Corolla Altis Diesel

1 D4-D J Manual 13,07,324
2 D4-D JS Manual 13,64,324
3 D4-D G Manual 15,04,324
4 D4-D GL Manual 16,68,324
sarthakgupta is offline   (8) Thanks
Old 27th May 2014, 12:38   #2

Re: Launch of new Corolla & Innova by Mid-2015?

I think they have priced it correctly. I was expecting 20+ lakh pricing knowing Toyota, but they seem to amuse me.For the equipment it offers its still less but still not that bad.
Old 27th May 2014, 12:41   #3

The prices are basically same as outgoing models. Variant wise features have been added.
Diesel motor is still a downer.
Old 27th May 2014, 12:53   #4

There is a 3.3L price difference between base diesel and Top end.
And a 5L difference between base petrol and top end Petrol Auto
Whats extra,that is worth that kind of money?
akshay4587 is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 27th May 2014, 13:06   #5

Prices are really high given the kit levels in the car.

- The top end Petrol Automatic Altis is 16.9L ex-showroom Delhi. That is a whooping 2 lakhs more than the top end Elantra Petrol Automatic. The Elantra has 6 airbags, ESP, ventilated seats and dual zone climate extra for 2 lakhs lesser. Heck, for 90K lesser you can get the Elantra top end diesel Automatic!!

- For a mere 50K more you could get the Skoda Octavia diesel DSG Ambition variant with similar features as the Altis.

- The diesel manual top end Altis is 16.68Lakhs. This is 15 grand more than the Skoda Octavia 2.0 manual Diesel Ambition trim. A 2.0L 140BHp engine vs a 1.4L 88bhp one.

- You can get the top end diesel Elantra for 1.7lakhs lesser than the Altis diesel and you can get the Elantra diesel Automatic for 60K lesser than the Altis.

Sorry to say but the pricing is extremely confusing and way off for what the car is offering.

Last edited by Vid6639 : 27th May 2014 at 13:08.
Vid6639 is offline   (54) Thanks
Old 27th May 2014, 13:30   #6

Re: 2014 Toyota Corolla Altis (11th Gen) launched @ 11.99 lakhs

I think that they have more or less followed the pricing of the existing model. That the existing model is highly priced is a different story. The Corolla Altis is only for those who have Corolla Altis in their mind and will not look at any other manufacturer. For everybody else there are other options.
Old 27th May 2014, 13:50   #7

I like the way this car looks inside out. But , that pricing is a downer. Close to 18 lacs on road for a corolla makes no sense specially considering you have competent competition in the market.
Old 27th May 2014, 14:38   #8

- The top end Petrol Automatic Altis is 16.9L ex-showroom Delhi. That is a whooping 2 lakhs more than the top end Elantra Petrol Automatic. The Elantra has 6 airbags, ESP, ventilated seats and dual zone climate extra for 2 lakhs lesser. Heck, for 90K lesser you can get the Elantra top end diesel Automatic!!

- For a mere 50K more you could get the Skoda Octavia diesel DSG Ambition variant with similar features as the Altis.

- The diesel manual top end Altis is 16.68Lakhs. This is 15 grand more than the Skoda Octavia 2.0 manual Diesel Ambition trim. A 2.0L 140BHp engine vs a 1.4L 88bhp one.

- You can get the top end diesel Elantra for 1.7lakhs lesser than the Altis diesel and you can get the Elantra diesel Automatic for 60K lesser than the Altis.

Sorry to say but the pricing is extremely confusing and way off for what the car is offering.
Not to forget the cruze. For 1.5L less than top-end corolla you will get double the power and sunroof.

I agree that the toyotas are easy on the pocket (service/spare/repair wise), but you are already paying more than the competition.
SumitBahl is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 27th May 2014, 14:42   #9

Hi guys,

I really need some help now. I plan to buy a car in this segment and am still confused. Jetta and Octavia are good cars but quite expensive. Civic has been out for quite some time now. That leaves the Altis & Elantra to choose from . I am not too interested in a Cruze or Fluence, haven't driven them either.

I would test drive the new Altis in a day or two but am leaning a little towards the Elantra. I like the overall design of the new Altis but it seems to lack in features. I love the ventilated seats in the Elantra which in my opinion is an extremely practical and useful feature (they are supposed to make the rear seats ventilated as well in the elusive facelift).

Any thoughts?
rahul.blr is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 27th May 2014, 14:52   #10

I agree. Comparing it with Honda City V variant - you will have to go with minimum of GL variant. Price difference of around 5 lacs. Basically car for people looking at the next segment as well as ONLY Toyota badge.
Simhi is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 27th May 2014, 16:28   #11

Originally Posted by rahul.blr View Post
Hi guys,

I really need some help now. I plan to buy a car in this segment and am still confused. Jetta and Octavia are good cars but quite expensive. Civic has been out for quite some time now. That leaves the Altis & Elantra to choose from . I am not too interested in a Cruze or Fluence, haven't driven them either.

I would test drive the new Altis in a day or two but am leaning a little towards the Elantra. I like the overall design of the new Altis but it seems to lack in features. I love the ventilated seats in the Elantra which in my opinion is an extremely practical and useful feature (they are supposed to make the rear seats ventilated as well in the elusive facelift).

Any thoughts?
Keep an open mind, especially about styling. IMO the Elantra is gawky, badly overdone, inside and out, and has the much poorer rear bench.

I've seen this new Corolla. Each buyer will have to evaluate price signals for themselves, but the car is for me THE mature-yet-young styling/'character'/'presence' champ of the segment, inside and out. Engines and gearboxes are a different story, though, i guess.

I guess Toyota feel a Hyundai-is-a-mere-Hyundai, while a Corolla-is-a-Corolla i.e., global benchmark, bestseller etc. Can't say i disagree.
Old 27th May 2014, 16:38   #12

2 Airbags & ABS being offered as standard across all variants is a welcome move by toyota.
Old 27th May 2014, 16:40   #13

Whats the feature list? Why such a big range of price variation?

Did I miss something?
Old 27th May 2014, 16:43   #14

I think Toyota has lost it with pricing! or they are playing along with other manufacturers and slowly increasing the pricings of the models. $ and rising input costs can always be blamed right?

Very honestly, Altis at 15+ lakh is overpriced as hell. This kind of sedans should be priced at 12 to 15 Lakh On the road. Add to this, it carries bare minimum feature list! I remember reading the article where Toyota admitted that it couldn't penetrate the hatch market due to pricing constraints. If this is the pricing plan, they are looking at slow death in the sedan market also.

The second hand market is much more realistically priced for these cars. 1-2 year old cars generally shed the price flab by 40%
Jaggu is offline   (11) Thanks
Old 27th May 2014, 17:40   #15

Incidentally, you can also buy a similarly powered diesel engine at 1/3rd the cost.
  • Toyota Corolla Altis: 88.4 PS @ 3800 rpm and 205 Nm of torque @ 1800-2800 rpm.
  • Tata Bolt: 89 ps @ 4000 rpm and 200 Nm of torque @ 1750 rpm.
This comparison is not all encompassing but with the added weight of a bigger sedan, I am curious how drivable corolla will be.
shobhit.shri is offline   (8) Thanks