Old 5th March 2021, 10:34   #61

Re: The 200,000 km hall of fame | Pics & experiences with your 2 lakh km car

My fathers Maruti 800
Model year : 1988
Still in running condition but RC expired.
3,014,15 Kms

Take it out locally around the neighborhood to buy groceries
Engine overhauled once and basic interior wear and tear replacement.
Mostly been a one driver, one mechanic vehicle. Probably that is why it survived.
Plan to keep it forever. Ultimate driving pleasure. The 200,000 km hall of fame | Pics & experiences with your 2 lakh km car-20210305_101552.jpg

The 200,000 km hall of fame | Pics & experiences with your 2 lakh km car-20210305_101603.jpg

The 200,000 km hall of fame | Pics & experiences with your 2 lakh km car-20210305_101625.jpg

The 200,000 km hall of fame | Pics & experiences with your 2 lakh km car-20210305_101632.jpg

The 200,000 km hall of fame | Pics & experiences with your 2 lakh km car-20210305_101919.jpg
Bimmer_Sage is offline   (48) Thanks
Old 5th March 2021, 12:04   #62

My 2015 Renault Duster 85ps RxL, currently at 215k kms, this car crossed 200k kms in the first 4 odd years. Just crossed 215k kms the other day and is used as a second city car nowadays. It will be 6 this April. It's a gem of a car and my family members love it and protested when I asked them if they were okay to exchange it for a smaller hatch for city use. So plans are to keep it till its 10 years for sure. Reliability was top notch till 200k though have had two issues these past 10k kms but all running great now. 👍
The 200,000 km hall of fame | Pics & experiences with your 2 lakh km car-20200904_06583601.jpeg  

The 200,000 km hall of fame | Pics & experiences with your 2 lakh km car-20200904_06151501.jpeg  

The 200,000 km hall of fame | Pics & experiences with your 2 lakh km car-20200910_09473501.jpeg  

Last edited by mh09ad5578 : 5th March 2021 at 12:06.
mh09ad5578 is offline   (25) Thanks
Old 5th March 2021, 12:31   #63

Thanks for initiating this wonderful discussion. I currently own a Skoda Rapid 1.5 Diesel MT. Bought in Dec 2014 and has done 54,000 kms so far. Although I dont qualify for a post on this thread, would like to pen down my key takeaways from the posts in this thread so far:

1. Irrespective of the brand, most cars will do well if maintained properly.
2. From day 1, I have been following the article on team bhp about keeping ones car in proper condition. The posts here reaffirm my belief that if I continue following those instructions, my car can also run 2 lac kms
3. Maitaining a car is similar to maintaining a human body - Right nutrition, adequate exercise and avoiding unnecessary exertion - If done consistently, will go a long way in ensuring a good life.
4. If reading these posts makes me feel good. I am sure the respective owners must be going through a wide range of emotions while sharing their experiences. Probably similar to writing a reflective post on your kids 18th Birthday.

A big thank you to all those who have taken time to pen down their experiences !
swapnilkarvir is offline   (7) Thanks
Old 5th March 2021, 14:31   #64

What an eye-opener thread. At the right time too. We have 4 cars in the family that has crossed the 1L km milestone. One of them is pre worshipped and was bought at 1,04, xxx km. I was planning to replace my swift as it recently crossed 1L km. Although I don't want to part with it, every time a random relative glances the odo gives an odd expression.
Looking at this thread I am looking forward to reaching the 2L milestone in the next 3-4 years.
avaneesh. is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 5th March 2021, 17:55   #65

I just love seeing cars with high mileages! I once sat in a Nissan Altima taxi in Dubai that had done 5 lakh km plus.
My running has always been low and Covid has managed to shave it down even further. I could never achieve a five-figure mileage; maybe if I drive a single car my entire life....
Question to all owners who have posted about their 200k km-run cars: how many times a year do you get your car serviced? Do you do the full service or just an oil change? How much annual cost do you incur?
TheGearBox is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 6th March 2021, 04:29   #66

• 1998 Maruti Suzuki Zen G10B

• Sold off at 2,45,000 kms

• Major work done: Nothing as such just Clutch twice and Body paint twice. It always has been a trouble free car in a very literal manner. Never bothered us at any point of time just a service in every 6 months and it was happy to out itself for our use.

• How much longer do you plan to retain her? Zen was sold off in 2017 to get a more safer and a more powerful hatchback. I still admire its handling, but I still think it served its purpose pretty well and was sold at right time.
The 200,000 km hall of fame | Pics & experiences with your 2 lakh km car-screenshot_20210306041438__01__01.jpg  

Last edited by vtecblast : 6th March 2021 at 04:31.
vtecblast is offline   (18) Thanks
Old 6th March 2021, 08:31   #67

Appreciate the thread and thought process to put it up. A great eye opener for few and good motivation for many. Have owned 4 cars by now and even the summation of their Odometer reading does not make me qualify to such an epic group. Probably, the 2010-2020 was the perfect decade for people to buy cars and keep them long. Now, with manufacturers spicing things up with turbo engines and EVs, adding to the disposable incomes, easy access to loans and plethora of options in ever segment, this generation would look to change their cars within 5-7 years. Add to it this horrible pandemic, many frequent drivers have lost nearly 20-30K KMs already. All this makes this thread more special as we may not have many long term ownership threads (10 years and/or 2L KMs) in the near future. Kudos to all those who have gone past 2L and hope I reach atleast a lakh in one of my car.

Last edited by VWAllstar : 6th March 2021 at 08:33.
VWAllstar is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 6th March 2021, 13:26   #68

Year, make, model and engine :
2013 Mahindra XUV 500 W8 FWD
Current odo reading :
2,28,000 kms
Major work done :
From what I can recall the front and rear suspension has been overhauled twice which is usually weakened by all the vertical movement of the car on undulating surfaces and rally car like thrashing from my end. It has also had the clutch plate changed twice though I believe it's still running on the original clutch. Front and rear brake rotors have been changed once. The gear shifter was also changed once. I might've missed some other parts since the vast service history hasn't been documented by us although the car still visits the authorised service center so the record might be obtainable. It is primarily used by my father for his daily commute and you might even be surprised to find out that the car hadn't even touched the 50k mark in its first three years.
How long do you plan to retain her?
Want to hit a three peat as they call it in basketball. The car has been much more reliable than anticipated and we've only faced small niggles (headlamps/fog-lamps going out, fuse being blown)
Attaching a picture that was hastily taken by a friend while I was driving and I hit the 2,25,000 mark. Haven't taken a picture of the odo since.
The 200,000 km hall of fame | Pics & experiences with your 2 lakh km car-img_20210208_180157.jpg  

The 200,000 km hall of fame | Pics & experiences with your 2 lakh km car-img_20190831_194117.jpg  

Autocaptive is offline   (14) Thanks
Old 6th March 2021, 14:06   #69

Toyota Innova 2.5 V 2010. Odo-3,69,000Kms. This is my friend's car and is still going strong without any problems and is a mile muncher even now. They have been waiting to sell the car once it starts giving problems but it has not even once given up on the road. Another astonishing thing is that the car has taken fair amount of abuses and has been driven rashly by a number of their company drivers.
The 200,000 km hall of fame | Pics & experiences with your 2 lakh km car-img_20210306_135818.jpg  

The 200,000 km hall of fame | Pics & experiences with your 2 lakh km car-img20210306wa0005.jpg  

asm3899_CHD is offline   (27) Thanks
Old 7th March 2021, 11:39   #70
DSY

Our:

• 2008 Maruti Suzuki Swift Dzire Vdi with Multijet 1248 cc engine.

• Odometer reading as of today : 221680

• Major Work done : Front axle repaired , Front shockers and clutch plate changed and that is pretty much it. Since 2008 it has been a pretty reliable vehicle in the family with almost no niggles till today.

•How much longer we plan to retain her? Almost everything works like it used to in the car and the milage too is great for a 13 year old car, plus the engine is also going strong so it will be staying with us for a while now.

The 200,000 km hall of fame | Pics & experiences with your 2 lakh km car-screen-shot-20210307-11.10.04-am.png

The 200,000 km hall of fame | Pics & experiences with your 2 lakh km car-screen-shot-20210307-11.11.01-am.png

The 200,000 km hall of fame | Pics & experiences with your 2 lakh km car-screen-shot-20210307-11.10.29-am.png

The 200,000 km hall of fame | Pics & experiences with your 2 lakh km car-screen-shot-20210307-11.10.44-am.png
DSY is offline   (15) Thanks
Old 8th March 2021, 12:55   #71
RGK

This Mitsubishi Lancer SFX is my friends car which has done 4,74,398 kms as of yesterday. The other details are:

1. Year of the Model : 1999
2. Ownership: 2nd
3. Major Services :
  • Clutch Replacements
  • Suspension Replacements
4. Regular services include
  • Tyre Changes
  • Oil Changes
  • Bearing Changes
  • Wiper Blade Changes
5. Full Seat covers fitted at Koyas, Coimbatore.
6. 20 Year Fitness Certificate obtained.
7. Full painting done once.
8. A/C switch not working in the 1st speed.

All major services are done by Annamalais, Coimbatore (authorised dealer for Mitsubishi vehicles).

Engine and Gearbox not at all open. The noise of the engine is different now due to the huge amount of mileage and obviously, the tolerances have changed. I have driven many times and this is one of the no-nonsense cars with few sensors & less electronics. It gives a whopping 20 km per litre of diesel.
The 200,000 km hall of fame | Pics & experiences with your 2 lakh km car-5.jpg  

The 200,000 km hall of fame | Pics & experiences with your 2 lakh km car-1.jpg  

The 200,000 km hall of fame | Pics & experiences with your 2 lakh km car-3.jpg  

The 200,000 km hall of fame | Pics & experiences with your 2 lakh km car-4.jpg  

RGK is offline   (35) Thanks
Old 8th March 2021, 13:32   #72

Year , Make , Model :2012 , Ford Figo 1.4 TDCI Titanium
Current odo reading : 204,450 KM

Major work done: Timing Belt change , complete suspension overhaul once, still running on original clutch , clutch is becoming harder might be due for replacement. No work done on engine , still running on original fuel injectors ,touch wood.

Brief ownership Experience :So far it has been practical,fun,easy on pockets and reliable .Never hesitated to take on long trips in Figo due to high mileage. I guess modern day cars are reliable and if taken proper care will last long. My Figo with 2 lakhs and Fiesta with 1.8 lakhs Kilometers are testimony for the same. I religiously follow all fluid changes as per manufacture’s recommendations. Driving in ghat sections and local highways are bliss. Lack of top end are evident when driving on National highways but can cruise at 100 KM/Hr all day long. For 6 lakhs rupees on road, got a terrific value for money car. It has ABS, Two Airbags , relatively well build , alloys , good space in front , back seat and boot . Overall fantastic little package.

How Long Planning to Keep : Looking for an ideal replacement/upgrade , waiting for Taigun/Kushak or next generation Ecosport. Current Ecosport would have been an ideal replacement but shoulder room at back seat are very similar to my FIGO . I’m really surprised that other than Korean Twins , none of the other manufactures have SUV in their portfolio to fight with Creta/Seltos. Among few thousands of auto enthusiast like me , waiting for a car with good steering feedback , safe , fun to drive compact SUV (not Subcompact). Kia could have had my business but not able to convince myself to buy one after knowing recent crash result.
The 200,000 km hall of fame | Pics & experiences with your 2 lakh km car-20201218_100758.jpg  

The 200,000 km hall of fame | Pics & experiences with your 2 lakh km car-20210307_110304.jpg  

rainmaster is offline   (20) Thanks
Old 8th March 2021, 13:34   #73

Originally Posted by TheGearBox View Post
Question to all owners who have posted about their 200k km-run cars: how many times a year do you get your car serviced? Do you do the full service or just an oil change? How much annual cost do you incur?
I have an annual budget of ~ INR 10,000 for general maintenance fo the Swift petrol currently at 2,70,xxx approx run car. Small car with cheap parts (its a Maruti after all) helps the cost in check for the upkeep.

General checkup/topups every six months.

Oil change at 10k km with service like filter replacements etc. along with brakes chekup and alignment.

Out of warranty since many years, so repairs and workarounds as far as possible instead of replacement to keep expenses low. Good FNG is key to this.
88_TANK_88 is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 8th March 2021, 19:01   #74
RGK

Originally Posted by rainmaster View Post
Year , Make , Model :2012 , Ford Figo 1.4 TDCI Titanium
Current odo reading : 204,450 KM

Major work done: Timing Belt change , complete suspension overhaul once, still running on original clutch , clutch is becoming harder might be due for replacement. No work done on engine , still running on original fuel injectors ,touch wood.

Brief ownership Experience:So far it has been practical,fun,easy on pockets and reliable ..
Best wishes and many more miles. Yes, Figo is a wonderfully packaged product. Titanium was just 5.98 L OTR at Rajshree Ford when I finalised EXi .

Before I sold my car, I did climb Ooty from Mysore via Kallati and car performed absolutely well. Many of the batches had injectors and ECM from Continental and they don't fail.
RGK is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 8th March 2021, 20:13   #75

It is a 2008 Swift Vdi, completed 3,00,000km recently, precisely 3,03,936km, no major repairs, except the wear and tear including the clutch plates at around 2,00,000km, suspension work, tyres etc. Still runs fine. It was with me upto 1,00,000km, then gave it my cousin, who still takes it on long drives upto 500km frequently. Except for some minor rattles and squeaks, it runs fine. There are no plans to sell it off as of now. Excuse for the image quality.
The 200,000 km hall of fame | Pics & experiences with your 2 lakh km car-2021speedoreading.jpg  

The 200,000 km hall of fame | Pics & experiences with your 2 lakh km car-2021.jpg  

Last edited by gsratta : 8th March 2021 at 20:18.
gsratta is offline   (17) Thanks