(
https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/)
JayD when i inquired about getz 8 months back, the salesperson said rear defogger is not standard on the crdi model. he was like you get it in some and dont in others. cant say you will get it for sure.
other crdi owners please confirm.
Originally Posted by iraghava
(Post 1200292)
No, it's recommended that after a hard run (long highway run, high speed run) that you let the car idle for 60 seconds to cool the turbo down.No way of knowing it though.
|
The idling recommendation is not to cool the turbo down, but to make sure that the turo bearings do not run out of lubrication. The turbo reached speeds in excess of 1,20,000 rpm(especially during high speed runs) and if engine is switched off immeidately, lubrication gets cut off and bearings are starved of oil.
Idling for 2 minutes(1 minute should be enough, I think) bring the turbo rpms to normal, where shutting off the engine will not be detrimental to the life of a turbo. This practice was actually recommended for older tech turbos, apparently newer turbos are better and do not need such nannying, but it always pays to play safe.
Hence, in a turbo car, it is better to idle at a cold start(for at least 30 seconds) and when shutting off after a high speed run.
Jayd, the initial batch of Getz CRDi had rear defogger becuase i remember i saw some crdi's in service centre with defogger.
Later hyundai removed it along with some other parts to bring the cost down as in bangalore the onroad cost was close to 6.91 lacs :eek: .
Well i'd not like to spoil the surprise about the alloys.But if they're the ones i saw i'd like to say they are damn light.very very light alloys.and nice built too.infact for a moment i was thinking of ordering myself a set too.
Hey Congrats dude! Just waiting for a pic with the rims.
I really dont know how i missed this thread. Congrats ishaan!! Honor to be along with you in the Crdi club. Any mods till now? How much have you clocked and hey what about all the scratches? What is the fuel efficiency you getting? Ishaan that 1.1 is the sticker from the Santro right :D .
Cheers/Shyam
LOL thanks Shyam! I've done about 4600+ kms till now, for the past couple of days I haven't travelled much otherwise would have hit 5k by now! Efficiency has been around 14 kmpl till now, haven't been measuring it regularly.
And no scratches till now apart from one on the rear left door, not doing anything about it for now. The interior is more of a pain though, can't seem to keep it clean at all!! And yes, the sticker is indeed from a Santro!
What about mods ishaan? Tyres or something. I have already done 4K kms :D. Planning for a trip to chennai this week end.
(Post 1239517)
LOL thanks Shyam! I've done about 4600+ kms till now, for the past couple of days I haven't travelled much otherwise would have hit 5k by now! Efficiency has been around 14 kmpl till now, haven't been measuring it regularly.
And no scratches till now apart from one on the rear left door, not doing anything about it for now. The interior is more of a pain though, can't seem to keep it clean at all!! And yes, the sticker is indeed from a Santro! |
If you remember sir , i asked you for the upgrade of My New Car`s (ACCENT)
footwear, let me also tell you that i took my car to a shop and they guy told me that he can make my stock tires tubeless , all we need to do is take the tube out and fit in a nozzle to make it tubeless, i did`nt agree with the idea and declined the offer then and there.
Sir could you tell me what he was talking about , and is it a good idea to do so, what are the pros and cons and is it safe..?
(Post 1219149)
Wheels are expected to be here by next week! Have some patience boys! |
Have you upgraded your wheels & tyres? Sorry if i have missed.
nice pictures . Congrats.
FYI :I saw an ad in the paper today for the Getz Diesel at 4.99L exshowroom ahmedabad
Originally Posted by JRD
(Post 1342189)
nice pictures . Congrats.
FYI :I saw an ad in the paper today for the Getz Diesel at 4.99L exshowroom ahmedabad |
I think the ad has been posted everywhere. I saw it today in TOI's Bangalore Times.
It says offer till june 15th only, so I expect i20 crdi in July.
Looks like this thread has come to an abrupt halt..!
Hey Ishaan Bhai- You off on a lonnnngggggg ride kya, no updates? :)
I am getting a Black one this week, and was following this thread to see what the Tire-God has done. Please post some photos of the alloys & footwear!
And wont up-sizing to 15" kill the warranty? I am in two minds- keep it at 14" and got for 195's, or throw caution to the wind and get 15".
Also keen to know what you have done to the wooden finish on the console and the doors.
The car has done 8.5k kms now, and I got the second service done last month at around 7k kms. Will give a full update tomorrow.
BTW, first set of brake pads changed at 7k kms. Cause under investigation!