Old 28th March 2008, 22:55   #76

I've had a problem with alternator whine for some time now. It used to happen when I switched on the head/fog lights. So had a problem at night.
Now with temperatures rising and consequent AC usage, the whine crops up with the AC on too.
Checked the HU last week. The whine was there even with the RCAs and antenna disconnected. I guess this indicates that the problem is around HU grounding?
Now, HU ground is the black wire, right? This is connected to the wiring harness of the Baleno. I have no clue where the final grounding is.
Should I disconnect the black HU wire from the harness and ground it separately? If so, where should I ground it?
Old 29th March 2008, 00:09   #77

Originally Posted by shuvc View Post
Should I disconnect the black HU wire from the harness and ground it separately? If so, where should I ground it?
Maruti OE harness is quite prone to ground loop noise. You seem to be on the right track. Try grounding at nearby screws, any metal touching, connecting to the car body.
Old 17th April 2008, 13:32   #78

Whining issues......!!!

A new HU ( Blau Hamburg 57 ) to my ICE setup has got me into the alternator whine thread.

Gurus, kindly comment on possible solution alternatives pls.

1. HU ground wires to be taken to common amp point , is it.?

2. Are there any specific Blau related whining issues which needs to be addressed.

The RCA cables used are Monster ones with the gold connectors. Is there an issue with them.?

Solutions, pleasee.

Looking forward
Old 21st April 2008, 12:02   #79

Need Help - vibrations from Hi energy hertz tweeters

Hi ICE Experts
I have a problem with my hi energy hertz tweeters .

When the engine is on & I play my music, I get a disturbance sound coming from both the tweeters but the same sound disappears when the engine is switched off & only the music is being played.

I showed this to Pankaj Bhai - FM dirve & he said that this problem may be due to oxide formation on the electricals of the car or due to 9 mm spark plug wires that I have put in my OHC 1.5 EXI type 2.

I got the entire electricals of the car cleant & also changed my spark plug wires to normal ones but of no use .

Pl help me to rectify the problem .
I am in Mumbai if you any place or anyone who coull help me Pl let me know.
In case of any addition information required do let me know.

Thanking everyoone in anticipation.

Mustafa
Old 21st April 2008, 12:51   #80

One thing here there is no problem with the tweeters.

The HU or amp ground is not proper which is causing the problem
Old 21st April 2008, 13:00   #81

Dear LBM Sir
Thanks a ton for your help Ishall get the same checked today itself & let you know if it gets rectifed.

Originally Posted by low_bass_makker View Post
One thing here there is no problem with the tweeters.

The HU or amp ground is not proper which is causing the problem
Old 21st April 2008, 13:17   #82

It is the Alternator whine/noise. Due to it's high frequenzy, it's coming from the tweeters.
Check the wirings as told by LBM.
Old 21st April 2008, 13:47   #83

Originally Posted by speedzak View Post
It is the Alternator whine/noise. Due to it's high frequenzy, it's coming from the tweeters.
Check the wirings as told by LBM.

Dear Sppedzak Sir
I shall be going to Fm drive today & get the same checked & shall let you know if it gets rectified.

Thanks a ton for your help.
Old 21st April 2008, 15:19   #84

Hi , seems like I am the latest entrant to the whine sufferers club .

Got my Alto fitted with the GTO75.4 yesterday. Now I notice the following symptoms :

1) There is continuous whine from the rear speakers that matches the engine RPM.

2) Whenever I flash my headlights , it is accompanies by a kat-kat noise from the rear speakers.

3) With the AC on , whine increases but it is independent of the volume at which the system is played.

4) It disappears totally when engine is off and HU is operating through battery.

The system configuration is as follows :

1) HU : Sony GT 460US
2) Sub : Sony LS120P5 (12"/300W RMS)
3) Rear 6x9 : Sony 6938 (100W RMS)
4) Amp : JBL GTO 75.4
5) RCA Cable : Boss
6) Power Cable : Boss
7) Speaker Cable : Connection Audison

The Amp powers the rear 6x9s in stereo and the sub in bridged mode.

P.S. : Before a sony 552 (2 channel) amp used to power my sub and the speakers were HU driven. Then I never ever faced this problem.

Any pointers anyone??
Old 21st April 2008, 15:21   #85

Originally Posted by sonic_boom View Post
Any pointers anyone??
First - I would change the RCA cables to audison as well and then lower the gain on the 75.4
Old 21st April 2008, 21:22   #86

any updates bro ?
i have HSk's too so if you need any help do let me know
will be happy to come by FM drive and brain storm
hope your problem gets diagnosed/solved.
Pankaj bhai is pretty good with his work.
hope this helps.
Old 21st April 2008, 22:02   #87

I too suspect that the RCA is to be blamed , because when I removed the front (connecting the 6x9s) RCA lead with engine running and system on , the noise disappeared completely.
Will take the car to driven and try some jugaadbaazi with grounding.

Cash strapped dudes like me pick the most expensive option (read RCA change), last

Last edited by sonic_boom : 21st April 2008 at 22:03.
Old 21st April 2008, 22:54   #88

I seem to have wriggled out of the problem. I did try grounding the HU as @gunbir had confirmed. That did not work.
I had my speakers wired in parallel. Left front and rear to one channel of the 75.4, right front and rear to another channel. Disconnected the rear speakers. Voila!
So now I'm running only the fronts and sub. Rears disconnected.
Old 22nd April 2008, 01:36   #89

Originally Posted by shuvc View Post
Left front and rear to one channel of the 75.4, right front and rear to another channel. Disconnected the rear speakers. Voila!
So now I'm running only the fronts and sub. Rears disconnected.
That seems to indicate that the rear speaker wiring is shorting somewhere. Cant see any other explanation for why, disconnecting the rear speakers would cause the whining to stop.
Old 22nd April 2008, 09:11   #90

Possible. Anyway, won't be checking the rear spkr wiring, since I'll redo it soon with new wire.