Old 26th February 2013, 15:46   #1

Maruti Ritz ZXi – Review and Ownership

HI All,

First of all, Thanks to All TBHPians for guiding me buying the right car.

I would like to share my initial Ownership experience on Owning my New Ritx ZXI. This is my first review on Team BHP, pardon me for any details if missed. I have tried my best to compile this and give a detailed review which I was once upon a time looking for very keenly to know about this Car

Background:

I had planned to book my car in 2010 but for some reasons and commitments I had to drop the plans and hence decided when I am buying my new Car in future I should buy a better Car than Alto K10.

So finally I decided to surprise my Mom by getting the car Delivered on Diwali. I started shortlisting all the Hatchbacks and Sedans available in the market. Maruti was always my #1 preference. I took test drives for Ritz, Swift, A star. Personally liked the Ritz lot better than Swift considering the comfort factor and easy ingress and egress, space and a different appeal since I have more than 13 Swift’s parked in my lane everyday mostly silver and Grey. Swift being too common I wanted a different car from Maruti. Comfort was one of my key requirements combined with performance and utility with practicality.

Finally I shortlisted the below cars –

Ritz
Liked the practicality and the different appeal and looks. I liked the rear design unlike most of them, its different and its good. Space Comfort utility. Ground clearance, Value for Money and all features covered. A very good visibility of the Road was a added advantage. Feature loaded which is VFM. Electrically adjustable ORVM, Rear Wiper n defogger, AB,ABS, Steering mounted audio controls, Mag(185/70R14), Fog lamps, Central locking etc.,

Swift
Good in looks, mostly for Youngsters, Comfortable, less utility considering boot space, practicality, a little difficult ingress and egress considering I have people who are older at home, little High NVH compared to Ritz. Less Comfortable compared to Ritz(no offense to Swift lovers, purely my liking and opinion) Am more family oriented, hence didn’t like it for 2 factors, one – very common a 8 year old model, Two - not so comfortable in the rear seat. Ritz is better in the back seat comfort compared to Swift. Climate Control added advantage.

I10
bouncy, too smooth, found it having feminine traits – not to my liking, too common on the roads, small wheels, too much discounts considering the number of sales, Surprising factor – a colleague who owns a I10 suggested me not to buy as he also felt Ritz r Swift a better Car. No offense to I10 owners/lovers purely opinionated by people’s choices. Anyways not to my liking.

Polo
Good looks, sturdy, strong build quality, mediocre drive quality, high NVH even in petrol version, diesel I better not say. 3 Cylinder engine is even more disappointment, high maintenance and bad Customer service by VW as read in TBHP and also know from couple of friends who own them. In short disappointed by a VW product, had high hopes.

Figo and Classic – almost the same as Polo, diesel is better than Petrol. not worth it – no comfort in back seat- moreover high maintenance and less Resale value – dropped it.

Final Decision infavour of Ritz considering my requirements of comfort, Performance and different appeal value for Money and practicality of use. Thanks to all those who shared their ownership experiences, advises from Mods and fellow TBHPians. You all helped me make a right choice which I am really Happy with. Kudos to all of you !!!

Booking experience:

I booked my Ritz ZXI on 27th Oct’13 at Garuda Autocraft, Lalbagh Road and was supposed to get my car by Diwali 11th Nov’13 which I was promised by the dealer. But eventually the new Ritz Minor(facelifted Ritz 2012) ZXI was not in production and would be delayed as ZXI/VXI(ABS) are manufactured on Order unlike VXI. There was one car available in Shimoga which the dealer said can get it by Road which I wasn’t agreeable considering the Car would already be run more than 400Kms before I purchase, and I didn’t want a already run in car being my first car.

Finally I escalated it to Maruti Helpline and to my surprise, I got a call within 2 hours from the dealership and also from the Regional Territory Sales ( Pramod) informing that the Zxi is much less booked and VXi is readily available to be delivered if I wish to change my selection of Model. Considering this my first Car, I wanted to purchase a Top end with all the features. I said I don’t mind waiting but I would like to have a brand New Car which is not run which I was very specific about and wanted a “White Ritz ZXI” with grey interiors only. Subsequently in Nov’12 they got a White Zxi but this time for my disappointment it was a White ZXI with Red interiors which I found was too loud and I had opted for White Zxi with grey interiors which was a lot better appealing in real. The dealer said the factory had sent a wrong ZXI which was even more disappointing. Finally after one more escalation call to RTS Pramod, he arranged for the vehicle to be produced by Dec’12 and informed he will try the vehicle to be delivered before Dec’15th since post that the 15th Dhanurmasa starts and I didn’t want to get my car during that time. Finally It didn’t arrive by Dec’15th and I decided more firmly, the longer I wait, I want what I asked for with no Compromise. Lot of heated conversation, my patience to ensure I get my car and what I want without much hassles and no tricks or taking me for a ride since I am investing my 2 years saving for my Car.
Finally My car was definitely arriving before end of Jan’13. To my surprise it arrived about 6 days before schedule on 24th Jan’13.
Cost – Rs.6.60+ on road.

Much awaited Day

Finally after 90 days, I got my car on 24th Jan’13. A brand New White Ritz ZXI right before my eyes. It was really heartening to finally see my car after a long wait and I inspected the car per the PDI Checklist (Thanks to all of them who compiled this, MUST for any new car buyer) after thoroughly doing the PDI. I had a fe things to be changed which the dealer happily did. I was really happy by the kind of Customer care shown by Garuda Autocraft. I okayed the car to be registered and wanted to have a choice of number as well which I eventually selected to my satisfaction since I believe in numerology as well and It has worked for me.

Much before the car arrived, I had already decided on what accessories to be installed and HU as well to my liking. Since I was already getting a discount of 23K(20K consumer offer + 3K Corp discount) I also demanded discount on accessories and HU. Yes I got the HU from Maruti itself considering the MGA concept which would void the warranty if any non MGA equipment is fitted in the car leading to warranty issues. I just didn’t want any kind of warranty issues to save a few thousands.

Finally I got a good discount of about 12.5K from the dealer who incidentally was a friend of my Old Colleague.

Regular Accessories
Anti Rust 3K
Teflon – 3K
Reverse Cam with sensors – approx 5K
Seat Covers – Marvin – 8.5K
Speaker tray – 1200
Visor – 1200
Nippon buyback 3.5K(discount on HU purchase)

HU - JVC KW AV50 – 19990
Speakers
JBL - GTO948 – 400W 100 RMS 3 way – OVAL 9” – 4590
CS – 6c - 150W - 2 way – 6” - 4590
HU with 2 years warranty and speakers as well.

Initial Experience

Finally the satisfaction and pleasure of owning your Car was felt by me and I was really happy with my achievement after 2 long years of waiting.

I felt the Car was more roomier and spacious and feels big from inside, supersmooth engine, sometimes You get a doubt at the signal whether the car is on or not and you accidentally crank the starter. For this reason only the Tacho Meter is provided to the left side so you watch it before you crank. Perfect place for it.

Initially the drive was a little rough and bouncy until I remembered and realized the Tyre pressures were way above the recommended pressures of 29 Psi. Finally reduced it to experience the smooth drive of 185/70/R14 it really grips. Only hitch is JK Tire makes a little more noise which is not that audible inside the cabin if music is on and also considering the low NVH compared to other marutis. The mags could have had much better design. Though it still looks good.

I couldn’t go on long drives as yet as I am waiting for the run in to complete. I am planning atleast a 3K run in before I take it on a long drive. So far I haven’t crossed 3K RPM/90KMPH which was not noticed in spirited driving which the K series is known for. The car is very peppy and happy to rev, no matter how you drive. Sometimes I am amazed by the torque in the third gear which easily climbs even on a steep road. In all, the car really shows the 87BHP does make a difference. You experience a very quiet cabin once the windows are rolled up, you only even hear the AC at #2 position its really that quiet, I am not exaggerating but it really is. It feels good. A perfect City car with oodles of practicality which can be utilized. You will be happy driving the car. A Ritz is bound to make you happy.

Presently I have completed 3K plus on the Odo.

Looks, Comfort & Ergonomics:

Looks:

Lookswise the Car is different than the crowd. It requires a different taste for liking it. One which is practical as well, its really not a bad looking car, infact the much talked about Rear grows on you over a period of time, I personally liked the Ritz right from the time it was launched.

Comfort & Ergonomics:

The Car has a good ambience inside with the positioning of the steering wheel and the seat height adjustment is added advantage. The visibility of the road is superb considering the high driving position. I opted for it considering if any of my other family members have to drive let them have the facility of heightening the seat for their comfort. The back seat is comfortable for a Six footer too. That’s the plus point compared to Swift. The Water console design looks really good and indeed comfortable for a city drive. Ergonomically its really good, good rolling of seats for tall people as well. Lots of spaces to store coins, books if any, docs etc., Space utilization is optimum, for a practical person Ritz will really be a good option. I found one flaw which needs getting used to. The “A” pillar sometimes doesn’t let you see a occasional rider or a pedestrian which really needs getting used to if you a fast driver, be careful near corners and crossing the roads or in moving traffic.

Drive Quality:

Drive quality is very good in this car. Its quiet and very smooth. Petrol Ritz has this advantage, you don’t hear a single noise inside excepting for occasional thuds if you are a rough driver and if the type pressures aren’t right. Otherwise a very quiet cabin. Fairly revv happy engine which has “get up and go” attitude. Kseries Zindabad, its really good. If you are driving alone then you have all the fun. This engine takes any abuse as well, I feel that though I wouldn’t do it, but its really rough n tough. The drive quality is really smooth, thanks to the good Ground Clearance and the firmly smooth suspension setup, its neither too smooth like the I10 nor very stiff but its adequate. I have had a very smooth drive even with 5 adults inside. Everyone liked it. Tire pressures make a lot of difference. Comfort wise the car gets 9/10 considering its GC and suspension setup. With 5 onboard the car is still comfortable, yes the weight of the people inside does make a difference. Only thing to be careful about when you have more than 3 on board (if hefty people inside) watch out for the humps suspension does get worked out and if you are little fast you might as well hear a thud. I once didn’t notice my speed though was just around 10kmph but still could hear it, I had 2 healthy adults behind. A good set of Tires really makes a lot of difference.

Moreover, I am planning for a Tire upgrade in the coming months and not planning for 15” mags as its not recommended by Maruti but can still be fitted, not sure whether I will do it. My understanding says it will take a hit on Comfort considering one inch bigger wheels and 1 inch or more smaller Tires. Though JK Tires are hard compound Tires, they say it lasts much longer than Michelin/Goodyear/Yokohama, though I am not sure how much reality is in this fact, will try the Michelin as its my personal preference. You do hear road noise while driving, if the Tire pressures are right, you hear it much lesser. Overall comfort and drive quality, its really worth. Bigger tires do make a difference in your drive quality and road grip of the car. This does help in better control and quality drive on high speeds, better traction too. 165/70/R14 are good enough for city drives but I feel are a little less confidence inspiring at high speed or quick maneuvers but they still do the job for the Indian.

Mileage

Coming to Kitna Deti hai, so far I have got about 12.85kmpl during the first 1000K run. They say post the 10K service actually the engine starts giving the actual mileage. Depends on how good you treat your car the first 5-10K kms. Lets see how it goes. My driving is mostly at moderate speeds with less gear changes depending on the traffic and the free roads. A Spirited driving should vary your mileage by about 1-2 kms.

Now I am consistently getting 14kmpl...Yes consistently currently done with first service having 3K+ on the Odo.

Audio Setup:

I gave up the stock OEM for a buy back to the dealer, it wasn’t to my taste and the speaker setup was particularly pathetic considering my taste. If you want a audio system for the sake of it, its good. Its just decent but lacks details of sound. I am a bit of a audiophile with love good quality music in my car.

Initially I wanted a Alpine setup but could get it as it was way too expensive for my indulgement in them. Touchscreen was costing way above 60K which was too much which I wasn’t willing to spend. I utilized the money what I got as discounts plus a little extra money from my side. I went for a JVC AV 50 with JBL setup considering the MGA concept, I know many might not agree but I didn’t want to risk my warranty to save a few thousand rupees and risk a 6.6lac rupee car. But after this upgrade I am really happy with the quality of Bass and crisp clear music playing in my car. Never knew a 9K+ investment on speakers can give such a good output. The audio quality is real good with deep bass. The HU has all functions Usb/ Ipon/ Iphone/ Tuner/ Video/ Reverse Cam/Bluetooth ready etc. I am quite happy with the Audio output, I am planning for adding another set of speakers in the rear door in the coming months, lets see.

Overall, I am happy buying the Ritz and ready to munch more miles, this will be a Car I am willing to keep for a long time. Lets see I will be on TBHP for a long time. Cheers, Happy and Safe Motoring !!!
Maruti Ritz ZXi – Review and Ownership-201302220011.jpg  

Maruti Ritz ZXi – Review and Ownership-201302220012.jpg  

Maruti Ritz ZXi – Review and Ownership-201302220013.jpg  

Maruti Ritz ZXi – Review and Ownership-photo00001.jpg  

Maruti Ritz ZXi – Review and Ownership-photo0002.jpg  

Maruti Ritz ZXi – Review and Ownership-photo0005.jpg  

Maruti Ritz ZXi – Review and Ownership-201302220014.jpg  

Maruti Ritz ZXi – Review and Ownership-201302220015.jpg  

Maruti Ritz ZXi – Review and Ownership-photo0010.jpg  

Maruti Ritz ZXi – Review and Ownership-photo0011.jpg  

Maruti Ritz ZXi – Review and Ownership-photo0012.jpg  

Maruti Ritz ZXi – Review and Ownership-photo0013.jpg  

Maruti Ritz ZXi – Review and Ownership-photo0036.jpg  

Maruti Ritz ZXi – Review and Ownership-photo0044.jpg  

Maruti Ritz ZXi – Review and Ownership-photo0045.jpg  

Maruti Ritz ZXi – Review and Ownership-photo0046.jpg  

Maruti Ritz ZXi – Review and Ownership-photo0047.jpg  

Maruti Ritz ZXi – Review and Ownership-photo0049.jpg  

Maruti Ritz ZXi – Review and Ownership-photo0050.jpg  

Maruti Ritz ZXi – Review and Ownership-photo0051.jpg  

Maruti Ritz ZXi – Review and Ownership-photo0052.jpg  

Maruti Ritz ZXi – Review and Ownership-photo0053.jpg  

Maruti Ritz ZXi – Review and Ownership-photo0054.jpg  

Maruti Ritz ZXi – Review and Ownership-photo0055.jpg  

Maruti Ritz ZXi – Review and Ownership-photo0056.jpg  

Maruti Ritz ZXi – Review and Ownership-photo0057.jpg  

Last edited by Sunsh!nes : 28th April 2013 at 23:26. Reason: Mods wanted me to reformat in the assembly line.
Sunsh!nes is offline   (11) Thanks
Old 26th February 2013, 17:14   #2

re: Maruti Ritz ZXi – Review and Ownership

Hello Buddy!

Congrats for the new purchase and you will love owning this piece of engineering for the years to come.

Can you please post pictures of the car as any Review thread is incomplete without pictures of the prized possession.

Happy and Safe driving,

Anurag
Old 1st May 2013, 11:24   #3

Re: Maruti Ritz ZXi – Review and Ownership

Thread moved from the Assembly Line to the Initial Ownership Section. Thanks for sharing!
Old 1st May 2013, 15:36   #4

Great work, Sunsh!nes! I'd been looking forward to your ownership experience for a while. You're one of the rare few on this forum who own a VVT Ritz. What's the manufacturer recommended running-in period/distance for the car? You done running in? How's the engine performance on the highway? :-)

Btw, is it possible to accommodate your JBL ovals on the front/rear door? I can see that you've got yours installed on the parcel tray.

Last edited by SlowRider : 1st May 2013 at 15:38. Reason: To avoid back-to-back posts
Old 1st May 2013, 19:34   #5

Nice and comprehensive report, Sunsh!nes.
I think this is the first Facelifted Ritz ZXi on T-BHP!
Heartiest congratulations on the Ritz. I bet you will have a nice time revving the 1.2L K Series.

IMHO, the Live To Drive sticker looks best on White Cars!
Loud is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 1st May 2013, 19:59   #6

Many congratulation on owning the 'Practical Swift' from Maruti stable a.k.a. 'Ritz'. I wish you thousands of happy miles on it.

Btw how are you finding the high pedal position in this car. Many have reported that it causes pain in the ankle if driven for long distances.
Old 9th May 2013, 01:13   #7

Originally Posted by SlowRider View Post
Great work, Sunsh!nes! I'd been looking forward to your ownership experience for a while. You're one of the rare few on this forum who own a VVT Ritz. What's the manufacturer recommended running-in period/distance for the car? You done running in? How's the engine performance on the highway? :-)

Btw, is it possible to accommodate your JBL ovals on the front/rear door? I can see that you've got yours installed on the parcel tray.
Standard run in is followed per the Manual, dont remember, but I was very steady with increasing speed, maintained below 60KMPH for 1K KMS post which maintained upto 80KMPH steady increase upto 2K kms. Its decently giving me constant 14 KMPL (2 full tanks) then dropped to 13.7 KMPL with 50% AC in bangalore. This is a mix of city and long drives on weekends. Now it has clocked 3800 Kms on Odo. With spirited driving its dropped to 13 kmpl.

The Ovals cant be fixed in the doors without modifying the doors which I didnt want to. so fitter the components in the front door with tweeter on the door as in the pic. Hope I answered your doubts.

Originally Posted by a4anurag View Post
Hello Buddy!

Congrats for the new purchase and you will love owning this piece of engineering for the years to come.

Can you please post pictures of the car as any Review thread is incomplete without pictures of the prized possession.

Happy and Safe driving,

Anurag
Thanks Anurag .. the pictures are posted. Sorry for the delay was very busy with few things at home.

Originally Posted by SlowRider View Post
Engine is very smooth on highway, because of tallboy design sometimes I could feel a slight roll but that doesnt bother much, with 185/R14 you feel better grip. I am actually running on JK tyres makes a bit of noise but good enough, planning for tyre change in the coming months post 10K to michelin, they say its less noisy and better, yet to decide. Overall you feel better comfort, visibility and drive quality. You will enjoy it.

Originally Posted by Loud View Post
Nice and comprehensive report, Sunsh!nes.
I think this is the first Facelifted Ritz ZXi on T-BHP!
Heartiest congratulations on the Ritz. I bet you will have a nice time revving the 1.2L K Series.

IMHO, the Live To Drive sticker looks best on White Cars!
Thanks Mine is the first New ZXI Petrol I guess on the roads.

Originally Posted by Sherlocked View Post
Many congratulation on owning the 'Practical Swift' from Maruti stable a.k.a. 'Ritz'. I wish you thousands of happy miles on it.

Btw how are you finding the high pedal position in this car. Many have reported that it causes pain in the ankle if driven for long distances.
So far havent felt the high pedal position or ankle pain, have driven it for close to 100 kms continuously couple of times. Will observe it henceforth. Probably it depends on your seating position, I have height adjustment as well didnt feel it.

Mod Note : Please use the EDIT or MULTI-QUOTE buttons instead of typing one post after another on the SAME THREAD!

To know how to multi-quote,
click here (How to MULTI-QUOTE (when replying to a thread) on Team-BHP).

We advise you to read the
Forum Rules before proceeding any further.

Last edited by moralfibre : 9th May 2013 at 08:02.
Sunsh!nes is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 22nd June 2013, 12:14   #8

Hearty Congratulations for your New Ritz! White looks superb from all angles. Best things I feel are Reverse parking camera, Black-Beige combination for seats, Alloy wheels with 185/70 R14 tyres.

Wish you Happy and safe miles ahead!
Old 22nd June 2013, 21:27   #9

Congrats on getting one of the most practical cars in India! The petrol engine in the Ritz was what impressed us when we took the test drive. A very nice car, and also a one in which ingress/egress is extremely easy. Also one of the cars which gives is full VFM. A query - On the fuel filler cap, was the sticker put by you or by the dealer? I am asking this because in Pune I see many Maruti cars with this sticker, so I am wondering if it is put by Maruti itself?

Enjoy the car and drive safe!
Old 22nd June 2013, 21:51   #10

@sunsh!nes.
Hey, congratulations on the Ritz. Looks amazing in white. Really loved it.

By the way, I'm looking for an ICE upgrade in my i20. Will you please provide me with some details on the JBL speakers that you have put in you car ?. Have you installed an Amplifier to drive these speakers ?. Please do shed some light on these queries as it will be very helpful.

Thanks on advance!
Old 22nd June 2013, 22:09   #11

Good pictures buddy. The car looks fabulous in white. Always a fan of the white colour on the M800, Swift and Ritz.

The sore part I feel is the reverse parking sensors in black. Didn't you get them in white?It would not have had a contrast on looks part. How is the performance and accuracy of the sensors?

Black seat covers Very difficult to maintain. No eating in the car, dusting to be done more times than normal.

Anurag.
Old 23rd June 2013, 11:55   #12

Congrats on the car !!!

Are the steering controls working with the new JVC HU ? I was informed by the Bimal-maruti SA that the steering controls will work only with OEM HU.

Can you please provide an update on the car ? Thanks !
I have booked my RITZ ZXI and waiting for the color.
Old 23rd June 2013, 17:12   #13

Originally Posted by Sunsh!nes View Post

Booking experience:

I booked my Ritz ZXI on 27th Oct’13 at Garuda Autocraft, Lalbagh Road and was supposed to get my car by Diwali 11th Nov’13 which I was promised by the dealer. But eventually the new Ritz Minor(facelifted Ritz 2012) ZXI was not in production and would be delayed as ZXI/VXI(ABS) are manufactured on Order unlike VXI. There was one car available in Shimoga which the dealer said can get it by Road which I wasn’t agreeable considering the Car would already be run more than 400Kms before I purchase, and I didn’t want a already run in car being my first car.
The year needs correction in your first post mate! Today is 23rd June 2013.
Diesel lover is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 24th June 2013, 11:12   #14

Originally Posted by Diesel lover View Post
The year needs correction in your first post mate! Today is 23rd June 2013.
You are right, I didnt notice this . I am not able to edit the date on the post. No edit option.
Old 24th June 2013, 12:54   #15

Originally Posted by Sunsh!nes View Post
You are right, I didnt notice this . I am not able to edit the date on the post. No edit option.
You can PM any moderator (GTO, Vid6639, anyone else) to edit the post. Else, you can use the 'Triangle' below your Username (beside the green circle) to report the post.

Do you plan to powder-coat your alloys to white/black?

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com