Old 24th August 2011, 20:51   #106

Re: Hatchback options with Automatic Transmission

I had emailed Hyundai earlier in the day, asking them to arrange a TD of the i20 AT - they called me in the afternoon and promised to fix it up soon with one of their dealers. (Incidentally saw an i20 AT for the first time in town today)
Meantime I've been looking up reviews on i20 and was shocked to read quite a few 'steering rattle' complaints from owners esp of pre 2011 cars.
Does it still persist or has it (as mentioned somewhere) been sorted out by Hyundai? I don't want to be caught on the wrong foot after spending over 8 lacs for the AT.
Old 24th August 2011, 22:40   #107

Originally Posted by wilful View Post
I don't want to be caught on the wrong foot after spending over 8 lacs for the AT.
Isn't it close to 9 lacs? It costs 9.5 lacs in Bangalore!
Old 25th August 2011, 05:24   #108

Originally Posted by Guna View Post
Isn't it close to 9 lacs? It costs 9.5 lacs in Bangalore!
Well - to be precise it costs 8.3 lacs here. I think the taxes are much higher in Bangalore.
Old 25th August 2011, 10:27   #109

Some users have reported issues with the steering rattle, but I haven't experienced it myself. My own i20 has done less than a 1000 KMS and so hasn't really had its cherry popped, but a friend of mine has done some 3500 KMS or so and she gives me a blank look and wonders what I'm talking about when I ask her about this. The few times I have traveled with her I haven't noticed it at all.

Interestingly, hers is a Jan 2011 model. Perhaps it has been sorted out for the most part by Hyundai. Fingers crossed.

And yes, it's close to 9 Lakhs OTR here in Mumbai.
iliketurtles is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 20th November 2012, 08:28   #110

I have a Santro XO Manual transmission. Is it possible to get it converted to Auto transmission?
Need a small Auto car for my dad. And since we already have a Santro(2007 model) and just 20,000 kms clocked, its almost as good as new.

IF the conversion is possible, what kind of expense would it be and would it be long lasting? or throw up issues every now and then?
Old 20th November 2012, 09:00   #111

All that I will say about the i20AT is that apparently Hyundai do not have an Extended Service Plan option for it.
Old 20th November 2012, 09:37   #112

Originally Posted by katpasin View Post
I have a Santro XO Manual transmission. Is it possible to get it converted to Auto transmission?
Need a small Auto car for my dad. And since we already have a Santro(2007 model) and just 20,000 kms clocked, its almost as good as new.

IF the conversion is possible, what kind of expense would it be and would it be long lasting? or throw up issues every now and then?
Would you trust a service center with such a complicated job (Even if they agree to do it?).

IMO - please think of an upgrade. (New or used). Brio AT is a good choice. Commonly available AT options in the used car market are i10 and Honda City.
CrAzY dRiVeR is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 20th November 2012, 09:46   #113

A conversion of MT to AT is possible but only in theory. Engine mounts, drive shafts, shifter, ECU programming, etc all have to be changed. I once came across an old Escort (UK) which had a MT fitted in place of the AT, and I will summarise by just stating it looked like a disaster.
sgiitk is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 20th November 2012, 13:56   #114

e
Would you trust a service center with such a complicated job (Even if they agree to do it?).

IMO - please think of an upgrade. (New or used). Brio AT is a good choice. Commonly available AT options in the used car market are i10 and Honda City.
Originally Posted by sgiitk View Post
A conversion of MT to AT is possible but only in theory. Engine mounts, drive shafts, shifter, ECU programming, etc all have to be changed. I once came across an old Escort (UK) which had a MT fitted in place of the AT, and I will summarise by just stating it looked like a disaster.
So i guess my option is ruled out. That leaves me with looking for a used i10 AT. Usage would only be 2-3k kms a year hence would not want to spend too much.

Now is it worth getting a used i10 AT? Are they just like MT or do they need additional maintenance
Old 20th November 2012, 14:00   #115

Now is it worth getting a used i10 AT? Are they just like MT or do they need additional maintenance
In my experience an AT needs less maintenance that a MT (no clutch to wear out!). However, you will need more frequent brake pad changes.
Old 20th November 2012, 14:21   #116

Originally Posted by sgiitk View Post
In my experience an AT needs less maintenance that a MT (no clutch to wear out!). However, you will need more frequent brake pad changes.
Hmm... That sounds easy... Any specific consideration while hunting for a used AT?
Ofcourse.. It would be a long hunt as there would be very less used i10 AT in the market.
Old 6th January 2013, 12:19   #117

Go with Maruti A Star AT. I have driven the vehicle over a variety of roads over last 10000 kms and behaves very very well. Engine is frugal too. You may refer to my ownership thread. Rear seat and luggage space would be limited, although we did not feel it for shorter long drives with 5 on board. And on longer drives, with 2 on board, you can push the front seats all the way back, and we did not feel tired over a 2700 kms road trip in November.
Old 6th January 2013, 16:55   #118

I have been delighted with my Brio V AT, and I will heartily recommend it. Mileage in town is approaching 12 kpl. Shifts are very smooth. In UP the V AT is about 6.70l on the road.
Old 6th January 2013, 17:00   #119

Forget it. Waste of time, energy and effort. Just dump the old car and buy a new or used AT. All this conversion stuff is not generally recommended on these new technology vehicles. Too much of a pain and too many things can go wrong.
Old 7th January 2013, 15:06   #120

I know you have received a range of replies and suggestions. However, I have a more fundamental question. Why are you considering converting your MT Santro to AT? Is this a budget constraint or due to your love for the car? Either ways you may just want to pick up a used Sanro AT from the market. You should find a 2006 / 2007 model for a decent price. I believe they stopped making the Santro AT sometime 2007/2008 (when the i10 AT came in).