Old 12th June 2022, 10:02   #61

Re: If you were to buy a car today, would you have bought the car(s) you currently own?

Yes for 3, No for 1.

1. Chevrolet Beat Diesel LS Manual : bought in 2012 for 5.4 lakhs on road and served me for 8 years, 1 lakh KMs and sold in 2021 for 1.25 lakhs. No, would not buy it again. At the time I bought the car Chevrolet was doing a decent amount of volume and I did not expect them to wind shop in India. Did not have ABS or airbags. Though the car was a competent one, I would not buy this again due to manufacturer jumping ship from India and a lot of niggles , esp in the engine department.

2. Maruti Zen 2002 MPFI LS : Bought in 2014 and sold in 2017 just before fitness expired. Would definitely buy this again. It’s a compact, tight little car with zero maintenance issues and motor cycle like frugality. It’s just soulful to drive and I miss this car.

3. Tata Nexon Diesel XZA+ : bought in 2018 and done 50K + KMs so far. It’s a big YES. It’s safe , engaging to drive, solidly built, I just love those interiors and the AMT despite some detractors on the forum is not a deal breaker for me. The CSUV segment (<4 mtrs, <1500 cc diesel or 1200cc petrol ) is the most value for money segment in India due to less taxes. For bigger segments, the taxes make me cringe. I would but this as a beater or second car in the family in future with out second thoughts.

4. Honda City 2013 Petrol Manual: bought in 2020 with 1.3Lakh KMs on Odo. a definite YES given the intelligent packaging and an involving 1.5L naturally aspirated motor. Also easy to maintain and reliable.

Last edited by charanreddy : 12th June 2022 at 10:03.
charanreddy is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 12th June 2022, 10:35   #62

Re: If you were to buy a car today, would you have bought the car(s) you currently own?

Ritz diesel 2011-2019:- yes, solid build unlike today's Maruti, had everything I wanted from my first car fun to drive, reliable, economical to run.

Swift Dzire petrol 2019-2020:- yes, bought as second hand 2015 facelift in 2019 January this was my first petrol car, NVH levels very low compared to Ritz diesel, pick up was very less it was tuned for efficiency.

Toyota Urban cruiser:- No, took delivery on launch oct 2020, ride quality was not at all good, family did not like it on long journeys, city mileage was also very low 7 km/l. sold in Nov 2021.

Tata altroz diesel 2022- :- yes, Inspired by prasannadhana sir's ownership review took test drive of altroz diesel, liked it a lot and bought altroz top end diesel after test driving so many cars Venue(cramped), sonet (cramped), i20 was good but it didn't touch heart like altroz.

Last edited by Sheel : 12th June 2022 at 11:39. Reason: Desire = Dzire.
SanjayW is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 12th June 2022, 10:50   #63

2012 Nissan Sunny XL Diesel MT: No, comfortable but feels underpowered although has been absolutely reliable for the last 136k kms.

2012 Mahindra Thar crde: No This is hard to answer, irreplaceable vehicle for me, took us to ladakh and back without a single issue, i think i would rather have the newer version

2010 Honda Accord Petrol MT: Yes, this gen accord is one of the best looking. High on comfort and reliable except the steering pump issue. Great fun to drive
Lasagna59 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 12th June 2022, 10:59   #64

2016 Fiat Abarth Punto - Hell Yes We still miss it to the core. Not only for its attributes but the public admiration it used to get at every darn signal. The Scorpion was one of a kind. Miss you.

2013 Swift Dzire Zxi: Sadly no. It was a mile muncher, in a single full tank it took us from Mumbai To Hyderabad. But it was like an arrow, perfect on straight roads, but if you tell him to climb it would loose his breath. Brakes did not used to give much confidence too in spirited driving.

2005 Santro: I would say yes and no both. It's still with us and clocking close to 1.5 lakh KM. But when it starts showing issues it feels like a never ending saga. Have so many memories with it and I would say it's someone who has stood by my journey of life.

2013-14 Honda City Zx and Chevrolet Aveo Petrol: Both of them were pre worshipped and the ease of driving with superb performance was mind blowing. I would say a Big Yes to both of these because sedans give you the dignity and feel of a classic car owner.

Currently own: Jeep Compass Diesel 4x4 MT. And yes it's giving me a completely different perspective in driving. My first Diesel car and I am loving it. Definitely Yes ( if I get the manual)

Last edited by livetodrive : 12th June 2022 at 11:02. Reason: Added current car Jeep Compass
livetodrive is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 12th June 2022, 11:44   #65

Ford EcoSport Titanium AT: Yes, I’ll buy it again if I have an option. For the budget I had and my requirements, the ES AT was a no brainer with a proper AT (torque converter) mated to a decent engine.

Decently powerful engine: Check
Reliable Auto Transmission: Check
Solid Build Quality: Check
Driving Dynamics: Check
Lower Service and Maintenance Costs: Check

Also, except for the earlier DCT mated petrol Ecosports, I’ve not come across any major issues in the naturally aspirated petrol engines of Ecosport.
However, if diesel was available in AT, I would pick the diesel + AT combo and again it would only be an Ecosport for the same budget.
raiuday is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 12th June 2022, 11:54   #66

Current

Hyundai Verna 1.6 P AT - NO

This is such a smooth vehicle and very low maintenance and I absolutely have no regrets buying it. No issues whatsoever in the last 5 years.
But whether I will buy it today ? Maybe NOT.
I would rather go for a turbo petrol with better performance.

Past

Ford ikon - 2011 -2016 = Absolutely NO.

I had absolute blast in the vehicle. Great performance for a first car.
But I had terrible time maintaining it.
Ford service centers used to eat my 2 months salary every year.
Even though Ford improved their service at a later stage, I decided I will never buy a Ford again.
I am glad they shut shop (Don't take me in a wrong sense, they had good products but they also had rogue dealers who were the main reason for their downfall).
RaghavEvoX is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 12th June 2022, 11:56   #67
Ice

12 year old Fortuner. 190k Km up. My daily driver. Does 1000k km every week now. Total peace of mind. Would I buy him again? A resounding Yes.

16 year old Innova. 275k km up. Still runs like new. Would I buy again? A resounding Yes.

5 year old City. 54k km up. Still puts a smile on my face. A resounding Yes.
Ice is offline   (7) Thanks
Old 12th June 2022, 12:00   #68

I will be in the yes camp for the cars that came into my family.
  1. 2010-11 Hyundai Accent: This was the car my parents went for when we decided to buy a new car after a long while. My friends' parents at the time were getting the new redesigned Honda City and the Polo was also looking quite hot. These were my recommendations as a carefree teenager who didn't understand value for money yet.

The Hyundai Accent at the time was nearing EOL and the top variant was being sold for under ₹5 lakh with all the bells and whistles. If the same car, with updated interiors was to be made available for a similar bargain, I'd buy it right now in a heartbeat.

This was also the car I learnt to drive in for a bit and the power and handling were perfect for me as a novice driver. Unfortunately we had to sell it off because of the next car on this list and because we couldn't afford to run 2 cars at the same time.
  2. 2012 Maruti Suzuki SX4: My family didn't actually want this car at all. It was gifted to us by my aunt who got it from her company as part of her super-annuation or something. She got the car but she didn't have any use for it, so she gifted it to us. This was the first time an up-to-date premium sedan came under the family ownership. It's been 10 years and there are few cars in the market right now that match the SX4 in terms of value.

I personally started driving this car from the 80k km point onwards and as a semi-owner, it has taught me a lot about actually owning a car. I've dealt with the old-age problems of dying battery, part replacements, and even the clutch piston failing. Even with all this, the car is a joy to drive and I personally enjoy trying to extract 12-14 kmpl from it before refuelling.

If it was my own money, I think I would still buy this car mostly because the space is impressive, the engine is impressive and it looks like an oddball (which I love).
BrabarusMark is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 12th June 2022, 12:01   #69

Well from what we have in our garage:

BMW 520D: Yes! Absolutely. The car is extremely frugal and has adequate power for a city like Mumbai, would love to go for the 530d, but with EVs gaining so much popularity we may shift to a premium EV in the future.

Honda Accord 2.4 Manual: Yes, however there are no cars that are made like the previous gen Accord. Limousine like space, no nonsense reliability and adequate fun to drive.

Skoda Rapid 1.6 Manual: Yes/No, but only if the diesel guise. Ours is a manual and crossed the 100k magically figure this year, however this time around will go for the auto tranny.

VW Ameo 1.5 Auto: No. Now don't get me wrong here, I love the the way the Ameo drives, but somehow can't get over the ugly rear design execution VW had done. I chose the Ameo over the Vento 1.2 TSi auto, which was costing a lac more, considering the high running I had at that point of time. However I would have been better sticking to the Vento coming to think of it now. I have only done 25k in close to 3.5 years of ownership.

Honda Brio: No. A beater essentially. The safety and space is a real compromise and it give 8-9 kmpl making it expensive to run. I am soon going to replace it with the Nexon EV.
BHPjunkie is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 12th June 2022, 12:28   #70

BMW 525D: Absolutely yes. I have the inline 6 cylinder version which they don't even provide on the 525s any more -- you'd have to get the 530 for it and pay probably 30-40% more than what I did back then. A decade plus old and it's still a dream. I smile every time I look at it.

Accord 2.4: An enormous almost 5m long boat on wheels. With a more powerful car in the garage, wouldn't want to go with the v6 model either.

Triber RXZ: Maybe. Our current every day car. Has been super reliable and no-nonsense so far. We use it to haul people and luggage like there's no tomorrow. Unless a similarly sized, somewhat equally priced EV is coming in the next 3 years, I'd definitely buy this again.
lordtottuu is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 12th June 2022, 12:32   #71

I am sharing about the cars I have owned (most as my primary rides) in the last decade as well as the ones I currently use.

First gen Maruti Swift diesel 1.3 - 94000 km - YES

Tata Sumo Grande 2.2 - 96,000 km - NO

Tata Sumo Gold 3.0 - 65,000 km - NO

Chevrolet Beat 1.0 Diesel - 93,000 km - YES

Previous gen Maruti Celerio - 53,000 km- NO

Tata Safari Dicor 2.2 - 1,40,000 km - NO

Tata Safari Storme 2.2 Varicor 400(currently using) - 54,000 km- YES

Renault Kwid 1.0 (currently using) - 55,000 km - YES

Maruti Ciaz 1.3 diesel - 1,35,000 km - YES

Tata Altroz 1.5 Diesel(currently using) - 20,000 km - YES

2021 Maruti Celerio 1.0 (currently using) - 1700 km - NO

All cars were/are MT and luckily enough, I have/had 0 reliability issues in any of them. Personal favorites among past cars are Swift, Beat, Ciaz and Safari Dicor, of which I will not buy the dicor again just because it's too cumbersome to be driven in urban areas as well as the interiors were utilitarian.

If I go back to early 2000s,

Maruti Zen 1.5 Diesel - Hell YES!

Maruti Wagon R 1.1 - NO

Tata Sumo DX - Hell NO!

Tata Estate - Hell NO!

Mahindra Armada - NO

Mahindra MM540 - NO

I don't really remember the detailed ownership of the older cars except for the zen, wagon r and Sumo dx. Only the marutis were reliable. Early Mahindras and Tatas were a nightmare to own long term.

Last edited by PrasannaDhana : 12th June 2022 at 12:59.
PrasannaDhana is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 12th June 2022, 12:40   #72

Nice thread.

Fiat Linea Tjet: No. Purely on account of it being discontinued and due to lack of service stations. All enthusiasts would understand my pain of not saying "Yes" to this lovely machine.

Nano Twist: No as it's discontinued. Will love to see it emerge with an EV avtaar. Then will think of it.

Another reason for saying No is that now I would most likely move to an automatic which is a huge step for me as I always preferred manual only.

Last edited by SSD2122 : 12th June 2022 at 12:42.
SSD2122 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 12th June 2022, 12:56   #73

Yes, I would.

1) Honda Brio S - YES. Never let me down and is a fantastic city car. The visibility is good, engine delivers enough power for city drives and i find it very easy to maneuver. It's a pity they have stopped Brio manufacturing.

2) Hyundai Elite i20 - YES. Even though i regretted not getting Polo over this, after 5 years, I can say I am pretty happy with it. It looks amazing, drives well, have quite a lot of features for a car at its price.
RollinWheels is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 12th June 2022, 13:07   #74

From my current and last car

Last car: Fiat Punto MJD - Yes, for its solid built, ride & handling and trouble free ownership. Sold in 2019 and still regretting.

Current one: KIA Seltos Diesel - No, though it has been trouble free but will never looks at it because of it's poor GNCAP rating.
S.MJet is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 12th June 2022, 13:25   #75

All authentic Toyota cars I have owned would buy again.
1. Innova
2. Liva
3. Altis
You start liking these card more They age
Other cars which I have owned
Original Verna - yes
Esteem - yes
Audi Q3 - yes
525 D - No…. Great to drive Too bulky
City 4th Gen - No
Getz - No
Dzire Diesel - yes