News

7 reasons why I chose a Hyundai Tucson AWD to replace my Ford Endeavour

I'll miss the macho looks of my Endeavour, but the Tucson doesn't look too bad.

BHPian debuda recently shared this with other enthusiasts.

I found it quite difficult to select a worthy successor to my Endeavour without breaking the bank. I saw dozens of YouTube videos, read many Team-BHP reviews and test drove several cars such as Jeep Meridian, Jeep Grand Cherokee, Land Rover Discovery, Volvo XC60, Audi Q5 and Hyundai Tucson. After a lot of mental (and emotional) flip flops I finally zeroed in on the Tucson 2.0 diesel AT 4x4 Signature primarily because no other similar car (even cars in a higher segment) gave me a bouquet of features and ticked most of my check boxes at a really attractive price of slightly over ₹4 million on-road. Hyundai’s wide service network was another important factor because I keep driving to all corners of India including some very remote places.

One thing is for sure - Tucson will NOT give me the exact driving feel I get in a heavy, tall and butch ladder-frame SUV like Endeavour. Only the Grand Cherokee came close to it but it's ₹85 lakhs, somewhat underpowered and spares and service costs are high. I don't like Fortuner's ride quality and it offers minimal modern features (I love latest tech like ADAS, 360° camera, ventilated seats, large digital displays, sunroof, built-in navigation, connected technology, etc.) though in terms of reliability and maintenance costs Toyotas are great. Cars like Volvo XC90, Mercedes GLE / GLS, Audi Q7, etc, would certainly delight me but shelling out ₹1.2 crore or more is somewhat daunting. Added issues with these super premium cars are high maintenance costs and very rapid and steep depreciation.

Coming back to the Tucson, I found in it a driving pleasure of a different kind - very peppy, a lighter feel, greater maneuverability, good ride & handling and the assurance of better road-holding in difficult terrain through always-on AWD. I'm sure it will grow on me with time. Hyundai does not have high badge value and I know I won't have much bragging rights after my Endeavour ownership! But the bottom line for me is my personal driving pleasure and delight with features, regardless of what others say. I very well know that Tucson may not even give me good resale value as it has not really caught on in India. But I went ahead and booked the topmost variant of Tucson AWD anyway. Let me share some of the features of this 4th generation Tucson:

• Super silent and refined 2.0 litre diesel engine producing more power and torque than my Endeavour 2.2 AT - 184 BHP and 416 Nm to be precise! Being about 600 kg lighter than my Endeavour, its power-to-weight ratio is way higher. Mated with a great 8-speed automatic transmission it will put a smile on my face every time I step on the gas.
  • Always-on intelligent AWD with Hyundai’s proven HTRAC system should get me past all obstacles and terrains I normally encounter during my frequent expeditions to the mountains and remote areas. I never did hard core off-roading and I'm not about to start such activities at age 72.
  • Large 235/60 R18 tyres and decent ground clearance should provide the ability to glide over bad roads and craters.
  • I'll miss the macho looks of my Endeavour, but the Tucson doesn't look too bad. I liked its front grille, LED DRLs, fancy rear lights, sexy diamond cut alloys and angular body contours. White is my favourite car colour.
  • Interiors are very premium and modern looking. 2nd row has huge leg space. Boot space is very good.
  • Hyundai is offering 3 yrs warranty + 2 more yrs extended warranty at a nominal cost. They are also throwing in 3 yrs free service!
  • Some features I liked : 4 drive modes (normal, sport, eco, smart), 3 AWD modes (mud, sand, snow), electronic stability control, traction control, hill start assist, downhill brake control, both front seat-belt pretensioners, 6 airbags including side and curtain, both front seats power adjustable (with memory) with ventilation & heating, fully digital 10.25" instrument and information cluster in front of the driver which can be customised in multiple ways, another 10.25" HD digital touchscreen (for built-in navigation, Apple CarPlay and various controls), Bose audio system, Hyundai Bluelink connected car technology (one can get info on various car parameters and driving data on smartphone, the car can even be started / locked / unlocked / ventilated remotely with smartphone), over the air updates, different user profiles, panoramic sunroof, autonomous level 2 ADAS with every conceivable feature (such as adaptive cruise control, hands-free lane following, automatic braking to avoid collisions, etc.), 360° camera, blind-spot monitoring, front & rear parking sensors, TPMS which shows all 4 tyre pressures, wireless phone charger, auto dimming IRVM, electric parking brake, auto hold, hands free tailgate, voice commands, etc, etc, etc - the list is endless!

To summarize, I am sacrificing some attributes of a heavy ladder-frame SUV but gaining one hell of a lot more in terms of features and driving pleasure. I never employ a driver and my cars are always self-driven, so the cockpit is the most important place for me. Life is all about change and adjustments and one need not get fixated on any one thing. I like to change my cars every 5 years and obviously look for something better when I buy a new car. I think the overall delight factor of my new Tucson AWD would be more than the Endeavour.

My Tucson is already in transit and should reach the dealership in Kolkata soon. I am eagerly waiting to lay my hands on it.

Check out BHPian comments for more insights and information

Power to the people