Team-BHP > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software
Register New Topics New Posts Top Thanked Team-BHP FAQ

Search this Thread
Old 5th July 2010, 06:50   #4411
BHPian

Quote:
Originally Posted by TaureanBull View Post
congrats! happy shooting.

what was the dent? will you be using the stock lens?
Yes brother.Sadly have to stick to 18-55 lens for a while.Now Im just a beginner.All photos look like something a P&S camera would take.Still got to learn how to use.Anyone can help?No patience to read manual.
Old 5th July 2010, 09:21   #4412
Team-BHP Support

Quote:
Originally Posted by punterccrx8s View Post
Yes brother.Sadly have to stick to 18-55 lens for a while.Now Im just a beginner.All photos look like something a P&S camera would take.Still got to learn how to use.Anyone can help?No patience to read manual.
I assume you got the 18-55VR lens. I doubt that even in auto mode the photos of a P&S will compare to that of a DSLR when blown up beyond 8x10. If you viewing these photos on your computer monitor or making 5x7 prints of them then maybe a P&S can copete but once you blow up to 16x24 and larger the advantages of the large sensor (DSLR) become evident.

Besides most P&S have shutter lag. Most DSLRs do not.

Maybe it is just a matter of perspective. In the old days we took pictures on slide film, made slides, and used a projetor to view them on a screen. Today a DSLR, Card viewer (I used a PS3) and LCD TV does the same. At these sizes (screen/LCD) the advantages of a DSLR are evident.
Old 5th July 2010, 09:49   #4413
Senior - BHPian

Quote: