Old 6th January 2016, 10:49   #691

re: Maruti Alto - Issues

Originally Posted by nmenon View Post
Guys, my Alto was rear ended by a Bolero with Bull Bars today on my way to work.
Do not forget to do a wheel-alignment too
jinojohnt is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 6th January 2016, 15:59   #692

Damage pic. The hatch dent is not visible thanks to the black colour. The dent is just above the dent in the bumper.
Sorry for the quality, Image uploaded from mobile.
Maruti Alto - Issues-_20160106_155433.jpg  

Last edited by nmenon : 6th January 2016 at 16:01. Reason: Added text.
Old 7th February 2016, 17:32   #693

Well I got the car repaired and the wheels aligned and the car was running well for a week.
Today while I was driving home, as I shifted up suddenly I felt something weird with the clutch pedal, as I was releasing it, it came up normally halfway and suddenly nothing.
When I went to shift to the next gear, I literally had to press the pedal hard to feel it disengage and was able to shift smoothly, since I was less than half a kilometre from home I drove on avoiding unnecessary shifts.

Engaging reverse gear is a problem as the clutch doesn't appear to be disengaging completely.

There is no slipping though, I'm sure of that.

The car has done 40k KM (8 years+ ). What could be the issue, is it something to do with the cable? Haven't felt anything odd about the clutch as the acceleration and mileage are fine (I've been getting 17 - 17.5 kmpl with A/C in mixed highway and city driving including when I tanked up today).

I am planning to take it to Autoteam MASS which is near my house.
Would you suggest towing it or can it be driven a distance of about 5 km?

Last edited by nmenon : 7th February 2016 at 17:36. Reason: Added Information
Old 7th February 2016, 19:09   #694

Originally Posted by nmenon View Post
Well I got the car repaired and the wheels aligned and the car was running well for a week.
Today while I was driving home, as I shifted up suddenly I felt something weird with the clutch pedal, as I was releasing it, it came up normally halfway and suddenly nothing.
When I went to shift to the next gear, I literally had to press the pedal hard to feel it disengage and was able to shift smoothly, since I was less than half a kilometre from home I drove on avoiding unnecessary shifts.

Engaging reverse gear is a problem as the clutch doesn't appear to be disengaging completely.

There is no slipping though, I'm sure of that.

The car has done 40k KM (8 years+ ). What could be the issue, is it something to do with the cable? Haven't felt anything odd about the clutch as the acceleration and mileage are fine (I've been getting 17 - 17.5 kmpl with A/C in mixed highway and city driving including when I tanked up today).

I am planning to take it to Autoteam MASS which is near my house.
Would you suggest towing it or can it be driven a distance of about 5 km?
Yes these are signs of clutch not engaging fully.

If the clutch is activated via a cable (as im M800), the cable may have become loose. It is a simple DIY to tighten the cable.

Otherwise if it is rod activated, the adjusting nut must have slipped.
Aroy is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 7th February 2016, 23:38   #695

For the past few days, my neighbours have been telling me about white smoke coming out the back of my 2010 alto LXI. Today I extensively examined my car and found that the smoke only comes for around 5 minutes after start and thereafter the smoke seems normal. Should I be concerned about the car? Is this a serious issue or simply moisture that's evaporating?
Old 7th February 2016, 23:55   #696

Originally Posted by bullrun87 View Post
Today I extensively examined my car and found that the smoke only comes for around 5 minutes after start and thereafter the smoke seems normal. Should I be concerned about the car? Is this a serious issue or simply moisture that's evaporating?
AFAIK, this smoke is seen only during cold starts, Right? If the smoke isn't an after 5 minutes ten there isn't an issue.

For precautionary measures, keep an eye on engine oil level. If it is bluish-white then the engine is drinking oil.
a4anurag is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 7th February 2016, 23:56   #697

Originally Posted by bullrun87 View Post
For the past few days, my neighbours have been telling me about white smoke coming out the back of my 2010 alto LXI.
Could be just moisture especially since your location has been receiving snow fall. To be on the safe side monitor your coolant for whitish scum/sludge, and oil levels- for if it falls you've probably got a blow bye from a worn out piston ring inside the cylinder causing lube oil to leak in. Also as a test, get someone to step on the accelerator in neutral after warm up and see if the smoke comes. If it does it points to a blow bye, if not its probably water vapour.

I can suggest a desi trick, smell the smoke, vapour smells like old crumbly wood mixed with petrol, burning lube oil smells nothing like that.
shady_lawyer is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 8th February 2016, 00:07   #698

Thanks for the quick reply, the engine oil level is normal and the smoke is definately not blue, its white. I will keep an eye on the engine oil and coolant levels. Does this problem occur mainly due to humid/foggy weather when there is dew/ condensation on the exhaust pipe?
That's an interesting idea shady_lawyer, I shall try it tomorrow.

Last edited by bullrun87 : 8th February 2016 at 00:09.
Old 21st April 2016, 22:00   #699

My 2011 Alto F8D shudders quite intensely for the first couple of minutes after start up after a gap of 5-10 hours. The shudder is so intense that you cannot move the car until it settles down which takes up to less than a minute usually.

After that it is fine, as if nothing ever happened. I have changed the airbox assembly (since I had modified the earlier one to accommodate extra aluminum pipes to draw extra air).

Without actually hinting towards anything, I am seeking expert opinion on the probable causes. The car is almost 32K Kms old and was serviced 7 months ago.

Thanks for your help, in advance.

Note from Support: Post edited for grammar & spell-check.
Old 22nd April 2016, 07:51   #700

Originally Posted by padmakar.vikas View Post
My 2011 Alto F8D shudders quite intensely for the first couple of minutes after start up after a gap of 5-10 hours.
After that it is fine, as if nothing ever happened.
Have your idling RPMs checked after start-up, it should be ~850 RPM with the A/C off - if it's lower, the engine will shudder.
You can also check if turning on the A/C reduces shudder as the ECU raises the idle RPM for A/C operation.
If the idle RPM is low, you could try changing the IACV ( Idle-Air-Control-Valve ), which costs ~ Rs.2,500 for the Alto.
Alternatively, you can adjust the idle screw on the throttle-body to raise the idle RPM up a bit.
On start-up, the ECU operates in an open-loop mode until the coolant temperature sensor registers operating temperature.
In the Alto, most idling issues occur during this phase, i.e. the first 2 to 5 minutes of operation.
Did you have any throttle-body cleaning done during the most recent service ?
Originally Posted by padmakar.vikas View Post
I have changed the airbox assembly.
If the shudder is only after installation of the new air-box, check to see if it's been installed properly ( including the temperature sensor & the PCV breather tube ).
Also wouldn't hurt to reset the ECU by disconnecting the battery temporarily.
Bad engine mounts also tend to exacerbate the shudder.

Last edited by im_srini : 22nd April 2016 at 07:53.
Old 22nd April 2016, 21:35   #701

@ im_srini
Thanks for the quick response.
Here are some points to help zero in on the problem.
No fiddling has been done with the idle settings be it the idle valve or the idle screw
The new air filter is securely fitted so no air leaks anywhere
there are 2 things which could be the reason behind the issue:
1. on my previous airbox, there were extra holes drilled with aluminium pipes fitted to allow extra air in so either that allowed some dirt to creep in or that because I tapped cleaned mthe filter by tapping it gently against the floor, some dirt may have been loosened and later sucked into the MPFI system. I suspect this to be the reason because a couple of minutes after engine start up, everything becomes normal, no unusual shudders etc.
2. I used an Indian Oil marketed fuel additive called Adon and the problem appears to have originated and intensified since then. Now some additives could harm the oxygen sensor but if that was the case then would the problem not have been present all throughout, why would it happen only during the first few minutes after startup.
The throttle body and injectors' cleanup is due in a few months however if the issue does not go away, then I will be getting those things done on priority.
now, in your opinion Srini, does it look like I am moving in the right direction or you have other thoughts? Kindly share, thanks.
P.S. - ECU has been reset on 2 occasions
No issues with engine mounts, again because the problem goes away in less than 2 minutes even if the car is not moving
Old 22nd April 2016, 21:39   #702

@ nmenon
I had a similar experience with my Alto at 28K Kms, turned out to be a damaged diaphragm spring, so if you cannot sense a good springing action while pressing the clutch pedal, that is most likely the culprit.
If it turns out to be the case with your car then your are looking at a bill of around 6000 for a new spring, clutch plate, bearings and labour charges.
Please do tell us what it turned out to be, thanks.
Old 2nd September 2016, 09:23   #703

Friends, I need some feedback regarding my 2006 Alto Lxi. The catalytic converter is rattling with engine vibration for some time and the clatter is increasing every day. I have shown it to some local guys who have suggested :

1. Complete removal of the element inside the converter by breaking it into pieces.

2. Replacement of the converter with locally available box which I understand is basically a "jugar" box filled with wool.

Both of these would seriously impact the pollution levels, I believe. The only option would then be the replacement with a new catcon. If anyone has any experience with this issue, please respond.

Last edited by techiecal : 2nd September 2016 at 09:24.
Old 3rd September 2016, 10:20   #704

It will be best to replace with OE from MGA, rather than tinkering and messing up the pollution tests
Aroy is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 3rd September 2016, 10:29   #705

Originally Posted by techiecal View Post
Friends, I need some feedback regarding my 2006 Alto Lxi. The catalytic converter is rattling with engine vibration for some time and the clatter is increasing every day.
Are you sure it is the catalytic converter? In fact, that could be the silencer muffler which is prone to such issues.
If it's the muffler, best to go by the MGP. It's not very expensive, esp. compared to the catalyst.

Saket.
saket77 is offline   (2) Thanks

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com