Go Back   Team-BHP > Under the Hood > Modifications & Accessories


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 16th August 2008, 17:33   #16
BHPian
 
smokin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: delhi/gurgaon
Posts: 280
Thanked: 13 Times
Default

prateek
only sunpro which is DIS compatible has the feature of 2 cylinder setting ,no other has that feature(others will show half reading) ..

If you still want one then i am selling one check that in marketplace.
smokin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th October 2008, 12:43   #17
BHPian
 
akshay_b's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 363
Thanked: 10 Times
Default

Hey guys, I have a query about a tacho for santro so i decided to post in this thread.

I want to install a tachometer like the one in santro LE, Just like this,
I'm wondering if i can get buy the LE's tacho and speedo panel and install it on my santro GLS? As many of you said,Tachos in santro show half the reading of the engine's actual RPM because Santro has 2 coil ignition system, The LE santro is no diffrent, Only the cosmetic part is changed. So i think it can work on a regular santro too.

And santros in other countries, Which is named Amica in the UK and Atos in some asian countries. These cars come with quite a lot of good features,
Including tachometer and airbags, ABS and alloys as standard :|

Check this:



A video of Hyundai Atos(santro) with a tacho:



I do not want to fix a big racing tacho because its a family car. My mom drives it sometimes

Is it hard to find a spare like that?
Any other option if i don't find one?
akshay_b is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st October 2008, 12:29   #18
BHPian
 
live2drive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 525
Thanked: 25 Times
Default

akshay it will be a very tedious job to find such a kind of tacho.
maybe you will have to source them from UK.
only option left with you is to install an aftermarket tacho.
live2drive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st October 2008, 12:38   #19
BHPian
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: KA55 / KA50
Posts: 196
Thanked: 4 Times
Default

i think the santro limited edition had same type of panel. check with Hyundai A.S.S
deepak_ms is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st October 2008, 12:54   #20
BHPian
 
akshay_b's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 363
Thanked: 10 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by live2drive View Post
akshay it will be a very tedious job to find such a kind of tacho.
maybe you will have to source them from UK.
only option left with you is to install an aftermarket tacho.
No dude, I dont want to buy an aftermarket tacho, Looks weird on a stock family car :(

@deepak- That is exactly what i'm looking for, DO u have any idea where i can find it? Should i try shipping it from other countries? :(
akshay_b is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st October 2008, 14:42   #21
BHPian
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: KA55 / KA50
Posts: 196
Thanked: 4 Times
Default

akshay ask the trident / advaith service center. They may be able to source it.
deepak_ms is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st October 2008, 15:12   #22
BHPian
 
shyamhegde's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 284
Thanked: 3 Times
Default

That console looked nice.
Odometer / trip meter is digital. Will that require some changes in underlying components related to odo? (since the original one is mechanical)
shyamhegde is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st October 2008, 15:26   #23
Team-BHP Support
 
mobike008's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Hyderabad
Posts: 10,746
Thanked: 7,964 Times
Default

I dont think you can fit a tacho integrated into your instrument console.

You can try the after market for a tacho that you can install on the dash, which could be possible.
mobike008 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st October 2008, 19:01   #24
BHPian
 
akshay_b's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 363
Thanked: 10 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shyamhegde View Post
That console looked nice.
Odometer / trip meter is digital. Will that require some changes in underlying components related to odo? (since the original one is mechanical)
@deepak, I checked with advaith service center and the service guy said he'll ask the service manager and call me. Got no calls from them :|

@shyam- I dont think so, I guess the entire console will have some kind of processor/converter to convert analog reading to digital display.
Why cant they provide tacho as a standard fitment:(

@mobike008- I'm not talking about installing a standalone tacho in the sotck instrument cluster, I want the tacho intigrated into the console like the one you see in santro LE, Take a look at this Hyundai santro xing interior.
akshay_b is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st October 2008, 19:12   #25
BHPian
 
akshay_b's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 363
Thanked: 10 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shyamhegde View Post
That console looked nice.
Odometer / trip meter is digital. Will that require some changes in underlying components related to odo? (since the original one is mechanical)
@deepak, I checked with advaith service center and the service guy said he'll ask the service manager and call me. Got no calls from them :|

@shyam- I dont think so, I guess the entire console will have some kind of processor/converter to convert analog reading to digital display.
Why cant they provide tacho as a standard fitment:(

@mobike008- I'm not talking about installing a standalone tacho in the sotck instrument cluster, I want the tacho intigrated into the console like the one you see in santro LE, Take a look at this Hyundai santro xing interior.
akshay_b is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd November 2008, 19:30   #26
BHPian
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: KA55 / KA50
Posts: 196
Thanked: 4 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by akshay_b View Post
I checked with advaith service center and the service guy said he'll ask the service manager and call me. Got no calls from them :|
@ akshay: any update from advaith service center?
deepak_ms is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th November 2008, 17:50   #27
BHPian
 
akshay_b's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 363
Thanked: 10 Times
Default

Quote:
@ akshay: any update from advaith service center?
No dude, I'll go personally go to advaith and trident service centers and check out, I desperately need a tacho:( Isn't it fun to drive a car with a tacho?
akshay_b is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th November 2008, 18:29   #28
BHPian
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: KA55 / KA50
Posts: 196
Thanked: 4 Times
Default

keep us updated on the same. i am also planning for a FFE, tacho from long time. was waiting for my warranty period to get over. hopefully will get this things done by end of this year
deepak_ms is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th November 2008, 21:50   #29
BHPian
 
akshay_b's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 363
Thanked: 10 Times
Default

Sure deepak, Whats FFE by the way?
DO u own a santro? PM me your yahoo IM id.
akshay_b is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th November 2008, 08:46   #30
BHPian
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: KA55 / KA50
Posts: 196
Thanked: 4 Times
Default

FFE means free flow exhaust. you can read this thread to know more about it.

I have a Santro which completed 2 yrs 3 days back.
deepak_ms is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DIY tacho for a car, using a bike's tacho ilangop DIY - Do it yourself 64 25th November 2016 14:59
Install tacho in a santro harsh87 Modifications & Accessories 22 21st August 2007 20:37
Tacho for sale ( brand new ) manson Shifting gears 15 18th April 2005 04:54
tacho meter sanket12 Shifting gears 1 9th February 2005 12:12
RaceR Tech tacho blown! steroidauto Modifications & Accessories 7 5th January 2005 13:23


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 13:50.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks