Team-BHP > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software

Old 14th April 2024, 11:50   #7051

Re: The Laptop Thread: Configs, deals & questions

Hello BHPians,

My friend, in Delhi, bought an HP Omen Gaming laptop but due to work commitments is upgrading to a ROG Zephyrus G14. He wants to sell the Omen laptop. Below are its specs:

1. Colour: ‎Mica Silver
2. Resolution: ‎2560 x 1440 Pixels
3. Model number: 16-n0123AX
4. Processor: ‎AMD
5. Processor Type: ‎Ryzen 7
6. Processor Speed: ‎4.7 GHz
7. RAM Size: ‎16 GB
8. Memory Technology: DDR5
9. Maximum Memory Supported: 32 GB
10. Hard Drive Size: 1 TB
11. Hard Disk Description: ‎SSD
12. Speaker Description: Audio by B&O, Dual speakers
13. Graphics Coprocessor: ‎NVIDIA GeForce RTX 3070
14. Graphics RAM Type: ‎GDDR6
15. Graphics Card Ram Size: ‎8 GB
16. Number of USB 3.0 Ports: ‎1
17. Number of HDMI Ports: ‎1
18. Operating System: ‎Windows 11 Home
19. Item Weight: ‎2 kg 370 g

Additional resources available:

1. HP Hyper X headphones
2. 3-Year warranty with premium support
3. Detailed invoice

The laptop was bought in April 2023 and is just under a year old. The asking price is 1.10 Lacs INR with little room for negotiation. If anyone is interested, please message/ping me.
Old 15th April 2024, 14:41   #7052

Originally Posted by mugen_pinaki27 View Post
The laptop was bought in April 2023 and is just under a year old. The asking price is 1.10 Lacs INR with little room for negotiation. If anyone is interested, please message/ping me.
Just a heads up; I believe the same spec is selling for 99k on Amazon as refurbished. I hope your friend gets a good deal on it
IshaanIan is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 22nd April 2024, 17:25   #7053

Looking to hear from anyone who has purchased directly from the Lenovo India website recently. Particularly in reference to the "Build your PC" option. What are delivery times like? Do they cancel orders, perhaps without giving proper reasons? Delays in refunds? Missing specs, etc.
Old 22nd April 2024, 19:02   #7054

Macbook Air 15" (M3) Review

The Laptop Thread: Configs, deals & questions-20240422-11.50.20.jpg

Putting this here because it will surely help others. This is easily the best laptop for portable use & field world. In 20 years of using computers, I have never, ever experienced a laptop like this.

I love Apple's hardware and equally, I love Windows (am a power user). Hence, I have subscribed to Parallels for running Windows on my Macbook Air.

What I Love:

• Blazing fast performance (in MacOS). I tried it & it runs like a beast in MacOS.

• Just like your smartphone and EV, charge only at night while you sleep. The battery runs all day. I am getting 8 – 10 hours on the battery consistently

• No fan noise (Air has no fan)

• No heating whatsoever. This is the first laptop you can actually place on your lap, even if you're wearing shorts! It runs super cool most of the time, and mildly warm if under heavy workload

• Looks & feels extremely premium. Slim design. 15" screen is just the right size for a laptop. Apple's keyboard is the best. There is no going to Dell, Lenovo, HP whatever once you use this

• Enhanced productivity due to long battery life & the light weight. I have used it through flight delays, power cuts etc. without worry. It's very light to carry around too

• Clean Windows install straight from Microsoft, with zero bloatware

• 1-million file full-computer virus scan in just 13 minutes .

• Price-wise, it is actually on par (or cheaper) than the high-end Dell & Lenovo laptops. I got the Macbook Air 15" with M3 Chip, 24 GB RAM (max possible) and 1 TB SSD for 2.14 lakhs. The quotes I got from Dell & Lenovo for their top range was similar. The Latitude was in the same ballpark, while the XPS was higher

What I Hate:

• MacOS! Spent 3-months and still couldn't get the hang of it. An extremely overrated OS. Windows rocks.

• Parallels Virtualization isn’t like running Windows natively. It has its flaws & limitations.

• As a Windows power user, I find the speed & performance in Parallels to be “good”, but not blazing fast. If you want turbocharged performance, run this laptop in MacOS. MacOS is "sport" mode, while Windows in Parallels is "City" mode. My 2nd laptop is a Macbook Pro "16 (Intel) that runs Windows natively, via Bootcamp - Windows is more capable on that.

• Parallel's Pro subscription is 7 grand a year. That's more than you'll pay for Windows.

• Max warranty is just for 3 years and that too, in-store service. Dell gives you the option of 5-year warranty with onsite service.

The Laptop Thread: Configs, deals & questions-20240422-11.50.45.jpg

The Laptop Thread: Configs, deals & questions-20240422-11.49.54.jpg

The Laptop Thread: Configs, deals & questions-20240422-12.31.22.jpg

Last edited by GTO : 3rd May 2024 at 13:41. Reason: One more thing
GTO is offline   (40) Thanks
Old 22nd April 2024, 19:18   #7055

Hey All! Had a contemplation on my laptop replacement. I have a 5-year-old Asus Vivobook X512, the screen of which, for the second time, has decided to detach itself from its hinges. Ridiculously annoying, I must say. I do have a separate work laptop, so a replacement would need to be a thin and light, ideally 14 inches or smaller. Battery life is a major concern, and the more, the better.

Another parallel tangent I am exploring is the Tab + Keyboard Cover option (Something like the I Pad pro, but not as pricey). I did see the Lenovo P12 has an option like this but I do want some long term reviews or alternatives to consider as well. Would appreciate your inputs!
Old 22nd April 2024, 20:36   #7056

Originally Posted by WhiskeyTangoFox View Post
a replacement would need to be a thin and light, ideally 14 inches or smaller. Battery life is a major concern, and the more, the better.
The MacBook Air M1 fits your criteria perfectly it is built well so you won’t face hinge issues as you have with your vivobook, battery life is a revelation (can binge watch an entire series), display quality is top notch both in terms of color calibration as well as brightness, speakers are excellent and the best part is the fanless design so it is always cool to the touch. They regularly go on discount for under 65k and even without the discount they are absolutely worth it :Thumbs up
IshaanIan is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 23rd April 2024, 10:21   #7057

Originally Posted by WhiskeyTangoFox View Post
Another parallel tangent I am exploring is the Tab + Keyboard Cover option (Something like the I Pad pro, but not as pricey). I did see the Lenovo P12 has an option like this but I do want some long term reviews or alternatives to consider as well. Would appreciate your inputs!
have been doing this for more than 7 years now. I bit the bullet in 2016 and got an iPad Pro 10.5 and it worked fabulously well with a few minor exceptions (for example, the income tax site would not load / work). My only grouse at that point of time was the external monitor support.

The iPad died last year, and I replaced it with a 12.9 inch iPad Pro. Stage manager and external display support is just terrific and I don’t find myself reaching for a laptop except when I have to work (i.e. code compiling etc). Pretty much everything else runs off my iPad. If you have any specific questions, please ask!
three10 is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 23rd April 2024, 10:40   #7058

Originally Posted by three10 View Post
The iPad died last year, and I replaced it with a 12.9 inch iPad Pro. Stage manager and external display support is just terrific and I don’t find myself reaching for a laptop except when I have to work (i.e. code compiling etc). Pretty much everything else runs off my iPad. If you have any specific questions, please ask!
I've tried something similar with my iPad Pro 11 inch (M1), but Google has limited its productivity suite's functionality on iPad OS. I'll happily give up my personal MacBook Air if they make this on par with MS Office Suite on iPad.

Also, I'm not a fan of the file management on iPad OS. How do you keep your downloads and files easily accessible?
Old 23rd April 2024, 10:54   #7059

Originally Posted by tejus.s View Post
I've tried something similar with my iPad Pro 11 inch (M1), but Google has limited its productivity suite's functionality on iPad OS. I'll happily give up my personal MacBook Air if they make this on par with MS Office Suite on iPad.

Also, I'm not a fan of the file management on iPad OS. How do you keep your downloads and files easily accessible?
Which is basically why I avoid google - the only google services I use are gmail and google pay (since Paytm’s demise). I also use gmail via the outlook app, and not via the google made gmail app. (EDIT: missed the obvious ones - YouTube and maps ).

Other than that, I have office premium, so OneDrive (with a generous 1 TB space) becomes my central storage - it can be added as a folder on the native files app on the iPad, so it’s easy to copy/paste and move files around.

Admittedly, file management is very basic with the native files app, but I haven’t yet hit a use case where it doesn’t work. Do you have a use case where the files app does not work as expected?

Last edited by three10 : 23rd April 2024 at 10:56.
Old 23rd April 2024, 12:09   #7060

Originally Posted by three10 View Post
Other than that, I have office premium, so OneDrive (with a generous 1 TB space) becomes my central storage - it can be added as a folder on the native files app on the iPad, so it’s easy to copy/paste and move files around.

Admittedly, file management is very basic with the native files app, but I haven’t yet hit a use case where it doesn’t work. Do you have a use case where the files app does not work as expected?
I have OneDrive as well, but office uses Google productivity suite, so the iPad limits my ability to make rich formatting changes.

File management: I just find the general navigation, copy<>paste functionality, attachment limitations, compressed files usage, etc., to be finicky. MacOS is so much more accomplished that it makes me doubt the workarounds to be learnt for basic tasks.
tejus.s is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 23rd April 2024, 12:16   #7061

Originally Posted by tejus.s View Post
I have OneDrive as well, but office uses Google productivity suite, so the iPad limits my ability to make rich formatting changes.

File management: I just find the general navigation, copy<>paste functionality, attachment limitations, compressed files usage, etc., to be finicky. MacOS is so much more accomplished that it makes me doubt the workarounds to be learnt for basic tasks.
nothing office related touches my personal devices. I’ve got the basic teams / email, just to view stuff. But if I actually have to get work done, then out comes the office laptop.

Other cases you mentioned work ok on the iPad - I use it similarly and with ipadOS 16 and beyond, its business as usual.
three10 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 23rd April 2024, 12:48   #7062

Originally Posted by CowlFlap View Post
Looking to hear from anyone who has purchased directly from the Lenovo India website recently. Particularly in reference to the "Build your PC" option. What are delivery times like? Do they cancel orders, perhaps without giving proper reasons? Delays in refunds? Missing specs, etc.
Hi, I haven't used the "Build your PC" option for a customized purchase, but I had purchased a Thinkpad P series from them last year during Dussehra with specifications that I was already eyeing for. The customized option was just having a longer shipping time and that's about the only difference I remember.

They ship via Bluedart if I remember correctly. The shipment had shown me a estimate of 6-7 days and had arrived earlier at the warehouse but there was some delay by Bluedart in sending it out for delivery which was sorted once I gave the folks a call.

One thing I noticed that was a bit off was the warranty start date, it indicated a couple of weeks or so earlier. It may have been probably when Windows was installed / registered on Lenovo site for a specific download by the vendor since it comes with the pre-built Lenovo bloatware that asks you to provide all details when setting up Windows.

I had reached out to them for rectifying this to the date of purchase but didn't follow-up as I have seen this with few other purchases as well.
cheeku is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 23rd April 2024, 13:37   #7063

Macbook Air 15" (M3) Review

]

Putting this here because it will surely help others. This is easily the best laptop for portable use & field world. In 20 years of using computers, I have never, ever experienced a laptop like this.
Thanks GTO, for the interesting review. I am contemplating getting a Mac for personal use as well (have an office Macbook Pro M1 with a beautiful 16 inch screen, but it is highly locked down for all the right reasons and my personal dektop at home is restrictive in terms of where I work - so needing to get a personal laptop now).

Did you consider an M3Pro 14.2 inch? It comes standard with 18 GB RAM and 512 GB disk for a much lesser price. The screen real estate is a bit less but the weight is almost the same and you get a more powerful processor and more accessory ports?
84.monsoon is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 23rd April 2024, 13:51   #7064

I’m contemplating buying a MacBook too. 2 years ago I bought a dell laptop costing 50k, the battery life is atrocious. It only lasts 3 hours even on the lightest load. Heats up on the lightest usage. Windows as a desktop is good I guess, but not as a laptop.
nikhilck is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 23rd April 2024, 14:23   #7065

Originally Posted by 84.monsoon View Post
Did you consider an M3Pro 14.2 inch? It comes standard with 18 GB RAM and 512 GB disk for a much lesser price. The screen real estate is a bit less but the weight is almost the same and you get a more powerful processor and more accessory ports?
I did, bud. In fact, I went to the Apple Store and played with both side by side. Reasons for the Air:

- Bigger screen & bigger keyboard. It makes a difference, especially when you consider my other laptop is a 16" Macbook Pro. 14 was too small for me.

- My girl & my siblings all use the Air. Have always been amazed at the absolute lack of heating, zero fan noise & portability.

Hence, picked the Air as I needed a computer only for portable use. Do note the Pro will be faster as it has active cooling (Macbook Air throttles under heavy work load).

Originally Posted by nikhilck View Post
Windows as a desktop is good I guess, but not as a laptop.
Haha! That is so well said. Hope things change now with the new chips for Windows laptops.
GTO is offline   (4) Thanks

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com