Old 18th May 2015, 12:15   #3031

Originally Posted by a4anurag View Post
Alto K10 - 4.9L
Nano - 3.8L.

Almost a lac difference but the overall feel and ownership experience COULD be better with the Alto.

I am looking for a city car for my wife who currently drives an Alto LXi (2009 model). Though she doesn't like the Nano even a bit since it's launch, I'm considering it ONLY because of the AMT.
Nano is out of question in your case. My experience says women are very sure and firm about what they want in a car and what car, unlike guys who are mostly confused. It is the other way round between genders in this case.

But why you want to change the 2009 Alto, unless the car is in really bad shape or your wife badly needs an automatic.

I have a feeling that your wife is not really asking for the change in car but its you who is eager to. well atleast i am like that.
Old 18th May 2015, 13:09   #3032

Originally Posted by zulfi hansi View Post

Nano is out of question in your case. My experience says women are very sure and firm about what they want in a car and what car, unlike guys who are mostly confused. It is the other way round between genders in this case.

But why you want to change the 2009 Alto, unless the car is in really bad shape or your wife badly needs an automatic.

I have a feeling that your wife is not really asking for the change in car but its you who is eager to. well atleast i am like that.
Yes but i don't want to leave that option without checking it once at least.

The Alto is in her hometown that is now used by her Dad. I stay in Hyderabad so the need for the car has arose.
Old 19th May 2015, 14:15   #3033

Re: The "I Booked my Car" Thread

Make : Maruti
Model : New Alto K10
Variant : VXi AMT
Fuel : Petrol
Booking Date : 13th April, 2015
Booking Amount: Rs 5000/-
Color : Fire Brick Red
Expected Delivery Date : Mid-May, 2015
Dealer & City : Varun Motors, Hyderabad.
OTR Price: 4.87L
Freebies : Mud Flaps, idol/perfume.
Accessories planned: Seat cover, steering cover, foot mats, Remote central locking.
An update: Sad one I feel,

Still awaiting information regarding the car and its tentative delivery dates.

Same problem is with the colour choice.
Quoting my own post for another update!

We have transferred the booking from Varun Motors to Sai Motors as these two dealers are helping us source a Fire Brick Red AMT by this month end.

Fingers crossed!

India's smallest car with the longest waiting period!
Old 19th May 2015, 14:57   #3034

Make : Maruti

Model : CIAZ

Variant : ZXI

Booking Date : 15 May 2015

Color : Dignity Brown

Expected Delivery Date : End of May, 2015

Dealer & City : RNS Motors, Bangalore.

OTR Price: 10.72L

Freebies : None
Old 20th May 2015, 00:34   #3035

Yes but i don't want to leave that option without checking it once at least.

The Alto is in her hometown that is now used by her Dad. I stay in Hyderabad so the need for the car has arose.
Ok. In that case ask her to drive (extensively) both the cars and let her decide what she wants.

When i was in the market for an automatic I had virtually no options. The cheapest automatic (by default) was Reva i, for which I paid 4.8 L (with AC), yet in my quest that my wife should learn to drive a manual box, before signing the dotted line i persisted and asked my wife to drive the Nano, which when she drove, the sales executive sitting behind was so scared he almost wanted to jump out. She just couldn't handle the manual box. And now she drives the Reva as if she was born with it.
zulfi hansi is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 20th May 2015, 01:14   #3036

Originally Posted by zulfi hansi View Post

Ok. In that case ask her to drive (extensively) both the cars and let her decide what she wants.
Done extensive TD's of the Alto K10, waiting to get her TD the Nano.

I know she'll be inclined towards the K10 but I don't want it to be a direct choice.

She has good experience with the MT box too. She drives my Swift ZDi regularly but goes mad in Hyderabad city traffic.
Old 20th May 2015, 16:48   #3037

Getting ready to welcome a new member in our family!

Make : Hyundai
Model : "ix25 SUV" (real name to be disclosed next month)
Variant : SX (or SX(O), whichever is the top variant)
Booking Date : 20/05/2015
Color : Sleek Silver Metallic
Expected Delivery Date : August 2015 (from the first lot)
Freebies : Bet there will be none!
Accessories Planned: None, keeping it stock
Price : 11 lakhs OTR estimated
Booking Amount : 21,000/-
Dealership : Shankara Hyundai

Booking done on condition of full refund if I decide to cancel it in the future. Let's hope the "ix25" doesn't disappoint!

Last edited by RavenAvi : 20th May 2015 at 16:51.
RavenAvi is offline   (12) Thanks
Old 20th May 2015, 17:28   #3038

Originally Posted by RavenAvi View Post

Booking done on condition of full refund if I decide to cancel it in the future. Let's hope the "ix25" doesn't disappoint!
Congratulations RavenAvi You were looking for XUV W4 and suddenly you shifted to Hyundai. Good move buddy. When is the expected launch date??
fusionbang is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 20th May 2015, 18:03   #3039

Originally Posted by fusionbang View Post
Congratulations RavenAvi You were looking for XUV W4 and suddenly you shifted to Hyundai. Good move buddy. When is the expected launch date??
Thanks, fusionbang. The XUV is also on the cards, provided the ix25 doesn't impress me. Tilted a bit more towards the ix25, because I don't want to go the diesel route considering my running per year won't exceed 6000 kms.

The Hyundai dealership manager is a close friend of mine, so the booking amount (+ condition of cancellation) was provided to me exclusively.

Expected launch date is June-end/early July, as per my friend. Also, they have the official go-ahead from Hyundai for the ix25 bookings.
Old 20th May 2015, 18:51   #3040

Originally Posted by fusionbang View Post
Congratulations RavenAvi !! Hope Diesel models are also getting released at same time ! I am looking forward to book Diesel !
virgovencat is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 20th May 2015, 20:22   #3041

Does the top end Petrol variant mean automatic transmission?
Old 20th May 2015, 21:10   #3042

Great decision. Congratulations on advance. Fingers crossed with the ix25.

Is this replacing the Honda?
a4anurag is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 20th May 2015, 21:45   #3043

Originally Posted by virgovencat View Post
Congratulations RavenAvi !! Hope Diesel models are also getting released at same time ! I am looking forward to book Diesel !
It will be a simultaneous launch so don't worry. The 1.6L CRDI will be available rightaway.

Originally Posted by ashua View Post
Does the top end Petrol variant mean automatic transmission?
Technically, yes. I should have been more specific - I am going for the top-end petrol manual (MT) variant.

Great decision. Congratulations on advance. Fingers crossed with the ix25.

Is this replacing the Honda?
Thanks, my friend.

No, Empress stays. It's the Eon which we have decided to ditch.
Old 20th May 2015, 22:16   #3044

Congrats Avi.
Good to Know Empress will stay. Had a feeling you must be replacing Eon. I believe this will be a better buy than XuV
harry10 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 21st May 2015, 01:06   #3045

Congrats RavenAvi . Hope ix25 when launched will be to your liking.

I'm waiting for this and S-Cross/A-Cross to be launched before I make my upgrade.

My two previous bookings (Mobilio-Not worth the price & Zest-My preference for a SUV) turned into cancellations. So I'll hold onto this one till it is launched. And hopefully might get good discounts on Duster.

You got the parking space sorted out considering this is replacing Eon in your family?
mrbaddy is offline   (1) Thanks