Team-BHP > 4x4 & Off-Roading > 4x4 Vehicles

Old 6th October 2010, 18:35   #436

So what will be the replacement for Major? Really sad to see an icon go out of production!
Old 6th October 2010, 18:39   #437

Having grown up in the hills of darjeeling, we were all so accustomed to seeing these beauties running around. Providing comfortable travel to people who did not wish to travel by bus. We the people of the hills are indebted to this vehicle for making our lives a lot easier in the past, before the days of the Boleros and Scorpios.

So we bid you farewell. You have served us all well and as a very famous saying goes:

"its not important being applauded when u first arrive, whats important is being missed when you leave"

And you surely will.
Old 6th October 2010, 18:42   #438

Originally Posted by Jaggu View Post
So what will be the replacement for Major? Really sad to see an icon go out of production!
Another icon coming back to production in a double role

Originally Posted by amrisharm View Post

"its not important being applauded when u first arrive, whats important is being missed when you leave"

And you surely will.
Let us see!

Spike
Old 6th October 2010, 20:39   #439

Another icon coming back to production in a double role

Let us see!
Dear me, both you and Behram sir are making me unwantedly excited with your laconic posts. Dear Spike, give us some positive information. By "another icon in double role", do you mean Thar in Crdi and Di avathars or whatever is it?Your wicked " let us see" seems to hint that the CL550 also will be back, may be with an engine complying with emission norms and more modern features. Please consider the Team Bhpians one privileged lot and give us one definite message
Old 7th October 2010, 00:24   #440

Sadly Major had to go and make way for THAR DI.

MM need the volumes for THAR to succeed and it doesnt matter its DI or CRDe inside the THAR.

and Major cant co-exist with THAR in the same price bracket and engine!

DI for rural area, forest dept, fire dept, police force etc.
CRDe for those who want some extra bang for their bucks!
Old 7th October 2010, 09:19   #441

Major shock to jeep lovers

The Major is now discontinued.
Thats a sad news.

But its aint dead yet. Its one tough little breed of vehicle that will live forever on the Indian roads & into hearts of all jeep lovers.

So now we will have reincarnation of MM550 NGCS in MDI version?
Thats good news. Thanks for that.

BUT,
Where is it? where are the spy pics? where are early discussions?
& why its not yet launched even though the Major, which it will be replacing, is now officially discontinued?

(Sorry for many question marks. How about some more info please, may be in a new thread)

Originally Posted by SPIKE ARRESTOR View Post
Hopefully not, someone has already initiated the first steps towards ensuring this.

Spike
Hmmm.. So whats it gonna be? I can only guess.
Old 7th October 2010, 09:55   #442

Infractions: 0/3 (13)

no harm in a little sentiment I think - having grown up with these iconic jeeps in the hills it is sad to bid goodbye to an icon. But the future is always brighter.

so in a lighter vein here's is a cartoon which some of you may enjoy - From the book "Up Front!" by Bill Mauldin, one of the foremost cartoonists of his day (he was a US war correspondent during WW II).
File Type: bmp the coup de grace - jeep.bmp (497.5 KB, 1293 views)
Old 7th October 2010, 15:22   #443

Mm560

Originally Posted by Ashley Nair View Post
... do you mean Thar in Crdi and Di avathars or whatever is it?Your wicked " let us see" seems to hint that the CL550 also will be back, may be with an engine complying with emission norms and more modern features.
Nope, Many dont want the Thar with DI. Thar is an excellent package the way it is. MM would not mess the Thar brand with a DI option. Many want the 550 back with a bang.

And I am putting my pisa on a all new 550 which I will call the MM560 for now.
Apt and will ring a bell in all markets. Rural/Defense/Offroading enthusiasts with budget constraints

Originally Posted by Ashley Nair View Post
Please consider the Team Bhpians one privileged lot and give us one definite message
+1 MM get the pulse of the nation by letting us know your plans.

Originally Posted by Parm View Post
MM need the volumes for THAR to succeed and it doesnt matter its DI or CRDe inside the THAR.

and Major cant co-exist with THAR in the same price bracket and engine!

DI for rural area, forest dept, fire dept, police force etc.
CRDe for those who want some extra bang for their bucks!
Exactly - Thar should come in at 7L+ and the Major replacement which cannot be denied by MM should come in at 5L

Originally Posted by offroad_maniac View Post

So now we will have reincarnation of MM550 NGCS in MDI version?
Thats good news. Thanks for that.

Hmmm.. So whats it gonna be? I can only guess.
MM/Spike/DB/Vinod,

So when is the MM560 being released?

Am guessing the MM560 is going to have the following and a more direct answer to our 'What would you like in your offroader' thread?

* Good ol' 540/550 tub on NGCS
* Solid Live axles with MDL
* MDI3200
* NGT 520/530
* Price - 5.5L

Originally Posted by svsantosh View Post
I will buy a 550+Mdi Combo as a replacement for my CJ340. I am afraid a Thar @ 7~ is beyond my budget...
+ 11111111

Originally Posted by SPIKE ARRESTOR View Post
^^ A 80" WB monster would have been possible, provided rear propeller shaft was eliminated, this driveline is too long for a SWB.

Attaching a pic of the last KMT90 rolled from the Transmission Product Unit.Attachment 435177

Spike
Spike that sure looks like a very Solemn moment on the Shop floor. Thanks for sharing both the pics.

What were you referring to the 80" WB and rear prop shaft? am lost. Also out with it - is the MM560 on cards as a replacement for the Major?

Last edited by IronWolf : 7th October 2010 at 15:27. Reason: typos
Old 7th October 2010, 15:48   #444

Mahindra MM560

Good naming ceremony Danny,

Lets start discussing about a MM560 and its demand/place amongst us. It has a HUGE potential, just like thar, but H-U-G-E. The military, govt, rural masses, offroading clubs all would welcome such a move. Of course, the thar would also move like the sep-10 sales figures. Bolero outsold all of scorpio, xylo, safari, sumo combined..!! Only a 5x0 can replace the Majors void.
Old 7th October 2010, 16:00   #445

Thanks Santosh..

Yeah missed mentioning the umpteen Govt Departments, which would need something basic for their needs.

MM hope you are watching this space?

Please dont give the Govt breathing space to look at other options to stick their little yellow 'G' sticker on.

Mahindra MM560
* 550 tub on NGCS
* MDI3200
* NGT 520/530
* Price - 5.5L
Do you'll need any real RnD for this mix? Its childs-play for you folks at Nasik: plug and sell

Last edited by IronWolf : 7th October 2010 at 16:01.
Old 7th October 2010, 17:00   #446

Are you sure you want to talk about Thar or MM560 or whatever name you want to give it. This thread would just get closed as has been the case with other threads on the forum.

Its recommended that 'Thar' word isn't uttered till the thing actually gets launched (if the plans are still holding good), because its just leading to unwanted speculation and amounting to building castles in the sky.
Old 7th October 2010, 19:05   #447

if Major replacement 'Colonel' comes with a DI and priced around 5.50 lakhs, i could consider it over General Saab which will be 6.50-7 lakhs.

Major has been a good vehicle to the rural janta as well as police/internal security and various govt dept. and to take it to next level, 'Colonel' with a DI fits the image perfectly.

i feel, a 2nd hand Major will now be in good demand since its SWB is a practical advantage in OTRs, compared to the 'Colonel'!
Old 7th October 2010, 19:16   #448

Originally Posted by IronWolf View Post
Nope, Many dont want the Thar with DI. Thar is an excellent package the way it is. MM would not mess the Thar brand with a DI option.

Exactly - Thar should come in at 7L+ and the Major replacement which cannot be denied by MM should come in at 5L

MM/Spike/DB/Vinod,

So when is the MM560 being released?

Am guessing the MM560 is going to have the following and a more direct answer to our 'What would you like in your offroader' thread?

* Good ol' 540/550 tub on NGCS
* MDI3200
* NGT 520/530
* Price - 5.5L
Oh god! Cant believe any thing and every thing is leading to THAR discussion. One way iam glad there is so much of anticipation for THAR.

Can gaurantee one thing....wait will not be endless. It is round the corner, so start saving money!!

Well about MM560- watch the space

P.S- Now please get back to Major discussion
Old 7th October 2010, 20:31   #449

Can the MDI3200TC motor be brought into BSIV compliance effectively? Or, has M&M got another motor in mind for a resurrected Major or the much rumored new NGCS version of the MM550/(MM560)?

Last edited by DirtyDan : 7th October 2010 at 20:32.
Old 8th October 2010, 14:06   #450

I dont think the Major's open type body is BSIV safety or sound level compliant.

I think a resurrected Major is out of scope.

If that is confirmed - we can all give our last rights to the Major and close this thread after a few days. :(

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com