Old 22nd March 2008, 17:42   #31

Originally Posted by BHAGWAN View Post
Can I give a small suggestion ? Please.....

The Cables - Below the seat - etc.
Can you try and 'organize' them.
I am sure you have taken enough precaution while installing with regards to RCA + Power + Speaker Cables, but try and get them seperated [in the picture] and 'tucked away' !!!
Sir, constructive criticism is always welcome.

It was close to midnight and the customer had been waiting for almost 12 hours. At that time, we decided to leave the aesthetics for later. The car is in fact due at Driven on Sunday (tomorrow) for a tweak and wiring management session. Will try to post pics thereafter.
Old 22nd March 2008, 17:46   #32

Perfect;

I was sure you would work on it;

A professional like yourself - would not leave a car with your signature on it, that had things left to be done !!

That client must be really happy with what you have done for him. Keep up the good work !!
Old 22nd March 2008, 17:57   #33

Another constructive criticism.... please...

Originally Posted by gunbir View Post
Sir, constructive criticism is always welcome.
Sir,

Since you are giving me the 'lee-way' I want to take a bit of advantage; If I may.

I am not well versed with the HU that you have used.
However, you mentioned that it has a TA [Time Alignment] Tool in it.

If that is true, please use the JVC Web site for the TA adjustment figures. If JVC does not have one, try this :-

Go to the Alpine I-Personalize Web Site.
Choose any top of the line HU - say 9835 or 9855 [older models] & calibrate your distances with this unit. It works fine.

Just measure :-
Left Tweeter to drivers nose in Inches [A]
Right Tweeter to drivers nose in Inches [b]
Left Tweeter Rear to drivers nose in Inches [C]
Right Tweeter Rear to drivers nose in Inches [D]
Sub Woofer to drivers nose in Inches [E]

Now punch this onto the web site & the site will give you the perfect 'TA' figures. This will be in MS [mili seconds]. Feed this into your HU & you will be 'rocking'

I know you have done this several times, and it must be childs play for you, but just my 2 cents worth. Trust me the difference is huge.

The reason I got this up is because JB - Autophile - has posted on another thread on Ask the Gurus, that the Tweeters do not need to delayed - hence, I am writing this here.
Do take my suggestion in the 'right' spirit !!

Alternately, send me the distances in inches - A to E - I will try and worj it out - the TA i.e.
You may try it on 2 different settings....

cheers:
Old 22nd March 2008, 18:10   #34

thats a very nice and clean install paaji.hopin for an audition soon.
somehow i found safaris stock location for the tweeters PERFECT.i hope i am right paaji.
bhagwanji we are waiting about your experience and conclusion about your install.when are the detailings cumin up sir?????
Old 22nd March 2008, 18:21   #35

Thread has been closed - Hijacked - It seems !!!

Originally Posted by zucchero View Post
bhagwanji we are waiting about your experience and conclusion about your install.when are the detailings cumin up sir?????
I too am 'astonished' what happened there.

I was travelling, just got on to my LT & saw all that had transpired. I am shocked. Wanted to post a reply, but the thread is locked.

If, my posting will cause esteemed forum members to get 'touchy' I could stop posting - if that helps. But, I was begining to enjoy this place & it seems to be a nice place to meet 'like minded' persons.

So let me see what transpires !!

Old 22nd March 2008, 18:25   #36

Godji,

Could you please elaborate on how the wooden ring affects the performance ?

Sorry if this is OT.

Respected Sirs,

It is not about the cutting, but about the mounting.

The Damping + Mounting [of the mid-woofer] + Connection + Cable routing etc. etc.
Are important.

The end result is dependent on many things.

Cut or no Cut - Damping at the back and the sides of the driver & ring [wooden] used sometimes is rather important. IMHO.
Old 22nd March 2008, 18:28   #37

'B' cmon bro???this is the fun part of team-bhp and this is how we LEARN and DISCUSS on the forum.i am sure you will get used to it.
no need to stop posting because theirs a lot to learn from you.
Old 22nd March 2008, 18:43   #38

"Anuj, tu setup sune ga to paagal ho jaayega" - My bro to me on the phone at 2:00 am IST after the install finished at almost midnight IST.

Gunbirji and JBji, you guys have created a Monster.

Thanks for helping out Ashu bhai with the fantastic equipment and the immaculate install. My bro was almost cross with me for suggesting a JBL 6 ch amp after he heard the Genesis produce it's magic.

I, on my part, am just dying to come back and listen to this symphony on wheels. And, as you said, it really does not matter what kind of (off-axis, on-axis, sealed, ported) install it is. The satisfaction and joy expressed by my bro has said it all.

Oh, and thanks for the t-bhp discount as well.

Cheers to you all and belated happy holi as well.

rev_hard

Last edited by rev_hard : 22nd March 2008 at 18:56.
Old 22nd March 2008, 19:00   #39

Perfect !!

Originally Posted by rev_hard View Post
"Gunbirji and JBji, you guys have created a Monster.
rev_hard
This is what I call a perfect ending;

If the client is 'satisfied' the War is Won. Forget the Battle;

Way to go guys !!! Perfect !!

cheers:
Old 22nd March 2008, 19:08   #40

Is OT ok here ? Moderator.....

Originally Posted by adityamunshi View Post
Godji,

Could you please elaborate on how the wooden ring affects the performance ?

Sorry if this is OT.
This may be 'debatable' but I shall pen my thoughts;

I personally am in favour of a wooden ring.
This is not used in 'international installs' [yes - I am aware of that]

Basically, the WR [Wooden Ring] forms a kind of semi inert insolation between the mid woofer & door panel - patra -
This needs to be wrapped with damping - back to front.
It also stops 'air' from moving between the back & the front of the mid woofer.
Damps the 'resonation' between the material of the chassis [mid woofer] & the metal of the door etc.
Will write more in a bit if Moderator approves....
Old 22nd March 2008, 19:16   #41

Go to the Alpine I-Personalize Web Site.
Choose any top of the line HU - say 9835 or 9855 [older models] & calibrate your distances with this unit. It works fine.

Just measure :-
Left Tweeter to drivers nose in Inches [A]
Right Tweeter to drivers nose in Inches [b]
Left Tweeter Rear to drivers nose in Inches [C]
Right Tweeter Rear to drivers nose in Inches [D]
Sub Woofer to drivers nose in Inches [E]

cheers:
The example you have mentioned is for the passives and that too coaxials. This method does not work well in case of passive components particularly because of difference in arrival times between tweeter and midbass because of installation and location.

I personally don't bother much with TA in case of passives as it offers very less control individually on drivers. For a perfect example of TA the system has to be active.

Moreover calculating delay time by distance is easy and works best if you are aligning the entire system for any one particular seat. Lets take an example, you tuned and aligned the system for the driver seat. In a situation where your wife or driver is driving and you are sitting in passenger seat, to you the system will sound like $hit. And to make it sound right for that very trip/drive you have to adjust the entire settings for the passenger seat. To make this task easy Alpine does not have "Listening Position Selector" like Pioneer.

I prefer to tune the system for both the front seats. Hence tweeters are not delayed as they are at equal distance (i don't like the sound of delayed tweeters), corresponding to that mids are delayed (even if they are at equal distance) to improve staging and cohesion with the tweeters and in the end delay is added to sub to get the bass anchored seamlessly in the sound stage and to make the sub disappear.

All this is done by listening. Because distance method does not work always.

In a system where everything is same (HU, Speakers, Cables, Subwoofer, Amplifier) perfectly aligned. And I replace the subwoofer with some other model keeping the box at the same location. You will have to change the delay values after the change. In car audio nothing is absolute and there is no thumb rule.

Also I don't bother delaying the rear speakers as they are only used as rear fills sometimes in case of rear seat occupancy.

Last edited by Autophile : 22nd March 2008 at 19:26.
Old 22nd March 2008, 19:35   #42

Basically, the WR [Wooden Ring] forms a kind of semi inert insolation between the mid woofer & door panel - patra -
This needs to be wrapped with damping - back to front.
It also stops 'air' from moving between the back & the front of the mid woofer.Damps the 'resonation' between the material of the chassis [mid woofer] & the metal of the door etc.Will write more in a bit if Moderator approves....
Sir, most good installers use mdf rings. Here are a couple of pics from an install we did... we also apply air tight Fonotape insulation applied on either side of ring, between ring and metal and ring and speaker.
Rev_Hard's Safari ICEd with iD and Genesis-dscn5668.jpg  

Last edited by gunbir : 22nd March 2008 at 19:49.
Old 22nd March 2008, 19:51   #43

Originally Posted by Autophile View Post
The example you have mentioned is for the passives and that too coaxials. This method does not work well in case of.....
I think JB posted in the wrong thread. Mods can you please delete his post.
Old 22nd March 2008, 20:07   #44

Originally Posted by low_bass_makker View Post
A little cutting is required. Look a 6.5 inch Illusion Electra in a safari door.

Attachment 2905

It is off-axis install.
LBM, the pic you have posted does not show any cutting shutting anywhere. whats the point to post that pic?

Old 22nd March 2008, 20:07   #45

@ GUNBIR & JB

Aap logon ki posts aur photos dekh kar man khush ho jaata hai.

It's nice to know there are people who are passionate & knowledgeable about their subject & not just goggle eyed $$$$

Having said that so what's the T-BHP discount ???

I am really tempted to get the Audi audio upgrade, but for the $$$$

Guess we'll go one step at a time. Home audio then car audio !!!!!!!