Old 12th February 2010, 09:51   #226
adc

Great pictures pulsar, bringing back those wonderful days in Arunachal!

As we were coming down from Bumla, I was all eyes and hands on the dirt road and just noticed a Maruti Van pass by. Now my wife, noticed in a flash like while passing may be you all guys were in there.

I then cross-checked it in the Y junction checkpost and confirmed that indeed it was.

Bum la remains the high point of the tour - one of the best journeys done till now.

Originally Posted by pulsar56 View Post
We plan to do the trip again but after 1 or 2 years maybe!
Absolutely!

Last edited by adc : 12th February 2010 at 09:56.
adc is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 22nd February 2010, 19:41   #227

I am still glued to this. Such a long silence?? Please do take out some time and complete this excellent travelogue.
Old 22nd February 2010, 19:46   #228

I think Nazim has found something/someone more important to spend his time than finishing this travelogue
Old 27th February 2010, 01:32   #229

Originally Posted by adc View Post
As we were coming down from Bumla, I was all eyes and hands on the dirt road and just noticed a Maruti Van pass by. Now my wife, noticed in a flash like while passing may be you all guys were in there.
We did spot you and we were waving at you when we crossed each other at that point.
For Arun & me, the best part in Bumla was the exhausting trek after which we were sweating at -6 degrees.

Originally Posted by samabhi View Post
I am still glued to this. Such a long silence?? Please do take out some time and complete this excellent travelogue.
Originally Posted by Mission_Safari View Post
I think Nazim has found something/someone more important to spend his time than finishing this travelogue
We were busy with lots of personal stuff for the past few days.
Regular updates will follow after this weekend.

Some pics of the return journey: Tawang to Tezpur.

Wait.. Let me finish building the road!
AP to AP: In search of a white X-mas and found a street party!-dsc_0001.jpg

AP to AP: In search of a white X-mas and found a street party!-dsc_0009.jpg

AP to AP: In search of a white X-mas and found a street party!-dsc_0012.jpg

AP to AP: In search of a white X-mas and found a street party!-dsc_0018.jpg

AP to AP: In search of a white X-mas and found a street party!-dsc_0027.jpg

AP to AP: In search of a white X-mas and found a street party!-dsc_0030.jpg

This is not even 4X4 Territory!
AP to AP: In search of a white X-mas and found a street party!-dsc_0037.jpg

Downpour?
AP to AP: In search of a white X-mas and found a street party!-dsc_0042.jpg

AP to AP: In search of a white X-mas and found a street party!-dsc_0043.jpg

Nope! This is what we were doing. LOL.
AP to AP: In search of a white X-mas and found a street party!-dsc_0047.jpg

AP to AP: In search of a white X-mas and found a street party!-dsc_0057.jpg

Few pics at Jaswant Garh Memorial.
AP to AP: In search of a white X-mas and found a street party!-dsc_0059.jpg

AP to AP: In search of a white X-mas and found a street party!-dsc_0061.jpg

Yeah... We did Tawang to Tezpur in a day.
AP to AP: In search of a white X-mas and found a street party!-dsc_0062.jpg

And that too with multple stops.
AP to AP: In search of a white X-mas and found a street party!-dsc_0082.jpg

AP to AP: In search of a white X-mas and found a street party!-dsc_0084.jpg

AP to AP: In search of a white X-mas and found a street party!-dsc_0085.jpg

AP to AP: In search of a white X-mas and found a street party!-dsc_0087.jpg

AP to AP: In search of a white X-mas and found a street party!-dsc_0091.jpg

Lead, kindly Light, amid th’encircling gloom, lead Thou me on!
The night is dark, and I am far from home; lead Thou me on!
Keep Thou my feet; I do not ask to see
The distant scene; one step enough for me.
AP to AP: In search of a white X-mas and found a street party!-dsc_0093.jpg
pulsar56 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 4th March 2010, 13:25   #230

continued...

Sunshine is delicious, rain is refreshing, wind braces us up, snow is exhilarating; there is really no such thing as bad weather, only different kinds of good weather.

Walking & playing on the frozen Sela Lake.
AP to AP: In search of a white X-mas and found a street party!-dsc_0097.jpg

AP to AP: In search of a white X-mas and found a street party!-dsc_0100.jpg

I had a constant fear that the ice might crack!
AP to AP: In search of a white X-mas and found a street party!-dsc_0102.jpg

Mihiran enjoying on the lake.
AP to AP: In search of a white X-mas and found a street party!-dsc_0110.jpg

Hyderabad BHPians were here! :-)
AP to AP: In search of a white X-mas and found a street party!-dsc_0123.jpg

AP to AP: In search of a white X-mas and found a street party!-dsc_0125.jpg

AP to AP: In search of a white X-mas and found a street party!-dsc_0128.jpg

Ice ice baby!
AP to AP: In search of a white X-mas and found a street party!-dsc_0130.jpg

AP to AP: In search of a white X-mas and found a street party!-dsc_0135.jpg

Signs of what was to come! The pass was closed due to bad weather the day after we crossed it.
AP to AP: In search of a white X-mas and found a street party!-dsc_0137.jpg

AP to AP: In search of a white X-mas and found a street party!-dsc_0143.jpg

At Sela Pass.
AP to AP: In search of a white X-mas and found a street party!-dsc_0149.jpg

Altitude of 13,700 Feet.
AP to AP: In search of a white X-mas and found a street party!-dsc_0150.jpg

AP to AP: In search of a white X-mas and found a street party!-dsc_0151.jpg

AP to AP: In search of a white X-mas and found a street party!-dsc_0155.jpg

AP to AP: In search of a white X-mas and found a street party!-dsc_0158.jpg

AP to AP: In search of a white X-mas and found a street party!-dsc_0161.jpg

AP to AP: In search of a white X-mas and found a street party!-dsc_0162.jpg

AP to AP: In search of a white X-mas and found a street party!-dsc_0168.jpg

AP to AP: In search of a white X-mas and found a street party!-dsc_0172.jpg

AP to AP: In search of a white X-mas and found a street party!-dsc_0173.jpg

AP to AP: In search of a white X-mas and found a street party!-dsc_0176.jpg

AP to AP: In search of a white X-mas and found a street party!-dsc_0178.jpg

Sun playing Hide & Seek.
AP to AP: In search of a white X-mas and found a street party!-dsc_0200.jpg

AP to AP: In search of a white X-mas and found a street party!-dsc_0217.jpg

Anti-Climax at the Sela Pass. No snow during the return journey.
AP to AP: In search of a white X-mas and found a street party!-dsc_0224.jpg

This is the last picture from AP.
We started from Tawang around 9:00 AM and reached Tezpur around 11:30 PM. (we skipped the Bomdila halt)

Next day, we reach Shillong via Guwahati.
Old 4th March 2010, 13:55   #231

Ahhhh ! ....... I'm back to feeling good about last year.
Old 4th March 2010, 13:58   #232

am feeling good there's continuity to this thread ,you guys are real slow man!
miss the ravs touch to the lovely pics by nazim though
Old 4th March 2010, 14:27   #233

Now that the thread has come back to live, please don't stop and give us the remaning bit fast!
Old 4th March 2010, 14:35   #234

Originally Posted by absynthguzzler View Post
Ahhhh ! ....... I'm back to feeling good about last year.
Good. Now, open that notepad window and start your version of write-up until Ravvs is back.

Originally Posted by Rajesh Rawal View Post
you guys are real slow man!
LOL. We were inspired by a snail!

Originally Posted by MileCruncher View Post
Now that the thread has come back to live, please don't stop and give us the remaning bit fast!
Thank You Rajesh Bhai & Ani.
There won't be huge gaps now. Last month was very hectic due to family commitments. I am free to update the pics on the thread now!
Old 4th March 2010, 14:38   #235

LOL. We were inspired by a snail!
Future snails will be inspired by you
Old 4th March 2010, 14:49   #236

Good. Now, open that notepad window and start your version of write-up until Ravvs is back.

The writeup will sure be done as per Hyderabad standard time.
Old 4th March 2010, 21:38   #237

Some pics en route to Shillong.

Crossing the mighty Brahmaputra.
AP to AP: In search of a white X-mas and found a street party!-dsc_1589.jpg

Marshland before Guwahati.
AP to AP: In search of a white X-mas and found a street party!-dsc_1593.jpg

The Laura goes for a wash at the Guwahati Skoda Dealership.
AP to AP: In search of a white X-mas and found a street party!-dsc_1596.jpg

AP to AP: In search of a white X-mas and found a street party!-dsc_1603.jpg

Weight reduction?
AP to AP: In search of a white X-mas and found a street party!-dsc_1616.jpg

Spic & Span!
AP to AP: In search of a white X-mas and found a street party!-dsc_1633.jpg

Adjusting the headlights...
We had to figure out the VAG-COM as the person who knew about it was on leave.
AP to AP: In search of a white X-mas and found a street party!-dsc_1636.jpg

My failed attempts at capturing the beautiful artwork on the truck!
AP to AP: In search of a white X-mas and found a street party!-dsc_1639.jpg

AP to AP: In search of a white X-mas and found a street party!-dsc_1640.jpg
Old 4th March 2010, 22:56   #238

The car looked better when it was dirty - like a Rally car!
Old 5th March 2010, 16:14   #239

Originally Posted by smartcat View Post
Agree... But we had a problem. Every time we went close to the car, the color of our clothes used to change to match the car's color!

Elephant Falls, Shillong, Meghalaya.
Originally, the Khasi people named this falls, "Ka kshaid lai pateng khohsiew" (Phew! Three steps waterfalls).
The British renamed it to "Elephant Falls" because of a rock on the left side of the falls which resembled a elephant. This rock was supposedly destroyed in an earth quake in 1897.

AP to AP: In search of a white X-mas and found a street party!-dsc_0008.jpg

AP to AP: In search of a white X-mas and found a street party!-dsc_0009.jpg

AP to AP: In search of a white X-mas and found a street party!-dsc_0011.jpg

AP to AP: In search of a white X-mas and found a street party!-dsc_0019.jpg

AP to AP: In search of a white X-mas and found a street party!-dsc_0021.jpg

AP to AP: In search of a white X-mas and found a street party!-dsc_0027.jpg

AP to AP: In search of a white X-mas and found a street party!-dsc_0029.jpg

AP to AP: In search of a white X-mas and found a street party!-dsc_0046.jpg

AP to AP: In search of a white X-mas and found a street party!-dsc_0056.jpg

AP to AP: In search of a white X-mas and found a street party!-dsc_0059.jpg

AP to AP: In search of a white X-mas and found a street party!-dsc_0060.jpg

AP to AP: In search of a white X-mas and found a street party!-dsc_0065.jpg

AP to AP: In search of a white X-mas and found a street party!-dsc_0069.jpg

AP to AP: In search of a white X-mas and found a street party!-dsc_0076.jpg

AP to AP: In search of a white X-mas and found a street party!-dsc_0077.jpg

Running Machine!
AP to AP: In search of a white X-mas and found a street party!-dsc_0082.jpg
Old 7th March 2010, 08:48   #240

Originally Posted by smartcat View Post
Like Nazim mentioned, the dirt was getting on us. Getting it cleaned had a fringe benefit - weight reduction!

Thanks Nazim, for getting the thread moving again. I see you have reached Elephant falls. This means that it is time for me to get off my butt and start writing. I shall get cracking this week.

Ravveendrra is offline   (1) Thanks