Old 5th February 2016, 14:26   #76

Re: Fiat launches pre-facelift Punto as 'Punto Pure' at the Auto Expo 2016!

Can anyone explain why on earth Fiat has decided to participate in the expo?

According to Rahul Bajaj, participating the expo alone costs to the tune of 5 crores and "since Bajaj is a small company and it does not have money to waste". According to him, the launch ceremony of the V series bike -with metal salvaged from the mighty INS Vikrant - cost the company less than 5 lakhs.

Compare him with our guy here in FIAT who is trying to "get a hold" after 11 months and " how we can make sure they (the dealers) are more stable."

It took me a full month to get the rear bumper of my Punto Sport replaced. If you ask me, the dealer in TVM is super-stable and a person who knows the art of doing business inside out, whether you like him or not. That's why the parts inventory there is such wafer-thin. I know him very well I can tell you, he will not invest a single rupee for a partner whom he has no or little faith in.
sandeepmdas is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 5th February 2016, 16:53   #77

Punto pure will probably be much better enthusiasts car than the competition at the same price range. It would be much cheaper than the swift lxi/ldi.
But Fiat doesn't have a tenth of the brand recall of its competitors.

Originally Posted by sandeepmdas View Post
Can anyone explain why on earth Fiat has decided to participate in the expo?

According to Rahul Bajaj, participating the expo alone costs to the tune of 5 crores and "since Bajaj is a small company and it does not have money to waste". According to him, the launch ceremony of the V series bike -with metal salvaged from the mighty INS Vikrant - cost the company less than 5 lakhs.
In all probability Jeep would have negotiated a combo deal
Old 5th February 2016, 19:10   #78

Originally Posted by deetjohn View Post
The 'Punto Pure' is out and its nothing but the older GP with the same old engines
So they did it, didn't they?

Name:  pnt.png
Views: 4285
Size:  147.7 KB

Guess we'll now see a lot of "enthusiast"ic cabbies moving(not zipping) around in the Punto's purest avatar. Some might even console me for going for the Evo at 8L whereas I could've waited and bought it in it's purest form at a cheaper price
rav11stars is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 7th February 2016, 17:42   #79

Punto Pure price
Petrol - 4.49 Lakhs
Diesel - 5.59 Lakhs

The Fiat Punto Pure will be available in both petrol and diesel options. While the petrol option is powered by a 1.2 litre engine and is priced at Rs 4.49 lakh, the diesel variant has a 1.3 litre engine and tagged at Rs 5.59 lakh (ex-showroom Delhi)

source:ibnlive
Old 10th February 2016, 18:34   #80

Fiat website says : " The all new Fiat Punto Pure".
If there are selling old stock, the "All new" is misleading and wrong.

Further, there is URBAN CROSS version of punto on the website, with no details. Anybody knows about this?
Old 10th February 2016, 18:43   #81

I do not understand the point of this act.

Fiat wasted their time and money in disappointing the buyers.

More over I don't think that this car even matters to Fiat.
Just checked the fiat website and was absolutely to see this.
Fiat launches pre-facelift Punto as 'Punto Pure' at the Auto Expo 2016!-fiatpuntopure.jpg

If you din't notice, look at the wheels of the car.

Its the base variant, not even wheel caps?
Are they ONLY targeting the taxi market with this?
Who does this?
Are they trying to sell or just finding ways to fail.

Last edited by iamahunter : 10th February 2016 at 18:45.
Old 10th February 2016, 18:53   #82

Another BHPian mentioned in some other thread, this is the Punto "Poor" edition. I'd like to laugh at that but as someone who appreciated FIAT's cars I'm deeply disappointed.
Hate to see Fiat go down this road. As GTO said - look forward not backward.
Originally Posted by iamahunter View Post

Attachment 1474717

Who does this?
Old 10th February 2016, 19:34   #83

Originally Posted by iamahunter View Post

Attachment 1474717

Who does this?
The alloys wheels at Auto expo was for display purposes only. The Punto Pure was always destined to come bare bones and the alloys would not be offered. Also the pricing is close to Evo Active. Who would buy this when they would get a slightly better interior with the Evo? I certainly feel its a pointless launch and wasteful exercise.

Only things left now is to sell Punto without roof and doors.
Old 10th February 2016, 19:51   #84

It's one thing to re-launch a pre-facelift version if there is a significant demand for it. Or is FIAT in the illusion that the new Punto isn't selling because people still love and long for the old one? Or is this is a stock clearing exercise?
Old 18th March 2016, 11:32   #85

the brochure says alloy wheels, and only red color, and is sketchy on the other details

has anyone checked on the actual details?
Old 18th March 2016, 11:47   #86

Originally Posted by greenhorn View Post
the brochure says alloy wheels, and only red color, and is sketchy on the other details

has anyone checked on the actual details?
No alloys wheels nothing on the pure variant. Idiots from Fiat forgot to put a disclaimer too I guess that the accessories shown in the brochure may not be of standard equipment.

Red and White are available. Its completely bare bones to an extent it come with steel wheels in silver color without wheel caps.
nkrishnap is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 16th November 2016, 12:05   #87

Gulp. I just booked one- the 75 bhp MJD. My 2002 Accent Petrol was starting to give me a few problems where I had recently gotten an entire suspension overhaul as well as a few other engine components replaced

One morning it refused to start up- while the issue was a simple battery drain I thought it might be a good opportunity to hunt for a new car.

I prefer to buy vehicles which have a hydraulic power steering or No power steering at all. The electric ones really scare me. So I didn't have too many options on my list apart from the Fiat Family

Tried the Punto Evo 90 hp, mom found the 1st and 2nd gear torque to be too less at low rpms where she usually drives. Tried the Punto Pure 75hp, it might have lesser top speed but definitely had more torque at low rpms in 1st and 2nd gear.

Booked the car. Now waiting for delivery. I have a question for all Punto Owners, particularly the ones having the older Grande Punto version with the 75 hp MJD engine

1- Is there really a problem with the Punto pulling to the left as I have heard and read about it from a lot of Punto Owners. More importantly is the problem unsolvable?

2- The car is going to come with 165/80/14 tyres. Is a upgrade to 185 needed for quick highway drives with cruising speeds around 110-120? Also, will it have any adverse or favourable effect on point 1 above?

Last edited by rahul4321 : 16th November 2016 at 12:11. Reason: update
Old 16th November 2016, 13:00   #88

Originally Posted by rahul4321 View Post
1- Is there really a problem with the Punto pulling to the left as I have heard and read about it from a lot of Punto Owners. More importantly is the problem unsolvable?

2- The car is going to come with 165/80/14 tyres. Is a upgrade to 185 needed for quick highway drives with cruising speeds around 110-120? Also, will it have any adverse or favourable effect on point 1 above?
1. The left pulling issue did persist in Grande Punto but specific to a certain batch only. I own one and never did have any pulling issues since purchase. Touchwood. The problem is definitely solvable, needs a good wheel alignment/balancing to resolve that.
2. Upgrade to 185 profile should not have any impact on the car performance.
Old 16th November 2016, 13:04   #89

Originally Posted by rahul4321 View Post
No, the pronounced misinterpreted pull is actually the feedback from the hydraulic steering in most cases, based on the road banking. Most roads are banked to the left. So unless you have pain in your arms after a drive lasting an hour or so, there is no pulling. And even if you do, it is solvable, nothing to worry.

Also, another test, let's say your car "pulls" to the left in a particular stretch, make an U turn if possible and drive in the same carriageway and see if car still pulls in the same or opposite direction. If the former, you have a problem, if its the latter, it is nothing.

2- The car is going to come with 165/80/14 tyres. Is a upgrade to 185 needed for quick highway drives with cruising speeds around 110-120? Also, will it have any adverse or favorable effect on point 1 above?
Highly recommend upgrading to 15 inch steel rims (cost 1k a piece for new ones at the A.S.S) and 195/60R15 tyres, for enhanced grip and stability at high speeds. Punto is a car with a brilliant chassis, and an undertyred setup is just not done.

If the above upgrade is not preferred, yes upgrade to 185 section tyres with the 14 inchers itself.

Last edited by DRIV3R : 16th November 2016 at 13:06.
Old 24th January 2017, 14:26   #90

Hello All -

Checked with a couple of dealers in the NCR, it seems, Pure production has been ceased from 2017 (Diesel for sure).

Can any fellow BHPian please confirm if it is actually true?

Many thanks for the help in advance.

Happy Motoring !!