News

Buying a superbike: Honda CBR 650R vs Kawasaki Ninja 1000

I've been riding for the last 20+ years and owned the bikes like Kinetic Honda, Bajaj Caliber, Hero Honda CBZ, Honda Unicorn, Bajaj Avenger and Honda CBR250R.

BHPian aneesh2M recently shared this with other enthusiasts.

I am creating this thread to seek advice and help from you guys on the purchase of a new superbike.

I am in the market for a superbike for the last 1 year but could not get one due to reasons like lock-downs and the bike I was looking for was not launched in the market.

Before I go to new bike requirements let me tell you a little bit about my riding history. I am based in Pune and riding for the last 20+ years and owned the bikes like Kinetic Honda, Bajaj Caliber, Hero Honda CBZ, Honda Unicorn, Bajaj Avenger and Honda CBR250R. Kinetic and Caliber are now sold I still own the rest of the bikes and CBR 250R is my current highway ride. I have owned the CBR since 2012 Dec. and now I want to upgrade to something with more power.

Now coming back to the topic. I had fixed my purchase decision on HONDA CBR650R but unfortunately, by the time I could book it in BS4 Version the same was sold out. I waited for almost a year and a half for the launch of the new BS6 version and when finally, it was launched in the BS6 version I got a big shocker with 2 things. One was the price, which is a bit overpriced for a 650cc bike can justify and the second was the stupid policy of HONDA not selling it in my city Pune. So I have to buy it and get it serviced from Big Wing Mumbai. Around 150 Kms away one way from my home.

Looking at this I decided to skip the CBR (was not a very easy decision), increase my budget and buy a Ninja 1000SX which is costing almost Rs 3 lakhs more than CBR. Still, I felt that I should stretch the budget and go for it as it is a 1000cc machine and with lots of features loaded.

I was almost in the mood of booking the same and here comes a review of ‘abhisheksircar’ on his 2021 CBR 650R. After reading it my mind again started swinging and telling me ‘Go for the CBR650 as after all HONDA is your 1st love and what will you do with 1000cc on Indian roads, CBR650 is your bike’. So now I am again in 2 minds and all my thoughts of getting a Ninja are unstable now. I know Ninja has a better package for the price we pay but one mind of me is telling me CBR is more practical as 70% of the features and 1000cc potential will never be used by me on Indian roads. IMO 9.5 Lacs is the best max price justified for CBR650R but I’m thinking of that extra premium of a lakh or so to be paid for CBR 650R as a price to get the Honda and cheaper long term ownership. (I know Kawasaki’s are also as reliable as Hondas but services and long term spares like Brake Pads, Spark Plugs, Chain/sprocket are way cheaper in Honda than Kawasaki). Also though many features and electronics on Ninja make it a lovely package to own at the price point they may not be used almost 70% of the time on Indian roads. And taking my bike on track is a 5% possibility max.

So friends here I am with great confusion in my mind seeking your valuable advice on the big purchase. To make matters easier I have made a comparison matrix for both the bikes considering my usage. Please go through it. Yellow shows the advantages of Ninja but which can be lived over happily in CBR as those are not a big deal for my riding style. Green are the definite advantage of CBR650R and Orange is a definite disadvantage of CBR650R.

Here's what BHPian aargee had to say on the matter:

My pick will be CBR 650R for the following reasons:

• Extra 3L for an SBK & get to use max 50% of its potential versus CBR 650R's 80% potential
  • SBK maintenance costs & spares always cost more in long term compared to middleweight, so there's significant cost saving in the long run
  • The extra cost of buying the 1000SX can be put to good use of buying fantastic riding gears
  • ASC is far? Good opportunity to ride + the servicing is going to be only once a year affair
  • And if one is a good rider, the riding modes seldom makes a difference
  • More features? More electronics? Are not fun when the electronics conk off, they're expensive repairs not covered under insurance

Here's what BHPian GoBlue had to say on the matter:

Would recommend the Ninja 1000 (litre-class) over a 650cc if budget permits.

You may become disenchanted with the 650cc after a while.

There’s truly no replacement for displacement. It’s a myth that power cannot be utilised on our roads. In gear acceleration is fun on litre-class bikes, in comparison, the CBR650R’s engine would need to be revved up to get any fun out of it.

There’s really not much point in spending money on the CBR650R, to begin with, only to sell it and spend more money for faster upgrades after a couple of years.

It is a myth that Honda’s service is cheap. Besides the first 3 services that have free labour, the rest of the services are bi-yearly paid services. One ends up paying as much for two paid services of a 650R as one would for a Triumph Street Triple (yearly service). Also do note that you are paying for a Honda that’s over-priced by 1.5-2l, so any saving in service cost has already been offset by the higher acquisition cost. The BS4 CBR650R was priced fairly, BS6 is surely overpriced.

Also, the CBR650R does not get any kind of modern equipment. It is NOT a premium bike (buzzy engine in the mid-range, lacks adjustable suspension, no-TFT, no electronics or IMU-based riding aids), while the N1K feels a couple of notches better in terms of build quality and refinement. Even ride quality is much better on the N1K (with adjustable suspension).

Kawasaki service is in Pune, while the Honda needs to be serviced in Mumbai - however that should not be the criteria to select or reject a bike. Would suggest choosing the better product overall, which is undoubtedly the Ninja 1000. Buying a better product may provide long term satisfaction.

If you’re okay with a roadster, the Triumph Street Triple 765R is a much better package than the Honda. The Triumph 765 Triple has leagues better engine refinement than Honda’s 650cc four-cylinder.

Here's what BHPian CrAzY dRiVeR had to say on the matter:

To be honest, that spreadsheet looks like you trying hard to convince yourself that the CBR is the better deal.

Personal opinion - Nope! Get the Ninja and make up for the extra 2.5 lakhs over long term ownership. Heart over mind.

Some of your consideration sets and my opinion on it:

1. Engine - 650cc vs 1000cc. You have considered power alone, what you will miss out on later is the torque, rideability and refinement - which are all better on the Ninja IMHO.
  2. Sophisticated electronics - It's not for use when needed, it is to save the bike when critical - stuff like cornering ABS and lean-sensitive IMU might mean the difference between staying on the road or ending up in the grass. Of course, won't matter for a pro!
  3. Service Costs - If you keep the motorcycle for a couple of years - the parts that will really affect the ownership costs are - 1. Tyres 2. Chain 3. Oil change and 4. Labour costs and 5. Brake pads. The only significant difference for the CBR will be in terms of labour costs.
  4. Fuel efficiency - Isn't going to be significantly different - with 1000 running relaxed at similar highway speeds as the 650. I think 20-21 for the CBR and 18-19 for the Ninja 1000 from what I remember, but owners can correct me here.

Here's what BHPian Axe77 had to say on the matter:

Between these two bikes, I’d say Ninja 1000 any day of the week. There’s simply no two ways about that. I say this without getting into your riding abilities or riding history (conscious of the valid point Manson made).

PS: Don't ever let any XLS sheet tell you which is the “right” bike for you. Just my two cents. Ride each one and then decide.

PS: If you need a thread to counterbalance Abhishekdircar’s excellent write-up, please do read Karthikk’s excellent Ninja 1000 ownership thread. Although fair warning - the way Karthikk writes, he could sell a unicycle to Lieutenant Dan from Forrest Gump.

Check out BHPian comments for more insights and information.

A helmet will save your life