Team-BHP > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software
Register New Topics New Posts Top Thanked Team-BHP FAQ

Search this Thread
Old 6th March 2010, 22:20   #3211
Senior - BHPian

Quote:
Originally Posted by shajufx View Post
Good points there buddy ! I agree that upgrading to a DSLR will not make you a professional overnite. It is a journey with lot of hard work, reading, discussions, experiments and correcting lot of myths that sleep in our minds about photography. This is one field nobody achieves an instant stardom.

I have been shooting since 10 years and Olympus IS 500 (film camera) was my first camera Olympus IS-500 Review - PhotographyBLOG

I moved to a Point & Shoot Canon IXUS 800 IS Canon PowerShot SD700 IS Digital ELPH: Digital Photography Review

Again I moved to Nikon D60 mid of 2009 Nikon D60 Review: 1. Introduction: Digital Photography Review

My 9 years were spent in just clicks and nothing of a learning curve. Although I had the learning desire right from childhood (1970 onwards my father had an Agfa camera), I never started the learning until I got hold of the D60.

Its an expensive affair to seriously get into DSLR world. I have already sold my 18-55 VR and 55-200 VR lenses. Got a Nikon 35mm f1.8 G, waiting for a Sigma 17-70 f2.8 MACRO HSM and a 70-300 or 150-500. Decision is very difficult (about the 150-500) considering the price range, lack of enough compatability and result reviews. Sigma 18-250 DC OS HSM seems to be a good lens as an all-rounder.

I have got very good feed-backs on 150-500 from canon users, but not a convincing feeback from Nikon guys. Right now I consider my D60 days are learning time and like a babyhood stage. There are plenty of clubs and groups within various forums based on different cities that can help a lot in the learning stage. Few interactions itself are helping me a lot.