Old 25th April 2006, 14:05   #16

a) Segment - ??? Dont know.
b) Model name - Tata Safari EX 4X4
c) Average price you pay for a visit to the service station - Rs.800-odd (Weep, Karthik, WEEP)
d) Rate cost of spares - exhorbitant, high, decent, cheap - Decent/Cheap
e) biggest ticket items (top 3) that you have had to replace - what, how much did it cost you? - Pair of running boards (steps down the sides) Rs.2,200/-; Painting of entire Rear Quarter panel (after some moron put a big scratch with a key/nail) Rs.3,300/-.

Last edited by Steeroid : 25th April 2006 at 14:07.
Old 25th April 2006, 17:42   #17

Originally Posted by venkatrx
a) Segment - C
b) Model name - Baleno Vxi
c) Average price you pay for a visit to the service station - dunno
d) Rate cost of spares - exhorbitant have look at this thread http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/what-c...iesta-nhc.html
e) biggest ticket items (top 3) that you have had to replace - dunno.

anyways i expect the 'services charges' atleast to be cheap for baleno, but spares no way.
Service charges are around Rs 570 in hydereabad...amd happier there compared to my Uno that Fiat serviced for 1400 Rs
Old 26th April 2006, 13:40   #18

I think that this a good thread, but would have been better as a 'poll'

b'cos at the end of the day we need to know which has highest TCO.....anyways hopefully at the end the owner of the thread can summarize and the people can get the benefit.
Old 26th April 2006, 15:04   #19

i think the tata estate had the highest maintainence costs amongst under 10 lac cars
Old 26th April 2006, 15:25   #20

a) Segment:
b) Model name: Maruti 800 (1989)
c) Average price you pay for a visit to the service station:Rs 500-1000
d) Rate cost of spares: cheap
e) biggest ticket items (top 3) that you have had to replace - what, how much did it cost you?: 2 times Engine overhaul done more than 2 lac kms and full new body donecolour etc (but worth it)

a)
b) Ford Escort (1998)
c) Rs.5K
d) Exhorbitant is not the word for Ford it kills
e) radiator, airconditioner unit etc almost every thing in the car Done 80000km

a) B+
b) Tata indica (2004)
c) Rs.1500-2000 every 4000-5000km
d) Cheap
e) Pump overhaul and gasket change done 50000km
Old 26th April 2006, 15:29   #21

Originally Posted by speedsatya
i think the tata estate had the highest maintainence costs amongst under 10 lac cars
yaar, its a dead thingy. We have more Padminis on raod than this thing which one can get for 20-30k.
Old 26th April 2006, 15:36   #22

Segment:
b) Model name: Maruti Wagon R VXI (2002)
c) Average price you pay for a visit to the service station:Rs 2500-3000
d) Rate cost of spares: decent
e) biggest ticket items (top 3) that you have had to replace - what, how much did it cost you?: Steering column - 8500 nothing else replaced as yet (Thank god for small mercies)
Old 26th April 2006, 15:46   #23

Kewlferrari, your WagonR costs 3000 on a regular service? Thats costly for this car man! Where do you get it serviced?
Old 26th April 2006, 16:12   #24

In my view.. the factors for cost of maintenance are

if The service guy cannot read the problem: (Spacecraft)
- Ugly

if the service guy reads that "the owner cannot read the problem"
- Bad

if the owner can read the problem (knows when to sell it off)
- Good

if the service guy reads that the owner loves classic/vintage
- Mission impossible... God only save
Old 26th April 2006, 17:33   #25

Originally Posted by Zappo
Kewlferrari, your WagonR costs 3000 on a regular service? Thats costly for this car man! Where do you get it serviced?
Zappo,

Get it done from Service Masters in New Delhi. They are a little steep, but they are the best I have been too.
Old 26th April 2006, 23:42   #26

Segment C

Mitsubishi Lancer SFX-i - 2001

Avg Service- Rs.636 To 1000 ( Only for a service-Lubes Included)

Spares are Expensive, Here is a small list of all spares I changed till date
1) Front Bumper- Rs.3000
2) Front Grill - Rs.6000
3) Rear Tail Light - Rs.2500
4) Rear Tail Light Bulb- Rs.100
5) Oil Filter OEM ( MMK )- Rs.120
6) Brake Pads ( Got it changed twice in 60,000 KM)- Auto Clutch- Rs.450, The last one I changed was a few days back to RANE for Rs.650. At showroom ts around 4500 only for spare's, labour extra.
7) AC-Fan Motor - Don't remember exact price
8) AC Fan Blade- Rs.200
9) Wiper Blades- Rs 450 ( Showroom), Currently on Rs.200 ( Syndicate)
10) Engine Oil 10W-30- ( Showroom SERVO-Rs.600), Castrol ( Rs.450)
11) Main Engine Seal- Rs.800
12) Clutch Bearing- Rs.1000
13) Battery- Rs.1700
14) Wheels- Bridgestone Potenza G3 Tubeless- Rs.21,000
These are a list of thing I changed, Warranty parts not included.

Biggest Items replaced were Engine seal, AC Motor,Wheels
Old 27th April 2006, 06:21   #27

Originally Posted by GTO
It does not, actually. You would have to count depreciation and some other factors into the picture.

What are the other factors that has to be taken into consideration ?
Old 27th April 2006, 12:22   #28

Isn't insurance also cost of ownership ?

I have a 1999 Santro - 58000Km. No issues till date. No major part replaced just the usual service schedule type stuff. I do get the car polished, interior cleaned each time, so the amount could be 15k on account of that, and the rest 15k for the actual service.

To date I would've spent about 30k total across all the years for service. Insurance was 8k in the first year and has gradually dipped to be about 3k per annum now.

subbarp
Old 27th April 2006, 14:00   #29

TCO = Amount spent - Resale Amount

Amount spent =
Car price (one time OR EMIs) +
Insurance cost +
Service cost +
Spares replacement (wear n tear only not accidents) +
Fuel Costs

do you think any thing else should be considered in TCO?
Old 28th September 2006, 09:50   #30

Just though of putting in a new thread on lines of "what is your actual fuel efficiency", since I found it to be highly informative.

So here starting off "what is your actual service cost ?"...

To begin with let me tell you what I;ve been paying, and what is the current estimate I got (need to take delivery today)

Vehicle - 5Speed M800.

@73k on odo Estimate 6330/- (labor 4950, parts 1380)!!!
(paid service, wheel balancing, wheel alignment, engine analyser, Door rattling fix, OLRVM if in stock, underbody anti-rust paint (1800/-), A/C condensor cleaning+gas fill (1000/-))
This is the estimate I've received, will know actual cost today.

Last 2 service...
@65k kms on odo, Total 1762.24 ( Labor 1184.65, parts 577.59)
( paid service, oil change, wheel alignment, wheel balancing, engine analyser)

@68k kms on odo, Total 1658.14 (Labor 1206.58, parts 454.14)
(Paid service, wheel balancing, wheel alignment, engine analyser, headlamp bulb, LH clearance assembly,front bumber work (free of cost))

Came to know that paid service charge has been hiked from 485+tax to 600+tax, cna confirm actual cost later today.

All service at Mandovi.