Old 16th April 2017, 08:00   #61

Originally Posted by crazy_rahul View Post
Are they just stickers or plastic?

The dealers here are discouraging me big time asking me to just get it done from any local guy. How frustrating it is that I'm calling them up all the time for something so small!

Same about the Surround View camera. I finally complained to their feedback people that called me. They took it one step further saying we checked with your chassis number and the system replied that it can't be installed but we are checking manually about it too. But after that again nothing.

The mats are all they like to sell. And the 'Essential Package'

They are moulded plastic covers with lock. I don't think it is possible to fit surround camera from BMW. Your best bet is retrofit from European providers.
Old 16th April 2017, 10:32   #62

Re: Third generation BMW X5 launched in India at Rs. 70.9 lakh

Originally Posted by rishi_kapoor View Post
They are moulded plastic covers with lock. I don't think it is possible to fit surround camera from BMW. Your best bet is retrofit from European providers.
How does that work?
Does it mean I'll have to get it fitted from outside? Will that affect my warranty?
Old 5th May 2017, 13:28   #63

Originally Posted by crazy_rahul View Post
79,19,777 including VAT

Carbon Black delivery tomorrow!
Sorry but what does 'TLC' mean? And what does 'kid gloves' mean?

And any advice on maintenance? Like if any particular car cleaning cloth or shampoo etc etc?
TLC: tender loving care

Kid gloves: use it very carefully and delicately.

And I think you could get a 3M Paint Sealant treatment done for about 6k.

Sorry for the late reply. I'm in the US and I haven't been on the forum.

Last edited by venom_op : 5th May 2017 at 13:31. Reason: Adding info.
Old 6th May 2017, 20:23   #64

Originally Posted by venom_op View Post
TLC: tender loving care

Kid gloves: use it very carefully and delicately.

And I think you could get a 3M Paint Sealant treatment done for about 6k.

Sorry for the late reply. I'm in the US and I haven't been on the forum.
As per advice by Akshay1234, got the paint sealant treatment done by Kamyo. Brilliant group of guys who came over. Thoroughly professional, focussed and exceptional attention to detail.
Old 14th May 2018, 02:31   #65

Planning on picking up a BMW X5 DPE by the end of this month. From what I've read, it comes with the latest iDrive (6.0). Does it come with Apple CarPlay (wireless or wired)? Could not find any information about that in the brochure/spec sheet.
Old 14th May 2018, 11:39   #66

Originally Posted by jezza View Post
Planning on picking up a BMW X5 DPE by the end of this month. From what I've read, it comes with the latest iDrive (6.0). Does it come with Apple CarPlay (wireless or wired)? Could not find any information about that in the brochure/spec sheet.
I TD the latest X3 a few days back and it comes with a wireless pad to keep your iphone 8 or X.

If the X5 does not have this then you are looking at a older version.

There are many models and many versions out there. Every import comes with some or the other upgrade or change.

To me the wireless charging pad feature will be a benchmark to confirm you are indeed getting the latest model. This applies for almost all BMW cras at the moment specially the X3 & X5.
Old 14th May 2018, 11:55   #67

Originally Posted by vkochar View Post
I TD the latest X3 a few days back and it comes with a wireless pad to keep your iphone 8 or X.

If the X5 does not have this then you are looking at a older version.

There are many models and many versions out there. Every import comes with some or the other upgrade or change.

To me the wireless charging pad feature will be a benchmark to confirm you are indeed getting the latest model. This applies for almost all BMW cras at the moment specially the X3 & X5.
I don't think wireless charging is offered on the F15 X5 (in India). Apart from that, it seems to be the latest version before the F15 goes out of production next month. Also, internationally, wireless charging and CarPlay are separate options not bundled together in any package.

For the X3, the wireless charging has to be included to charge the Display Key that comes with the car.

OT: I was actually considering the G01 X3 but since they don't offer a 30d version yet, I'm more inclined towards the X5 now. The drivetrain isn't that different from my current X3.
Old 14th May 2018, 12:05   #68

Originally Posted by jezza View Post
If this is a touch screen then it is possible to activate Apple Car play. Please search my thread on this subject.
Old 14th May 2018, 16:13   #69

Haggle hard.I was getting 20.5L off on a 2017 Msport X5.
Sandeepm777 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 15th May 2018, 17:22   #70

Originally Posted by Sandeepm777 View Post
Haggle hard.I was getting 20.5L off on a 2017 Msport X5.
On a new one or dealer demo? This looks like a good deal. Seems BMW is clearing stock and G05 is around the corner.
Old 15th May 2018, 17:35   #71

It was a new vehicle
Sandeepm777 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 15th May 2018, 17:35   #72

On a new one or dealer demo? This looks like a good deal. Seems BMW is clearing stock and G05 is around the corner.
I don't think new one is going to come before 2020. It will be based on the X-7 platform and will be expensive to produce. I won't be surprised if BMW continues to keep existing X-5 alongside the new X-7 for a while.

Originally Posted by Sandeepm777 View Post
It was a new vehicle
And you still did not bought? I believe at last Years prices, this translates to less then 60 Lac Ex-showroom! It cannot get better.

For some reasons, I feel, BMW is not able to price their products clearly, they are following MB mostly. Keeping high List price and then discounting leaves a bad experience with existing owners and everyone tries to negotiate to its best besides we pay higher RTO charges. Even the new 5 series is now being highly discounted. Why can't they have a lower list at first place and have a fixed pricing. Offers are understandable for something like an year old manufactured or discontinued variants but launching the cars at high rates and then discounting by 10-20 %

Like MB dealers here in North don't discount E Class or the S Class. The outgoing S and E previously were discounted which does make sense for both, customers looking for a bargain and the company. Hope they learn quickly from the market.

Last edited by Turbanator : 15th May 2018 at 17:44.
Turbanator is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 16th May 2018, 12:01   #73

Third generation BMW X5 launched in India at Rs. 70.9 lakh

I don't think new one is going to come before 2020. It will be based on the X-7 platform and will be expensive to produce. I won't be surprised if BMW continues to keep existing X-5 alongside the new X-7 for a while.

And you still did not bought? I believe at last Years prices, this translates to less then 60 Lac Ex-showroom! It cannot get better.

For some reasons, I feel, BMW is not able to price their products clearly, they are following MB mostly. Keeping high List price and then discounting leaves a bad experience with existing owners and everyone tries to negotiate to its best besides we pay higher RTO charges. Even the new 5 series is now being highly discounted. Why can't they have a lower list at first place and have a fixed pricing. Offers are understandable for something like an year old manufactured or discontinued variants but launching the cars at high rates and then discounting by 10-20 %

Like MB dealers here in North don't discount E Class or the S Class. The outgoing S and E previously were discounted which does make sense for both, customers looking for a bargain and the company. Hope they learn quickly from the market.

Just bought a 520d Sportline but couldn't manage discount in range you mentioned. As per internal sources of BMW, 36 units were lapped up by dealers in less than 5 days and they were sold out between Friday and Monday. I somehow managed my choice of interior with great difficulty.

Now with X3, the production is so less that each dealer will get 2-3 units thus any discount is out of question.

BMW is exporting kits to more lucrative margin geographies and is adapting a less supply approach in India it seems.

With Vikram taking over as BMW India president, they are focusing on rationalising the prices rather than heavy discounting and this is quite evident with 6GT and X3 pricing. However I would want to see them rationalising the pricing of BRI (extended warranty) and BSI (service pack) also as I feel they are quite expansive and also don't give confidence to new buyers.

Coming to X5 in question, let me check on discount, if 20-21 is indeed true then will trade in my 2 year old X5 DPE for a X5 Msport

Last edited by rishi_kapoor : 16th May 2018 at 12:04.
Old 16th May 2018, 12:51   #74

Just bought a 520d Sportline but couldn't manage discount in range you mentioned. As per internal sources of BMW, 36 units were lapped up by dealers in less than 5 days and they were sold out between Friday and Monday. I somehow managed my choice of interior with great difficulty.
I was referring to 2017 Model Year cars, these were on offer for a while. Your's must be from last year as well.
Old 16th May 2018, 14:14   #75

I was referring to 2017 Model Year cars, these were on offer for a while. Your's must be from last year as well.
That is correct there is no production of 520d in 2018 until October 2018. It seems there will only one 520d model going forward and one 530d. 530i also seems to be end of production cycle.

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com