Old 4th October 2012, 03:30   #256

Re: Mahindra Quanto Launched @ Rs. 5.82 - 7.36 Lakhs

Originally Posted by antz.bin View Post
I will keep updating here as and when I get more insider news.

Wow all this sounds too good to be true, may I ask if your source is at the showroom or company level?
The 2.2 could be considered for import markets only as the price hike may be too steep in India, since it won't qualify for the reduced taxes after a change of heart.
Old 4th October 2012, 10:05   #257

My friend who is not an auto buff, is on the look out to upgrade from a Palio and he had taken a TD of Quanto 2 days back. Here are his observations:

1. The vehicle is good to drive in the city - good linear acceleration
2. Good all around visibility
3. The gears were "good"
4. Liked that the vehicle has a hand rest
5. He will be using it mainly in the city and liked the fact that in a pinch, he can cram 7 people in the car.
6. He told me that body roll was present but it was not "uncomfortable"
7. He was all praise for NVH and engine refinement.

The on road price for the fully loaded version (c8) is 8,79,000 that he liked a lot. He is sold on the vehicle and is booking it.
chennai-indian is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 4th October 2012, 20:36   #258

I booked Quanto C6 silver color for my brother. we will taking delivery on 7th nov.
after a short test drive.
2. Great driving position
3. On highway we are not using third row jump seats, so boot space also very good.
4. Amazingly silent 3 cyl. engine.
5. Good GC. 180mm ( lowest part is rear deferential ). in cars lowest is front bumper.
6. Angle of approach also very good for off road and bad roads.
7. Rear wheel drive for better control at hill roads
8. M&M backup and cheaper parts also help to maintain vehicle
9. Price: 8.07 Lac on road Jaipur for C6. compare to any ABS equipped car in this range, price is good
Dislikes
1. 100bhp power feel less because heavy weight
2. Tall stance looks bad
3. middle row seat not adjustable
4. body roll
5. color options are very bad
Overall if u want a all purpose vehicle
and Mahindra Quanto - Rigorous Testing and Validation link
umeshgogna is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 5th October 2012, 11:06   #259

So its try-it-for-yourself season now that the the vehicle is in the showroom. I've been snooping around for a new car for a while, and I am moving up from the Maruti 800 (1996), which has done our city needs (some of our inter-city needs as well) beautifully. I primarily had my heart set on the Punto 1.3 (90HP). But then, news of this Compact SUV filled the forums, and I thought great, maybe I'm one of those crossover hatchback to SUV people as well.

I went to the Mahindra Showroom at Chowpatty on Marine Drive. Saw the C8. Its HUGE. Is it really comprable in anyway to a hatchback in the i-20,punto, swift segment? at all? The reason we're looking is because we do like spending time in more remote parts of the country, and an SUV that promised to be city friendly as well seemed right.

My wife comes from the countryside, and she's been driving Bolero's and Jeeps all her life. I'll tell you one thing, I've sat behind the wheel of a Jeep, Bolero, XUV500, and now the Quanto. They really do all feel the same in handling.

I'm going back to the Punto showroom. That car set my heart on fire.

J
Old 5th October 2012, 11:22   #260

Meanwhile, M&M is also preparing more variations of the Quanto, including a semi-automatic version and a four-wheel drive version with the more powerful mHawk engine, for both local and export markets.

http://bsmotoring.com/storypage.php?autono=5811

What is a semi-automatic version?

Pradeep
Old 5th October 2012, 12:56   #261

Not sure if its just to me, but Quanto looks really ugly and disproportionate. Seems they wanted to go for a cross-over concept, but constrained by having to make it a "smaller Xylo". Perhaps back door opening upwards would have made it look better, not sure
Old 5th October 2012, 14:14   #262

Can someone please post the pictures of Quanto in Java Brown shade? I kind of liked this shade but don't trust the picture on the website.
Old 5th October 2012, 16:35   #263

Mod Note : Team-BHP's Mahindra Quanto Official Review has been uploaded at this link. Please continue the discussion over on the review thread.

OD test drive report of the Quanto:

http://www.overdrive.in/details/2174...ia-first-drive

They seem happy with the vehicle overall, but still mention that there is loads of body roll around he twisties. They even suggest that this is not the ideal vehicle for weekend jaunt to the nearest hill station.

Last edited by GTO : 8th October 2012 at 10:15. Reason: Linking to Review
CARDEEP is offline   (1) Thanks