Old 24th July 2014, 17:12   #901

Re: Beware 'Out of State' cars: RTO (Bangalore) taxation amendment from 28th Feb, 201

Originally Posted by narsi_6989 View Post
I work for HCL Chennai and getting a letter with address as per company records is a very simple process. We can directly download and it is digitally signed. The question is whether RTO guys will be ready to accept?...
Originally Posted by scopriobharath View Post
...To convince the law to the police / RTO is another thing.

Address proof by company is very much valid...
I have seen police constables flatly refusing to accept digitally signed documents. Seeing what RTO guys are upto, their IQ levels seem to match that of (some of the) Bangy police too.

Originally Posted by benbsb29 View Post
...To wreck havoc in what is already a delicate relationship between KA-TN, all that TN needs to do is setup similar traps just outside the KA border as cars enter Hosur...
When I completely understand your reasoning, would this be enough to deter the morons? I doubt. Simple reason being, the who ones get will get caught in TN will again be the TN & KL IT folks.

Originally Posted by coolclouds View Post
...IMO, any genuine cases, talk to RTO confidently and explain things. If they are still insisting on tax, ask them to give it in writing.
There were posts saying that they (RTO) counter argue saying "You prove that you came here just a short while"! And they use their power for their advantage. So we are back to square one.

Originally Posted by bejoy View Post
Yes. You should change the registration within a year. But no one cares if you have paid the tax.

Only if you change the registration to KA...
Ahh! So I now understand why the KA RTO folks are extremely cool with people NOT changing to KA number and retaining their original registration number. I hope any PILs registered also questions this funda and imply that KA RTO has to mandatorily pay the refund even if number is NOT changed.

Also any PIL raised should have a provision to make a rule that whatever grace period is given for other state vehicles to ply in KA, the same grace period should be forced for the refund process too! Which means, if 1 month is the time period for which other state vehicles can ply in Bangalore (before they pay the tax, the RTO also needs to process the refund claims in 1 month period too. Fair Enough KA RTO??!!

Last edited by swiftnfurious : 24th July 2014 at 17:23. Reason: Corrected mistakes.
swiftnfurious is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 24th July 2014, 17:14   #902

Re: Beware 'Out of State' cars: RTO (Bangalore) taxation amendment from 28th Feb, 201

Originally Posted by SILVERWOOD
Few of us have chosen to stand up against these money making laws, you will soon get to know this.
I wish you all the luck. How ever collection of road taxes is still a state subject. And every state gets major revenue shares through road taxes etc. Request you to provide timely updates on the action plans as it would be beneficial to many of the people here.

Are we living in Union of states or different countries.There should be a federal structure governing us.
I hope this is not the argument you plan to put up. At present our constituition and various laws think of a decentralised way of governance. So the states even though are part of Indian Union have very many rights & privileges (and duties) regarding how they govern themselves. Hence you will see many state specific laws and rules in place.

When Post/Railway/Income Tax/Customs & Central Excise/Airport Authority/National Highways and many more organisations are under central govt, why not Transport.?
The state government would have a response - when state roads, state law & order, state water ways and state level taxation laws are there why should state don't have the rights to collect road tax? National Highways can come under Central Govt., but there are state highways and other state roads which are purely under state jurisdictions.
sachinpk is online now   (1) Thanks
Old 24th July 2014, 17:18   #903

Originally Posted by bejoy View Post
Yes. You should change the registration within a year. But no one cares if you have paid the tax.

Only if you change the registration to KA.

If you pay up you could get the refund from TN. You need to work out on the actual difference then. One advantage is that you can sell the car in KA which may fetch a better price. Selling the car and buying in Bangalore is again going to be money loosing affair.
I beg to differ. KA RTO is happy if one pays the tax voluntarily as in my case. It's more than a year since i paid the tax for my TN registered santro and running the car with the same number plate.
Old 24th July 2014, 17:25   #904

I read through at least 30 pages - 20 in the beginning and 10 in the end.

Has anyone filed a PIL? Can you give me some details on that?
Old 24th July 2014, 17:36   #905

Originally Posted by SILVERWOOD View Post

There are people who do.T-Bhp currently does not have the option of tagging them.

When Post/Railway/Income Tax/Customs & Central Excise/Airport Authority/National Highways and many more organisations are under central govt, why not Transport.?

Waseem.
Waseem Bhai, I support the RTO drive, but not the way it has been done, and not to target those who are in for a shorter period(for me shorter period means less than 6 months), and I am dead against seizing vehicles, but those who have come here and settled down for last so many years but still don't want to pay the tax difference RTO should be targetting those.

And as Post/Railway/Income Tax etc are under Central Govt, similarly many things are subject to state such as taxing transport fuels though OMCs are under Union Govt, like Law & Order though all IPSs are selected through UPSC.

Similarly under CMVR law has given states to manage Transport. Though NHAI is under Union Govt, they can't capture land and make highways till the time State Govt issues the notice for land acquisition. But these are all leading to a different subject, reality is other states are not bothered to charge tax on KA cars as we are the highest road tax payers in the country. If someone wants to take a refund, in case of KA reg car getting taxed in other state, his bank balance is going to increase.

But I also feel the law should be uniform not only for road tax, for everything, one country should have only one ex-showroom price, diesel & petrol price must be same accross the country, VAT & service tax should also be same. Mumbai should not have octroi at all.. But mere thinking will not help, at least for the current issue if you are going the leagl way, let me know, I will be with you in full support,

.. Avijit
asdon is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 24th July 2014, 17:42   #906

Originally Posted by sachinpk View Post
I wish you all the luck. How ever collection of road taxes is still a state subject. And every state gets major revenue shares through road taxes etc. Request you to provide timely updates on the action plans as it would be beneficial to many of the people here.
Thanks for your wishes, we need them in tonnes.

We are aware that Vehicle taxation is a state subject as per our Constitution.

As article 19 of our constitution says "The freedom of movement is guaranteed by the constitution and citizens can move from one state to another and anywhere within a state. A person is free to move from any point to any point within the country's territories."

We want this freedom extended to our rides as well.

Waseem.

Last edited by SILVERWOOD : 24th July 2014 at 17:44.
SILVERWOOD is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 24th July 2014, 17:51   #907

Originally Posted by svsantosh View Post
Just came back from ECity RTO ( Ironically its in bannerghata road, Vijaya bank colony ).
Purpose - To pay tax of TN22 ( Chennai ) WagonR VXI June-2012 model ( Ex Shwrm 4.03 Lacs back then )
Need to PAY USING A NATIONALIZED BANK DD ONLY (No cash, cheque, Private bank DD)
Hi Santosh,
Thanks for this information, did not know about the Nationalized-Bank DD complication.
I had had the KA Road-Tax computed at the Electronics-City RTO for my Altos last week.
I did not have the original invoice of my 2001 Alto, so the tax computation form was refused - initially.
I had to pay an "agent" Rs. 2,500 & he managed to have the tax computation form issued "somehow".
Incidentally, for my 2001 Alto, the tax computed was ~ Rs. 15,300 ( I'd paid Rs. 10,000 as road-tax in TN way back in 2001 ).
For my 2010 K10, fortunately, I'd held onto the invoice, so did not have to grease any palms for the tax computation form.
Road tax for the 4-year old K10 was computed at Rs. 36,700.

I'd booked the DDs online with my bank & was sitting pretty - until I saw your post !
Jeez, just when I thought I was seeing some light at the end of the tunnel

I do not have any accounts with Nationalized banks, can some kind soul mention the process to get a DD from one ?
Old 24th July 2014, 18:08   #908

Originally Posted by im_srini View Post
I do not have any accounts with Nationalized banks, can some kind soul mention the process to get a DD from one ?
You can just walk in to any bank with sufficient cash and walk out with a DD. You don't need to hold an account. If it is more than 50K they might frown and ask for source of money and PAN details.
binand is online now   (2) Thanks
Old 24th July 2014, 18:18   #909

Originally Posted by binand View Post
You can just walk in to any bank with sufficient cash and walk out with a DD. You don't need to hold an account. If it is more than 50K they might frown and ask for source of money and PAN details.
I am afraid you cant.

You need to have an account to make a DD. Nationalized banks are more strict when it comes to issuing a DD.

BTW:Why don't you call up and check the nearest nationalized bank on this.

Waseem.
Old 24th July 2014, 18:19   #910

Are we living in Union of states or different countries.There should be a federal structure governing us.
We give too much importance to science and maths in our primary education and totally ignore civics, law and economics. Not too late to read, though.
blacksport is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 24th July 2014, 18:21   #911

I am afraid you cant.

You need to have an account to make a DD. Nationalized banks are more strict when it comes to issuing a DD.

BTW:Why don't you call up and check the nearest nationalized bank on this.

Waseem.
No, you can go to any SBI branch and make DD, no account required. But in case of private banks A/c holding is must.

Nationalized banks are more strict when its time to give money, not when the other way.

Day before yesterday my friend made a 37k dd from SBI Ecity without holding an account.
asdon is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 24th July 2014, 18:50   #912

I am afraid you cant.

I am talking from experience. On 30/6 - less than a month back - I walked into Bank of Maharashtra in Domlur and did precisely this. As a matter of fact, I withdrew the cash for the DD from the BoM ATM just outside.

What does the bank care as long as they get the DD commission? What purpose do you think is served by insisting that the person requesting a DD should hold an account?

Edit: The cash-for-DD scheme is available only if the DD amount is < 50K. So maybe both of us are right.

Last edited by binand : 24th July 2014 at 18:58.
binand is online now   (1) Thanks
Old 24th July 2014, 19:11   #913

Originally Posted by asdon View Post
I think now RTOs in Bangalore has gone beyond their limits, if people from Yellahanka or Yashwanthpur can come to E-city, Hosur is still near by, and obviously it does not make sense to pay road tax in Karnataka if someone is a resident of Tamilnadu..

If the employee of HCL is a regular to office, he will have Attibele toll receipts to justify the case.

I think now its time for us Bangaloreans to do something legally to stop this injustice. Else we are going to be in same situation when we go out.

What say guys?
As damage is done , then in this case moving to a court to seek release of vehicle seems to be a better option.

Suppose of the person has genuine address proof then should not be too difficult.
May be Lawyers on the forum can comment.
Old 24th July 2014, 19:45   #914

Originally Posted by amitk26 View Post
As damage is done , then in this case moving to a court to seek release of vehicle seems to be a better option.
Yes, I am surprised that I have not yet seen any details of the court being moved in this regard. Surely there are lawyers in the forum who can advise.

For us mango people, surely the courts are the last resort. We don't have the muscle to fight it out any other way.
Old 24th July 2014, 19:47   #915

Originally Posted by suresh_gs View Post
I beg to differ. KA RTO is happy if one pays the tax voluntarily as in my case. It's more than a year since i paid the tax for my TN registered santro and running the car with the same number plate.

I agree with you. In my case, i voluntarily approached the Yelahanka RTO (about 8 months back) and paid the Karnataka road tax for my MH registered Skoda. I was told by the RTO officer that i would be getting the Karnataka Certificate of Registration (smart card) by speed post and then i could ply my vehicle on MH number plates.

Sure enough, i received the Karnataka Registration smart card with the old MH number. The only irritant is that since the car still runs on MH plates - it becomes a magnet for the RTO /cops and they flag it down whenever there is a check. I show them the Karnataka Registration Certificate and then they let me go.

In my view after having paid a huge amount as Karnataka road tax and having obtained the registration certificate, it is not an "offence" to be plying on outside state number plates.

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com