View Poll Results: How did you sell your last car?
Dealer/broker 121 23.73%
Individual / via online classifieds 239 46.86%
Exchanged for a new car 139 27.25%
Other 11 2.16%
Voters: 510. You may not vote on this poll

Old 25th September 2020, 09:23   #91

Re: How did you sell your last vehicle - Dealer / Direct / Exchange?

Of the 2 cars I sold -

- Alto Lxi with 6.5 years, 70K kms : Sold to my office colleague. I was very happy that is going to someone I know and I can see the car whenever I want.

- Recently sold Vento Highline MPI 1.6, 7.5 years, 1.03 lacs Kms to an individual via Team Bhp classifieds Car was listed on classifieds for just 2 days and I got an offer. Knowing that the car would be with someone who follows team bhp, I was very comfortable handing it over. He promised that he will maintain it the way it's maintained so far. Btw, this guy is not a member of team bhp as he said that his application always gets rejected

I received couple of offers from OLX & Facebook listings. Somehow I didn't have that comfort to sell on these platforms. It's an interesting feeling. You know that you don't have anything to do after you transfer it on somebody else's name. However, you just can't stop thinking about what could go wrong.

I/ new owner ensured that the vehicle is transferred as soon as we finalized the deal. I filled up the form and he went ahead and submitted it to RTO. Transfer was done in a week. He could download the RC from Digilocker.
nexus is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 22nd October 2020, 07:52   #92

I owned a HR registered Chevy Beat in Pune. It had done ~50k kms in 9 years. Tried selling the car in market but wasn't able to get good price. Best I got was 60k mainly because of two reasons
  • Car registered in Haryana
  • Low resale value of Chevy cars since company's exit from India

Finally exchanged it at the dealership when purchasing the new car. Got a good deal (70k) and an exchange bonus of 30k. Plus no hassle of paperwork.
Old 22nd October 2020, 08:56   #93

I sold my Baleno just last week.

When I was testing the prices in the used car market, the offers I was getting from the dealers were very low. The OBV site also gave me a low expectation.

Listed on tbhp classifieds and within hours I had an enquiry. The person ( not a member though ) visited the very next day , inspected the car in the morning. Came back in a few more hours and we closed the deal. Money transfer and documents / keys exchanged right then.

I got atleast 12% more than what I was told by the dealers.
jkrishnakj is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 1st September 2021, 15:58   #94

Bumping an old thread.

Sold my 2009 Honda City 1.5 S AT (Petrol) which was run 97,000km and I was the second owner for Rs. 1,75,000/- via a local mechanic. Could have got till Rs. 2,00,000/- but I cannot deal with the hassle and bought a pre-owned 2014 Ecosport Diesel.

skillaft
skillaft is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 1st September 2021, 16:15   #95

Sold my Tata Zest in Feb 2021 to Cars24. This was our 3rd car which we sold to them. Competent offer, hassle free documentation and quick payment.
Old 1st September 2021, 16:37   #96

I belong to the minority "Others"

Totalled my Baleno (the original)
girishv is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 1st September 2021, 16:55   #97

Last car sold was our beloved Maruti 800 way back in 2008. Sold to one of our relatives.
Old 17th February 2022, 09:43   #98

Am selling my 2013 i10 ERA, 48K kms in fairly good condition (Mechanics, Interiors, ICE, Battery, Tyre & HVAC are almost new & in mint condition). Exteriors have dents, scratches and some repainted panels, although not a single major accident or insurance claim in the last 10 years

Sharing my experience of Inspection & Quotes from these Online Portals:-
OLA Cars
--- Quick inspection not very detailed process of checking, after the check was done, advisor informed they do not buy cars manufactured in 2012 and hence did not give an offer, wasted my time & petrol. Inspection Advisor was professional & courteous. BAD EXPERIENCE

CarDekho
--- Inspection was somewhere in-between not too detailed neither too quick. Inspection Advisor was professional & courteous, and shared his findings clearly & patiently. Offered 1.53L in first go & 1.73L in second. GOOD EXPERIENCE

Cars24
--- Inspection was very detailed & core focus was on engine condition. Inspection Advisor was professional & courteous. Final inspection report had multiple false information of things scratched, torn, broken or not-working, my new tyres condition was shown as 50%, every other report showed 80-90%. Inspection Advisor was professional & courteous. Offered 1.53L in first go & 1.65L in second. I am really disappointed with their false reporting and subsequent approach of hustling for pricing. VERY BAD EXPERIENCE

Spinny
--- Inspection was very detailed & core focus was on checking accidental damage and body structure. Inspection Advisor was professional & courteous. Offered 1.50L in first go & 1.67L in second. GOOD EXPERIENCE

OlxAutos
--- Took multiple escalations to get an inspection, was informed advisor will visit on 17th but out of the blue advisor called and said he is at my society on 16th. Inspection was detailed & core focus was on checking engine and body structure. Inspection Advisor was a ted rough & lacked courtesy. Also took a very long test drive which seemed unwarranted. Offered 1.55L in first go & I shut them off WORST EXPERIENCE

Local Dealer
--- Inspection was very quick, nothing fancy and Inspection Advisor courteous. No test drive, just checked service history, insurance with 50% NCB and he was sold. Offered 1.8L in first go & 1.9L in second BEST EXPERIENCE
k_gpatel is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 17th February 2022, 10:15   #99

Sold directly to an individual.

Spoke with the used car division of the dealership where I had planned to take a new car from. Their quote was not acceptable to me. Moreover, they did not give me any clear answers on "how long before RC transfer".

Placed ads in quikr and OLX. Got several calls (at that time the chat option was not yet there), some of which proceeded to test drives. I felt that one person was just taking the opportunity to check out various cars before buying a new one.

Eventually one person thought it was a good deal and went ahead. I requested that I would hand over the car only after RC transfer, and I would not use it in the interim, to which the buyer agreed.
Old 21st February 2022, 10:33   #100

Re: Experience: Selling my car to Cars24.com

Sold my 2012 Innova in Delhi to OLX Autos.

Got the car evaluated by Cars24, OLX Autos and a local Toyota dealer along with listing the car on Team-BHP classifieds. Spinny, Mahindra First Choice and some local dealers refused to evaluate the car since it was Delhi registered and had already completed 9 years.

Got good prices though Team BHP classifieds too, but OLX Autos came out on top and offered 20k extra over other buyers. Their team and process were pretty good and professional, comparable to any other online aggregator.

Hopefully, since the car registration expires in 4 months, the transfer process will be completed soon.
Aniket03 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 8th July 2023, 20:26   #101

I am looking to sell my Santro. It is sparingly used and in top notch condition. My plan was to sell this to something like spinny/cars 24 etc, so that it will be smooth. A few days ago, I got to know that, my driver was eyeing this for a long time. He requested me to sell it to him.
He is playing emotional games. ( Says everyone in his family owns a car, 2 wheeler is difficult for a family of three, he already told his family that he would get it etc). This is as good as giving it for free. My driver also knows, I wont ask for money. But he is acting he will pay. I am fine with letting it go, because he has been with us for a long time. But tomorrow if something were to go wrong in the car, I would feel bad. Also, I know that he cant afford the maintenance/insurance renewal/surprise repairs etc. This worries me the most. I pointed that out several times. He turns down saying he will somehow manage.

Sorry if it is not the right thread. But I would appreciate if someone could help me with some good advice. I am unable to focus on anything due to this dilemma. (To make matters worse, a few family members/friends are requesting me to sell it to them. I am finding it very difficult to say no. Never realised the demand for used (and discontinued) car was this high )
adithya.kp is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 11th July 2023, 21:36   #102

Can someone help?. I am sure a lot of you must have experienced it. To cut the long story short, there are two people looking to buy my car. ( I wont be taking any money. I am happy to give it free). I am worried thinking about any incidents in the future. ( It could also be some large repair expense). They will curse me.
( Of course, there is one more headache here. If I were to give it to one of them, who to give it to. I will figure this out)

Originally Posted by adithya.kp View Post
I am looking to sell my Santro. It is sparingly used and in top notch condition. My plan was to sell this to something like spinny/cars 24 etc, so that it will be smooth. A few days ago, I got to know that, my driver was eyeing this for a long time. He requested me to sell it to him.
He is playing emotional games. ( Says everyone in his family owns a car, 2 wheeler is difficult for a family of three, he already told his family that he would get it etc). This is as good as giving it for free. My driver also knows, I wont ask for money. But he is acting he will pay. I am fine with letting it go, because he has been with us for a long time. But tomorrow if something were to go wrong in the car, I would feel bad. Also, I know that he cant afford the maintenance/insurance renewal/surprise repairs etc. This worries me the most. I pointed that out several times. He turns down saying he will somehow manage.

Sorry if it is not the right thread. But I would appreciate if someone could help me with some good advice. I am unable to focus on anything due to this dilemma. (To make matters worse, a few family members/friends are requesting me to sell it to them. I am finding it very difficult to say no. Never realised the demand for used (and discontinued) car was this high )
Old 12th July 2023, 18:07   #103

Originally Posted by adithya.kp View Post
Can someone help?. I am sure a lot of you must have experienced it. To cut the long story short, there are two people looking to buy my car. ( I wont be taking any money. I am happy to give it free). I am worried thinking about any incidents in the future. ( It could also be some large repair expense). They will curse me.
( Of course, there is one more headache here. If I were to give it to one of them, who to give it to. I will figure this out)
This brings me back to how my brother sold his Renault Kwid AMT last year, the car had barely run 15000 km and was in top-notch condition, with no replacements other than the battery, no problems whatsoever, (the same couldn't have been said about ours though, we both had KWIDs in the family and we both sold them last year), however, his situation was quite different to mine, I had sold it because it started to give me issues, so I fixed all of them and sold it off at a good price, his car was an excellently maintained low running AMT with no scratches and in pristine condition.

When the itch to upgrade got over him, he informed the members of the family of his desire, and immediately there were offers for his old car as everyone knew it would be worth the price paid, if any. He consulted me on the matter and I told him to get it evaluated by Spinny and Cars24 and immediately inform me of the price, he did and it was around 3.5 lakhs, I told him to tell his relatives that he is exchanging the old car for a new one, and they are offering a huge exchange bonus (60k or so) only on exchanging his old car, so he had no option but to go for it.

Finally, he bought a new car and sold off his old one at 3.8 lakhs to a private buyer in another district, and relatives were like OK if it is for the exchange bonus, what can they do, they can't provide that. So he was able to dodge the bullet without much fuss. Else he would have to definitely give it for free to any one of his relatives, not that it was a question of money only, but who would he give it to, he would have to disappoint someone, and questions would have been posed, why you gave it to him and what not.

Now with this solution, no one is disappointed or happy, and he got a good offer for his old car too.

I know situations may be different in each case, but sometimes you can't please everybody, best you can do is not disappoint everybody.
bijims is offline   (2) Thanks