Team-BHP > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software
Register New Topics New Posts Top Thanked Team-BHP FAQ

Search this Thread
Old 25th June 2010, 18:24   #4321
BHPian

I recently bought the 55-250 IS lense. Can anyone tell me about how to confirm if the IS is working or not? I have doubt on my lense's IS.
Old 25th June 2010, 18:34   #4322
Senior - BHPian

Quote:
Originally Posted by pawan_pullarwar View Post
I recently bought the 55-250 IS lense. Can anyone tell me about how to confirm if the IS is working or not? I have doubt on my lense's IS.
I am no expert but think this would do.
Take 2 shots with the same setting (use a slow shutter speed), one with IS on and one with IS off. Don't use a tripod. Compare the difference in the computer screen and not LCD. Let us know if this works or not.
You might even post the results here and ask for the pros to have a look if you are not able to make out any difference.

- Jag
Old 25th June 2010, 18:35   #4323
Senior - BHPian

Quote:
It is absolutely nonsence not to have AF. I have clicked around 100s of photo of my recent trip to Italy with manual focus, to save the battery because I was running out of battery and it was all blured even with tripod.
What AF has to do with tripod , Tripod can help you in case of shake for long focal length but does not help in any way for focusing. Without AF you either need a body with focusing screen ( Not there in DSLR I have seen) or trust your eyes on what you see inside view finder.
Old 25th June 2010, 18:55   #4324
Senior - BHPian

Quote:
It is absolutely nonsence not to have AF. I have clicked around 100s of photo of my recent trip to Italy with manual focus, to save the battery because I was running out of battery and it was all blured even with tripod.
Quote:
Originally Posted by amitk26 View Post
What AF has to do with tripod , Tripod can help you in case of shake for long focal length but does not help in any way for focusing.
I guess he got confused with VR!!!

Quote: