Team-BHP > Vintage Cars & Classics in India

Old 16th April 2010, 12:59   #46

Originally Posted by manishalive View Post
Karl / Rony bhai how about engine bay pictures. i believe it would have some information stickers on too .
Oh no, what about your Select, does she have some stickers. Please do share if any. And with the pain you take in preserving / maintaining it's no brainer that you have the most enviable collection of the Fiat 1100's.
The Select either doesn't have any stickers that we could refer to, however, I am attaching an unrestored picture of the engine bay (as is where is) here for your reference.

Report & Pics: April 2010 VCCCI Rally Mumbai-cimg3683.jpg

And Yes Manish, you are right. These cars are preserved with immense care, but at the end of the day, it is all well worth it.

Originally Posted by DHABHAR.BEHRAM View Post
Dear Rony - MRY3499 has come out beautifully well. Congratulations.

Best regards,

Behram Dhabhar
Thank-you Behram!
Its great to hear something like this from a Fiat Guru.

Last edited by President : 16th April 2010 at 13:10.
Old 16th April 2010, 13:15   #47

Originally Posted by President View Post
Manish, I have been continuosly working on the car to get it to a good admirable standard. The engine bay still needs to be worked upon towards OH REE G NAL E T. There are a lot of unwanted things that shouldn't be there or have to be replaced. Alternator also has to be replaced by period Dynamo set up. When everything is completed, I shall post pictures for your viewing pleasure.
And, sorry, but there are no stickers left here, on any of the fittings that can be pictured or referrred.
Believe me, every night is sleepless till restoration of this baby is completed and all this is going really slow as I can spare very little time once or twice a week amongst other daily routines.
Hello Mr. President,

Is the item circle in RED the original FIAT Tool box?
Report & Pics: April 2010 VCCCI Rally Mumbai-06.jpg  

Old 16th April 2010, 14:39   #48

Originally Posted by 67Bug View Post
Hello Mr. President,

Is the item circle in RED the original FIAT Tool box?
Hello Mr. 67Bug,

Yes, indeed!
It is an OH REE G NAL Italian Tool Kit for FIAT.
Old 16th April 2010, 15:14   #49

Originally Posted by President View Post
Hello Mr. 67Bug,

Yes, indeed!
It is an OH REE G NAL Italian Tool Kit for FIAT.
Allow me to share a photo of it, courtesy Adheesh.

Report & Pics: April 2010 VCCCI Rally Mumbai-fiat.jpg
Old 16th April 2010, 19:50   #50

Originally Posted by karlosdeville View Post
Allow me to share a photo of it, courtesy Adheesh.

Attachment 330719
Oh wow, karl this has made my weekend. It is a plastic box na? And what about screw jack, The manual (put up by John for 1962 and by Amol for 1956) says its a fabric Bag?

@Rony bhai: 1. Can i meet you in person and take lot's and lot's of pictures .

2. Whats written over the Engine oil filler cap, mine i believe is changed and has nothing written over it.

3. And it the Carburetor on the Grey Select Original, the top has the distinct hump at the fuel inlet?

Last edited by manishalive : 16th April 2010 at 20:02.
Old 16th April 2010, 22:04   #51

Wow the event seems to be a great success. Great going guys!
Old 17th April 2010, 11:54   #52

Some pics left out earlier
For DKG, the Silver Ghost

Report & Pics: April 2010 VCCCI Rally Mumbai-rolls01.jpg
Report & Pics: April 2010 VCCCI Rally Mumbai-rolls13.jpg

For Bulldogji, his Rolls and Buick.

Report & Pics: April 2010 VCCCI Rally Mumbai-rolls06.jpg
Report & Pics: April 2010 VCCCI Rally Mumbai-buick10.jpg

For BHPian yashruia, his 1948 DeSoto's lovely interiors

Report & Pics: April 2010 VCCCI Rally Mumbai-desoto02.jpg

Stunning Dodge Kingsway cabrio of BHPian amaltanna

Report & Pics: April 2010 VCCCI Rally Mumbai-dodge06.jpg

1955 Dodge Kingsway at flagoff

Report & Pics: April 2010 VCCCI Rally Mumbai-dodge15.jpg

1952 Chrysler New Yorker

Report & Pics: April 2010 VCCCI Rally Mumbai-chrysler08.jpg

VW Baywindow bus flanked by Pagoda SL

Report & Pics: April 2010 VCCCI Rally Mumbai-bus02.jpg

For Superselect - his Super Select, giving company to another similar model, besides Rony's too.

Report & Pics: April 2010 VCCCI Rally Mumbai-fiat07.jpg
Report & Pics: April 2010 VCCCI Rally Mumbai-fiat05.jpg
Old 17th April 2010, 12:01   #53

Ford Pilot V8

Report & Pics: April 2010 VCCCI Rally Mumbai-ford02.jpg

A couple of early Morris

Report & Pics: April 2010 VCCCI Rally Mumbai-morris09.jpg
Report & Pics: April 2010 VCCCI Rally Mumbai-morris12.jpg

BHPian Randomusername's 64 Beetle - sporting new eyelids this time I see

Report & Pics: April 2010 VCCCI Rally Mumbai-vw04.jpg

SS Dhabholkar's outstanding Austin Harley. Owned since the 60s, it is always impeccably maintained.

Report & Pics: April 2010 VCCCI Rally Mumbai-austin01.jpg

Standard Avon of Nitin Dossa

Report & Pics: April 2010 VCCCI Rally Mumbai-avon01.jpg

Jaguar owned by Sameer Kadam. Also visible in the back is his VW cabrio, which I missed getting pictures of.

Report & Pics: April 2010 VCCCI Rally Mumbai-jag03.jpg

Early and rare Steyr

Report & Pics: April 2010 VCCCI Rally Mumbai-styer01.jpg

1957 VW Beetle cabrio with kids from the Cathedral school

Report & Pics: April 2010 VCCCI Rally Mumbai-vw03.jpg
Old 17th April 2010, 12:36   #54

Originally Posted by IndrojitSircar View Post
Wow the event seems to be a great success. Great going guys!
Hi! Is there a pun on the word "seems"?
Yes, many had fun, but almost all complained about the heat. And we all had a bit of luck as the sky was cloudy in the morning, delaying the heat.
There were some nice cars, but remove the organisers cars, the cars which did not come and those which really had no business to be there, like a 7 series, or the Copiana (please do NOT ask what that is, tooooooo embarassing), the list gets smaller. And the list of bikes was pathetic.
The other fun we had was the dinner, all of us cramped in a room, and the food where the bones in the non-veg dishes were larger than the meat.
I believe in a principle, when you host a party, do not offer what you would not like to have. When ordering food, I always ask for boneless, spend a few rupees more and offer that.
There were speeches by some WIAA guys, they will make Mumbai a major event, increase participation, that is certainly possible once the game of playing politics stops.
And the prizes. How and why can you give prizes to cars that do not run the entire route? Am I missing something here?
Yes, we had fun, a lot of us met up and bonded, enjoying car talk and gossip. At the end of the day, we can sum up the event as follows, we met like minded folks, we had a drive, we entertained public, we had dinner together, and we all got 2 bottles of Vedica water.
We look forward to the next event, again in April in 2011?

Cheers harit

Last edited by harit : 17th April 2010 at 12:51.
Old 17th April 2010, 12:44   #55

Lovely pictures and a long wait finally coming to an end. Who is the owner of the MG with the Lucknow Number (UP32). Did this car come from Bangelore
Old 17th April 2010, 13:36   #56

Nice pics Ronnie and Karl, your car looks very nice, i noticed the key, is it OE ? The original tool kit is awesome,i loved the dash mono. Overall looked like a great event......beautiful cars.
Old 17th April 2010, 14:48   #57

Originally Posted by Cargaze View Post
Lovely pictures and a long wait finally coming to an end. Who is the owner of the MG with the Lucknow Number (UP32). Did this car come from Bangelore
The MG belongs to Yash Ruia.

Originally Posted by Fiaturbo View Post
Nice pics Ronnie and Karl, your car looks very nice, i noticed the key, is it OE ? The original tool kit is awesome,i loved the dash mono. Overall looked like a great event......beautiful cars.
Yes Kaizad, both the keys are OE Italian. Thanks for the compliments.
Old 17th April 2010, 16:04   #58

Oh wow, karl this has made my weekend. It is a plastic box na? And what about screw jack, The manual (put up by John for 1962 and by Amol for 1956) says its a fabric Bag?
The jack in canvas bag with tools is also intact, this box was sourced from a friend.
Old 17th April 2010, 20:57   #59

Originally Posted by harit View Post
Hi! Is there a pun on the word "seems"?
Yes, many had fun, but almost all complained about the heat. And we all had a bit of luck as the sky was cloudy in the morning, delaying the heat.
There were some nice cars, but remove the organisers cars, the cars which did not come and those which really had no business to be there, like a 7 series, or the Copiana (please do NOT ask what that is, tooooooo embarassing), the list gets smaller. And the list of bikes was pathetic.
The other fun we had was the dinner, all of us cramped in a room, and the food where the bones in the non-veg dishes were larger than the meat.
I believe in a principle, when you host a party, do not offer what you would not like to have. When ordering food, I always ask for boneless, spend a few rupees more and offer that.
There were speeches by some WIAA guys, they will make Mumbai a major event, increase participation, that is certainly possible once the game of playing politics stops.
And the prizes. How and why can you give prizes to cars that do not run the entire route? Am I missing something here?
Yes, we had fun, a lot of us met up and bonded, enjoying car talk and gossip. At the end of the day, we can sum up the event as follows, we met like minded folks, we had a drive, we entertained public, we had dinner together, and we all got 2 bottles of Vedica water.
We look forward to the next event, again in April in 2011?

Cheers harit
Well i havn't heard much but by seing pics it "seemed" that you guys had fun.

Politics is something that is present in all spheres of life so we either have to take a stand or we just learn to live with it. Honestly speaking it really doesn't matter so long as you enjoyed it and did it for the fun of it and not for the prizes.

Good luck for the events coming up.

By the way what cars did you enter this year ? Kindly let us know.

Originally Posted by Cargaze View Post
That car was from calcutta and initially had a Maharashtra number and then it has got a lucknow number now.It belongs to a fellow BHpian Yash Ruia. This car was white and had red upholstry when i had seen it here in calcutta.
Old 18th April 2010, 10:56   #60

Hi Karl.

In the picture of the VW Bay window what is the car on the extreme right after the Pagoda Merc

DKG ....any idea whhat happened to the Dawood Jung Packard...where did he live ?