Old 20th September 2012, 15:18   #1

Exterior:

The car is not as tall as the Xylo. The compact dimensions make it look noticeably smaller. The design mirrors the Xylo closely and there is nothing radically new about it.
Mahindra Quanto Launched @ Rs. 5.82 - 7.36 Lakhs-mahindra-quanto003.jpg

Mahindra should have provided a front end treatment similar to the face-lifted Xylo, as the angular bonnet design of the face-lifted front looks much better than this.
Mahindra Quanto Launched @ Rs. 5.82 - 7.36 Lakhs-mahindra-quanto005.jpg

Toreador Red colour. 180 mm of ground clearance.
Mahindra Quanto Launched @ Rs. 5.82 - 7.36 Lakhs-mahindra-quanto006.jpg

Headlamps are clear lens with a smoked out effect. Look closely to notice the 3-lines of the Mahindra logo flowing across it (bottom right to top left).
Mahindra Quanto Launched @ Rs. 5.82 - 7.36 Lakhs-mahindra-quanto007.jpg

Shiny black painted front grille. Base variants get an unpainted grille.
Mahindra Quanto Launched @ Rs. 5.82 - 7.36 Lakhs-mahindra-quanto009.jpg

ORVMs are wide enough to provide a good rearward view.
Mahindra Quanto Launched @ Rs. 5.82 - 7.36 Lakhs-mahindra-quanto010.jpg

Rear spare tyre cover is a little over-done in my opinion. The silver paint really stands out. Note that the top end gets an alloy spare wheel. Twin rear fog / reverse lamps next to the number plate mount. Only 2 parking sensors - might be asking for trouble.
Mahindra Quanto Launched @ Rs. 5.82 - 7.36 Lakhs-mahindra-quanto011.jpg

The tail lamp is very neatly placed. It does not seem like an after thought due to the way it flows with the Quanto's body. Unlike the Scorpio's tall red reflector strips above the tail lamps to fill space, this one seems better in size.
Mahindra Quanto Launched @ Rs. 5.82 - 7.36 Lakhs-mahindra-quanto012.jpg

Butterfly windows for the back-benchers.
Mahindra Quanto Launched @ Rs. 5.82 - 7.36 Lakhs-mahindra-quanto013.jpg

Alloy wheels are familiar territory. 15" Xylo alloys. Size does vary from the Xylo, what you see here is a 205/65/R15 tubeless tyre.
Mahindra Quanto Launched @ Rs. 5.82 - 7.36 Lakhs-mahindra-quanto015.jpg

Last edited by Rehaan : 21st September 2012 at 16:42. Reason: Adding ground clearance.
parrys is offline   (11) Thanks
Old 20th September 2012, 15:18   #2

Interior:

Greige theme on the inside. A change from the usual beige. Mahindra calls it the granite theme for the dashboard.
Mahindra Quanto Launched @ Rs. 5.82 - 7.36 Lakhs-mahindra-quanto016.jpg

Scorpio like steering wheel.
Mahindra Quanto Launched @ Rs. 5.82 - 7.36 Lakhs-mahindra-quanto017.jpg

Extremely basic speedometer console. Looks boring when competitors have an info screen standard in here.
Mahindra Quanto Launched @ Rs. 5.82 - 7.36 Lakhs-mahindra-quanto018.jpg

Controls to the RHS of the steering wheel.
Mahindra Quanto Launched @ Rs. 5.82 - 7.36 Lakhs-mahindra-quanto019.jpg

Center console. Plastic quality is not an issue. Touch and feel is decent. There is a MID on top of the AC vents (though not seen clearly in this picture). Gear lever movement is awkward - when I thought it was in 2nd gear, it was actually in 1st - the gear lever is positioned strangely.
Mahindra Quanto Launched @ Rs. 5.82 - 7.36 Lakhs-mahindra-quanto020.jpg

Front doors get a tweeter. Chrome inserts on the lock/unlock lever. Door pocket present, though not bottle friendly.
Mahindra Quanto Launched @ Rs. 5.82 - 7.36 Lakhs-mahindra-quanto021.jpg

Driver seat gets adjustable lumbar support and height adjustment too.
Mahindra Quanto Launched @ Rs. 5.82 - 7.36 Lakhs-mahindra-quanto022.jpg

Front cabin lamps with a holder for sunglasses.
Mahindra Quanto Launched @ Rs. 5.82 - 7.36 Lakhs-mahindra-quanto023.jpg

Illuminated glovebox is small, does not run deep.
Mahindra Quanto Launched @ Rs. 5.82 - 7.36 Lakhs-mahindra-quanto024.jpg

Rear speaker is placed on the door. Again, door pocket present but no bottle holder.
Mahindra Quanto Launched @ Rs. 5.82 - 7.36 Lakhs-mahindra-quanto025.jpg

Parcel tray / food tray for the rear passengers. Rear seat bench is flat, can accommodate 3 easily. No centre arm-rest.
Mahindra Quanto Launched @ Rs. 5.82 - 7.36 Lakhs-mahindra-quanto026.jpg

The much hyped 3rd row seats for the Quanto, one can sit inside comfortably - but only when the door is open . It gets extremely cramped with the rear door shut. Add to that, foot & knee room could be a commodity when both seats are occupied.
Mahindra Quanto Launched @ Rs. 5.82 - 7.36 Lakhs-mahindra-quanto027.jpg

Folding 3rd row seats to carry more luggage.
Mahindra Quanto Launched @ Rs. 5.82 - 7.36 Lakhs-mahindra-quanto028.jpg

You can see that the seat is significantly small, definitely good for kids or those who are lean. People on the heavier side will be punished in here.
Mahindra Quanto Launched @ Rs. 5.82 - 7.36 Lakhs-mahindra-quanto029.jpg

Storage net under the 3rd row seat, there is also a power outlet present here.
Mahindra Quanto Launched @ Rs. 5.82 - 7.36 Lakhs-mahindra-quanto030.jpg

Tools.
Mahindra Quanto Launched @ Rs. 5.82 - 7.36 Lakhs-mahindra-quanto031.jpg

Rear door can be unlocked / opened from the inside. No more trapped children!
Mahindra Quanto Launched @ Rs. 5.82 - 7.36 Lakhs-mahindra-quanto032.jpg

It opens very wide, so even though the car is compact - you have to make sure you either make the last row passengers get down before you park or park so that there is ample space for this movement.
Mahindra Quanto Launched @ Rs. 5.82 - 7.36 Lakhs-mahindra-quanto033.jpg

Last edited by Rehaan : 20th September 2012 at 18:42.
parrys is offline   (13) Thanks
Old 20th September 2012, 15:18   #3

Quanto variant comparison:
Mahindra Quanto Launched @ Rs. 5.82 - 7.36 Lakhs-20120920_172702.jpg

Last edited by Rehaan : 20th September 2012 at 18:41.
parrys is offline   (12) Thanks
Old 20th September 2012, 15:18   #4

Mahindra Quanto Launched @ Rs. 5.82 - 7.36 Lakhs

Mod Note : Team-BHP's Mahindra Quanto Official Review has been uploaded at this link. Please continue the discussion over on the review thread.

Mahindra has launched the much awaited car from their stable for 2012 - The Mahindra Quanto.
This is one of the first sub-4 meter compact SUVs in India.

Price: (Ex-Showroom Thane)
  • Quanto C2 : 5.82 Lacs
  • Quanto C4 : 6.35 Lacs
  • Quanto C6 : 6.86 Lacs
  • Quanto C8 : 7.36 Lacs

Mahindra Quanto Launched @ Rs. 5.82 - 7.36 Lakhs-mahindra-quanto001.jpg

Mahindra Quanto Launched @ Rs. 5.82 - 7.36 Lakhs-mahindra-quanto004.jpg

Mahindra Quanto Launched @ Rs. 5.82 - 7.36 Lakhs-mahindra-quanto034.jpg

Engine:
The Quanto is powered by a 1.5-liter 3-cylinder mCR 100 engine with a 2 stage turbocharger. This is the world's smallest production engine to get a 2 stage turbocharger. Micro Hybrid (auto start-stop) makes its way into the Quanto as well. The ARAI rating of 17.21 kpl is not as high as you'd expect of a sub-4 meter vehicle powered by a 1.5L 3 cylinder diesel (perhaps, due to the high kerb weight of 1,640 kilos). The engine produces 99 BHP of power (@ 3750 RPM) & 240 Nm of torque (@ 1600-2800 RPM). It is mated to a 5-speed gearbox. The Quanto is only available in a BSIV variant (Mahindra has cheaper BSIII variants for some of its other UVs).

High Points:
  • The Mahindra Quanto is based on the Genio platform.
  • This platform has seen an investment of around 850 crores; the last 100 crores being for the development of the Quanto.
  • It is also the 1st car in the market to offer a 5+2 seating option under 4-meters in length.
  • It's a body on frame type construction.
  • It will be available for sale starting today across all Mahindra Dealerships. The price was quoted as introductory, but not like the XUV500 where a price hike was confirmed. The price changes will depend on the input costs and other related factors in the near future.
  • The car shares a lot of common parts with the Xylo / Genio, thus helping the manufacturer to launch it at such a competitive price, undercutting a few of the best selling compact sedans.
  • The current run rate for the Xylo and Quanto combined is around 100-120 units per day, but it can be stretched up to 280 units a day.
  • The top end C8 variant at 7.36 lakhs gets ABS, dual airbags, immobiliser, reverse park assist, front fog lamps, rear wash & wipe and child lock on the rear door too.
  • Mahindra expects a shift over from the hatchback & sedan owners. There is also a possibility that the sales of the Verito might be cannibalized here.
  • Mahindra said that there is a possibility of this new 3-cylinder engine being used in their other cars in the future.
  • There is a possibility of a 4x4 Quanto, however it will use an mHawk 4 cylinder engine.
  • Exports are being considered (Europe and South Africa to name two). This shall happen only after 3-4 months once Mahindra caters to the Domestic needs.
  • In other news, the Rexton can be expected soon. Perhaps this year itself.

Last edited by GTO : 8th October 2012 at 10:16. Reason: Linking to Review
parrys is offline   (21) Thanks
Old 20th September 2012, 15:20   #5

re: Scoop! Mahindra Quanto : The Mini-Xylo. EDIT : Launched !!!

Few quick points from ACI test drive http://www.autocarindia.com/Review/3...est-drive.aspx

Few "expected" surprises (positives)...
1. Given the inherent imbalance of a three-cylinder engine, we were quite surprised by the engine’s refinement. Idle is fairly quiet, vibrations are well contained and some transmission judder apart, refinement is impressive.
2. The new engine uses a two-stage turbo and an intercooler to output fairly impressive power and torque figures of 98.6bhp and 24.5kgm.
3. The top-spec Quanto C8 we drove featured power windows, two airbags, a music player with MP3 and aux connectivity and a reverse-parking sensor.

Few things seems obvious but was expected should not be there...
1. The Quanto’s heavy kerb weight of 1640kg seriously weighs it down and it took a slow 17.41 seconds in the 0-100kph dash.
2. A car that will amble well through traffic but could find itself out of depth on the highway.
3. The top-heavy Quanto was slow to change direction and there was lots of body roll too.
4. Where the Xylo (I guess it should be quanto) fails to make an impression is in the areas of ride comfort (bumpy) and handling (sloppy)

Though still waiting for TBHP review, the points I was waiting for were almost answered - ride and handling - in a negative way.
naren_L is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 20th September 2012, 15:23   #6

After seeing the above videos, I can make out that following feautres are there on Quanto.

# Height adjustable seat belts
# Driver and Co-passenger armrest
# 3 point lumbar support
# 7 seats
# Adjustable ORVM
# Parking sensor with display and Sound
# Puddle lamps
# Side and Back foot step
# Needle do a swap, Once you switch on the ignition
# 3 power sockets in the car, Front, Middle and At last
# Bottle holders in all the row
# Vanity mirror in passenger side with Illumination
# No armrest in the back seat, Sadly. From the video, It looked like middle bench lacks thigh support too.
# 2 din music system, With USB and Memory card support.
# Food trays at the back, But i guess it will be available in the top end C8 variant only.

I guess this is all i can remember. But still, The pricing is killer, Though top end looks a bit pricey to me.

Sameer
sameerg001 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 20th September 2012, 15:23   #7

Originally Posted by mohandas View Post
Till morning, I was quite happy that my Ertiga was truly a VFM. I have really spent my money well. But, now - I am feeling like that I had overspent ~2 lacs on Ertiga VDi. Duuh...
I agree the Quanto pricing is good, but once the Quanto test drive reports are out, or you do it by yourself, you may, most probably, not regret. Because there is huge difference between car-based UVs and Jeep-based UVs in terms of ride quality. And the people sitting in the last row will tell you the other differences.

Last edited by romeomidhun : 20th September 2012 at 15:24.
romeomidhun is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 20th September 2012, 15:28   #8

Originally Posted by haria View Post
taken from the mahindra site - ..
These are bangalore ex-showroom price.
add approx 1.4 L for OTR

C2 608,910 --> 1.4L --> 748,910
C4 663,715 --> 1.4L --> 803,715
C6 716,600 --> 1.4L --> 856,600
C8 769,270 --> 1.4L --> 909,270

not so cheap, as I thought

and eh, any idea on the dimensions Length/width/height ? couldn't get this info from the site.
Where did you find this ? these must be onroad prices

I checked their official website and what i see is the c8 is only 769000 in bangalore, so what you showed looks like on road price

Last edited by rajshenoy : 20th September 2012 at 15:29.
Old 20th September 2012, 15:29   #9

Originally Posted by mohandas View Post
Till morning, I was quite happy that my Ertiga was truly a VFM. I have really spent my money well. But, now - I am feeling like that I had overspent ~2 lacs on Ertiga VDi. Duuh...
Don't worry, The 3rd rows of seat in Quanto in noway comparable to Ertiga. Seriously the 3rd row is for name sake. Also you have the MJD under the hood in Ertiga compared to mC100 in Quanto. Knowing Mahindra you should have patience to solve the niggling issues with their car. So be happy that your 2 lks is well spent.
prakasse is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 20th September 2012, 15:31   #10

Originally Posted by rajshenoy View Post

I checked their official website and what i see is the c8 is only 769000 in bangalore, so what you showed looks like on road price
Indeed they are the on road price, See he mentioned 'add 1.4L for OTR price'

Sameer
Old 20th September 2012, 15:32   #11

Originally Posted by rajshenoy View Post
Yes, Rajesh - Your ex-showroom info is same as that of mine. As you can see, I've also added approx. 1.4 L to get the approx OTR price - the last column
haria is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 20th September 2012, 15:33   #12

Quanto's first drive report are up on ACI & BSM. Refer below links:

ACI - http://www.autocarindia.com/Review/3...est-drive.aspx

BSM - http://www.bsmotoring.com/storypage.php?autono=5753

Unfortunately, the ride is bouncy & there is considerable body roll .

Old habits die hard... huh. But, I do not think the ride & handling will ever be a factor for its buyers (except few initial customers).

Last edited by CARDEEP : 20th September 2012 at 15:44.
Old 20th September 2012, 15:33   #13

Looks like the site is up, here is the link for the ebrochure-

http://mahindraquanto.com/images/quanto-brochure.pdf
Old 20th September 2012, 15:33   #14

Good pricing by Mahindra, it surely has another winner on it's hand.
Hopefully Mahindra can deliver the Quanto without a long waiting time. This could pull in some sales from other hatchbacks and could even cannibalize Xylo and Duster buyers.

Booked a test drive on the website, awaiting to see how it handles on the road.
speedmiester is online now   (1) Thanks
Old 20th September 2012, 15:37   #15

Price of 5.82 with unpainted bumpers, manual windows and no octroi included is too high

the variant one can buy is @ 6.34 L + 22 K Octroi = 6.66 L = 7.5 L onroad Thane

I would better buy Scorpio
Santy is offline   (1) Thanks