Old 27th July 2014, 12:51   #1771

Re: 1st Gen Honda City Owners - Problems Areas, Fuel Efficiency and more

@Sunilb and @Desmosedici I had the same problem and cleaning the TB or setting the engine to idle at high rpm does not help in fact it worsens the mileage and aggravated the jerks. Even I am scouring the market for a replacement TB assembly right now. The best option is to replace the entire assembly, Honda quote near 30 k (including labour)for the same but, if you are incredibly lucky a replacement can be sourced from kurla for 5-7K.

Last edited by t3ofil4us : 27th July 2014 at 13:11. Reason: Grammar
t3ofil4us is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 17th August 2014, 22:49   #1772

Hi Guys

Even I am experiencing similar issues, namely,
1. The noise as mentioned on the last page, once I hit a rough patch or pavements I hear noise from the front end. It had scared me a lot that my suspension has gone kaput and also the Honda guy said the same. But I still dont feel that it total suspension failure.
2. I had got my steering rack repaired some time back, steering feels lighter and acts in a better way now but it groans like a godzilla if I try to turn the car at low RPM's or at standstill position and becomes as smooth as the car starts to gain speed.
3. I have had the issue of low acceleration plus the Pollution certificate too did not give good readings (lot of CO emissions) so I got the throttle body cleaned and the injectors cleaned. The car's pick up became so good for some time. But I feel it has reached to somewhat lower level (although still ok) and the efficiency of my car has fallen steeply. it has come down to 9-11 while it used to be 14 with ease earlier. I own a 1.3 OHC.

It may sound a little foolish but after having read so much about V tec (esp after completing this thread - which I would rate as brilliant). Is it possible to install A Vtec engine into a 1.3 and its ECU. or do i have to go and search for a v tec to get the feel of the machine.
Old 1st September 2014, 18:03   #1773

I just got my car overhauled and it feels so much different. Replaced the TB assembly and the front suspension, front lower-arms and bushes and also the right strut. The engine oil and fluids have been replaced. Only thing left is the O2 sensor. total cost 22K.
t3ofil4us is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 21st September 2014, 17:09   #1774

I am in the market for a used 1st gen Honda city VTec.This will be my second car and its more of an impulsive buy(read vtec).I would want to alter only the exhaust for a good note and maybe add a good set of alloys.It will be a sleeper version.

I have come across a 2001 model near my city which has done 1.80k kms,4th owner,after market LPG kit,retains OE spoiler and alloys.The owner is asking for 1.7lakhs to close the deal...is it worth it?

Can someone tell me what all i need to look out for during inspection and what kind of expenses i will incur based on the mileage or if i have to rebuild the engine itself?As much as i look forward to owning one,I certainly don't want a white elephant.How is the spare part availability and servicing at Honda ASS?

Thank you all in advance.
Old 21st September 2014, 17:41   #1775

Originally Posted by Sam.k View Post
I am in the market for a used 1st gen Honda city VTec.This will be my second car and its more of an impulsive buy(read vtec).I would want to alter only the exhaust for a good note and maybe add a good set of alloys.It will be a sleeper version.

I have come across a 2001 model near my city which has done 1.80k kms,4th owner,after market LPG kit,retains OE spoiler and alloys.The owner is asking for 1.7lakhs to close the deal...is it worth it?

Can someone tell me what all i need to look out for during inspection and what kind of expenses i will incur based on the mileage or if i have to rebuild the engine itself?As much as i look forward to owning one,I certainly don't want a white elephant.How is the spare part availability and servicing at Honda ASS?

Thank you all in advance.

One word- Avoid.
The car has already done 1.80k kms and 4 owners. On top of that it has a lpg kit. Please stay away from such cars. I know it is really difficult to stay away from Old Honda City's (especially the Vtec) when buying a used car. But seriously such a car will take a way a lot of thrill and you will end up spending a lot on its upkeep. 4 owners is a lot. Look around you may find many old city's. Even the non-vtec's were good. On top of that an lpg kit must have had surely ruined its engine.
All the best with your search 👍

Asit
Old 21st September 2014, 17:48   #1776

You are buying that car mainly for the VTEC. Right? If yes then VTEC and LPG do not go well. It is like buying a ///M and looking for FE - 'Kitna deti hai?'.

Moreover 4 owners is too much IMO. I advice you to stay away.

Anurag.

Last edited by a4anurag : 21st September 2014 at 18:10.
Old 21st September 2014, 19:54   #1777

Originally Posted by asit.kulkarni93 View Post
One word- Avoid.
The car has already done 1.80k kms and 4 owners. On top of that it has a lpg kit. Please stay away from such cars. I know it is really difficult to stay away from Old Honda City's (especially the Vtec) when buying a used car. But seriously such a car will take a way a lot of thrill and you will end up spending a lot on its upkeep. 4 owners is a lot. Look around you may find many old city's. Even the non-vtec's were good. On top of that an lpg kit must have had surely ruined its engine.
All the best with your search 👍

Asit
Originally Posted by a4anurag View Post
You are buying that car mainly for the VTEC. Right? If yes then VTEC and LPG do not go well. It is like buying a ///M and looking for FE - 'Kitna deti hai?'.

Moreover 4 owners is too much IMO. I advice you to stay away.

Anurag.
Asit and Anurag - Thanks for your valuable feedback.Shall stay away from that particualar car.

Any thoughts on the pricing,servicing,spares and ownership costs etc..!
Old 21st September 2014, 20:04   #1778

Asit and Anurag - Thanks for your valuable feedback.Shall stay away from that particualar car.

Any thoughts on the pricing,servicing,spares and ownership costs etc..!

Last year my family was in the market for a stop gap arrangement car in Pune, I came across a 2003 city 1.5 exi which had done about 56k kms and the asking price was 2.05 lakhs. The dealer had the complete service history. We couldn't get the car as my grandparents weren't comfortable with the low slung nature of the old city and the high asking price.

Frankly, well maintained Vtec's are very difficult to find. I suggest you be open to the non-vtec old city's. On the other hand you can also get the City ZX Vtec which had a rear disc brake and you have newer and cleaner examples available. The service cost totally depends on the kms the car has clocked. Usually well maintained Hondas are good to go till 100-150k kms without any issues.

Asit
asit.kulkarni93 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 22nd September 2014, 09:14   #1779

The most common issues are:
1) Check Engine Light is on. 90% of the time it is caused by the O2 sensor malfunctioning. Service center may ask for 20k or more to replace it but it costs $15 online. Better to have someone bring it to you from abroad. If you get it shipped it may get stuck in customs.

2) Steering rack fluid leak. It will cost around 20k to replace the steering rack. Or you can get it repaired by an experienced mechanic for 6-8k

3) Exhaust pipe replacement. It tends to get rusted and may develop a hole. You can tell if the exhaust sounds too loud with a deep rumbling sound. Replacement may again cost around 20k or a mechanic can patch it for a couple hundred bucks.

4) Suspension overhaul. Not sure how much it will cost. Common issue is a "khat khat" sound from the front suspension while going over bumps or taking turns.

Apart from these if you follow a regular service schedule and don't cut corners then the car will serve you well.
Old 22nd September 2014, 15:31   #1780

Originally Posted by bowser View Post
The most common issues are:
1) Check Engine Light is on. 90% of the time it is caused by the O2 sensor malfunctioning. Service center may ask for 20k or more to replace it but it costs $15 online. Better to have someone bring it to you from abroad. If you get it shipped it may get stuck in customs.

4) Suspension overhaul. Not sure how much it will cost. Common issue is a "khat khat" sound from the front suspension while going over bumps or taking turns.

Apart from these if you follow a regular service schedule and don't cut corners then the car will serve you well.
O2 Sensor - Around 4.5k INR. Available locally. I think Denso.

Suspension - Keep around approx 20K for this. I had spent that much, only for the front in 2010. Try changing the bushes first.
Old 26th September 2014, 14:50   #1781

Hi i have just bought a 2003 1.5 ohc . could someone please tell me whats the engine oil capacity and what grade is specified for tge ohc 1.5.
Old 26th September 2014, 15:58   #1782

engine oil is 3.5liters. HASS specified oil is good enough.
Old 26th September 2014, 16:32   #1783

Originally Posted by kutlee View Post
engine oil is 3.5liters. HASS specified oil is good enough.
Hi could you please tell me the exact grade specified by honda for the ohc 1.5

Old 8th October 2014, 16:23   #1784

Just got my VTEC serviced today. The servicing was done at a garage near Chaturshrungi (Senapati Bapat Marg) Pune. The cost for the same was Rs.8000 (includes new break pads, oil change, break switch change, air filter change, interior cleaning, other fluids, distributor O ring and cap, misc). The guy also informed me that i will need to get the steering rack overhaul as oil is leaking and he said that would cost 8-9k for the same. Also he suggested suspension overhaul which would cost another 14-15k. And change of all 5 shoes as well. (Too much money this baby is demanding) Also I am planning for a FFE cause I just love the deep growl.

Can the experts of VTEC and long term owners in Pune advice of some good, trusted and economical garage where I can get the above jobs done. Cause I need to arrange the Vitmain M for all the above work.
Old 14th October 2014, 22:14   #1785

Any idea on how a bust O2 sensor affects the mileage? Does it drop drastically to like say 5-6 kmpl?

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com