Old 12th June 2022, 21:21   #91

Re: If you were to buy a car today, would you have bought the car(s) you currently own?

Absolutely. Own a Creta Diesel AT. Can't think of any other car (especially with the Diesel AT combination) if I were in the market again today. Just love the car!
TechLiveMANA is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 12th June 2022, 21:35   #92

Re: If you were to buy a car today, would you have bought the car(s) you currently own?

2013 Skoda Rapid 1.6 MPI MT - Definitely Yes

Reasons -
1. Biggest engine and best over package at 9 lacs On road with accessories. I don’t think others had one touch power windows on all 4 doors at this range
2. Amazing handling, love it in the hills
3. Tank like build quality, took the spiti circuit with ease

If Skoda can add an AWD electric drivetrain and increase ground clearance by 10 mm, I’ll have the cheque out today
sanchit223 is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 12th June 2022, 21:35   #93

1. Land cruiser prado 150 : 100 % Yes , would love to buy the vehicle again .
2. Skoda Superb (Sold) : No , skoda maintenance issues main reason for a No ..
3. Baleno RS : Yes , very reliable and Maruti service is the reason
4. Hyundai 2021 i20 Diesel : Yes , love the mileage and refinement of the engine .
5. 2000 and 2001 Mahindra Classics : A big Yes , love them for the looks .
6. Thar DI : 100 % Yes , it’s indestructible..
7. CJ340 ( Petrol ) : Yes ,It’s custom built and love it .
8. RFC custom Build 4x4 Gypsy ( Sarbloh ) : Yes 100%
uniquecon6199 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 12th June 2022, 21:54   #94

The current and only 4 wheeler in my fam is a 2012 Ritz VDI.

Would we take the same decision today?

A resoundingYes, with a variant change and probably little creature comforts too. Fiat sourced 1.3 DDIS has been exceptional the way it executes it's duty. Even today, we can can take it out for a long 400 KM trip, without worrying. That's the reliability it has been offering us. Even though the power output is not class leading, it has always been adequate for our usage.

What could've been better is either going for the VDI ABS or the ZDI. This was something which we had overlooked. While we've been sane enough not to push the vehicle like crazy, ABS would've given us the reassurance.

If the car was on sale today, I would expect better NVH, more creature comforts (Auto AC, good infotainment system, option for a lighter interior trim). Otherwise, it has been a solid performer. I always feel Ritz felt more bulkier (perceived) inside compared to, say, like the Figo which seemed to be compact.
subie_socal is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 12th June 2022, 21:56   #95

Great thread, gives a lot to retrospect - of our cars' (and life's) choices. For me, discounting the cars that I have rented and driven, these are about the ones I owned/ owning now (all new, no pre-owned):

Maruti 800 STD (1994, 1995 models - both sold long, long back) - YES. Fantastic car for driving in narrow lanes (read, North Kolkata gali). Could somehow easily carry 6-7 people (we did that! 1-2 almost on laps at the back) and the manual steering was something to exercise on. In its hypothetical next avatar, my assumption is that it would be heavily revamped.

Tata Indica V2 DLS (diesel; sold) - NO. Ride was very smooth, strong car. Rough handling. Started giving a lot of troubles by 5-6 years, and had to sell off by its 7th year.

Maruti Suzuki SX4 ZXI (petrol; sold) - YES. My workhorse for 13 long years (sold recently). It was still going strong. Easy maintenance, fantastic ride and handling, at least for me and my family. Have travelled far and wide including Project Tiger reserves, even with it being simply FWD. Just that Maruti could not market it well, and stopped production.

Jeep Compass Sport Petrol DDCT (currently owning) - YES. Though too early to comment on (only 800 km driven till now), but seems to be what I really need today. Has everything except what I really do not care for. Seems to go anywhere, anytime.
car-go is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 12th June 2022, 22:18   #96

Since I currently own only the Beat and Vista, the choice is very clear for me.

Chevrolet Beat LT LPG - No, I would not buy this car again. Reasons - the Vista has spoilt me with its superior ride and handling, not to mention the low maintenance cost. The Beat despite having a low running cost, thanks to LPG prices, requires a lot more maintenance and also has too much body roll as compared to the Vista. So I would not buy it again.

Tata Vista D90 Vx - I would buy this car again in a heartbeat had it still been available in its original specs. While I don't like the looks much, the car is well built, spacious, frugal and easy to run and maintain. The only grouses I have are the somewhat low ground clearance and the lack of internal storage spaces, but those are not deal breakers.

However, practically speaking, as none of these models are on sale any more, and taking into account the DPF clogging issue of BS6 diesels, I will probably go for an EV next, and try to keep the BS4 Vista as long as I can.
Neversaygbye is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 12th June 2022, 22:22   #97

This thread reminds be about one of my managers in US who has been churning through one Prius after another for good part of two decades. Dude's Prius gets too old? Time to get a new Prius! No dilemmas, no worries and a very happy customer - It's probably like buying Colgate toothpaste for him now!
IndieGooner is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 12th June 2022, 22:34   #98

I have owned the three below and it’s a Yes for all of them!

Vw Polo: My first car was the red 1.2 TSI polo just when it got released. Owned it for about 7 years post which it got replaced by a company car. Even after a decade, I am almost tempted to get it again as a daily car for chores. It was just lot of fun and the first car is always special!

Skoda Superb: Brought about 5 years back and still love it. Very very few cars make as much sense as this with the massive space, boot, quality interiors and it’s pretty good to drive as well. With an extended warranty up to 6 years, it’s not too much of a concern maintaining though any repairs would take a long time for parts to arrive. Would happily get another one anyday. Actually seriously considered getting a second superb too!

Merc E220d: First luxury purchase and a recent one. While I still do long for a bmw, everytime I get in to the the backseat on my weekly trips to airport, I can’t think of a better car to be in.
Neelavi is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 12th June 2022, 22:43   #99

I tend to never regret my car purchases and do the maths before taking a decision.

At present, we have 4 cars in our garage, viz.-:

(1) Toyota Corolla H2 1.8 E Petrol (May 2004) - YES
Absolutely great tourer car and good to be chauffeured around. Brilliant AC and ride quality has been the best in all our cars. Due to NGT 15/10 year ban on Petrol/diesel vehicles, our Corolla is lying unused, except for once in a month weekend short drives.

(2) VW Polo 1.2 MPI petrol Highline (Sept 2010)- YES ( albeit with a 1.6 MPI engine)
First car from the VAG family which made me and my family a fan of German cars. Would love to buy it once again, albeit with a different engine. Either a 1.6 MPI or 1.0 TSI.

(3) Skoda Rapid Rider 1.0 TSI MT(July 2020) - YES
Excellent car at a mouth-watering price. That 1.0 TSI MT combo is a delight to drive .
Was the first car I bought with my own money. Emotionally attached to it.

(4) Skoda Kushaq 1.0 TSI MT Active Peace ( May 2022)- YES
A mix of almost everything you want from a car- slightly higher seating position, but not too tall like a Fortuner; good ride quality and comfort; super light steering wheel for in-city commutes, excellent ingress/egress for senior citizens. Barring the AC compressor issue, there seems to be no other issue with the car. Also, we brought it home for a mouth-watering price. So truly VFM.

Last edited by sanyog26 : 12th June 2022 at 22:45. Reason: Typo
sanyog26 is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 12th June 2022, 22:48   #100

New 2010 Hyundai i10 - No. Brought this as a newbie driver. Should have got a diesel, given the amount of driving. Was eventually sold since out of the country on long-term.

Used 2010 Toyota Corolla in 2017 - No. Had to buy used, since I did not have the budget to EMIs at that point. Was an OK ownership till the point Toyota said an engine rebuild for a low FE problem. Was becoming too expensive for my kind of running.

New 2018 S-Cross - Yes. Has been one heck of a frugal runner. The additional GC meant I did not have to think too much about bad roads. While we might soon outgrow this car. I can't seem to find the budget to buy and run a replacement.

Originally Posted by IndieGooner View Post
Dude's Prius gets too old? Time to get a new Prius! No dilemmas, no worries
More or less similar story. A former colleague's family are on their third Innova.
narayans80 is online now   (1) Thanks
Old 12th June 2022, 23:01   #101

What an amazing thread, worth reading every single post!

Fiat 1100d - YES! Was my first car in 2007, and sold it after 8 months since i did not have the money to make it move cities with me. Still can’t get over selling it!

Polo 1.6 - TOTALLY! I’d buy every version if i could. Mine’s 10 yrs old now and still the best drivers car Ive owned. 100bhp+ NA engine, sweet manual tranny and that tight chassis is a magical and pure combo

Old Thar - No. Very limited usability, and not even the best off-roader. Not particularly liveable.

Civic AT 2008 - Yes. Best deal in the used car market and the car refused to age!

Duster AWD - No. Nice car, but interior quality was bad. Clutch and gear felt tough to use, and to me the body felt light. Capable car, but we didnt like it for city use.

Bmw X1 20i F48 LCI - No. Definitely a nice car, and totally worth it at the price we got it at (before the crazy price hikes). But, today its quite expensive and just doesn’t hit the spot. Ride is un-comfortable in the city, and neither with the performance of a proper RWD BMW sedan. Still probably the best entry level enthusiast premium CSUV. Though honestly, today i’d rather put my money on a high-end Skoda/VW/Toyota than a entry level german premium car. Especially in Indua

Last edited by ronk : 12th June 2022 at 23:04.
ronk is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 12th June 2022, 23:43   #102

Current highway car: 2018 1.6 manual Petrol Creta first Gen Facelift - No! Buying one now anyway means the horrendous current 2nd gen looks. Even the model I have, though functional and pleasing, doesn't tug at the heartstrings to drive or look at...

Current city car: 2020 Spresso zxi manual petrol - No, though easy to park, spacious and distinct to look at. The drive feel and the quality within is too utilitarian.

Dad's current urban car: 2021 hyundai i10 Nios sportz Amt petrol - Yes. Refined drive, good economy, serves purpose very well and with good comfort at the price.

Current Rough road beater car: 2014 Mahindra Quanto c8 top end manual diesel - Yes. A Mahindra car of this size is very useful to us and the only option offering similar space + features + high seating + dual front armrests at sub 10 lakh is a Bolero, so as a beater car to drive to forest and farm, the Quanto fits the bill better.
AnAntinspired is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 12th June 2022, 23:58   #103

Nice thread. Its time to introspect :-

1) PORSCHE CAYMAN S 2011 :- YES They don't sell Cayman in 3.2 ltr 325hp anymore in India. But if it's ever something I'll buy again in this budget it will be a Cayman, no competition.

2) HYUNDAI CRETA 2018 :- YES This was our second creta, first one was 2015 and we know we will buy it again when it touches 1.4-15 lacs on odo.

3) HYUNDAI TUSCON 2017 :- YES and very soon it will be replaced by the New Tuscon, unless and until IONIQ prices itself agressively.

4) SUZUKI ERTIGA 2019 :- YES This was again our second ertiga after 2014 and there is no better mid range MUV better than Ertiga

5) KIA SONET 2021 :- NO Though a very capable car but it replaced by Honda jazz 2016 and I am missing it badly. So next time I'll buy a small car again.
Pankajm is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 13th June 2022, 07:35   #104

XUV300 W8 Optional variant - No, not because the car has under delivered. The car is everything I possibly expected it to be: powerful, comfortable, great suspension setup and loads of features compared to the competition.

But I believe life is too short to experience the same car twice. Above that, it has not had any update so far, the only update is removal of too many features every couple of months. So I'll be buying an inferior car to my XUV300.
black.beauty is online now   (1) Thanks
Old 13th June 2022, 07:40   #105

In my history of buying 4 cars in the last 24 years, I had purchased the Maruti Zen twice. And , if I had the option, I would like to get it again (if it could be made safer for crash). It was such a gem, light weight with an aluminium engine, and had an exhilarating pickup, which I haven’t experienced in my other cars.

Risking going slightly off topic, can TBHPers call out any of the cars in the present day market, that would give that Zen wali feeling (upto a C segment car). I am on the lookout for a second car in the next couple of years, and this will be a very useful input for me. Remember to use the quote feature, if you plan to respond, so that I don’t miss out on this precious input.
ajayc123 is offline   (1) Thanks

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com