Old 12th November 2014, 11:30   #331

Re: Tata Indica DLX - 150,000 kms & beyond

Highly impressed with the thread and your meticulously maintained log. I can see your new car wish list, maintenance expenses, fuel log and everything that went to make this car log so many kms. Hats off to your perseverance, sincerity and analytical mind

I hope you are maintaining the log even now. I hope you won't mind loading the updated file.

I just wished that if petrol prices for that particular day were available, it would be interesting to note how much you saved on fuel cost alone . I am ignoring the additional mileage you get on a diesel car.

Now for the moment enjoy your Innova. Expecting a similar thread from you soon!
CoolCarNi is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 12th November 2014, 12:15   #332

Originally Posted by CoolCarNi View Post

. Expecting a similar thread from you soon!
I would doubt that!!

Autoindian would hardly have a reason to see the inner of this Toyota van, unlike that of the Indica.
ramzsys is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 12th November 2014, 12:31   #333

Originally Posted by ramzsys View Post
I would doubt that!!

Autoindian would hardly have a reason to see the inner of this Toyota van, unlike that of the Indica.
Originally Posted by AutoIndian View Post
Yes, starting the Innova thread is one of the agenda items, just need to spend some more time with the car to notice the finer details.

I am eternally optimistic as the assurance comes directly from the horses' mouth
Old 12th November 2014, 13:30   #334

Highly impressed with the thread and your meticulously maintained log. I can see your new car wish list, maintenance expenses, fuel log and everything that went to make this car log so many kms. Hats off to your perseverance, sincerity and analytical mind

I hope you are maintaining the log even now. I hope you won't mind loading the updated file.
Thank you CoolCarNi for your compliments (a very good handle I must say, I believe your real surname if "Kulkarni", if not then forget about it).

You guessed it right, my Indica car log is always upto date and I am attaching the most recent one (till the last tank full) over here for your benefit.

01-Indica_DLX_Fuel_log_Deepak.xls

I just wished that if petrol prices for that particular day were available, it would be interesting to note how much you saved on fuel cost alone . I am ignoring the additional mileage you get on a diesel car.

Now for the moment enjoy your Innova. Expecting a similar thread from you soon!
Well I don't recollect the exact prices, but a guestimate is that it would have been around the Rs 36-38 a litre in July 2004. Over the years, I have saved a good amount and now it is time to spend, I want to spend that in traveling with my family and friends.

Originally Posted by ramzsys View Post
I would doubt that!!

Innova inner or not, I have already created the Innova Log and will publish it once finalized.

I am eternally optimistic as the assurance comes directly from the horses' mouth
You were right, 100 marks for your optimism
AutoIndian is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 12th November 2014, 13:57   #335

(a very good handle I must say, I believe your real surname if "Kulkarni", if not then forget about it).

You guessed it right, my Indica car log is always upto date and I am attaching the most recent one (till the last tank full) over here for your benefit.
You are spot on Deepak (I believe your real name is "Deepak", if not then forget about it) about my real surname!

Thanks for the updated fuel log and sorry for the cut and paste job here!
Old 12th November 2014, 19:16   #336

@AutoIndian - I drove an Indica Turbo DLS for around 125000 Kms in 5 years before i sold her and got myself her elder sister the Manza. While I did not maintain a log like you did I do know that the overall cost of ownership was ridiculously low. Over 5 years with absolutely no hassle she was a true work horse and never a compliant in spite of whatever i put her through and now my Manza is giving me the same outstanding value! I only hope that the next owner of your Indica is someone who will appreciate the Indica for the value it provides!
shashi63 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 23rd December 2014, 15:32   #337

Friends,

Whenever you have some free time or on a week end you can catch up with my Innova ownership experience at the below mentioned URL. I hope I have been able to post a balanced review that includes all the good and bad things about the car. I have tried my best to be extremely neutral & unbiased. I have accepted the car for what it is, including the pros as well as the cons.

Any queries, suggestions, comments are most welcome

http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/test-d...se-innova.html
Old 24th January 2015, 20:55   #338

Guys, tomorrow i.e 25th Jan 2015 could well turn out to be the last day of my Indica ownership. Will share with you more details by end of day tomorrow, when all the things fall in place as planned. Till then fingers crossed and please bear with me.
Old 25th January 2015, 14:18   #339

Guys, tomorrow i.e 25th Jan 2015 could well turn out to be the last day of my Indica ownership. Will share with you more details by end of day tomorrow, when all the things fall in place as planned. Till then fingers crossed and please bear with me.
Oh, a sad moment indeed but you have a great replacement for a great car!

Hope it goes into the right hands to get the same car as you gave the Indica all these years.

All the best with the deal and with the Innova too.

EDIT: Do look at the below link and do post your comments. Thanks!
http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/techni...ml#post3631122

Last edited by a4anurag : 25th January 2015 at 14:30.
a4anurag is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 25th January 2015, 17:46   #340

Originally Posted by a4anurag View Post
Oh, a sad moment indeed but you have a great replacement for a great car!

Hope it goes into the right hands to get the same car as you gave the Indica all these years.

All the best with the deal and with the Innova too.
It has been a sad moment indeed, but this had to happen some day or other. Sold it for 1.15 lacs. Few stats below about the car:
  • Duration of ownership: 10 years, 6 months and 15 days
  • Total kms driven: 1,51,733 kms
  • Total fuel filled (litres): 8205.13 litres
  • Overall mileage: 18.46 kmpl
  • Avergae Fuel expense (Rs/km): 2.34
  • Maintenance exp (Rs/km): 0.94
  • Average Total expense (Rs/km): 3.28
  • Average daily running (km/day): 39.89
  • Avg monthly running (km/month): 1196.55
  • Total Maintenance expenses (Rs): 142385.86
  • Total Running expenses (Rs): 355080.19
How this sale unfolded:

When I bought my preworshipped Innova home, it took over the mantle of my daily workhorse form the Indica. Not only that, the Innova displaced the Indica from its reserved parking this poor sibling was relegated to the open parking on the road. When I spread the word about sale of my Indica in the close circle of friends and relatives my father-in-law (F-I-L) was the first one to table an offer. However on hearing the asking price of 1.25 lacs, he didn't show much interest. His max expectation was a lakh. He then said that if I could get any other buyer from outside who is willing to pay that much then I am free to go ahead with the deal.

Almost two months passed by, my Indica couldn't get a buyer, not that I was desperate to sell it, but I couldn't see it fighting the vagaries of the nature. Lying unused on the road it would collect layers of dust. Once in a while I used to clean it and also use it for some errands. However for the last 2.5 months it was hardly used for 500 kms, while in the same duration Innova was munching miles (4,500 kms).

Then one fine day, out of the blue, I got a call from one of my relatives that a driver in his office was interested in my car and asked if his friend who was staying near my house can test drive it. I gave the go ahead and his friend cleared the car. He made an offer of 1.15 lacs, whereas I was asking 1.21 lacs. He was ready to sit across the table and seal the deal. When my F-I-L got an inkling about this offer I was being made, he immediately called me up and said I can collect a cheque of 1.15 lacs anytime from him, if I am open to sell my car to him. Competition at its best . I said I have no hassles in selling my car to him. Today morning got the car washed spic-n-span from a nearby washing centre. Took the car along with all the documents. Handed over the set of 3 car keys and collected 70K in cash and a cheque of 45K.

Some parting shots of the car from its new home:

Tata Indica DLX - 150,000 kms & beyond-top-view.jpg

Tata Indica DLX - 150,000 kms & beyond-side-view-front.jpg

Tata Indica DLX - 150,000 kms & beyond-side-view.jpg

Tata Indica DLX - 150,000 kms & beyond-rear-view.jpg

Tata Indica DLX - 150,000 kms & beyond-front-view.jpg

So I am happy that the car has not gone that far from me and has landed in my extended family. My F-I-L is now the new proud owner of the car. Note: He does have a Vista D90, but had always a soft corner for my car as he has seen it closely for last 10.5 years.

Tata had offered me 60K and Maruti offered 70K in exchange. I could sell it at a much higher price without much hassles. I had purposefully not advertised "for sale" on OLX or Quikr, else there would have been a deluge of calls and I would not have been able to handle all these calls.

EDIT: Do look at the below link and do post your comments. Thanks!
http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/techni...ml#post3631122
I had a look at the picture. It is strange that the car is running fine for more than a lakh kms without any issue after this warning light has come "ON". Could be a sensor malfunction. In future if there is really a problem, no one would know and timely action may not be taken.
AutoIndian is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 25th January 2015, 18:17   #341

So I am happy that the car has not gone that far from me and has landed in my extended family. My F-I-L is now the new proud owner of the car.
That's great. So it is in the family that the car goes to! No tension as the car will be taken care off and you can get to drive it any time you want.

PS: Tata would be surprised to see an Indica that they have manufactured 10.5 years back still in pristine condition with all stats preserved. The car is lucky to have you as its owner though it is the turn of the Innova now!

I had a look at the picture. It is strange that the car is running fine for more than a lakh kms without any issue after this warning light has come "ON". Could be a sensor malfunction. In future if there is really a problem, no one would know and timely action may not be taken.
Exactly, with the CEL it is still running without an issue. Can you guess which model it could be? Looking your car pictures, the car in question seems to a later model AFAIK.
a4anurag is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 25th January 2015, 19:17   #342

Originally Posted by a4anurag View Post
That's great. So it is in the family that the car goes to! No tension as the car will be taken care off and you can get to drive it any time you want.
, that is the added advantage of the car going in extended family. I can drive it any time I want. I guess this is what is called a "win-win situation"

PS: Tata would be surprised to see an Indica that they have manufactured 10.5 years back still in pristine condition with all stats preserved. The car is lucky to have you as its owner though it is the turn of the Innova now!
I am having butterflies in my stomach on hearing that. If Tata was so customer centric, they could have long back displaced Maruti Suzuki from their "numero uno" position in India.

Exactly, with the CEL it is still running without an issue. Can you guess which model it could be? Looking your car pictures, the car in question seems to a later model AFAIK.
It is of course a model later than mine. Cannot pin-point the exact year, but could be around 2007-08.
Old 25th January 2015, 20:31   #343

AUTOindian... Great to always hear from you. Glad that the car is still in the family. It's a delight to see cars being treated well.
I still have my 2006 v2 and will still look for your inputs whenever it has problems !!!
deep_bang is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 25th January 2015, 20:43   #344

Originally Posted by deep_bang View Post
AUTOindian... Great to always hear from you. Glad that the car is still in the family. It's a delight to see cars being treated well.
Definitely it is great to have the car still in the family even after selling it, feeling very lucky. My F-I-L knew the complete history of the car. He had seen the car bear multiple bruises and then getting back in shape again. Also it gives great relief to know that the car has gone in safe hands.

I still have my 2006 v2 and will still look for your inputs whenever it has problems !!!
By all means. Will try my best to answer all your queries.
Old 25th January 2015, 21:40   #345

@AutoIndian, a happy-sad moment for us too. I have followed your thread to a certain extent, since it reminded me our Aug 2000 vintage Indica. The car has been a workhorse for you. The maintenance costs are on par with any other diesel car, and the running expense proves the utility of this car.

Wishing your FiL a happy ownership of the car.
condor is offline   (1) Thanks

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com