News

Need advice: Buying a used Audi A6 Matrix to replace my Maruti Dzire

The car is in good condition and I have taken a small test drive. Though it has adaptive suspension which can be raised, my biggest concern is scrapping the bottom.

BHPian autobahnjpr recently shared this with other enthusiasts.

I am planning to buy a pre-worshipped Audi A6 Matrix 2018 model (manufactured 2017 and registered may 2018) driven for approx 67000 km. Single owner, service done at the Audi dealership and then at local workshop, one case of boot repair due to a hit from back (during warranty). The car is in ok condition from the  outside with few scratches on sides and a small dent. Inside except the creases on the seat cover, everything is in good working condition. Tyres are new with full tread.

The deal has come through a known who owns the workshop and deals in used car sales and purchase. The car has been serviced twice at his workshop. He has reassured that all repairs and other things will be taken care before delivery including 3M car cleaning on the inside, a full service (it is due in 1000 km) and other stuff.

The car is in good condition and I have taken a small test drive. Though it has adaptive suspension which can be raised, my biggest concern is scrapping the bottom (I have a bad experience with my Honda City with full load and this is a quite long car (approx 4.97m long).

Everything seems ok. But these cars have a habit of giving nasty surprises. So I need some guidance and advice so that I can cover the warranty and spare cost etc. for any future issues.

I am considering this as a replacement for my current Dzire diesel which is completing 15 years this year and will be retired next year.

I normally keep cars for a long duration (both previous cars have completed 15 years), and thus would like to avoid situations where future repair costs makes this vehicle nonviable to run.

My budget for replacement was 20-22 lakhs and new cars are not only expensive, but also have a waiting period. With this offer, i am planning to stretch a little but get a vehicle from a different segment.

Many thanks.

Here' what GTO had to say on the matter:

Couple of thoughts. 67000 km is above my comfort level. I wouldn't buy any car with over 40,000 km. 50,000 if it is exceptional otherwise.

Air suspension. And you are coming from a Dzire Diesel. You do realise these cars cost 1 - 1.5 lakhs a year to own? The air suspension alone runs in a few lakhs.

The car is just 4 years and the owner is already maintaining it outside? What major repairs came up that compelled him to do so?

I would personally pass on this car. It's not for you.

Here's what BHPian vishy76 had to say on the matter:

The Audi A6 Matrix is quite a looker even today. Used the staple 2.0 TDI motor which is also fairly reliable by German standards. Having said that, it is a complex German car end of the day. Here's what you need to look out for:

• Air suspension: If you have read ownership threads on this forum before, you might already be aware of what I am hinting at. The air suspension on this car is complex. On our lovely roads, the air springs or airbags as they are also called are notorious for developing punctures. This will cause the car to lose ride height when it's parked. Drive long enough with this issue, and you risk burning the air compressor out too.
  • Another part that is notorious for failing on these is the valve block assembly which is the brain of the air suspension. It channels air to the four corners of the car depending on inputs from the ride height sensors. Failure of this component causes the car to droop from one side. All in all, have an FNG ready to deal with this. Suspension repairs at an ASC are guaranteed to cross the 6-digit mark.
  • Check if the headlamps are functioning perfectly. The matrix headlights look brilliant and have a lot of wizardry going on. Failure of these will again demand a 1L+ expense if you want a brand new one.
  • Since it is nearing the 70-80K km mark, don't be surprised if the water pump gives up. Known issue in these 2.0 TDIs. Pump itself isn't expensive, but if the leak is allowed to manifest enough, it will ruin the timing belt. Total bill will be around 7K if the pump alone goes. If the belt and kit also need changing, that figure would be around 17-20K.
  • Check if you feel any abnormal vibrations on start-up or shutdown. The engine mounts on this longitudinally mounted TDI are electronically controlled IIRC and cost a bomb to replace as compared to traditional rubber mounts.
  • Check if the transmission fluid has been changed. If it hasn't, that's an expense coming your way very very soon. The air conditioning should blow ice cold as well.

All in all, these cars are known to have some running repairs come up around the 80-120K km mark depending on how they are driven. Be prepared for those. Parts like the suspension, mountings etc will need to go at some point from now. Factor in around 1.5-1.7L of expenses per annum on an average for the remainder of your ownership (including tyres) and you should be fine. Remember, preventive maintenance is key. Neglecting mechanical issues is inviting trouble.

Here's what BHPian manson had to say on the matter:

Whilst the A6 matrix remains my favourite design for a luxury sedan till date, I'd strongly recommend you opting against buying this car. Scratches and dents come and go but they seldom stay on cars that are well cared for.

If you're keen on stretching your 20-22 lac budget and have not found a used car you liked, I'd recommend checking out the Octavia or else look at the top end Slavia. A new car implies negligible suspense over the first 5-6 years and the sense of occasion of buying a brand new car is just too sweet!

Btw, I think (not certain though) Audi ditched the air suspension on the A6 matrix facelift for India, so if you have anything going for this car don't let the air suspension pull you down.

Here's what BHPian adi.mariner had to say on the matter:

All the best for the purchase. Keep the following points in mind while buying a used car specifically a German one:

• Do not max out your budget buying the car. Something like if your budget is 25 lakhs, buy a car worth 18-20 lakhs and keep the rest as an emergency fund for unexpected maintenance.
  • Find an FNG who specializes in servicing German cars after your car is out of warranty.

Rest of the things will be as usual for buying used cars. If the maintenance has been done on time, etc.

Check out BHPian comments for more insights and information.

A helmet will save your life