Team-BHP > 4x4 & Off-Roading > 4x4 Vehicles

Old 22nd February 2015, 12:25   #331

Re: Tata Sumo four-wheel-drive

I spotted a spanking new civilian 4wd sumo. This was on the NH1 at around 1 am in the night and there were a number of people inside - mostly villagers.
Tata Sumo four-wheel-drive-image.jpg  

rrsteer is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 22nd February 2015, 14:44   #332

rrsteer : I spotted a spanking new civilian 4wd sumo. -
It is available for govt agencies, and may be one of those.
Old 20th April 2015, 01:04   #333

Finally got around to posting these - a few decent pics for your viewing pleasure, but not the only ones I've spied:

Tata Sumo four-wheel-drive-p1020949.jpg

Tata Sumo four-wheel-drive-p1030587.jpg

Tata Sumo four-wheel-drive-dscf6331.jpg

Tata Sumo four-wheel-drive-p1020950.jpg

Tata Sumo four-wheel-drive-p1020948.jpg

Army one was at Kolkata airport, another is Aizawl Police, the last is full civilian 2013 or '14 model doing taxi duty here in H.P. Prettiest one I've seen was bright firetruck red and absolutely immaculate condition, forget which gov't dept, at Aizawl airport a few years back. If I took a photo, I can't find it.

Eric

Last edited by ringoism : 20th April 2015 at 01:07.
ringoism is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 20th April 2015, 02:09   #334

Originally Posted by ringoism View Post
Finally got around to posting these - a few decent pics for your viewing pleasure, but not the only ones I've spied:

Eric
The first one, from the fourth picture, seems to not have the front driveshaft (CV joint), probably converted to 2wd, or its the picture quality.
1100D is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 20th April 2015, 11:04   #335

Dear Anirban - the "vehicle" is the second one in post number 333 above (ahem! ). Remove "1-2-3" / add "4-5-6", you know. It will s**t the p***s off anything thrown at it, I've tried it, believe me, everything is already there! If you can pick one up from an auction, you got it made! .

Best regards,

Behram Dhabhar
Old 3rd May 2015, 17:27   #336

Originally Posted by DHABHAR.BEHRAM View Post
Dear Anirban - If you can pick one up from an auction, you got it made! .

Best regards,

Behram Dhabhar
Totally agree with you but unfortunately these specialised vehicles are still some years away from reaching the auction lots.
Old 10th May 2015, 02:06   #337

Do these have the Borg and Warner solenoid operated divorced transfer case?
Old 10th May 2015, 08:23   #338

Dr Samuel,

AFAIK, these doesn't have a divorced transfer case.
Old 10th May 2015, 10:23   #339

Behramji its sad to hear the Land Rover defender is being discontinued later this year. Can Tata bring the manufacturing to India since they own the firm or there is some law against it. Just wishful thinking...
Old 11th May 2015, 10:29   #340

Originally Posted by drsamuelk View Post
Do these have the Borg and Warner solenoid operated divorced transfer case?
Dear Drsamuelk - yes, these are Borg Warner chain drive solenoid operated transfer cases. The Indian company name is Divgi Warner, based out of Pimpri, Pune. They have an extremely "4WD-customer-centric" management. One of my very good friends, who is also a 4WD enthusiast (and drives a certain black 4WD vehicle) works there. By "divorced" if you mean that the transfer case is mounted at a remote location from the transmission (like Gypsy), then the answer is "no"!

The answer to your question - "Behramji, its sad to hear the Land Rover defender is being discontinued later this year. Can Tata bring the manufacturing to India since they own the firm or there is some law against it. Just wishful thinking." - is "I WISH - I WISH - I WISH"! . "Hope" is a very positive word, so I always hope that good happens for everybody's benefit. .

Best regards,

Behram Dhabhar
Old 12th May 2015, 10:58   #341

Originally Posted by DHABHAR.BEHRAM View Post
Dear Drsamuelk - yes, these are Borg Warner chain drive solenoid operated transfer cases. The Indian company name is Divgi Warner, based out of Pimpri, Pune. They have an extremely "4WD-customer-centric" management. One of my very good friends, who is also a 4WD enthusiast (and drives a certain black 4WD vehicle) works there. By "divorced" if you mean that the transfer case is mounted at a remote location from the transmission (like Gypsy), then the answer is "no"!

The answer to your question - "Behramji, its sad to hear the Land Rover defender is being discontinued later this year. Can Tata bring the manufacturing to India since they own the firm or there is some law against it. Just wishful thinking." - is "I WISH - I WISH - I WISH"! . "Hope" is a very positive word, so I always hope that good happens for everybody's benefit. .

Best regards,

Behram Dhabhar
Bawa Ji, that's a very much politician's answer with a typical parsi humor.

If Chinese can use older scrapped out dyes and engines to make new cars under their brands, why cant TATA dish out something from LR defender!

Something is cooking and Santa Clause wants us to keep the hopes alive.
Old 12th May 2015, 14:08   #342

May be this is the reason to keep the hopes alive.

http://www.moneycontrol.com/news/cnb...6_1380677.html
Old 13th May 2015, 05:07   #343

Thanks guys, that would be a day to celebrate.
Old 13th May 2015, 08:40   #344

Originally Posted by drsamuelk View Post
Thanks guys, that would be a day to celebrate.
I wouldn't take the bubbly out of the chiller just yet.

Euro 6 and newer pedestrian safety norms are killing a lot of vehicles, including the famed Defender.

So, you think Tata/JLR would take the effort to move all the manufacturing required to produce an "all aluminum" body to India, which I doubt would be cost effective ( sourcing the quality aluminum in India might be their first hurdle.), so that they can sell the vehicles where Euro 6 is not enforced?

Lot of effort for a small market.

Anyways, I don't want to keep the Wizard of Hopes from continuing to cast his hope(less?) spells.

Old 13th May 2015, 10:21   #345

Originally Posted by gthang View Post
I don't want to keep the Wizard of Hopes from continuing to cast his hope(less?) spells. Cheers
Dear gthang - as soon as I opened the forum, I saw that your post was the last one in this thread, so your name appeared in it. Boy-o-boy, I became so happy even before I had opened the post, I thought that now at last I will get good feedback (you don't seem to take too kindly to the words "positive critique" so I will refrain) but I never in my wildest imagination expected me to be conferred with an unexpected award. "Wizard of Hopes"! It was for me only, naa? I'll use these words in my training programs. I am serious, you have hit a masterstroke! Please accept my best wishes as royalty! Jahapanaah, tussi great ho, tohfu kabool karo! .

Dear all - the world lives with hope, we all live with hope, there is nothing wrong in hoping. When you have an unwavering desire to see more and more of your creations successfully running on the roads out there, nothing can prevent things from happening! As of now, these creations have 4, 6, 10, 12 and more tires per vehicle! They may not be as glamorous as some "other" () creations, but they provide hope of a business to scores of customers and their families out there and they also bring in the moolah, which pays salary every 30 days!

Best regards,

Behram Dhabhar
DHABHAR.BEHRAM is offline   (1) Thanks