Team-BHP > Technical Stuff
Register New Topics New Posts Top Thanked Team-BHP FAQ

Search this Thread
Old 7th February 2017, 18:53   #1201
BHPian

Re: VW Polo - Maintenance and Service cost and dos/don'ts

Quote:
Originally Posted by vw19d View Post
Of late, I have been facing an issue with the fuel flap on my Polo. The flap doesn't lock even if I have centrally locked the car with keys (even after locking the car, pressing on the fuel flap opens it). Saw some European forums where they have reported the same issue and in most cases, it looks to be a solenoid failure. Anyone here on TBHP faced the same issue?
I have the same issue. Today morning only I cleaned the rotating plunger that locks the fuel lid. Seems like the spring is sticking inside. It has a black rubber sleeve as protector otherwise using WD40 would have worked. Let me see how to make it free. Will try prying out the sleeve.
Old 7th February 2017, 19:19   #1202
Distinguished - BHPian

I'm not very good at regular oil-level checks, because modern cars really do not use much of the stuff between services. I do all the vital-fluids checks before a longer-than-usual trip, or if opening the bonnet for something else.

Yesterday, I glad that I had to fill the screen-wash bottle --- because I found that the oil level was right at the fill-one-litre-immediately level. That's about seven months since service. Not sure how long since I last looked. I had topped up the oil about the same time last year, shortly after buying the car but not quite as much.

2014 GT TDI 1.6: should I be concerned at the oil consumption? It is, now I come to read it again, probably not that out of line with what the manual suggests. The car does 99.9% city driving.