Team-BHP > Modifications & Accessories > Tyre & Alloy wheel Section

Old 1st April 2008, 08:33   #121

My new Swift VDI is to be delivered in the next 4 days. Have some queries regarding the tyre upgrade. Reading through the thread , have decided
to upsize it to 185/70/R14 - Yokohama AES300

Decided on this, to have a better handling , Ride and comfort.
Please let me know if this is the correct upsize and correct tyre model
On a budget, thereby would be going in for Stock Rims.
Any idea on the buyback price of my Stock Tyres
This is the first time, i am buying tyres, anybody in Chennai , who will be able to help me out with the right dealers.
Old 1st April 2008, 11:05   #122

Originally Posted by Rash001 View Post

My new Swift VDI is to be delivered in the next 4 days. Have some queries regarding the tyre upgrade. Reading through the thread , have decided
to upsize it to 185/70/R14 - Yokohama AES300

Decided on this, to have a better handling , Ride and comfort.
Please let me know if this is the correct upsize and correct tyre model
On a budget, thereby would be going in for Stock Rims.
Any idea on the buyback price of my Stock Tyres
This is the first time, i am buying tyres, anybody in Chennai , who will be able to help me out with the right dealers.
My opinion if handling is also one of the concerns then opt for YOKO A.drive or MICHELIN XM1+.
I have heard A300 is much more comfort oriented.
Old 3rd April 2008, 13:58   #123

Does that mean Michellin XM1+ is better than Yokohama AES300 . Enquired on the prices , XM1+ comes around to 3500 in chennai. Buy back of old tyres is around 1K. Is that ok ?

Any help on the dealers ?
Old 3rd April 2008, 15:56   #124

Originally Posted by iraghava View Post
Can't access the information today Wimwian, will reply tomorrow.
Ishan Bhai, Kuchh info mila kya?

Wim
Old 3rd April 2008, 20:27   #125

Hi. I've got 195/60/R14 for my swift with the stock rims. Realised later that the tire size was wrong. :-) Too late! Planning to get alloys(14"). Should I get the alloys for the present tire size or wait wait wait and then upgrade to the 15" package. Suggestions please. How exactly does this particular wrong tire size affect apart from the variations in the speedometer reading?
Old 3rd April 2008, 21:11   #126

Originally Posted by Wimwian View Post
Ishan Bhai, Kuchh info mila kya?

Wim
Yup, 205/60 R14 is available in Yoko ES100. Availability in Cal is a problem though.
Old 4th April 2008, 06:26   #127

With regard to my previous query, for changing tyres in my swift vdi , Is Michellin XM1+ is better than Yokohama AES300 . Enquired on the prices , XM1+ comes around to 3500 in chennai.
Old 4th April 2008, 15:32   #128

Originally Posted by Rash001 View Post

With regard to my previous query, for changing tyres in my swift vdi , Is Michellin XM1+ is better than Yokohama AES300 . Enquired on the prices , XM1+ comes around to 3500 in chennai.
Both are good tyres.
You may also check out Yokohama A drive. They have better looking thread pattern than A300.
Old 4th April 2008, 19:15   #129

Yup, 205/60 R14 is available in Yoko ES100. Availability in Cal is a problem though.
Thanks a ton! Let's see if I can source it from the local guy. What should be a good price for these? Would appreciate if you could provide the price for 185/70/14 Michelin XM1+ too.

Wim
Old 4th April 2008, 19:31   #130

These should be around 3.4-3.6k per tyre or thereabouts. Michelin would be about 3.5k or so.
Old 6th April 2008, 18:51   #131

These should be around 3.4-3.6k per tyre or thereabouts. Michelin would be about 3.5k or so.
I was checking the Yoko international website, ES100 is available in 195/60/14 - the perfect upsize for Swift and the one I really want. Personally, I think 205s would be an overkill on a Swift. Question is, is it available in India? Ishan, Kp.... help pls

Wim
Old 6th April 2008, 19:03   #132

Swift upsize is 195/65-14 or 195-60-15 and not 195/60-14.
Old 6th April 2008, 22:15   #133

Wim

195/60-14 is not a correct upsize for the Swift.

In 14" u can either get 185/70-14 or 195/65-14.
Old 7th April 2008, 00:58   #134

Originally Posted by kpzen View Post
Wim

195/60-14 is not a correct upsize for the Swift.

In 14" u can either get 185/70-14 or 195/65-14.
Yeah, sorry. My bad!! Thanks.
Old 7th April 2008, 17:15   #135

Thanks everybody, i have decided to go for XM1+ 185/70-14 for my VDI. I read somewhere in the thread, filling tyres with Nitrogen. What is this ? Is it right and safe to fill the tyres with Nitrogen ?. Usually on long trips, the temperature of the tyres increase. What is the impact if the tyres have nitrogen in this scenarion ?