Team-BHP > Shifting gears > The Team-BHP Meet Section

Old 27th January 2009, 16:28   #181

Originally Posted by Rajesh Rawal View Post
did you take kamal hassan's pushpak movie so seriously kya just kidding!

Isnt Elixir also the name of the lounge bar at ginger court @ madhapur( my contribution to the observation bid)
incidentally Pushpak is one of my favorite movies. yeah ginger court's pub has the same name, and that is what made the name all the more familiar.
Old 27th January 2009, 16:46   #182

Btw, i forgot to mention before parting ways with Ghanpur PS folks, i had to approach the SI and say thanks to him ( don't know why i should since his role was non-existent) and he was on cell phone while we waited for him to finish his conversation. And, there was a .45 pointing towards us on his desk and his right hand on it while left hand holding the cell phone.

I was on my toes and ready to flung myself sideways to dodge the bullet, just in case it went off by accident.

The SI was indeed impressive looking and he appeared like he is waiting for an encounter to happen and was super-ready for any untoward incident ( eyes wavering, alert look on his face and absolutely ferocious looking). No doubt, that area is peaceful with a policeman like him manning the station. peaceful luckily at least till the time we were around that area.

I would definetly want to be on his side of the fence if any attack happens, looked like he knew his job well.
Old 27th January 2009, 17:26   #183

Originally Posted by vnabhi View Post
Thanks buddy, but I got to see this only today. BTW, I'm confused with real names and those on this forum. Were you the guy on the Zen?
Yes, That was me!

Originally Posted by huntrz View Post
Sorry dude. completely missed your post. hope you didn't mind.
No problem there. Even I forgot about that post in the morning and headed towards uppal directly!

Originally Posted by suren181 View Post
Special thanks to pulsar56 for being ever resourceful. He had almost anything and everything in his Car ready when asked for including a Hacksaw blade, cello tape, a good strand of electric wire, the regular tools etc etc.
My pleasure Chief!

Let me start off with my part of the story now. Was actually busy coding to retrieve benefits Information of the employees for a US Company! (Well, lots of severances this year!)

6:00 AM - Alarm rings. And I was awake well before it started ringing. Excitement on the First T-BHP Meet was just too much for me to have a good sleep.
6:30 AM - Off to Sarvi for morning tea and citibank atm for Cash withdrawal.
7:00 AM - Started from home and call Avi. Response, "Dude, you are very early". Decided to have tea again stop at Sarvi, Khairatabad. Was reading the newspaper and completely forgot about my previous post of reaching Raj Bhavan Road at the same time as huntrz to pick up vnabhi!
7:45 AM - I am cruising along searching for the Genpact office in Uppal (It was my first time to this area!) and I spot the 'Untamed Beast' in my RVM. We guys are the first ones there and decide to have breakfast at a hotel. I can say, it was one of the best breakfast's I have had in Hyd.
8:00 AM - We park at the designated spot and idle around waiting for the other folks to turn up.

The rest, has been well narrated in the previous posts apart from my timings! LOL.

Now, coming to the part of taming the beast...
It's revving to the max and pulling away like crazy from all of us. Then suddenly, it decides to play a prank on us. Suren calls us and says that there is smoke from the bonnet. We pull over and wait near a local tea shop. Suren arrives and we open her up! No water in the radiator due to a cut tube. This is where I enjoyed playing the 'You name it, I have it game'! Plyer, Screw-Driver, Blade, Wire to connect the fan directly and bypass the thermostat. After having it cooled down, we start off to receive a call informing us about avi's incident.
Rest of journey till Warangal was pretty much smooth. Except that I shocked Suren by handing over a cello tape to fix avi's number plate after the Ghanpur Incident.

Fill in your thoughts with the previous posts again at this point.

We start off from Warangal with the local crowd watching the beast with their mouths open and watering!
We are doing 80+ and maintaining it constantly. Till now, the beast was behaving really well. As we were gathering up speed, it decides to play a major prank this time. The radiator gave up as it was not able to handle the fury of the beast. What option do we have now?

Oh yeah! We are in a small village and we find a shop to buy some rope to drag the beast along. Then it was a looonng journey home. We had couple of incidents with the rope breaking and we jumping out of the cars to push, etc. Also, we had decided to show hand signals before we braked and missed out on few of them to hear panic braking from behind or a mild THUD! Dilip requested us to play music and we are playing at full volume even though our ears were splitting so that the guys in the beast don't get bored just to know at the next stop that they were not at all able to hear the music in traffic! Myself and Suren are relieved and reduce the volume to enjoy some good music on the way.

Luckily we entered Hyd after 11:00 PM and the traffic was sparse. We made it to Moosapet to leave the beast at new mars without any hassles, except that the rope broke once again and the gap betwen both the vehicles now being just a foot wide!
It was really an amazing experience on the first meet for me! Did I enjoy it? The answer would be a definite yes. Next meet? I am gonna be there 30 mins before time? cheers:
BTW, I got to see Suren's Vespa, Santro & the Verna too.

OT: Went to Prabhu's place this morning to leave my car for fixing as it is a Fuel Guzzler like a SUV and not to forget the maruti's standard rattle problems. People were already working on the beast and I guess it will be back on the roads in a couple of days.

And, there was a .45 pointing towards us on his desk and his right hand on it while left hand holding the cell phone.
We could imagine the look on you guys' faces now! LOL
Old 27th January 2009, 23:43   #184

Why should some Hyderabadis have all the fun? Damn, I am joining next time around
Old 28th January 2009, 09:41   #185
PVS

hey raveendra - that was a superb explanation of all the 'drama' at Ghanpur - very vivid description..

and great fun you all guys had.. Keep up the spirit!
Old 29th January 2009, 13:31   #186

Originally Posted by mobike008 View Post
@Pulsar56, what about you? When is the penthouse...
Tonight? Tomorrow? Any time you want!

I am just waiting for the HDMI cable to arrive and then it's going to be a PS3 @ 1080p Hull HD, 5.1 CH Surround with a relaxing Bean Bag place!
Old 30th January 2009, 13:16   #187

Originally Posted by kkr2k2 View Post
hi everyone,

. . . . . . ..

Whoever were the participants in the "to get married or not", please send me a PM, the detailed report on it and all the views and comments and the conclusion. Most of you guys know where I am and few Bhpians and their better halves who plotting my doom!!!

The conclusion on the above topic is something on the lines of:

The dhuki-atmas cannot bear to see you sukhi-atmas flitting about on the horizon, they go green with envy. So all you sukhjeevis better get married ASAP so we can all drown our sorrows together!

Cheers!!
Old 30th January 2009, 15:13   #188

I got the dreaded call this morning regarding the cost of restoration of my red beast.

Total 20K ( i am quite sure the service center jacks up rates as insurance is paying money).My contribution is 6K out of that which seemed pretty steep to me.

Bumper, Headlights and Bumper Strut or guard something also needs to be replaced. I get 50% only for the first two and 15% depreciation value for the third to be borne by me.

Well, if i look at it in a different way, Warangal team bhp drive was the most expensive meet for me. Spent more than 10K in a single meet

Last edited by mobike008 : 30th January 2009 at 15:16.
Old 30th January 2009, 15:27   #189

Oh Avi, sorry to hear that. That indeed is an costly drive.

On a lighter vien, next time we should have a pilot and an escort when we do our drive meets!!
Old 30th January 2009, 15:31   #190

good that you settled off that auto fellow. Happy moments of a hyundai. Spares don't cost bomb. Imagine a VRs now.
Looking even more differently, you could have replaced current ones with a set of recaro replicas :-)
Old 30th January 2009, 15:40   #191

I got the dreaded call this morning regarding the cost of restoration of my red beast.

Total 20K ( i am quite sure the service center jacks up rates as insurance is paying money).My contribution is 6K out of that which seemed pretty steep to me.

Bumper, Headlights and Bumper Strut or guard something also needs to be replaced. I get 50% only for the first two and 15% depreciation value for the third to be borne by me.

Well, if i look at it in a different way, Warangal team bhp drive was the most expensive meet for me. Spent more than 10K in a single meet
Oops sorry to hear that mate. The offer made by Venu and me stands. It is the whole group activity thing you know.(this is in addition to your F & more imp. B bill being on me for the next meet).

Keep smiling
Old 30th January 2009, 15:40   #192

Total 20K

Avi bhai..atleast be happy your's and the auto wala's haddi pasli are intact!

I propose to start (ARF) Avinash relief fund!

Avi bhai ,the nizam club (your share of the bill ) is on me(my contribution to ARF)..( Now that we know jan salaries are coming,lol)

others ,please send in your contributions to rajesh rawal (treasury) ARF Foundation.

tum ek rupiya doge tumko allah 10 lakh dega,hehehehe!

Last edited by Rajesh Rawal : 30th January 2009 at 15:43.
Old 30th January 2009, 15:55   #193

tum ek rupiya doge tumko allah 10 lakh dega,hehehehe!
I have transferred INR 2.00, please gimme INR 20 Lakhs
Old 30th January 2009, 15:58   #194

Originally Posted by theodore_ftw View Post
I have transferred INR 2.00, please gimme INR 20 Lakhs
beta! iss route ki sab lines wyast hai ,kripya thori der baad try karein...
Old 30th January 2009, 18:56   #195

Originally Posted by getsurya View Post
Oh Avi, sorry to hear that. That indeed is an costly drive. On a lighter vien, next time we should have a pilot and an escort when we do our drive meets!!
Well, then the drive cost may quadruple. Imagine bearing the cost of crashes of a pilot and an escort too

Originally Posted by kutlee View Post
good that you settled off that auto fellow. Happy moments of a hyundai. Spares don't cost bomb. Imagine a VRs now.
Looking even more differently, you could have replaced current ones with a set of recaro replicas :-)
Recaro's didnt cross my mind because mine is a single track mind. Only double track used here is to convince the insurance guy to use this opportunity to brush up on other small nicks and dents to make me feel like 6K well spent...LOL

Originally Posted by Ravveendrra View Post
Oops sorry to hear that mate. The offer made by Venu and me stands. It is the whole group activity thing you know.(this is in addition to your F & more imp. B bill being on me for the next meet). Keep smiling
Raveendra, thanks for the offer. In fact, Suren also said the same thingy. You know what. In this case, the thought matters and i wouldn't want it to be converted to an action.

Avi bhai..atleast be happy your's and the auto wala's haddi pasli are intact!I propose to start (ARF) Avinash relief fund!

Avi bhai ,the nizam club (your share of the bill ) is on me(my contribution to ARF)..( Now that we know jan salaries are coming,lol)

others ,please send in your contributions to rajesh rawal (treasury) ARF Foundation. tum ek rupiya doge tumko allah 10 lakh dega,hehehehe!
Rajesh bhai, ek ek rupaiye collect kar ke muje 10 hazaar kab doge? agle janam mein?

TBHP bhai log, Rajesh ke ARF mein jaroor Rs.1 contribute karna, yeh meri bhinthi hai.

Again, your a riot man......LOL

Last edited by mobike008 : 30th January 2009 at 18:57.