Old 27th June 2007, 11:11   #1

tweeter advice

i own a swift...
have a pioneer 5650 HU
2way jbl 120w front speakers
3way pioneer 360w rear speakers on the tray...
i'm planning to install tweeter..
which ones to do u suggest? and wht is the minimum cost of the tweeters?

thnks in advance
Old 27th June 2007, 13:27   #2

Dont install any tweeters atleast not the famed TS20. THey will do more harm thatn good.

Why do you want to install a tweeter anyway?
Old 27th June 2007, 14:22   #3

Originally Posted by navin View Post
Dont install any tweeters atleast not the famed TS20. THey will do more harm thatn good.

a. With the conventional mounting, the the driver is way off-axis for the tweeter in the JBL coaxial for someone who appreciates the higher frequencies. Perhaps a bit of tilt can be beneficial? Even a slight nudge in the right place on the equalizer might do wonders.
b. Sometimes somethings are for others, not self, right Navin-ji?

On the TS20 - I thought that is the standard for chilla chilla. What harm? Will keep the car rodent- and pest-free!
Old 27th June 2007, 15:19   #4

the ts-20 is a big and mighty tweeter it produces so much of HF that even mosqutio are also afraid of them..

I would suggest to remove the 2-way front speakers and install a component kit there. you can get a tweeter there which will give you better results...
Old 27th June 2007, 16:07   #5

Originally Posted by DerAlte View Post
the the driver is way off-axis for the tweeter in the JBL coaxial ...On the TS20...
Well OLD MAN you have not heard the TS20 I guess. Actually the TS20 can be tamed but why bother. It is easier just to get a better tweeter or as LBM suggested a component set.
Old 27th June 2007, 16:15   #6

On the TS20 - I thought that is the standard for chilla chilla. What harm? Will keep the car rodent- and pest-free!
the TS-20 is cross at 7k and higher which contains a lots and lots of treble which will only cause fatigue nothing else.
Old 27th June 2007, 17:08   #7

u know what....there are 2 versions of TS20 available in market; genuine and desi, i think you would be better off with desi TS20; they are not soooo harsh.

would cost app Rs. 550/-
Old 27th June 2007, 17:12   #8

Panky please yaar, don't give all silly advice lol
Old 27th June 2007, 17:49   #9

Originally Posted by Sam Kapasi View Post
Panky please yaar, don't give all silly advice lol
Sam Bhai actually what he is try to say is correct..the local tweeter is not that bright as the original one is.
Old 27th June 2007, 18:37   #10

SAM bhai, i never give a silly advice, specially on non-meet threads. whatever i say is what i know of my own experiences.... as LBM rightly pointed out, desi TS20 is not as bright as original one. (to me atleast). I've used both of them (desi and genuine) and gifted them to my BIL after I upgraded to JBL front comps.

desi TS20 is meant for people who take pride in showing off "dhinchak" system; have no money to buy the original TS20 which is priced at app Rs. 1800 and to give themselves a physcological satisfaction that am using the same tweeter as Mr. X jiski gaadi mein solid awaaz aati hai (wohi chaar 2150 aur do 307 wali kaali zen).

as such, i would advice him to get a pair of desi TS20 which would solve the purpose!

Last edited by panky12345 : 27th June 2007 at 18:40.
Old 27th June 2007, 18:42   #11

Originally Posted by panky12345 View Post
SAM bhai, i never give a silly advice, specially on non-meet threads. whatever i say is what i know of my own experiences.... as LBM rightly pointed out, desi TS20 is not as bright as original one. (to me atleast). I've used both of them (desi and genuine) and gifted them to my BIL after I upgraded to JBL front comps.

desi TS20 is meant for people who take pride in showing off "dhinchak" system; have no money to buy the original TS20 which is priced at app Rs. 1800 and to give themselves a physcological satisfaction that am using the same tweeter as Mr. X jiski gaadi mein solid awaaz aati hai (wohi chaar 2150 aur do 307 wali kaali zen).
Hope your BIL is not reading this! Nahin to, saari khudai ek taraf, baki family doosri taraf!
Old 27th June 2007, 18:47   #12

ahh no worries Der, he is a N Bhpian (Non - Bhpian) hahahaha
Old 27th June 2007, 18:59   #13

SAM bhai, i never give a silly advice, specially on non-meet threads.

I've used both of them (desi and genuine) and gifted them to my BIL after I upgraded to JBL front comps.
So this is your idea of revenge eh?

You had similar inspiration for your car too, Panky?

as such, i would advice him to get a pair of desi TS20 which would solve the purpose!
Hope your BIL is not reading this! Nahin to, saari khudai ek taraf, baki family doosri taraf!
Looks like everyone is in a happy mood today!!!

Last edited by iraghava : 27th June 2007 at 19:08.
Old 27th June 2007, 19:10   #14

Originally Posted by iraghava View Post
Looks like everyone is in a happy mood today!!!
I think it is appy fizz working here.
Old 27th June 2007, 19:18   #15

Originally Posted by navin View Post

i dont get enough mids and highs from the jbl's cos they are installed in the door provision as compared to the speakers on the tray, i get more mids and highs from the rears....