Old 8th November 2021, 07:59   #61

Re: BYOD | Build Your Dream Car for 20 lakhs OTR

I think my basic ask exists, but Honda won't bring it to India.

Presenting the Fit Shuttle: (Saw it first in a TL written by BHPian)
landcruiser123 is online now   (2) Thanks
Old 8th November 2021, 09:23   #62

My dream car for 20 lakhs would consist of components from three manufacturers - Hyundai, VAG & Fiat.
  • A low slung C2 segment sedan
  • Fiat Linea's pre-GC suspension, HPS, and brakes
  • Hyundai's 1.6-liter CRDI Engine with ECU tune equivalent of Stage-1 remap by Wolf Moto. (Or at least around 160 BHP / 320 Nm Torque)
  • A DSG Gearbox (But should offer Toyota's reliability) OR Hyundai's 6 Speed Torque Converter Gearbox
  • Safe cabin with 6 airbags, but a lightweight body (less than 1 ton)
  • Michelin Pilot Sport Tires, 205 R16
  • Front & Rear disc brakes
  • RWD or AWD
  • Hyundai's interior & features

I think I am just beginning to cross the 20 lakhs barrier here - so, that's it!

This config will be the maximum ROI I can get for 20 lakhs.

Last edited by clevermax : 8th November 2021 at 09:37.
clevermax is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 8th November 2021, 09:50   #63

My recipe is simple, Kia seltos (Htx maybe) with diesel Engine and gearbox from Tucson and 4 star safety at least.
Old 8th November 2021, 10:04   #64

To be honest, I'd just want to buy the exact same car I bought 7 years back for a bit less than 20L - the VW Jetta manual with the lovely 2.0 TDI engine. Even today, after 1.7 lakh kms on the odo, it's so much fun to drive it.

I had bought the comfortline variant for about 18.8L OTR in 2014. If I can have the same car with the following additional features, I'd buy it again today in a heartbeat for even 25L:
1. Bluetooth and Android Auto/Carplay
2. LED headlights
3. Ventilated front seats
pavanmadhini is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 8th November 2021, 12:59   #65

Originally Posted by Shreyans_Jain View Post
I’ll take a Hexa with a slightly lighter steering, much better headlights, a 100 liter fuel tank and 4x4 to go with the automatic. It will be THE perfect car to go touring in.
+1 to the Hexa, Only other change I would make is to replace the engine + transmission with the 2.2L mHawk + 6 Speed Manual that powers the XUV700.
procrj is online now   (1) Thanks
Old 8th November 2021, 13:44   #66

Find a carb V8 engine & put that inside a Mahindra Jeep

I think I will have lots of spare cash for petrol afterwards.
Old 8th November 2021, 15:14   #67

This thread should be banned for toying with our emotions. "Umeed pe duniya kayam hai" but not this much umeed guys
Old 8th November 2021, 15:21   #68

Originally Posted by aargee View Post
My requirement is very simple & probably near to achievable...

SCross 1.6 with...
  • 200mm GC
  • Stage 1 mapping from Wolf Moto
  • LED headlamp from Mercedes Benz
  • Premium silver color
Just adding to your list

> Top quality fit and finish with no rattles
> A nice 7 speaker music system.
> Rear AC Vents
Old 8th November 2021, 15:53   #69

Mine is simple. A 30% scaled down (including the price ) part-time 4x4 Fortuner.
Wanderer is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 8th November 2021, 16:53   #70

Mine would be, First gen Creta with current gen Creta's Interior and features.
Old 8th November 2021, 17:40   #71

Mine would be my current ride Duster

- Duster (retaining ride quality + boot space + SUV look)
- VWs 1.5 TSI
- Astor's interior/ seat covers / features
- Suzuki's after sales service & network
Old 8th November 2021, 18:33   #72

My take
Base platform would be the Abarth Punto.
base platform would give is performance, compact size, fun to drive, analog feel and a base level of safety.
Layer on a few things like more safety, more performance, better packaging and ease of ownership and I think I would be happy to plonk down north of 15L for this.
20 L would probably mean a nice handsome profit for the OEM

Tweaks -
The basics

1. Swap the 5 speed manual with a 6 speed
2. Bit more grunt (perhaps Stage 1?)
3. Interiors packaged as well as the Indica/Liva/Ciaz - some of that space to be used towards the rear legroom, rest towards increasing the boot capacity
4. Ability to service it at Maruti/Hyundai/Toyota workshops
5. Better materials for trims/dash
6. 6-7 airbags vs 2
7. Reach adjustment for steering wheel

The Why Not whack a doodle bits

1. Mobile phone holder integrated into the dash (don't really want a touch screen)
2. Seats and headrests that can be manually adjusted on all three axes (think of the high-end Herman miller office chair. Yes the one you don't have at home but is there waiting for you at the office) to get just the right amount of support
3. Silent AC blowers (do they exist??? if so, why don't we get them in our cars?)
4. Factory fitted UV rays canceling, Heat reflecting, Glare minimizing, Sound insulating windscreen and windows - basically glass that meets our legal requirements while offering the functional utility of tints and coatings

The mad scientist bits
(don't think these will come within the 20L budget unless I am that mad scientist)
1. Force field that repels any ejiat on 2/4 wheels that tries to intrude into my personal space
2. 360 degree cameras connected to focussed Electro magnetic pulse guns (think 007) that scan for people driving while talking/texting on their phones, jumping red lights, swerving through traffic like a skier at the winter Olympics and fire pulses that restrict their vehicles to crawl home mode.

Not needed, to manage costs

1. Leather seats (if leather, then they need to be ventilated)
2. Digital consoles/tablet screens posing as dashboards (analogue works just fine)
3. Sun/moon roof
4. Other Gizmos
Old 8th November 2021, 23:24   #73

I bought Ignis around a year ago because it was the only premium(relatively) tallboy offering in my budget.

My BYOD (in budget) would be:
1) Refinement, Performance, Mileage and Maintenance of Ignis
2) Exterior Design and Safety of Punch
3) Interior fit and finish of Polo (keeping budget in mind, I think Polo has best interior fit and finish)
4) Interior space of Baleno
n33rav is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 9th November 2021, 15:12   #74

Such a great post. Exactly what keeps going on in my mind.

For me it would be:
1. VW 1.6/2.0 TDI engine with a Automatic gearbox
2. Ride, handling and steering of a Fiat Linea
3. Features of the top end XUV7OO
4. 4 wheel drive like an A6
5. Paint and finish of a Merc/BMW

I can only dream of driving such a beauty
Old 9th November 2021, 15:23   #75

Old civic with a turbocharged k24 engine and TEIN EDFC's on BBS rims and Advan's.