Old 7th August 2009, 12:22   #181

Deky,

That was one great travelogue! Very neat narration and a wonderful set of photos to accompany that.

I really wish you had watermarked those photos; they are bound to come up in few other sites without your knowledge!

Hope your mother is doing fine now.
Old 7th August 2009, 12:51   #182

Originally Posted by HappyWheels View Post
Deky,

That was one great travelogue! Very neat narration and a wonderful set of photos to accompany that.

I really wish you had watermarked those photos; they are bound to come up in few other sites without your knowledge!

Hope your mother is doing fine now.

I know, this concern has been raised by another senior member of the forum too. And now its getting me concerned as well.

I definitely would not want the pics or the written matter to be used or abused in any other way than I would want it to.

The sole purpose of this trip log is to help members of Tbhp and guests, who wish to undertake such yatra in future, gather information which may help them in preparation. I do not intend to make any commercial gains out of this and definitely would not want other sites to utilise the photos in commercial or any other way.

Now what do I do to watermark the pics? Can The MODS help me here? I am willing to write this trip log all over again with photos watermarked and then the first thread can be deleted. (i.e.only after i have finished writing, as I also have not stored the written matter anywhere on the disk )

Or just let it be like what it is, and stop over reacting? what do you guys suggest?
deky is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 7th August 2009, 13:39   #183

Originally Posted by deky View Post
... Or just let it be like what it is, and stop over reacting? what do you guys suggest?
Since the deed is done, I would do a +1 to what you said above.
Old 7th August 2009, 13:46   #184
adc

I definitely would not want the pics or the written matter to be used or abused in any other way than I would want it to.

Surely some pictures will be used somewhere or someday down the years. Sudipto-S-Team's Garpanchokot travel photo was used by Telegraph newpaper, Deky add another post out here with this fancy yet smart language like

You may print/download this image for personal use. Provided the team-bhp.com logo is not removed, you may post this picture on your web site -- a link back is appreciated -- and use it for school projects and powerpoints. If you are interested in using this photograph in a publication, please contact me. Please reference the URL of this photo in your email. High resolution versions may be available and it may be possible to make this image available on a t-shirt or other products.
!!

Last edited by adc : 7th August 2009 at 13:50.
adc is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 7th August 2009, 14:06   #185

Or just let it be like what it is
If it is not going to hurt your conscience or your pocket, you can just let it be. Besides, when you click on the pictures to see the original resolution, those pics are water marked by default.

Without the water marks it will also be difficult for the Chinese to track you down for taking pictures of their infrastructure.
Old 7th August 2009, 14:07   #186

How come some of the pics do not have the 'automatic' T-BHP watermark?
Old 7th August 2009, 14:13   #187

Originally Posted by anupmathur View Post
How come some of the pics do not have the 'automatic' T-BHP watermark?
I believe the pictures in their original resolution get water-marked by default. But if the inline image is scaled down then it doesn't get water-marked. You can see this if you click on the inline scaled down image.

You can try uploading a low resolution and a high resolution image and see this effect.
Old 7th August 2009, 20:25   #188

Originally Posted by adc View Post
Surely some pictures will be used somewhere or someday down the years. Sudipto-S-Team's Garpanchokot travel photo was used by Telegraph newpaper, Deky add another post out here with this fancy yet smart language like

Ok, Thanks for the inputs, I guess I will just let it be for the moment.

!!
Originally Posted by watashi75 View Post
If it is not going to hurt your conscience or your pocket, you can just let it be. Besides, when you click on the pictures to see the original resolution, those pics are water marked by default.

Without the water marks it will also be difficult for the Chinese to track you down for taking pictures of their infrastructure.
Lol, I dont want the Chinese on my head at the moment. I do wish to do this trip once again in the future, and will need a visa from the Chinese.
deky is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 9th August 2009, 22:22   #189

Hi, it is very good to see the pictures of your trip to mount Kailash. My uncle and aunt recently visited mount Kailash. I happened to visit them today, and saw the photographs that they took. I also got a chance to take a sip of the Manasarovar water. The way they narrated the whole episode was thrilling. I wish even I get a chance to go to mount Kailash, I don't know when this would get materialized. Anyhow, thanks a lot for sharing the photographs. I showed the photographs that you have posted to my parents and they had a virtual darshan of mount Kailash. They are too old to travel but the snaps taken by you have made them feel that they were part of the trip. Thanks a lot for the snaps and beautiful narration of the whole travel.
Old 10th August 2009, 17:26   #190

Hey Deky,

I've been on this forum for the past 3 years. Have never come across such a well written, well detailed and such a interesting Travelogue.

Congratulations and a great job done.

cheers,
ac
Old 13th August 2009, 13:17   #191

Originally Posted by roadie_swift View Post
Deky Bhai, hats off to you for such a fantabulous travelogue - and the daring travel of course!! The pics you have posted are just fabulous...

Also, just like Sudev said, some of the stretches of road seen in your pics just make one feel like driving on them.. I won't be surprised if an enthu Yatri strikes a deal with the Toyota drivers one of these days..

All in all, kudos to you and your mom - wishing the best of health and many more such adventures to both of you..
Thank You. I did try asking the driver to let me drive the Toyota for a bit, but he refused, lol!! So we will have to wait to hear someone else do it.

Originally Posted by watashi75 View Post
Hats off to you Deky for the superb travelogue!

Sea adventures, mountain adventures so what next? ;-)
Scooba diving, Hopefully!!!

Originally Posted by wanderernomad View Post
Fabulous to say the least. Deky good narration coupled with even better pictures. What was the equipment that you used?
My best wishes to your Mom for a speedy recovery and tell her that she is a very feisty woman and hats off to her for undertaking such a wonderful journey. Hope she is much better now with less pains.
And last but no the least, just one word. Excellent effort man.
Thank You for the wishes, She is much better now. Got another Xray done a few days back and as per the doctore she is on the highway to recovery.

Originally Posted by Lukeskywalker View Post
I waited till today to read the entire travelogue in one go, I had read the first few posts and decided that this is going to be one travelogue worth taking the day off, and I did!!

Awesome writeup, experience and resilience Deky.
Hope your mom is fine by now, hats off to the brave lady.

Very informative and quite exhaustive with respect to the information about the yatra. Kudos on a journey of a lifetime.
Thank You. Indeed it was a journey of a life time, but I really wish to do it again through the MEA.

Originally Posted by sudev View Post
Up in the air and down under the sea?

@Deky: At cost of repetition - SUPERB
Thank You.

Originally Posted by cnaganathan View Post
A wildlife encounter I hope
Lol...I hope not, very little chance of survival there. You cant have a contingency for these types of encounters.

Originally Posted by lordofgondor View Post
Wow man, that is one awesome trip. Your in-depth narration and pictures are simply amazing. How I wish the place was in India so I can pick up my ride and head for it.

Aum Namoh Shivay
You never know!! I heard they planning to open this route via Ladhak in the near future. So just keep your fingers crossed.

Originally Posted by null View Post
Deky, went through the entire log completely from begin to end now. Had never managed to catch up before and I see that it was a good move. Amazing snaps with a detailed account of every day proceedings. Both, your mom & you (not just your mom) deserve an appreciation for successful completion of this trip. Hope I too will be able to do it sometime in the future & all your inputs would come in handy.
I will be happy if this trip log comes in handy to the community members. Thank You.

Originally Posted by hemanthisgreat View Post
Well, everyone has said it and I will say it again. Excellent report and info provided. This is like a bible on the Kailash trip. Congratulations for taking on such a trip.
Thank You.

Originally Posted by sabsubs View Post
Hi, it is very good to see the pictures of your trip to mount Kailash. My uncle and aunt recently visited mount Kailash. I happened to visit them today, and saw the photographs that they took. I also got a chance to take a sip of the Manasarovar water. The way they narrated the whole episode was thrilling. I wish even I get a chance to go to mount Kailash, I don't know when this would get materialized. Anyhow, thanks a lot for sharing the photographs. I showed the photographs that you have posted to my parents and they had a virtual darshan of mount Kailash. They are too old to travel but the snaps taken by you have made them feel that they were part of the trip. Thanks a lot for the snaps and beautiful narration of the whole travel.
Thank You. When did your uncle/aunty visit Mt. Kailash. Recently?

Originally Posted by ac 427 View Post
Hey Deky,

I've been on this forum for the past 3 years. Have never come across such a well written, well detailed and such a interesting Travelogue.

Congratulations and a great job done.

cheers,
ac
Thank you!!
Old 17th August 2009, 00:22   #192

Hey Deky

Brilliant marvellous and wonderful are few words which come in my mouth or fingers if i should say. Hats off to your Mom and wish her a speedy recovery. By the way you got some talent for photography boy:-)
May you have many more such trips and in case i do make up my mind to go on this trip i know where to refer to. Tc and drive safe
Maddy
Old 19th August 2009, 18:00   #193

Yipee!

You never know!! I heard they planning to open this route via Ladhak in the near future. So just keep your fingers crossed.
Hey man, you just made my day by giving me this thread of hope to cling to. Wish "Hindi-Chini bhai-bhai" thing becomes a reality sometime soon.

I am just trying to imagine a combo trip of Ladakh + Mt.Kailash & Mansarovar + Lahaul & Spiti, pure heaven. My workday has hardly begun and I'm already tripping. *sigh*
Old 20th August 2009, 20:45   #194

Originally Posted by lordofgondor View Post
Hey man, you just made my day by giving me this thread of hope to cling to. Wish "Hindi-Chini bhai-bhai" thing becomes a reality sometime soon.

I am just trying to imagine a combo trip of Ladakh + Mt.Kailash & Mansarovar + Lahaul & Spiti, pure heaven. My workday has hardly begun and I'm already tripping. *sigh*
Lol sure Hindi-Chini bhai bhai till we get our work done. Here are a few news articles regarding the same.

Kailash Mansarovar discussions ongoing | Ladakh news | LadakhStudies.org

Open Ladakh route to Kailash Mansarovar: Mufti - India - NEWS - The Times of India

Lol...some more news fodder for today to make you trip even more:P
Old 21st August 2009, 16:19   #195

deky it has been a wonderfull journey, saw the thread today and took me 3 hours to complete the journey. so no work today

How is your mom now? give her ragards from all of us.

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com