Old 6th September 2018, 20:52   #121

re: The Nissan Kicks Crossover. EDIT: Launched at Rs. 9.55 lakhs

Found the Kicks outside India. I first noticed the tail lamp extension on the profile side of the car, and almost instinctively felt it was the Creta.

I realized it was the Kicks. Took some pictures. And 5 minutes later, found one more. And a minute later, found another Kicks. Quite a few around it seems.

The car looks good. Size is almost similar to the Creta (maybe a bit shorter though). But I wont call this a butch looking SUV.

Also, if you notice the c-pillar section, with the black treatment extending from c-pillar to the rear windscreen, it almost makes you feel it is an extended / bigger Hyundai i20 like car.

Also the slope on the rear windshield is almost sedan-ish. It feels they have extended the rear to give more luggage space. Doesn't look out of place though.

The Nissan Kicks Crossover. EDIT: Launched at Rs. 9.55 lakhs-kicks-1.jpg

The Nissan Kicks Crossover. EDIT: Launched at Rs. 9.55 lakhs-kicks-2.jpg

The Nissan Kicks Crossover. EDIT: Launched at Rs. 9.55 lakhs-kicks-3.jpg
The car next to it / ahead of it is the Nissan Patrol (huge in size! comparable only to Land Cruiser). This should give you a perspective of the Kicks's size.

The Nissan Kicks Crossover. EDIT: Launched at Rs. 9.55 lakhs-kicks-4.jpg

The Nissan Kicks Crossover. EDIT: Launched at Rs. 9.55 lakhs-kicks-5.jpg

The Nissan Kicks Crossover. EDIT: Launched at Rs. 9.55 lakhs-kicks-6.jpg

The Nissan Kicks Crossover. EDIT: Launched at Rs. 9.55 lakhs-kicks-7.jpg
OrangeCar is offline   (11) Thanks
Old 6th September 2018, 22:50   #122

Originally Posted by adimicra View Post
I
Duster is proven to be a very robust,reliable and capable SUV. SO, using the same platform might not be a bad idea even if it's old.
Duster - Reliable? Are you sure? Our Duster ownership responses in the review thread is not reflecting this view. Duster scores in many aspects especially class leading ride quality but reliability? May be the engine is reliable but other parts?!
blorebuddy is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 10th September 2018, 18:12   #123

Nissan Kicks teaser launched,

The Nissan Kicks Crossover. EDIT: Launched at Rs. 9.55 lakhs-kc1.jpg

The Nissan Kicks Crossover. EDIT: Launched at Rs. 9.55 lakhs-nissankicksindiasketchlaunch2.jpg

The Nissan Kicks Crossover. EDIT: Launched at Rs. 9.55 lakhs-nissankicksindiasketchlaunch1.jpg

And testing continues,

The Nissan Kicks Crossover. EDIT: Launched at Rs. 9.55 lakhs-newnissankicksindiaspiedsuv1.jpg

The Nissan Kicks Crossover. EDIT: Launched at Rs. 9.55 lakhs-newnissankicksindiaspiedsuv3.jpg

Source:https://www.nissan.in/kicks.html + Rushlane

Last edited by volkman10 : 10th September 2018 at 18:16.
volkman10 is offline   (8) Thanks
Old 10th September 2018, 18:36   #124

Nissan India official teaser video -

CrAzY dRiVeR is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 10th September 2018, 18:37   #125

Originally Posted by volkman10 View Post
Whattay lovely concept! Just wish the actual car sported a very similar stance.
swiftnfurious is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 11th September 2018, 10:45   #126

The 2018 KICKS is already visible on the Nissan USA site.

https://www.nissanusa.com/vehicles/c...uvs/kicks.html
The Nissan Kicks Crossover. EDIT: Launched at Rs. 9.55 lakhs-kicks_l.jpg.ximg.l_full_m.smart.jpg  

The Nissan Kicks Crossover. EDIT: Launched at Rs. 9.55 lakhs-kicksdash18tdiuslhdhelios227.jpg.ximg.l_full_m.smart.jpg  

The Nissan Kicks Crossover. EDIT: Launched at Rs. 9.55 lakhs-kicksinterior18tdiuslhdhelios239.jpg.ximg.l_12_m.smart.jpg  

mikem is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 11th September 2018, 11:41   #127

Originally Posted by mikem View Post
The 2018 KICKS is already visible on the Nissan USA site.

The interiors looks quite smart, nothing flashy. Seem a clear step up from the Duster/Terrano. Let's hope it is priced reasonably, but knowing the current trend I am not holding my breadth.
Old 11th September 2018, 19:59   #128

ok some numbers

i20 active
length 3995
width 1760
height 1555

nexon
length 3994
width 1811
height 1607

kicks
length 4295
width 1760
height 1585

creta
length 4270
width 1780
height 1665

do you guys think Nissan will price it close to Creta?
sreejinair is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 12th September 2018, 15:52   #129

The Nissan Kicks has been available in other markets for sometime. But, as I understand, the Indian version is supposed to be bigger than the international versions. So, I am not sure if the dimensions mentioned above hold good.
If you notice, the height of the Kicks is significantly lower than the Creta and close to I20 Active which will give it more of a raised hatchback/crossover looks rather than a SUV-ish look. Need to see in person before I comment though.
Also, I am wondering if Nissan will use the new version of the 1.5 DCI motor from Renault for Kicks https://www.cardekho.com/india-car-n...gine-21975.htm
Old 13th September 2018, 12:18   #130

The concept looks really good. But the rest of the pictures of the production version from abroad, it is just plain ugly. No offense to anyone who liked the car, but it looks like a confused one. It looks like a combination of a lot of cars from those pictures.
R-Six is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 15th September 2018, 10:54   #131

a review from autocar, not of the Indian version. He did say we will get a longer wheelbase, better interiors and different engines

Last edited by sreejinair : 15th September 2018 at 10:55.
Old 15th September 2018, 17:01   #132

If they really want to compete with the Creta then they should have brought in the model based on the V platform sold in Europe and not the B platform. Surely the potential volumes should justify this. The company is struggling in India and should be pulling all stops for a new launch. Hopefully, they don't pass off the awards the Euro spec Kick has received as something the India bound one has (my guess is they will).
Old 15th September 2018, 17:07   #133

Why has AutoCar tested this car? As far as I know, the only things similar with this car and the one we will get, are the looks and the name.

The platform, the wheelbase, the engines, the interiors, all will be different. Then what's the point?

It's like testing an XC40 for an XC60 launch. They look similar, so "let us give you a 'feel' of how the new car going to be."

Looks like they just wanted a free trip to Dubai. I'm pressing 'dislike' for this video
ashutoshb is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 15th September 2018, 17:15   #134

Originally Posted by ashutoshb View Post
Looks like they just wanted a free trip to Dubai. I'm pressing 'dislike' for this video
May not be free. Doesn't seem to be a media drive event, more of a rental car. Also, its a base variant - which no company will provide for a media drive.

Autocar does this often - travelling on their own expense to other countries to bring some exclusives. An exclusive drive of a hot segment SUV might be a good cover story to sell some print.
CrAzY dRiVeR is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 15th September 2018, 20:15   #135

Would be a bit too obvious to try and pull a (K)Captur again, or so one would think.

Autocar gets to grab some eyeballs, Nissan gets some free publicity for a car they'll never launch here, while we poor Indians lament why we aren't good enough to get global products while paying premium prices.

With this launch, some of us poor schmucks will be paying close to 20 Lacs for what's essentially a Duster with a nip, tuck and extra make-up.
Chetan_Rao is offline   (2) Thanks