Old 7th September 2016, 02:11   #166

Re: Driven: Jeep Grand Cherokee

The USDM Grand Cherokee diesel meets T2B5/Euro6 emissions (urea injection) while the IDM doesnt, so it would workout even cheaper than the numbers you have posted (for FCA)

Last edited by Mpower : 7th September 2016 at 02:22.
Old 8th September 2016, 22:28   #167

The first Indian Jeep Destination Store, Concept Motorcar Pvt. Ltd., Ahmedabad, was inaugurated by FCA's President and Managing Director, Mr Kevin Flynn earlier today.

Driven: Jeep Grand Cherokee-1024x682.jpg

First in a series of 10 Jeep Destination Stores which are scheduled to be opened in New Delhi, Chennai, Mumbai, Hyderabad, Chandigarh, Kochi and Bengaluru by 2016-end, the Concept Motorcar showroom is spread across 7,500 sq feet on the ground floor of Ganesh Meredian, opposite Kargil Petrol Pump on the Sarkhej-Gandhinagar Highway. The showroom will also have Jeep-branded merchandise and related accessories.

This Jeep Destination Store is also complemented by a 12,000 square-foot, state-of-the-art workshop facility located in Taluka Sanand, Block No – 298 Paiki and 300, Mouje Sanathal.

Driven: Jeep Grand Cherokee-21024x682.jpg

Speaking on the occasion, Mr Kevin Flynn said:

We have been noting the growing interest around the Jeep Brand among customers in Ahmedabad. Many have been contacting us, inquiring about bookings and deliveries of the iconic Jeep Wrangler and the luxurious Jeep Grand Cherokee, and I am pleased to be able to deliver to their enthusiasm today, with the launch of our first Jeep Destination Store in this fast-growing metropolis.

Jeep pioneered the SUV segment and the concept of off-roading. Now we are ready to give our Indian customers the opportunity to own our iconic SUVs, the Jeep Wrangler, the most capable production 4×4 vehicle in the world and the Jeep Grand Cherokee, the most awarded SUV of all time.”

Motoroids

Last edited by Eddy : 9th September 2016 at 11:02. Reason: as requested
RavenAvi is offline   (8) Thanks
Old 9th September 2016, 08:24   #168

Originally Posted by Passiautonate View Post
Well if I import one from US and pay import duty (I believe 100% for cars less then USD 40k) below would be the calculation at 70 exchange rate (USDINR)-

i.e. 37,565*2*70=INR52,59,100. OTR with 18% registration = INR 62,05,738 + Insurance.

Now question is why would I buy from FIAT and pay 32 lakhs for transportation. Let me guess for Right Hand Drive
I believe it is close to 180%, but I may be wrong. Still if we add up, for a price of $37,565 with 180% import duty, price should be close to Rs. 74Lacs. Add up the transportation cost and dealer margin, still it is priced at a handsome premium.

Moreover, we are speculating this with Sticker price in US, actual production cost would be low. I don't know the valuation laws as such, but I do have a hunch that the declared cost for importing can be lower. Again, I could be wrong.

If the car starts selling in decent numbers I have a business Idea. I will sell them cheaper then FIAT through IMPORT.
Only major glitch in your business idea is that one CANNOT import a LHD vehicle on Indian shores. Tough luck!
Old 9th September 2016, 14:55   #169

Originally Posted by teemus View Post
Only major glitch in your business idea is that one CANNOT import a LHD vehicle on Indian shores. Tough luck!
So import them from UK/ Australia instead...

Originally Posted by Aroy View Post
What most of us, who are commenting on the astronomical prices do not realise is that the US prices being bandied about are the RETAIL prices and not the "Whole Sale" prices that are given to dealers. The prices for automobiles imported from abroad are always at the transfer prices, which exclude the dealer preparation and warranty costs. So in effect a $45,000/ price as seen on the Jeep site in US would most probably be imported in the range of $25-30K, This is the discount at which others import their vehicles.
Great point. However, even if one compares the Retail Prices (which I have specced up and published for Compass, Patriot, SWB Wrangler and Renegade elsewhere) the prices in India are thrice bloated...
This is truly idiotic.

I think they will change their tack soon.
Id like to see how many Wranglers actually sell and how many Grand Cherokees actually go out of the showroom to consumers. I guess our monthly sales thread will tell us whats happening!

Last edited by SDP : 9th September 2016 at 15:19. Reason: merging back to back posts
Old 13th September 2016, 20:29   #170

I got this as a forward on Whatsapp from a fellow BHPian .

Driven: Jeep Grand Cherokee-j.jpe

On a serious note, although most of Jeep's pricing is something of a joke, I feel the SRT is priced alright considering the monster living under the bonnet.
Aditya is online now   (10) Thanks
Old 15th September 2016, 18:53   #171

I am also hoping that they offer the Wrangler Normal Short Chassis version again at a fair price range.
Maybe they just might, Shankar.

Look what NDTV Auto spies found in Fiat's Ranjangaon plant:

Driven: Jeep Grand Cherokee-jeepwrangler3doorspied_827x510_71473921368.jpg

What would be the fair price range of the 3-door Wrangler?

Going by the initial pricing of the Unlimited version, around 50 lakhs?
RavenAvi is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 15th September 2016, 19:00   #172

Originally Posted by RavenAvi View Post
Maybe they just might, Shankar.

Look what NDTV Auto spies found in Fiat's Ranjangaon plant:

Attachment 1554601

Going by the initial pricing of the Unlimited version, around 50 lakhs?
This is a good scoop mate!
This SWB must also be for "Test" purposes. Even if they do bring in the Wrangler SWB, it won't be any less than 45-50 Lacs on road for sure.
And it is too expensive at that price.

It is much more sensible for someone like me to consider such a vehicle only in the used market because I just cannot spend so much for a vehicle of this kind, especially when it doesn't cost anywhere near this much abroad.

The only other way, is that if these Fiat fellas start assembling this vehicle in India on SKD/ CKD basis which means some of those evil duties will come down.

Then it will be viable for them to price it around 27-32 lacs at which price I can digest it.

But I think for now, I shall hang on to my lovely 5 year old Yeti and perhaps - just perhaps, go and buy myself a used OR even brand new Gypsy...

Last edited by Aditya : 16th September 2016 at 16:48. Reason: Typo
shankar.balan is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 21st September 2016, 13:32   #173

Grand Cherokee Vs GLE Vs X5

Driven: Jeep Grand Cherokee-0_468_700_httpcdni.autocarindia.comextraimages20160920102828_jx1.jpg

http://www.autocarindia.com/auto-new...on-403038.aspx
Old 21st September 2016, 14:03   #174

Originally Posted by Karthik Chandra View Post

The verdict is perhaps the most funny part. The Merc is not a good off-roader, nor it is a good handler but leave everything of that aside buy it if you want a luxury SUV.

I was under an impression that the SUV should at least moderately be off-road capable. Maybe I am wrong!
teemus is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 21st September 2016, 14:06   #175

There's not much difference in pricing of wrangler & unlimited. They should have ideally launched wrangler first, it's so different from what all we get here.

Seeing the number of Jeeps, unless they distribute between themselves, most of these are going to remain un-sold at these prices. It will be a good idea to drop contact number with Ahmedabad dealership in anticipation of BMW kind of discounts
Driven: Jeep Grand Cherokee-screen-shot-20160921-2.02.21-pm.png  

Last edited by Turbanator : 21st September 2016 at 14:11.
Turbanator is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 21st September 2016, 14:26   #176

Originally Posted by teemus View Post
The verdict is perhaps the most funny part. The Merc is not a good off-roader, nor it is a good handler but leave everything of that aside buy it if you want a luxury SUV.

I was under an impression that the SUV should at least moderately be off-road capable. Maybe I am wrong!
If the Merc GLE came with the off-road package like the GLS, it would be quite formidale offroad
Old 21st September 2016, 14:37   #177

There's not much difference in pricing of wrangler & unlimited. They should have ideally launched wrangler first, it's so different from what all we get here.

Seeing the number of Jeeps, unless they distribute between themselves, most of these are going to remain un-sold at these prices. It will be a good idea to drop contact number with Ahmedabad dealership in anticipation of BMW kind of discounts
Bud, this vehicle is going to be too expensive for the likes of me, even if they discount it at 50% of the present declared prices!
Instead of some 90 lacs one will pay 45 lacs...which is still way high for this vehicle is all Im saying - ad nauseam of course, but true nevertheless.
Old 25th September 2016, 22:51   #178

So Im cruisin' around DXB on some work and took time this evening to visit the local Jeep showroom.
I wanted to share some pics here especially of the lovely Jeep Wranglers that we saw. And the seriously drool worthy prices operating here in UAE.

For the interest and info of everyone here the Jeep Renegade apparently has become a HOT seller here. Completely out of stock right now and the last consignment of MY 2016 Renegades is expected in October.

Anyway here is some eye candy for us underprivileged Indians to ogle at...and privately shed tears at, ref the blighted Indian pricing!
Driven: Jeep Grand Cherokee-imageuploadedbyteambhp1474823649.288610.jpgDriven: Jeep Grand Cherokee-imageuploadedbyteambhp1474823670.079152.jpgDriven: Jeep Grand Cherokee-imageuploadedbyteambhp1474823689.905737.jpgDriven: Jeep Grand Cherokee-imageuploadedbyteambhp1474823705.353841.jpgDriven: Jeep Grand Cherokee-imageuploadedbyteambhp1474823720.038166.jpgDriven: Jeep Grand Cherokee-imageuploadedbyteambhp1474823732.675255.jpgDriven: Jeep Grand Cherokee-imageuploadedbyteambhp1474823747.374278.jpgDriven: Jeep Grand Cherokee-imageuploadedbyteambhp1474823786.677964.jpgDriven: Jeep Grand Cherokee-imageuploadedbyteambhp1474823807.404422.jpgDriven: Jeep Grand Cherokee-imageuploadedbyteambhp1474823820.572517.jpgDriven: Jeep Grand Cherokee-imageuploadedbyteambhp1474823848.774828.jpgDriven: Jeep Grand Cherokee-imageuploadedbyteambhp1474823863.700155.jpgDriven: Jeep Grand Cherokee-imageuploadedbyteambhp1474823878.865876.jpgDriven: Jeep Grand Cherokee-imageuploadedbyteambhp1474823891.390437.jpgDriven: Jeep Grand Cherokee-imageuploadedbyteambhp1474823908.489560.jpgDriven: Jeep Grand Cherokee-imageuploadedbyteambhp1474823924.588646.jpgDriven: Jeep Grand Cherokee-imageuploadedbyteambhp1474823944.339515.jpgDriven: Jeep Grand Cherokee-imageuploadedbyteambhp1474823961.065573.jpgDriven: Jeep Grand Cherokee-imageuploadedbyteambhp1474823979.258215.jpgDriven: Jeep Grand Cherokee-imageuploadedbyteambhp1474824013.490840.jpg
shankar.balan is offline   (9) Thanks
Old 26th September 2016, 11:47   #179

Anyway here is some eye candy for us underprivileged Indians to ogle at...and privately shed tears at, ref the blighted Indian pricing!
Dear shankar.balan,

I am jealous - I mean totally jealous of you!

Did you get a drive or did you just look/drool?

Girish Mahajan
Old 26th September 2016, 19:17   #180

Drooling in Dubai.
Driving etc accomplished in the US on earlier travels...
shankar.balan is offline   (1) Thanks