Team-BHP > Technical Stuff
Register New Topics New Posts Top Thanked Team-BHP FAQ

Search this Thread
Old 16th October 2007, 12:54   #1
Senior - BHPian

premium vs normal fuel during run-in period of the car

As the name of the thread says, this doubt is about using the premium fuel(power, extra premium, shell super etc...) on ur new car..

I somewhere read that during run-in, it is better to use regular fuel.

as i am no expert, i am so far putting regular petrol for my swift.

but now that my car has almost crossed 3000 mark, i just wanted to know if i can now start using premium fuel..

what are the pros(pros i can think few..) and cons(I want to know if there are any..)

or should i wait for some more time before starting to use premium fuel on my car..

My observations so far(tried and tested on my bike)

I usually fill for a fixed denomination(eg: 200rs ) so if i use a shell super or HP power, the fuel quantity that goes in is less.(due to higher price)

but advantages i can think of are

1. smoother engine
2. spark plug remains clean(less carbon)
3. emission levels lower( checked this during 6 months emission test)
4. considering the fact that less fuel goes in for given amount,i still get same FE(which means, premium fuel also gives me more FE)

So can you gurus tell me the cons(if there are any of using them)

also, is it the right time to use premium fuel on my car(3K run) or should i wait for some more time...so it doesnt really matter.. how much it has run ?
Old 16th October 2007, 13:00   #2
Senior - BHPian

I also used to fill premium fuel (Rs. 1.50 costlier than the normal one) in my new Corolla. However, on the advice of Toyota's dealers in the first service, I switched back to normal.
Old 16th October 2007, 13:20   #3
Distinguished - BHPian

Irrespective of normal vs premium, ensuring pure fuel matters most. Next of course, there are the known differences between regular and premium fuels.
Old 16th October 2007, 13:22   #4
rks
BANNED