Old 5th July 2010, 23:50   #46

I purchased the tata nano LX in March 2010. Already covered more than 5000 kms in 3 months time.
Old 6th July 2010, 00:47   #47

Originally Posted by KMohanan View Post
I purchased the tata nano LX in March 2010. Already covered more than 5000 kms in 3 months time.
Do share the ownership experience with us. We have very few Nano's on the forum.
Old 24th July 2010, 16:39   #48

Great! Mine just completed 3 months, but I am around 1500 yet! Mine is doing well. Please share your NANO's performance after 5000 kms; I hope it has had its 2nd free service. Please also comment on the mileage; any different from what it used to give initially?
Old 2nd August 2010, 15:42   #49

Hi Radha, your review convinced my wife to buy a Nana CX (red) from a fellow bhpian. Many thanks for that.

How much were you quoted for the Tata music system? Concorde gave me a quote of 9K here in blore. Also, any update about the Left orvm?
Old 2nd August 2010, 20:01   #50
kkg

Originally Posted by ashw_r View Post
Hi Radha, your review convinced my wife to buy a Nana CX (red) from a fellow bhpian. Many thanks for that.

How much were you quoted for the Tata music system? Concorde gave me a quote of 9K here in blore. Also, any update about the Left orvm?
Congrats for your new buy, I am sure your wife will love it ( my wife does). Regarding the left Hand OVRM, I enquired about it on second service of my nano and I am sorry to say It is not available yet.

Happy driving.
Old 17th August 2010, 22:38   #51

Originally Posted by RADHA VIJAY View Post
Great! Mine just completed 3 months, but I am around 1500 yet! Mine is doing well. Please share your NANO's performance after 5000 kms; I hope it has had its 2nd free service. Please also comment on the mileage; any different from what it used to give initially?
The initial mileage was 16-17 kmpl. Gradually increased and now at 7000 kms, it is almost consistent at 19-20 kmpl with ac on. normal speed 50-70 kmph. road reasonably good. Under the same conditions, my alto used to give 17 kmpl with ac on. So, you can have a comparison.

I find there are 2-3 forums (This forum on Tata Nano, Tata Nano - List of all issues, My friends Nano) discussing about the tata nano. If we combine all the three into one, I think it will be better.

I have shared some of my experiences with nano in the other threads. Kindly go through for my ownership experiences.
Old 11th September 2010, 23:08   #52

I have been driving my uncle's brand new Tata Nano CX for the last 200 kms that too in just 3 days. I drive a 1.6 so yes it was a change for me, but I was smiling all the time while driving. It zips through traffic as smooth as ' makhan ' Very light and zippy I must say.

Couple of nags I noticed in these 200kms of driving:

Pick up is very sleazy with the aircon on. Read somewhere that as soon as you turn off the aircon the cooling disappears in a few seconds which is true. Needs a RVM on the left door. I know this might be funny but it does need a RPM gauge. I conked off twice cause I couldnt hear/judge the engine and popped the clutch too soon :P. Being just 600cc I fear stressing the engine too much.

Good stuff about the car:

Completed a one hour journey in 40 mins just because it zips through narrow spaces and such. Mileage I got was 17.6 in New Delhi traffic with air con on sometimes. Lots of turning heads on the road, especially rickshawallas

Altogether a good secondary car for day when you want a ' GOOD ' change.
Chetanya Sharma is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 13th September 2010, 12:02   #53

I am thinking of booking a nano. Can the owner(s) answer one question? My wife is wondering about the rear engine, that what if someone hits from behind.

The primary user will be my wife, whose driving is 20 kms daily and occasional long rides about 300-400kms round trip with breaks. For a green signal on the purchase, wifey needs to be satisfied! Any input on this 'rear engine' point would be greatly appreciated.
Old 16th September 2010, 21:08   #54

Originally Posted by ani_meher View Post
I am thinking of booking a nano. Can the owner(s) answer one question? My wife is wondering about the rear engine, that what if someone hits from behind.

The primary user will be my wife, whose driving is 20 kms daily and occasional long rides about 300-400kms round trip with breaks. For a green signal on the purchase, wifey needs to be satisfied! Any input on this 'rear engine' point would be greatly appreciated.
The possibility of having a rear hit is comparatively less than the possibility of having a frontal hit. Also, most of the rear hits happen due to sudden stopping of the car in front and the vehicle behind 'not able to ' completely stop the vehicle. In such situations, the severity of the rear hit will be less than the frontal hits. Most of the frontal hits will cause more damage, since the vehicles involved were 'mostly' travelling in opposite directions. So, I feel, nothing to worry about rear engine.

The non-openable luggage space behind the rear seat is the biggest disadvantage of the nano. I heard that tata is planning to bring new versions where the rear can be opened. You may wait a bit.
Old 16th October 2010, 13:36   #55

Originally Posted by ashw_r View Post

Very sorry! I didn't open my account for long. I paid 7800 for my music system. It's TATAs. It has a USB port too. It doesn't have Bluetooth. Only 2 speakers fitted in the front.

I don't feel the need of the left ovrm at all. As I have stated elsewhere, I have added-on a broader rear view mirror and with a slight tilt, it covers a portion of the left side view of the car. I find it quite manageable. I am really finding the need for a glove compartment. It is bad on the part of TATAs that they couldn't manage the simple thing even in the LX model.

Mine is going for 2nd service on the 26th of this month. Due to long travels I haven't been able to cover more than 2000 Km so far. Parking the car in my garage has cost me dearly. A rat has badly bitten the wiring!! I opened the bonnet and insulated it temporarily. ANY SOLUTIONS TO AVOID FURTHER RAT BITES??
Old 16th October 2010, 15:47   #56

When does the second free service of the Tata Nano become due?
Old 16th October 2010, 16:00   #57

Originally Posted by Indizen010 View Post
When does the second free service of the Tata Nano become due?
Between 5000 - 5500 kms.

The initial mileage was 16-17 kmpl. Gradually increased and now at 7000 kms, it is almost consistent at 19-20 kmpl with ac on. normal speed 50-70 kmph. road reasonably good. Under the same conditions, my alto used to give 17 kmpl with ac on. So, you can have a comparison.
@KMohanan: Are these kpl that you have quoted, in-city or highway figures?Have you checked your mileage recently? My CX BSIII easily gives 22 - 23 kpl on highway with ac ON. In-city the figure drops to 12 -13 kpl, again with ac ON.

Last edited by kollamraja : 16th October 2010 at 16:14. Reason: posts merged to avoid back-to-back posts
Old 16th October 2010, 20:37   #58

Originally Posted by kollamraja View Post
Between 5000 - 5500 kms.

@KMohanan: Are these kpl that you have quoted, in-city or highway figures?Have you checked your mileage recently? My CX BSIII easily gives 22 - 23 kpl on highway with ac ON. In-city the figure drops to 12 -13 kpl, again with ac ON.
My regular journey is to my office and back (30 + 30 = 60 kms daily). Except at 2 or 3 signals, there is no traffic block at all. So, you can consider my mileage as 90% highway figures. Now my nano has crossed 9600 kms. My average mileage is very steady 20-21 kmpl with AC.

My nano will reach my third service kms next week. I am planning to change the service centre since the quality of service I used to receive is below average.

Recently, my AC has stopped working. Since I am very close to my 10,000 kms service, I thought I will get it rectified with the service.

It is interesting to see that the table given by tata in the owners book for filling service details shows upto 2 lakh kilometers for the engine !! Interesting.
Old 17th October 2010, 11:11   #59

My regular journey is to my office and back (30 + 30 = 60 kms daily). Except at 2 or 3 signals, there is no traffic block at all. So, you can consider my mileage as 90% highway figures. Now my nano has crossed 9600 kms. My average mileage is very steady 20-21 kmpl with AC.
Yep. That I suppose is as good as can be expected out of the Nano. My kpl figures are pure NH drives. I fill up at an out of town limit fuel station and then fill up again at a similar fuel station close to my destination. Filling is always up to auto-cut off level.

My nano will reach my third service kms next week. I am planning to change the service centre since the quality of service I used to receive is below average.
Unless your present service centre is exceptionally bad, you'll in all probability find out that the known devil is better than the unknown angel. These chaps are almost always uniformly bad. Its up to us to try and strike up a personal rapport with them to get our work done as best as possible.

Recently, my AC has stopped working. Since I am very close to my 10,000 kms service, I thought I will get it rectified with the service.
It could be as simple as a blown fuse that'll take all of 5 mins to fix at the service centre. Why endure the discomfort for almost 2 weeks?

It is interesting to see that the table given by tata in the owners book for filling service details shows upto 2 lakh kilometers for the engine !! Interesting.
Maybe they didn't want to leave the extra space in the page blank

BTW I'm seeing a lot more Nanos on Kollam roads and a majority of them are LX models, with Lunar Silver and Sunshine Yellow being the popular colours.
Any news on the launch of the new models with modifications?
Old 17th October 2010, 11:54   #60

Originally Posted by kollamraja View Post

BTW I'm seeing a lot more Nanos on Kollam roads and a majority of them are LX models, with Lunar Silver and Sunshine Yellow being the popular colours.
Any news on the launch of the new models with modifications?
There are rumours that tata is planning to launch nano plus with a bigger engine. I really do not understand the need for a bigger engine. I am very happy with the power of the present engine and I have traveled a number of times with AC on and car full of people.
In my opinion, tata has to concentrate on the following things only :
1. Poor Quality of service : It is a good idea to have exclusive nano service stations. Tata service station persons should be trained well on customer relations. While waiting in the service station, you try to talk to the other car owners sitting there.. you will find most of them are unhappy on the poor service.
2. Lack of Hatch opening : Just imagine, during heavy rains, one person from the rear seat want to get down on the way back from a marriage function and his luggage is kept behind the rear seat !! You need a number of umbrellas for keeping everybody from rear seat out of the car, then fold your seat and take the luggage. This problem is very severe in LX model due to the rear parcel shelf
3. Absence of a glove box : The door pockets are not substitutes for glove box. While raining, when you open your door, water will directly fall into the door pockets. Can anybody keep the valuable papers like RC Book copy, insurance certificates etc in a such a place ?? Tata answered this question by saying that, the glove box was avoided to make the dashboard 'symmetric' so that the same dashboard can be used in the left-hand drive versions also. Cost cutting !! Ok.... I also will have to agree, when you want a car at a low cost, some things will have to be compromised. But, Nano LX is not very cheap. The on-road price was about 2.03 lakhs. Dealer took another 12 K for Teflon coating, anti-rust coating, mats etc. People who have booked an year ago paid good amount of interest. Finally, you will find the cost not very less. So, I feel atleast in the LX model, where the owners pay more, tata should have provided the glovebox, like they gave a different steering

Ragarding my AC : Similar to the problem kollamraja has reported earlier in his car, the air flow has reduced drastically and I took the car two times to the service station (main dealer). He could not rectify that. Now, if you switch on your AC, AC is working. But if you want to check whether the AC is working, you need to put your fingers deep into the air vents.. then you will feel a cooling. My last trip to Guruvayoor with family was very very disappointing. After some time, I opened all windows and we continued in non-ac mode.
The service centre says "Only this much air will come in nano" I told them that I was driving this car for the last 9000+ kms, and I know how well the AC worked earlier. I also requested them to check and clean the filters etc. While accepting the car, they will say 'yes'. While returning after service, they will repeat that 'only this much air....". I send a feedback to tata website indicating this problem. No reply.. No action. So, I tried my best. Now, the only option in front of me is to change the service centre since I do not want to do any repairs by external mechanics other than tata authorised ones..
After this 10,000 kms service, I may sell my beloved nano due to the inability of tata service centres to provide good service. Since I am still a fan of tata, I will buy a tata car after my retirement, since I will have sufficient time to waste in the service centres hearing all the stories.

Last edited by GTO : 24th October 2010 at 16:51. Reason: STRICTLY no more than 2 smileys per post please

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com