Team-BHP > What Car?

Old 9th August 2006, 14:02   #16

1. Car (with version) NHC Sep 2004 GXi
2. Approx Kms run while selling 11000kms
3. Car's overall condition as per you (it may be Excellent, Good, Ok and Poor) Excellent
4. No. of Owners while selling (can be skipped but dominates a much in resale value) Single
5. City of Selling Mumbai
6. Sell Price 6.45L
7. Sold to dealer or third party. Third Party
Old 10th April 2009, 18:18   #17

1. Car (with version) - Santro Feb 2000 LE
2. Approx Kms run while selling - 93000
3. Car's overall condition as per you (it may be Excellent, Good, Ok and Poor) - Excellent
4. No. of Owners while selling (can be skipped but dominates a much in resale value) - 3
5. City of Selling - Pune
6. Sell Price - INR 84000
7. Sold to dealer or third party. - Third party

In addition my car had;

a. Tubeless tyres
b. Sony mp3 music system with good front speakers
c. Leather seats
d. Brand new battery
e. Insurance for 11 months
Old 10th April 2009, 21:59   #18

oct'05 tata indigo lx bought for 550000
56000kms and a clean body. new tires and a more than decent stereo with bass tube and amp. sold in july'08 for 270000.
Old 10th April 2009, 22:39   #19

2000 Ford Ikon 1.6 ZXI/Navi Mumbai/in 2007

1. Car (with version) - Ford Ikon 1.6 ZXI - 2000 Model
2. Approx Kms run while selling - 85000 KM
3. Car's overall condition as per you (it may be Excellent, Good, Ok and Poor) - Good
4. No. of Owners while selling (can be skipped but dominates a much in resale value) - I was the 3rd Owner
5. City of Selling - Navi Mumbai
6. Sell Price - 1,50,000/-
7. Sold to dealer or third party. - Third Party/Friend in 2007

Last edited by gr8guzzler : 10th April 2009 at 22:42.
Old 11th April 2009, 16:38   #20

Here are the details of my distress sale in Dec 2005 on 2 counts -
a) was relocating outside India; and
b) KA registered car being sold in Delhi.

1) Make/Model - Panther Black Ikon Flair (1.3l petrol, 5th Anniv edition)/Nov 2004
2) Approx kms - 17000+ (in 13 months of ownership)
3) Overall condition - Excellent (except for a small dent in front right fender) + Pioneer 5600 (if I remember the model number correctly) music sytem with Pioneer speakers and sub-woofers
4) No. of owners - 1
5) City of selling - Delhi (though the car was KA registered - mentioned above)
6) Sale Price - Rs. 3.10 lakh
7) Sold to Automart India (Mahindra group used car dealers)

The challenges faced were -
1) to sell off the car in a relatively short time;
2) bought in Bangalore at astronomical tax rates and sold in Delhi which is a heaven for buying new vehicles because of lowest tax rates
3) Launch of Fiesta from Ford which negatively impacted the re-sale of Ikon

The assessor from AutoMart at the same time also did a valuation (and ride) of my WagonR (again black colored) and came up with the following -
1) Make/Model - WagonR Lxi/Aug 2004
2) Approx kms - 20000+ (in 15 months of ownership)
3) Overall condition - Excellent (except for minor scratches on left front door) + Pioneer 5600 music sytem with Pioneer speakers + all 4 power windows from AutoCop
4) No. of owners - 1
5) City of selling - Delhi (car was DL registered too)
6) Price Offered- Rs. 2.65 lakh

However, I decided selling Ikon because the car was to be used in Kanpur by my parents and therefore driveability, A.S.S. and maintenance were the prime concern.

PS - For those who remember, Ford had come up with the 5th anniv edition at 5 lakh in 2004 (for which I ended up paying 6+ lakhs just because I bought it in Bangalore). Imagine a depreciation of 50% in 13 months

Last edited by AlokSriva : 11th April 2009 at 16:39.
Old 11th April 2009, 16:50   #21

2002 Palio 1.6GTX / Sold in 2007

60k kms done. very good condition cosmetically as well as mechanically. Had spent an additional 40k on port & olish, headers etc., Going rate was about 1.75L at the dealers.

Sold it for 2.38L to a entusiast - had advertised in the newspaper and he was the first of many callers. Ended up selling the car to him.

When I sold it the car had a duplicate RC. I was quoting 2.5L and he bargained for 2.38 as it didnt have a original rc. Found the original rc, invoice and dc after 3 months. Promptly sold the same to him for 12k
Old 11th April 2009, 17:16   #22

95 Esteem White(Original Japanese) Mitsubishi Power Windows,Autocop XS,Alloy Wheels,DONUTS B350 tyres,Pioneer 8450 plus 6*9s plus 4" plus remote antenna ,Rs3000 sunfilm,Art Leather Seats - 3rd owner 85000 kms Bought in 2000 Dec at Rs2.01lacs SOLD in 2004 Rs.1.2 lacs - The best machine I've ever owned
Old 11th April 2009, 17:52   #23

Just sold my Santro XG.

1. Car (with version) - 2003 Santro XG
2. Approx Kms run while selling - 52000
3. Car's overall condition as per you - Good
4. No. of Owners while selling - Single
5. City of Selling - Ahmedabad
6. Sell Price - 172500/-
7. Sold to dealer or third party - Broker
Old 11th April 2009, 19:00   #24

It would be great to add depreciation value or original bought price.

I know it varies based on the location but it will give rough idea as the prices changes based on model and year over year.
Old 11th April 2009, 19:47   #25

1. Car (with version) M800 STD (1995)
2. Approx Kms run while selling 71000kms
3. Car's overall condition as per you (it may be Excellent, Good, Ok and Poor) Excellent
4. No. of Owners while selling (can be skipped but dominates a much in resale value) 2nd
5. City of Selling Delhi
6. Sell Price 33k
7. Sold to dealer or third party. Third Party

I bought the car in 99 for 90k and sold it in 2008 for 33k. The car was in great condition.

I also bought a 2nd Hand Esteem, the details are below:
1. Car (with version) Esteem Lxi (Dec 2002)
2. Approx Kms run while buying 49000kms
4. No. of Owners while buying (can be skipped but dominates a much in resale value) Single
5. City of Buyling Delhi
6. Price 2.2L
7. Bought from dealer or third party. Third Party
Old 11th April 2009, 21:31   #26

M800 Std (Sept 03)
Run about 83K kms
Engine Excellent, Body Ok (3 dented panels and visible scratches on bonnet, tailgate and fender panel). No accidents.
Single owner
Bangalore
1.2 L (incl Rs. 5000 loyalty bonus)
Sold to Garuda Truevalue

Sold in Dec 2007. They probably upped their offer since I was buying another car from them. The five other quotes I had got were all below 1.1 Lac. Tyres were good for about another 10-15k km of driving.
Also, the car did not have sunfilm and ICE.
Old 12th April 2009, 10:48   #27

1. Car (with version) M800 STD (1997)
2. Approx Kms run while selling 1,06,000 kms
3. Car's overall condition as per you (it may be Excellent, Good, Ok and Poor) Ok
4. No. of Owners while selling (can be skipped but dominates a much in resale value) 1st
5. City of Selling Delhi
6. Sell Price INR 55,000
7. Sold to dealer or third party. Third party
Old 12th April 2009, 11:23   #28

1. Car (with version) Tata Indica DLS (May 2006)
2. Approx Kms run while selling 15000 kms
3. Car's overall condition as per you (it may be Excellent, Good, Ok and Poor) Good. Although had a front collision, repaired at authorised dealer
4. No. of Owners while selling (can be skipped but dominates a much in resale value) 1st
6. Sell Price INR 290000
Old 12th April 2009, 11:35   #29

1. Car (with version) Hyundai Santro XO (with ABS) Mar 06 model sold in May 08
2. Approx Kms run while selling 20000 kms
3. Car's overall condition as per you (it may be Excellent, Good, Ok and Poor) Excellent. Only some scratches
5. City of Selling Bangalore
6. Sell Price INR 300,000 (to a close friend. Dealer had offered 320,000)
Old 14th April 2009, 16:50   #30

1. Car (with version) 2003 Honda Accord VTiL Automatic 2.3
2. Approx Kms run while selling 50,000kms
3. Car's overall condition as per you (it may be Excellent, Good, Ok and Poor) Very good
4. No. of Owners while selling (can be skipped but dominates a much in resale value)1
6. Sell Price 4 lakhs
7. Sold to dealer or third party. Individual buyer

1. Car (with version) 2004 Ford Endeavour XLT 4x2
2. Approx Kms run while selling 1 lakh
3. Car's overall condition as per you (it may be Excellent, Good, Ok and Poor) OK
4. No. of Owners while selling (can be skipped but dominates a much in resale value)1
6. Sell Price 6 lakhs
7. Sold to dealer or third party. Dealer