Team-BHP > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software
Register New Topics New Posts Top Thanked Team-BHP FAQ

Search this Thread
Old 8th August 2011, 12:48   #1
Team-BHP Support

Is Airtel Nationalised?

I feel they have been Nationalised because their service is no better than a government organisation. In other words, zero competence and zero accountability.

I have been using Airtel fixed line and broadband since 2005, in fact I have multiple accounts. Until this year (2011), I have rarely had any serious problems or issues. I have had experiences where the technicians have showed up in 10 minutes after I called. Few times when it took time, they have responded quickly after I escalated the matter strongly. I could say I was a very satisfied customer for 6 years.

However, everything changed in the past few weeks. I have been having severe issues in getting the right plan in my Manipal Airtel fixedline/broadband account. But this thread is not about that. In this thread I want to discuss what is happening with my Bangalore Airtel fixed line account.

I have an Airtel fixed-line/broadband account in Bangalore which I use for telecommuting. This has multiple static IP addresses to enable me to remain in permanent VPN with all my office locations. Apart from monthly charges, I also pay annual charges of static IP addresses.

Last month I moved from one apartment to another within the same building. In order to transfer my Airtel number, they have to move the wire from one jack to another jack in the switchbox in the basement. The physical effort will take no more than a minute. Trusting Airtel to transfer the line in matter of days, I called Airtel service just before the move. That is when I got the first shock.