Team-BHP > What Car?

Old 13th December 2015, 14:45   #16

re: Replacement for my Getz CRDi?

The cars that you owned shows that you are very much interested in power and thereby, it has to be S-Cross 1.6 for you. You can stretch your budget and can opt for the Zeta variant instead of Delta.
Old 13th December 2015, 17:18   #17

Hi KP, nice to see your posts after a long time!
Someone posted about getting 2.5 Lacs discount on S-cross 1.6 in official review thread.
If not in a hurry, wait for Vitara Brezza! The front looks masculine. Hope it gets 1.6/ 1.5 (some rumors).

OT : Sorry, this time opted for 195/60 R15 contis for ANHC without seeking your advise

Last edited by breezydrive : 13th December 2015 at 17:22. Reason: content edited
Old 13th December 2015, 17:22   #18

I will say wait and watch right now. All this diesel ban and stupid rules need to be out before you make your purchase. My suggestion is don't buy the new car till Feb when it will be clear if diesel ban will stay or the fate of odd/even rule. In the meanwhile use your Figo for 80km per day usage and Getz for city use considering the weak clutch.
harry10 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 14th December 2015, 07:25   #19

KP, some of the options don't make sense. I mean a S-cross 1.3 after the Pete'd Getz is just too much of a downgrade.
My 1st choice is the S-cross 1.6, irrespective of variant you choose. Since it has safety covered, you don't have to worry about other features missing since you are already in a bare bones Getz. It's going to be more than the Getz for sure.
Guys, before recommending an option do note the previous cars owned by Kp. He had a Baleno 1.6, Getz CRDI remapped to 130BHP and now a remapped Figo TDCI.

How about the 1.3 S-Cross remapped? He brings down his budget as well and at the same time gets a well built and well specce'd Maruti?

Originally Posted by landcruiser123 View Post
S Cross 1.3+Remap:
Here's what sudeepg says: (link: http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/test-d...ml#post3846239)
Agreed. In my opinion, its one of the best options.

Last edited by ampere : 14th December 2015 at 07:30.
Old 14th December 2015, 08:09   #20

Here's the link to the post where it was discussed about the discounts on S Cross 1.6.

http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/indian...ml#post3867463

Just in case it helps you.
Old 14th December 2015, 09:05   #21

Originally Posted by ampere View Post
How about the 1.3 S-Cross remapped? He brings down his budget as well and at the same time gets a well built and well specce'd Maruti?
The S-cross 1.3 even with a remap is nowhere close to the Getz CRDI. The Getz CRDI has stock 110BHP and with a remap, it should be around 130BHP. Even with a remap the S-cross 1.3 with stock 90BHP will probably not even reach the 110BHP figure since the 90BHP itself is achieved with different turbo and modifications. I am not sure but it might be very close to tolerance limit.

When upgrading you ideally look at getting similar or better performance not 2 steps down.

Drive a Getz and you are usually holding on for dear life. The car's performance even in stock is violent.
Old 14th December 2015, 09:08   #22

Drive a Getz and you are usually holding on for dear life. The car's performance even in stock is violent.
Getz yes. But he has been driving a re-mapped Figo too. How does this compare against it. I thought he was planning to give away Figo as well?
Old 14th December 2015, 09:11   #23

Originally Posted by ampere View Post
Getz yes. But he has been driving a re-mapped Figo too. How does this compare against it. I thought he was planning to give away Figo as well?
Figo is family car I guess, not his daily drive. He is changing Getz as that's the older car. Figo is newer.

He can't have 2 under powered cars at the same time

The Figo doesn't have the outright performance but the handling is like a go kart.
Old 14th December 2015, 09:31   #24

We're in the same boat as OP. Choices in that price range are limited. While we've postponed our purchase for a while, I did do some research.

Best drivers car to best mileage
1.Abarth Punto
3.Linea tjet
3.Figo Aspire
4.scross 1.6
5.jazz (D)
6.city (D)

The scross is bang in the middle of both of them. Best part is that even the base version has safety features.

Also, I researched a bit in the used car market and was highly surprised to find cars like 2012/13 Jetta Tdi highline for 11-12 lakh, 2011 Laura 2.0, etc. Even a 2009 3 series for around 10lakhs. While the older cars might be high on maintenance, but the 2012+ cars do make it a juicy deal. I know most people will say VW, or Germans are high maintenance, but I've known a well maintained Jetta serviced at FNG and parts bought online.

8-12 price range is a tad bit too tempting to go the used car way, yet the choices in the new cars are limited.
Old 14th December 2015, 09:39   #25
NPV

I would suggest you try the Dzire as well
I'm serious because:
1. Easier on the pocket, you really don't need to go all the way up to even 10 Lakh, it will be way under that
2. Proven engines, both Petrol and Diesel
3. Interiors are better than the first generation Dzire
4. You get a decent entry level sedan with not a very large boot but better than hatchbacks
5. Safety pack on lower L and V variants as well - Maruti recently introduced this with the optional (O) variants
6. Maruti service will be easier on your pocket and you will not need to travel 40Km for service!

My option 2 for you would be the Duster, but then it would be a bigger car and will probably exceed your 12L budget as well.

And option 3 for you would be the S-Cross 1.3 - with all the recent discounts that some members have posted about (see the S-Cross thread), should make it VFM.

Happy car hunting , keep us posted with your progress and decision.

Last edited by NPV : 14th December 2015 at 09:56.
Old 14th December 2015, 09:39   #26

Originally Posted by kpzen View Post
Satan
My Getz is a 110 bhp diesel which runs on box at 130 bhp.
Toyotas with 68 bhp and horrendous interior cant replace the Getz. Reliability is not everything.
LOL KP, come to think of it you driving an Etios or a Liva and trying to squeeze every bit of juice from them .

On a serious note, having known you and the very fact that you are inclined towards a performance oriented car I would suggest the S-Cross 1.6.
Old 14th December 2015, 10:04   #27

Why don't you do another thing? Wait for a month, maybe 45 days. You're not wrapping up 10k km by then, no?

Let this diesel ban and odd/even drama pan out. It is completely uncertain as of now, and has the potential to completely upend your new car buying plans. UNLESS you get a SCross/Duster etc which can be delivered within December (and avoids this uncertainty).
Old 14th December 2015, 10:58   #28

I'd say that if you've considered the S-Cross, then you're willing to look beyond its uninspiring design. It's a fantastic car to be in and will definitely feel like an upgrade from your 1.5L Getz. I'd suggest going in for the 1.3L Alpha and remapping it eventually. It will do good to maintain a smile on your face every time you push her to the limits. However, if you do end up stretching your budget and choose the 1.6L, the smile will just turn into a huge grin. The 320 Nm of torque is just too addictive! If I was in the market for a car with a 12L budget today, the S-Cross would be right on top of my list.

The second option could be the Polo GT TDI.
Old 14th December 2015, 11:08   #29

Originally Posted by kpzen View Post

What do I want or plan to do ?
[*]Budget 8lacs ~ 12 lacs (Stretched)

If you are still going ahead with a diesel then there is only one car I would recommend that is currently within your budget( stretched) - S Cross DDiS320.

Here is the current prices that is ongoing , quoting from the S Cross thread.

DDiS 320 Delta 12,03,000 -2,90,000 = 9,13,000
DDiS 320 Zeta 13,03,000 -2,00,000 =11,03,000
DDiS 320 Alpha 13,78,001 -2,00,000 = 11,78,001

These are Ex Showroom Noida Prices.
There are some freebees along with the Delta such as Alloy, Gramin etc etc.

Last edited by volkman10 : 14th December 2015 at 11:10.
Old 14th December 2015, 12:45   #30

Re: Replacement for my Getz CRDi?

Go for S-Cross 1.6 or Duster 110. Whichever falls into your budget. Adding Pete's, oh boy, I can't image that.
You would never think of changing you car for another couple of years.