Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12th April 2011, 13:56   #331
Distinguished - BHPian
 
IronH4WK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 3,504
Thanked: 3,513 Times
Default Re: Atlast! 3G in India

i had a 2G plan (2GB for 98/-) for data and then i moved to 3G (250MB for 200/-), which didn't work most of the time. so i went back to 2G plan, but now i've a problem - every time i've to connect to the internet, i've to enable/disable the phone (kinda going to Airplane mode and back).

i called up Airtel's so called technical helpline (12118) and they tell me to change the name of the connection and it will work. after that encounter, i didn't bother to call them back having understood their competence!

this is becoming a pain in the you know where as doing this exercise every time is just driving me nuts. i remember this problem had started around mid-December last year - that's when i think they started upgrading to 3G network.

anybody else having this problem? i've a HD2 running WinMo 6.5 Pro

PS: i had the same problem when i was on 3G!

Last edited by IronH4WK : 12th April 2011 at 14:19.
IronH4WK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th April 2011, 14:01   #332
Senior - BHPian
 
silversteed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: PGT//BLR//STR
Posts: 1,966
Thanked: 1,372 Times
Default Re: Atlast! 3G in India

Mr.Hawk, if you have some time, go through this blog:

Cloud Nine and Two Thirds

I've faced only issues after issues with airtel 3G. And beware of their billing.

EDIT: FYI, their 3G "technical" helpline is 12134. 12118 is for plane-jane GPRS. Either way, you'd land up in a similar call center. They can tell you certain "troubleshooting" steps, but nothing beyond. And if you call them up frequently, they'll blacklist you for a day or more - you won't get connected to them, no matter how much ever you keep calling. Words marked in quotes are to be taken as jokes.

Last edited by silversteed : 12th April 2011 at 14:25.
silversteed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th April 2011, 14:08   #333
Senior - BHPian
 
normally_crazy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 4,368
Thanked: 383 Times
Default Re: Atlast! 3G in India

Vodafone 3G pans in Mumbai

Mobile Internet Plans

Rs. 100 – 100MB
Rs. 375 – 500MB
Rs. 850 – 3GB
Rs 1250 – 5GB
Rs. 500 – 500MB + 500 Minutes talk time (Local + STD) + 500 SMS
Rs. 1000 – 1000 MB + 1000 Minutes talk time (Local + STD) + 1000 SMS
Mobile Broadband Plans

Rs. 650 – 1GB
Rs. 850 – 3GB
Rs. 1250 – 5GB
6 Months Advanced Rental Rs. 3250 – 1 GB per month for six months
6 Months Advanced Rental Rs. 4250 – 3GB per month for six months
6 Months Advanced Rental Rs. 6250 – 5GB per month for six months
normally_crazy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th April 2011, 15:08   #334
BHPian
 
fuel_addict's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 691
Thanked: 111 Times
Default Re: Atlast! 3G in India

Quote:
Originally Posted by normally_crazy View Post
Vodafone 3G pans in Mumbai

Mobile Internet Plans

Rs. 100 – 100MB
Rs. 375 – 500MB
Rs. 850 – 3GB
Rs 1250 – 5GB
Rs. 500 – 500MB + 500 Minutes talk time (Local + STD) + 500 SMS
Rs. 1000 – 1000 MB + 1000 Minutes talk time (Local + STD) + 1000 SMS
Mobile Broadband Plans

Rs. 650 – 1GB
Rs. 850 – 3GB
Rs. 1250 – 5GB
6 Months Advanced Rental Rs. 3250 – 1 GB per month for six months
6 Months Advanced Rental Rs. 4250 – 3GB per month for six months
6 Months Advanced Rental Rs. 6250 – 5GB per month for six months
Thanks for the info. Those rates look decent especially the "Rs. 500 – 500MB + 500 Minutes talk time (Local + STD) + 500 SMS" plan for someone not into heavy downloading on the phone.
fuel_addict is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th April 2011, 15:27   #335
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Patna
Posts: 21
Thanked: 0 Times
Default Re: Atlast! 3G in India

3G is very costly as for 2.5 GB I was paying Rs.98 for one month but in 3G I have to pay 750-800 for that. I don't aspect that the rates will come down in future so better I stick to 2G plan. May be when the competition will increase rates will decrease.
geeta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th April 2011, 15:34   #336
Distinguished - BHPian
 
IronH4WK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 3,504
Thanked: 3,513 Times
Default Re: Atlast! 3G in India

Quote:
Originally Posted by silversteed View Post
Mr.Hawk, if you have some time, go through this blog:

Cloud Nine and Two Thirds

I've faced only issues after issues with airtel 3G. And beware of their billing.

EDIT: FYI, their 3G "technical" helpline is 12134. 12118 is for plane-jane GPRS. Either way, you'd land up in a similar call center. They can tell you certain "troubleshooting" steps, but nothing beyond. And if you call them up frequently, they'll blacklist you for a day or more - you won't get connected to them, no matter how much ever you keep calling. Words marked in quotes are to be taken as jokes.
hey, thanks for that link. i've been with Airtel for more than 10yrs and many a times i've turned a blind eye to some of the discrepancies. i think its time to give them a wake up call
IronH4WK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th April 2011, 15:54   #337
Senior - BHPian
 
silversteed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: PGT//BLR//STR
Posts: 1,966
Thanked: 1,372 Times
Default Re: Atlast! 3G in India

You're welcome, IronH4WK. Good that you decided to give them a wake up call. Good luck on it
silversteed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th April 2011, 15:58   #338
Senior - BHPian
 
R2D2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Punya Nagari
Posts: 1,665
Thanked: 779 Times
Default Idea Cellular's 3G - A Disappointment!

Quote:
Originally Posted by R2D2 View Post
Told her Idea Cell. has a day to sort things out after which I will change back to 2g or even switch providers.
Idea's 3G service is a sham. What a disappointment it has been. No more than 220-230 kbps. I am back with their GPRS Rs 98/2GB data plan.

Regards,
R2D2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th April 2011, 16:39   #339
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Tejas@perioimpl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Bombay
Posts: 3,947
Thanked: 4,765 Times
Default Re: Atlast! 3G in India

The vodafone six month advance plans are not for mobile internet. Only for the USB stick as of now.
Tejas@perioimpl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th April 2011, 13:25   #340
Senior - BHPian
 
Red Liner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 1,982
Thanked: 647 Times
Default Re: Atlast! 3G in India

What's the experience been so far with Airtel 3G? I plan on taking the 100 MB plan for 100 bucks - which I can use only if I end up traveling to places without an internet line as also use this on my phone to browse when I'm out and about.

I need the 3G to work on my macbook via my Android phone. How does this work?
Red Liner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th April 2011, 00:22   #341
Senior - BHPian
 
naveenroy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 1,311
Thanked: 679 Times
Default Re: Atlast! 3G in India

Looking at the pricing for 3G services, Airtel, Bangalore, I have decided to stick with my Mobile Office 2G connection - unlimited usage for Rs.99.
naveenroy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th April 2011, 00:49   #342
Senior - BHPian
 
Shubz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 1,793
Thanked: 978 Times
Default Re: Atlast! 3G in India

Customers are being taken for a ride/fleeced. The thread should be renamed --> Alas! 3G in India!
Shubz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th April 2011, 10:06   #343
Senior - BHPian
 
cooldude1988765's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 1,004
Thanked: 104 Times
Default Re: Atlast! 3G in India

airtel blackberry users get unlimited 3g on phone for 600 bucks a month
cooldude1988765 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th April 2011, 10:39   #344
Senior - BHPian
 
silversteed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: PGT//BLR//STR
Posts: 1,966
Thanked: 1,372 Times
Default Re: Atlast! 3G in India

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shubz View Post
Customers are being taken for a ride/fleeced. The thread should be renamed --> Alas! 3G in India!
Very much true. Every single operator barring BSNL is fleecing customers since the day they've rolled in 3G services. BSNL at least provided 3G at rates cheaper than normal GSM.
silversteed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th April 2011, 13:06   #345
BHPian
 
Pri2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Bangalore / Mangalore
Posts: 195
Thanked: 85 Times
Angry Re: Atlast! 3G in India

Quote:
Originally Posted by IronH4WK View Post
i had a 2G plan (2GB for 98/-) for data and then i moved to 3G (250MB for 200/-), which didn't work most of the time. so i went back to 2G plan, but now i've a problem - every time i've to connect to the internet, i've to enable/disable the phone (kinda going to Airplane mode and back).

i called up Airtel's so called technical helpline (12118) and they tell me to change the name of the connection and it will work. after that encounter, i didn't bother to call them back having understood their competence!

this is becoming a pain in the you know where as doing this exercise every time is just driving me nuts. i remember this problem had started around mid-December last year - that's when i think they started upgrading to 3G network.

anybody else having this problem? i've a HD2 running WinMo 6.5 Pro

PS: i had the same problem when i was on 3G!
I am having the exact issue on my iPhone. I had upgraded my data plan to 3G and after using it for a week disconnected it as the speed was pathetic. Plus there was no 3G coverage at my residence and office. After I got back to my regular Edge plan (Rs 98 for 2 GB data) the data connection is now intermittent and gets disconnected by itself every couple of minutes. I get logged off from chat, email and FB. The only way to get the connection running is by manually restarting the network connection / switching on airplane mode and switching it back on. Two of my friends are facing the same issue (iPhone and Android). As usual, Airtel is clueless about the problem. Switching to 3G does not solve the problem !!
I am seriously planning to move to a different phone network.
Pri2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I Arrived Atlast KarriS Introduce yourself 2 2nd January 2009 01:07
Atlast booking a Swift VXI + ABS Edit: Bought Black VDI Now pitchucold Hatchbacks 37 30th May 2008 20:56
Atlast I am in !!! smokin Introduce yourself 11 25th May 2008 12:39
A car PC atlast! jkdas In-Car Entertainment 14 26th July 2006 14:46
Introducing DRC, atlast DRC Introduce yourself 6 16th April 2005 23:13


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 12:52.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks