost every way! Same formula, in a smaller package
• Precise build & quality (including interiors) are easily among the segment best
• Competent engines mated to slick gearboxes
• Fast shifting dual-clutch Automatic gearbox available
• Balanced road manners. Very easy to drive as well
• Loaded to the gills with equipment (paddle shifters, drive modes, sunroof, BlueLink telematics, cabin air purifier etc.)
• Top safety equipment includes 6 airbags, BAS, ESP, HSA, ISOFIX and more
• Hyundai's competent after-sales & fuss-free ownership experiences

What you won't:

• Diminutive street presence. Looks more hatchback than SUV from some angles, especially the rear
• Strictly a 4-seater; the rear bench has very awkward seating for the middle occupant
• Missing kit (auto wipers, auto-dimming IRVM, steering reach adjustment...)
• Long term reliability of the DCT is a concern
• Engine noise is very prominent, more so in Sport mode
• AT only on the petrol, not the diesel. Kia Sonet gets a Diesel AT

Review Link

2022 Maruti Brezza

Tata Nexon facelift vs Kia Sonet vs Hyundai Venue vs Maruti Brezza vs others-brezza.jpg

What you'll like:

• Good-looking Compact SUV with improved road presence & mass appeal
• Well-rounded product. Takes a successful formula and improves upon it
• A competent BS6 petrol with Smart Hybrid tech and excellent fuel efficiency
• Smooth 6-speed torque-converter AT comes with paddle shifters
• Well-mannered suspension setup riding on 16-inch wheels and 215/60 section tyres
• Decent cabin space for a sub-4 meter car. Lots of storage & a powerful air-con too
• Now gets a sunroof, 360-degree camera, head-up display, rear A/C vents, wireless charging, ambient lighting, tilt & telescopic steering adjustment, connected car features etc
• Long feature list includes dual projector LED auto headlamps, LED DRLs & foglamps, auto-dimming IRVM, cruise control and a 9-inch touchscreen HU paired with an Arkamys sound system
• Safety kit includes 6 airbags, ESP, hill-hold assist and ISOFIX. Built on the same platform as the outgoing car, which had received a 4-star GNCAP safety rating
• Maruti’s excellent after-sales service, wide dealer network & fuss-free ownership experiences

What you won't:

• Feels more like a significant facelift rather than an all-new product
• No diesel option like its rivals! Petrol-only as of now. CNG may be offered in the future
• 1.5L petrol engine lacks outright grunt. Tuned for fuel-efficiency and suitable for relaxed cruising only
• Expensive! AT variants are priced higher than competitor turbo-petrols with more advanced transmissions
• AT option commands a stiff Rs. 1.5 lakh ex-showroom premium!
• Interior quality and fit & finish are underwhelming for the price. The game has moved on
• Short gearing of the 5-speed MT and lack of 6th cog results in an unusually busy engine at 100-120 km/h
• 328-litre boot is among the smallest in the segment
• Some missing features like ventilated seats, leather upholstery, TPMS, drive modes, auto wipers and front parking sensors

Review Link

Mahindra XUV300

Tata Nexon facelift vs Kia Sonet vs Hyundai Venue vs Maruti Brezza vs others-xuv300.jpg

What you'll like:

• A truly premium crossover. Nice build, quality & refinement levels
• Great looking! Smart design has none of the usual Mahindra quirkiness
• Cabin has enough space for 5. Quality-wise, the interior is more like a Hyundai
• Fantastic engines. The petrol & diesel, both, offer fast performance & good driveability
• A compliant ride with neutral road manners
• Top safety kit. 7 airbags, ESP, ABS, all-wheel disc brakes, TPMS, seatbelt reminders for all & more
• Loaded to the gills with equipment (front parking sensors, sunroof, cruise control, auto headlamps & wipers etc)

What you won't:

• One of the most expensive Compact SUV in India! Not overpriced, but definitely higher than expected
• 257-liter boot is the smallest in the segment. There are cheaper hatchbacks which have a larger boot
• Lack of a proper middle variant. W6 trim is simply too bare-bones, while W8 is expensive!
• AMT doesn’t suit a truly premium crossover like the XUV300
• Sad audio system by current standards. The bass, especially, is poor
• Mahindra's after-sales service quality is a hit or miss. Remains a gamble
• Some important features missing (dead pedal, parcel tray, rear air-con, steering reach adjustment etc)

Review Link

The 2021 XUV300 Petrol AMT

BHPian naadopaasaka's XUV300 Turbosport ownership review

Maruti Fronx

Tata Nexon facelift vs Kia Sonet vs Hyundai Venue vs Maruti Brezza vs others-fronx.jpg

What you'll like:

• Smart looking crossover with sharp & attractive styling
• Feels better built than some other Maruti cars
• 1.0L Boosterjet turbo-petrol engine is quick and has minimal turbo lag. Driveability is satisfactory
• Smart Hybrid system ensures excellent fuel efficiency. ARAI = 20.01 to 22.89 kmpl
• Nicely tuned suspension glides over small bumps, potholes and road imperfections
• User-friendly cabin with loads of space! Can easily seat 5 adults (unlike many competitors)
• Long feature list includes LED auto headlamps, LED DRLs, cruise control, 9-inch touchscreen HU paired with an Arkamys sound system, 360-degree camera, head-up display, rear A/C vents, wireless charging, footwell lighting, tilt & telescopic steering adjustment, connected car features etc
• Safety kit includes 6 airbags, 3-point seatbelts for all, ESP, traction control, hill-hold assist and ISOFIX
• Maruti’s excellent after-sales service, wide dealer network & fuss-free ownership experiences

What you won't:

• On the inside, it’s almost identical to the regular Baleno. Differentiation should’ve been more
• Quality of some plastic parts and fabric upholstery is mediocre
• 1.0L turbo-petrol although quick, is not exciting enough for enthusiasts
• 308-litre boot is among the smallest in the segment
• No diesel option like some rivals
• Rear seat’s under-thigh support is lacking for taller passengers
• A few missing features like sunroof, TPMS, rear armrest, drive modes, auto wipers and front parking sensors
• Lesser height means, despite the smart styling, it doesn’t have the road presence of typical crossovers

Review Link

Nissan Magnite

Tata Nexon facelift vs Kia Sonet vs Hyundai Venue vs Maruti Brezza vs others-magnite.jpg

What you'll like:

• The Magnite looks really good…that handsome face is a head-turner
• Sheer value-for-money pricing. Turbo-petrol with a proper AT under 10 lakhs!
• Peppy performance from the Magnite’s 1.0L turbo-petrol engine
• Smooth well-tuned CVT in a sea of jerky AMTs. Has Sport and L modes too
• Healthy legroom for rear passengers. Space packaging is brilliant
• Impressive kit (cruise control, LED headlamps, rear air-con vents, 360-degree camera, wireless charger, wireless Android Auto & Apple CarPlay)
• 205 mm of ground clearance is more than enough for any kind of bad roads
• Safety kit includes ESP, TPMS, ABS, EBD & hill start assist
• Base variant also gets a reasonable kit, including a rear wiper. It’s not poverty-spec

What you won't:

• Stiff & basic ride quality. You feel each and everything on the road
• The Magnite is built to a cost and it does show, especially in the budget-grade cabin
• Lower variants’ 1.0L naturally-aspirated petrol is a boring, unimpressive engine
• Clunky, firm MT gearshift & a clutch pedal that has more weight than it should
• No diesel option available on the Nissan Magnite
• Cabin is narrower than some competitors. Narrow width makes it best for 4 adults
• Missing features such as an auto-dimming IRVM, full-size spare tyre…
• Doesn't have the finesse or quality of premium crossovers like the XUV300, Sonet etc.
• Nissan's tiny dealership network & lousy after-sales quality

Review Link

Renault Kiger

Tata Nexon facelift vs Kia Sonet vs Hyundai Venue vs Maruti Brezza vs others-kiger.jpg

Driving Report

Mahindra Bolero Neo

Tata Nexon facelift vs Kia Sonet vs Hyundai Venue vs Maruti Brezza vs others-boleroneo.jpg

What you'll like:

• A 7-seater SUV at a price comparable to 5-seat crossovers & compact sedans
• Robust, abuse-friendly build & body-on-frame construction. A typical Mahindra UV in that sense
• Likeable & roomy cabin. 1st & 2nd seat rows are spacious
• 1.5L diesel offers excellent urban driveability & fuel economy
• Tall seating, comfy front seats with armrests, excellent visibility & good presence make city driving easier
• Healthy boot space with the last row of seats folded. Can drop 2nd row to haul more cargo
• New additions such as the mechanical locking differential & cruise control
• Dual airbags, ABS + EBD, Corner Braking Control etc. are offered on every variant

What you won't:

• 3-cylinder diesel has no top-end. Expressway performance is mediocre, vibrating gear lever a turnoff
• Ride quality is nowhere as cushy as its car-based rivals. Does get bouncy & bumpy
• Steering is on the heavier side at parking / low speeds
• No automatic in a market that loves its ATs. No 4x4 or petrol engine either
• Some missing features like a reversing camera, leatherette seats, lumbar support adjustment, underseat storage, roof rails, smaller fuel tank...
• Side-facing 3rd-row seats are very uncomfortable
• Some important features missing (climate control, Android Auto / Apple CarPlay, rear a/c vents, good speakers, auto-dimming IRVM etc.)
• Mahindra's after-sales service quality is a hit or miss. Remains a gamble

Review Link

Last edited by Aditya : 12th October 2023 at 06:47.
RahulNagaraj is offline   (12) Thanks
Old 12th October 2023, 06:48   #2

Re: Tata Nexon facelift vs Kia Sonet vs Hyundai Venue vs Maruti Brezza vs others

Thread moved out from the Assembly Line. Thanks for sharing!
Aditya is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 12th October 2023, 06:54   #3

Re: Tata Nexon facelift vs Kia Sonet vs Hyundai Venue vs Maruti Brezza vs others

Nexon was always a compelling package with its tough build, fantastic suspensions, spacious cabin and strong engines. The facelift thoroughly fixes its shortcomings. It gets the much needed DCA automatic, the interiors are properly refreshed and feel modern and appealing, the equipment levels have been spruced up, the ICE screens have gone from worst in class to the best in class. Add to it the well received EV variants, and the new Nexon is the car to beat from this lot.
Shreyans_Jain is offline   (9) Thanks
Old 12th October 2023, 09:09   #4

Very tough to choose between my long-time favourite - the Kia Sonet - and the smashing new Nexon Facelift which looks gorgeous & gets a dual-clutch AT too now. Love both of these, can't go wrong with either. Although, I'll give that 10% advantage to the Kia because Hyundai-Kia's dual-clutch AT & turbo-petrol combination is better tuned than Tata's.
GTO is offline   (16) Thanks
Old 12th October 2023, 12:25   #5

Voted for the other :-

I am looking for a city car as my Altis would do the highway duty.

It’s of course a tough call for me between the Nexon facelift, Kia Sonet and the Jimny (the other car in the same price bracket).

Jimny brings that exclusivity flair in a car with a width that helps the car negotiate the narrow city roads. I know I don’t require a 4x4 in a city that too in a place like chennai which is devoid of any ghats within atleast 300 kms. I feel for a city car paying and living with a 4x4 is a better compromise than a car with a much wider body. I can simply ask for a 2WD with ventilated seats amongst other modern features in a Jimny. But for now and for my needs this is the car that ticks the right boxes for a city car with a least or livable compromises.

If not the Jimny my vote would go for the Nexon as Tata has not only addressed most of the shortcomings but has also really given ‘more car per car’.
Old 13th October 2023, 10:07   #6

Originally Posted by CArspeed View Post

It’s of course a tough call for me between the Nexon facelift, Kia Sonet and the Jimny (the other car in the same price bracket).
Just curious, are you fine with the Jimny's turning radius? It was the biggest deal breaker for me.

Answering the poll:

1. Petrol/Diesel manual: Nexon
2. Diesel automatic: Sonet
3. Petrol automatic: Fronx 1.0 AT

Rationale:

Yes, Nexon's new DCA is an improvement over the AMT. However, it's responsiveness is nowhere close to the conventional ATs. Plus, I'm not sure I want to be an early adopter of a complex gearbox, built exclusively for Tata (by many accounts), and exclusively offered by Tata motors (with their legendary after sales support).

I think Tata could've done better by plonking on the TC unit from Hyundai - atleast in the diesel variant. Why wouldn't you use a weapon that you already have in your armoury?

Last edited by buzzy_boy : 13th October 2023 at 10:14.
buzzy_boy is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 13th October 2023, 10:12   #7

Voted for Nexon Facelift as its a fresh product & comes with the strong build quality from Tata.

Close second for me is the Sonet but I wouldn't put my money on Kia considering the safety aspects. XUV300 is a bit out-dated and begging a facelift. Venue feels cramped inside for space.
Old 13th October 2023, 10:58   #8

I am only talking petrol here as I have never driven a diesel and don't intend to ever, so voted for Kiger as for me VFM is all that matters. Magnite comes a close second. Nothing comes close to the ease of driving the CVT in city bumper to bumper traffic. If Amaze would have been on the list, I would have voted for that. Brezza could have been my top choice had it not been its hefty price tag.
jomyboy is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 13th October 2023, 11:25   #9

Hi - Voted for Nexon DCT since there is no choice to vote for Elevate. Attached is a price comparison between Nexon DCT and Elevate CVT.

If I have to buy between the two, I will buy Elevate V or VX model than Nexon because short & long term reliability of Honda is much superior to Tata (although Nexon is the most sorted product from Tata).

Also if I have to breach 18 lacs onroad price bracket, I will pick either EV or Hybrid.
Tata Nexon facelift vs Kia Sonet vs Hyundai Venue vs Maruti Brezza vs others-nexon-vs-elevate-price.jpg  

GoBabyGo is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 13th October 2023, 11:27   #10

Originally Posted by CArspeed View Post
Voted for the other :-

It’s of course a tough call for me between the Nexon facelift, Kia Sonet and the Jimny (the other car in the same price bracket)........ But for now and for my needs this is the car that ticks the right boxes for a city car with a least or livable compromises.
Have you checked out the Fronx? I believe for your usage it matches it perfectly.
Old 13th October 2023, 11:29   #11

Originally Posted by buzzy_boy View Post
Just curious, are you fine with the Jimny's turning radius? It was the biggest deal breaker for me
A valid query on another shortcomings of the Jimny in city driving. I don’t mind taking a three point turn rather than living with a wider body car, particularly in a congested narrow market place which I need to cross everytime, I step to drive out.
CArspeed is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 13th October 2023, 11:32   #12

This is a tough choice, but i will break it down to simple terms.

If my driving is mainly focused on highways, i would pick Nexon diesel or Sonet diesel (if my requirement is an AT).

For strict city usage and occasional highway runs, my pick would be the Fronx 1.0 AT. It is pricier, but ticks the right boxes (in my opinion).

Mods:can you merge it back to my previous post?
Old 13th October 2023, 11:36   #13

Originally Posted by subie_socal View Post
Have you checked out the Fronx? I believe for your usage it matches it perfectly.
I checked out the same the week it was launched. The width of 1765 MM is about the same as my Altis. According to me what matters most in city driving is the width and the seating height which the Jimny aces.
It is about the same width ( as the Wagon R/ Celerio) but gives me that exclusivity and the commanding seating position. In addition, It’s boxy SUV dimensions would sure give it an edge in front of the on- coming vehicles.
CArspeed is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 13th October 2023, 11:50   #14

Voted for Sonet. It still remains the benchmark for me. Sorted ride and handling (closest to the ecosport in terms of fun), great interiors, loaded with equipment, great road presence, great boot space, excellent engines, great after sales experience. The facelift, could address the novelty factor in terms of looks and equipment.

Nexon facelift, though good, still haunted by the famed Tata Sales and service experience! Not only that, the new Nexon seems to have way more niggles and issues than the earlier one, hope they iron it out.
07CR is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 13th October 2023, 11:53   #15

Although, I'll give that 10% advantage to the Kia because Hyundai-Kia's dual-clutch AT & turbo-petrol combination is better tuned than Tata's.
I see that you have not mentioned about the Sonet's USP - the awesome Diesel + TC. Is it about time that we let go off the Diesels now?
ashvek3141 is offline   (1) Thanks